DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, drawn to a compound of Formula I, and a compound having the structure of:
as recited in claim 11 as the elected compound species of Formula I in the reply filed on December 2, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6, 9-10, and 13-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 2, 2025.
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendments to the claims filed on January 26, 2024, wherein claims 1-11, 14 and 16 are unchanged; claims 12-13, 15 and 17-18 are amended; and claims 19-21 are canceled.
Claims 1-18 are pending. Claims 5-6, 9-10, and 13-18 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-4, 7-8 and 11-12 are under examination in accordance with the elected compound species along with the expanded compound species.
Priority
The instant application 18/480,499 filed on October 3, 2023 claims priority to, and the benefits of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/378,354 filed on October 4, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 7, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al. (WO 2018/198079 A1), in view of Klein et al. (Chemistry, 2021. Vol. 27(68): 17203-17212).
Fu et al. teaches a compound 2.23 having the structure of:
is an exemplary compound of formula (I) useful for treating viral infections (see e.g., [0049], Compound 2.23; abstract). Fu et al. further teaches said compound 2.23 is a racemic product (see e.g., [00291]). Fu et al. further teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of formula (I) admixed with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see e.g., [0051]). Fu et al. further teaches the compound of formula (I)
, wherein R2 is independently selected at each occurrence from, inter alia, -OR3; R3 is a C1-C4 alkyl that is optionally substituted with one to three groups selected from, inter alia, -COOR; n is 0, 1, or 2; R is independently selected at each occurrence from H and C1-C3 alkyl (see e.g., [009]).
Fu et al. does not teach the elected compound species.
Klein et al. teaches in principle, higher alkyl chain lengths will increase lipophilicity
and hence the amount of complex embedded in the lipid bilayer (see e.g., p. 17207, right column, line 34-37).
In the instant case, Fu et al. clearly teaches the racemic mixture of compound 2.23 as an exemplary compound of formula (I); and further teaches R3 of the -OR3 moiety at R2 of formula (I) can be C1-C4 alkyl that is substituted with one -COOR, wherein R is hydrogen or C1-C3 alkyl. The difference between the compound 2.23 of Fu et al. and the claimed compound of Formula I is that the prior art compound has –O(CH2)– at R2 of formula (I) rather than –O(CH2)7–, and said R2 is substituted with –COOH– rather than –COO(C4 alkyl)– shown below (see shaded):
. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to select compound 2.23 of Fu et al., and modify said compound by replacing the -OH- substituent with -COO(C1-C3 alkyl), and then changing the length of alkyl chain at the R2 of formula (I) taught by Fu et al. to arrive at the elected compound species instantly claimed. One would have been motivated to do so, because Klein et al. teaches higher alkyl chain lengths will increase lipophilicity of the chemical compound in principle. Given that the difference between the prior art compound and the claimed compound lies on the length of the alkyl chain at R2 of formula (I) of Fu et al. (see shaded portions in the figure above), these compounds are common derivatives known as homologs. According to MPEP 2144.09 (II) and (III), “[c]ompounds which are…homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977)” and “[p]rior art structures do not have to be true homologs or isomers to render structurally similar compounds prima facie obvious. In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 203 USPQ 245 (CCPA 1979)”. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at the claimed invention, because one would have reasonably expected that the modified compound 2.23 of Fu et al. in view of Klein et al., which is a homolog of the compound 2.23, would successfully exert anti-viral activity useful for the treatment of viral infection; and therefore, said compound can successfully be combined with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier to arrive at a pharmaceutical composition without any appreciable loss of activity.
Please note the fact that Fu et al. teaches the racemic mixture of compound 2.23 renders
obvious the limitation of
recites in the Formula I instantly claimed.
Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CHIHYI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1628 /JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628