DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-13 (Species I, Invention I) in the reply filed on 01/05/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “a second for publications relating to one of the groups of claims would reveal publications relating to the other group and, thus, would not impose a serious burden on the Examiner”. This is not found persuasive because the arguments give no reasons why or how there would not be a serious burden, but rather allege that related publications would be found with a search for one group. However, in this case, the electrostatic discharge protection element has a materially different design in the elected species/invention than in the unelected species invention and would require a different field of search/different search strategies and queries to find proper prior art and/or form a complete search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. U.S. Patent Application 2013/0154979 (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a modulation device (refer to figs.1A and 5C), comprising: a substrate (i.e. substrate 110)(fig.1A) having an active region (i.e. active region 112)(fig.1A); an electrostatic discharge protection element (i.e. electrostatic protection structure 140)(fig.1A) arranged around the active region (implicit); an electronic element (i.e. sensing region A and sensing electrodes 120)(fig.1A) disposed in the active region (implicit); and a driving element (refer to “driver chip” [0025) electrically connected to the electronic element (refer to [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the modulation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic element comprises a capacitor (i.e. capacitive touch sensing element 72)(fig.6A).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the modulation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electrostatic discharge protection element comprises a first frame-shaped conductive pattern (i.e. conductive ring 141)(fig.5C), and the first frame-shaped conductive pattern surrounds the active region (implicit).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the modulation device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the first frame-shaped conductive pattern is formed by arranging a plurality of conductive patterns with spacings (refer to pointed ends S)(fig.5C), and each of the plurality of conductive patterns has two opposite pointed terminals (i.e. pointed ends S)(fig.5C).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. U.S. Patent Application 2015/0083569 (hereinafter “Chang”).
Regarding claim 1, Chang teaches a modulation device (refer to figs.1A-F and 2), comprising: a substrate (i.e. substrate 110)(fig.1A) having an active region (i.e. light transmitting area 102)(fig.1A); an electrostatic discharge protection element (i.e. first electrode layer 150a, second electrode layer 170a, and ground electrode 140)(fig.1A)(refer also to [0036]) arranged around the active region (implicit); an electronic element (i.e. touch-sensing element 120a)(fig.1A) disposed in the active region (implicit); and a driving element (i.e. driving element in the figure below)(fig.1A) electrically connected to the electronic element (implicit).
Regarding claim 3, Chang teaches the modulation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electrostatic discharge protection element comprises a first frame-shaped conductive pattern (i.e. first electrode layer 150a)(fig.1A), and the first frame-shaped conductive pattern surrounds the active region (implicit).
Regarding claim 5, Chang teaches the modulation device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the electrostatic discharge protection element further comprises a second frame-shaped conductive pattern (i.e. second electrode layer 170a)(fig.1A), and the second frame-shaped conductive pattern overlaps with the first frame-shaped conductive pattern (implicit)(refer to fig.1B).
Regarding claim 7, Chang teaches the modulation device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the electrostatic discharge protection element further comprises a second frame-shaped conductive pattern (i.e. ground electrode 140)(Fig.1A), wherein the second frame-shaped conductive pattern surrounds the active region (implicit) and is positioned between the first frame-shaped conductive pattern and the active region (implicit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claims 5 or 7 above, and further in view of Li.
Regarding claim 6, Chang teaches the modulation device as claimed in claim 5; however, Chang does not teach wherein each of the first frame- shaped conductive pattern and the second frame-shaped conductive pattern is formed by arranging a plurality of conductive patterns with spacings, each of the plurality of conductive patterns has two opposite pointed terminals, and the plurality of conductive patterns of the second frame-shaped conductive pattern overlap the plurality of conductive patterns of the first frame-shaped conductive pattern respectively. However, Li teaches a frame-shaped pattern formed by arranging a plurality of conductive patterns (i.e. protruding portions 141b)(fig.5C) with spacings (refer to pointed ends S)(fig.5C), each of the plurality of conductive patterns has two opposite pointed terminals (i.e. pointed ends S)(fig.5C). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modulation device of Chang to include the plurality of conductive patterns for each of the frame-shaped conductive patterns to provide the advantage of preventing electrostatic energy from jumping towards the active region (refer to Li [0033]). Therefore, Chang and Li teach wherein each of the first frame- shaped conductive pattern and the second frame-shaped conductive pattern is formed by arranging a plurality of conductive patterns with spacings (i.e. Li protruding portions 141b)(fig.5C), each of the plurality of conductive patterns has two opposite pointed terminals (refer to Li pointed ends S)(fig.5C), and the plurality of conductive patterns of the second frame-shaped conductive pattern overlap the plurality of conductive patterns of the first frame-shaped conductive pattern respectively (refer to Chang first and second electrode layers 150a and 170a)(fig.1A)(refer also to Li pointed ends S)(fig.5C).
