DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the following reason:
In page 4, Applicant argues that:
Regarding independent claims 1, 2, and 15, the prior art references, alone and in combination, first do not teach or render obvious "a ground electrode that covers at least part of the resin layer" and that "a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode" as recited by the claims. To support the rejection of this feature, the action cites to Shinozaki [0068] as teaching the claimed ground electrode and to Otsubo [0060]-[0062] as teaching that the top surfaces of the components are connected to the ground electrode. Shinozaki [0068] describes that the dielectric layers of module board 91 include a ground pattern. However, the inner layers of the dielectric cannot cover a part of the resin, as claimed, because the resin is on top of the module board itself. Thus, Shinozaki does not teach any ground electrode covering the resin layer. And while Otsubo Fig. 1 illustrates a shield 5 covering the device, at best only a single electronic component 3b has a top surface that touches shield 5. That is, at best, Otsubo can only teach that the top surface of one component can touch the shield. Since the claim recites that the top surfaces of multiple components touch a ground electrode, Otsubo cannot cure the deficiencies of Shinozaki.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reason:
Regarding the limitation of “a ground electrode that covers at least part of the resin layer”, Shinozaki teaches this feature. As shown in Shinozaki Fig. 2B, resin component 92 covers components mounted on principal surface 91a of module board 91. Shinozaki also shows ground electrode patter 150/150d provided along the side/peripheral portion of the module adjacent to resin component 92. In addition Shinozaki [0068] explains that module board 91 includes a ground electrode pattern to improve the electromagnetic field shielding function of the module board. Thus, Shinozaki teaches a ground electrode pattern that covers at least part of resin component 92.
Applicant argues that Shinozaki's dielectric-layer ground pattern cannot cover the resin because the resin is on top of the module board. This argument is not persuasive because the claim does not require the ground electrode to cover the entire resin layer, does not require the ground electrode to be formed only on the upper surface of the resin layer, and does not require a specific direction or amount of coverage. The claim only requires that the ground electrode cover “at least part” of the resin layer. Shinozaki Fig. 2B shows the ground electrode pattern arranged along the side/peripheral portion of the module in relation to resin component 92, and this satisfies, or at least suggests, the claimed “covers at least part” language.
Regarding the separate limitation that “a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode”, Otsubo is relied upon to teach the connection between a component top surface and a grounded shield/ground electrode. Otsubo [0057] teaches shield film 5 covering upper surface 4a and side surfaces 4c of sealing resin layer 4. Otsubo [0061] further teaches that shield film 5 covers the surfaces of sealing resin layer 4 and is connected to ground electrodes exposed at side surface 20c of circuit board 2. Therefore, Otsubo's shield film 5 is a grounded conductive shield. Otsubo [0059] also expressly states that upper surface 30b of second component 3b is exposed at upper surface 4a of sealing resin layer 4 and connected to shield film 5. Thus, Otsubo teaches the known structure of connecting a component top surface to a grounded shield/ground electrode.
Applicant argues that Otsubo at best teaches only one component touching the shield film. This is not persuasive because the claim recites that the top surfaces are “connected to the ground electrode”, it does not require a special connection structure beyond connection to the ground electrode. Otsubo teaches that exposing a component top surface through the resin layer and connecting that top surface to the grounded shield film was known. Applying that known connection to the top surfaces of Shinozaki's first and second transmission components would have been a predictable use of a known grounding/shielding technique.
The combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo is proper. Both references are directed to high-frequency modules having components mounted on a circuit board/module board and sealed by a resin layer. Shinozaki already teaches a high-frequency module with resin component 92 and a ground electrode pattern used for electromagnetic shielding. Otsubo teaches