Regarding claim 8, Chang teaches the modulation device as claimed in claim 7; however, Chang does not teach wherein each of the first frame- shaped conductive pattern and the second frame-shaped conductive pattern is formed by arranging a plurality of conductive patterns with spacings, and each of the plurality of conductive patterns has two opposite pointed terminals. However, Li teaches a frame-shaped pattern formed by arranging a plurality of conductive patterns (i.e. protruding portions 141b)(fig.5C) with spacings (refer to pointed ends S)(fig.5C), each of the plurality of conductive patterns has two opposite pointed terminals (i.e. pointed ends S)(fig.5C). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modulation device of Chang to include the plurality of conductive patterns for each of the frame-shaped conductive patterns to provide the advantage of preventing electrostatic energy from jumping towards the active region (refer to Li [0033]). Therefore, Chang and Li teach wherein each of the first frame- shaped conductive pattern and the second frame-shaped conductive pattern (refer to Chang first electrode layer 150a and ground electrode 140) is formed by arranging a plurality of conductive patterns with spacings (i.e. Li protruding portions 141b)(fig.5C), and each of the plurality of conductive patterns has two opposite pointed terminals (refer to Li pointed ends S)(fig.5C).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim U.S. Patent Application 2019/0189075 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 10, Chang teaches the modulation device as claimed in claim 1, however, Chang does not teach wherein the electronic element and the driving element are disposed on the substrate through a bonding process. However, Kim teaches wherein the electronic element and the driving element are disposed on the substrate through a bonding process (refer to [0057]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chang to include the bonding process of Kim to provide the advantage of using a common method of securing the components of a device to a substrate.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baba et al. U.S. Patent Application 2019/0346726 (hereinafter “Baba”).
Regarding claim 11, Chang teaches the modulation device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electrostatic discharge protection element comprises a plurality of conductive patterns (i.e. first and second electrode layers 150a and 170a and grounding electrode 140)(fig.1A), and the plurality of conductive patterns are separated from each other (implicit); however, Chang does not teach the device further comprising: a plurality of first signal lines extending in the active region along a first direction; and a plurality of second signal lines extending in the active region along a second direction different from the first direction, and at least one of the plurality of conductive patterns is traversed by one of the plurality of first signal lines or is traversed by one of the plurality of second signal lines. However, Baba teaches the device further comprising: a plurality of first signal lines (i.e. gate wires 1)(fig.1) extending in the active region (i.e. display region 50)(fig.1) along a first direction (implicit); and a plurality of second signal lines (i.e. source wires 2)(fig.1) extending in the active region (implicit) along a second direction different from the first direction (implicit), and at least one of the plurality of conductive patterns (i.e. common wire 63) is traversed by one of the plurality of first signal lines or is traversed by one of the plurality of second signal lines (implicit)(refer to fig.1). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chang to include the signal lines of Baba to provide the advantage of using a common method of connection for the electronic elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 12, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 9 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 9, especially wherein the electrostatic discharge protection element comprises a plurality of first conductive patterns, a plurality of second conductive patterns, and a plurality of conductive vias, in which the plurality of first conductive patterns and the plurality of second conductive patterns surround alternately to form a frame-shaped pattern surrounding the active region, and the plurality of first conductive patterns and the plurality of second conductive patterns are electrically connected to each other through the plurality of conductive vias. Claim 12 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 12, especially wherein the plurality of first signal lines belong to a first patterned conductive layer, the plurality of second signal lines belong to a second patterned conductive layer, and the plurality of conductive patterns belong to a third patterned conductive layer.
Claim 13 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claim 13, especially wherein a portion of the plurality of conductive patterns and the plurality of first signal lines belong to the first patterned conductive layer, and another portion of the plurality of conductive patterns and the plurality of second signal lines belong to the second patterned conductive layer.
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838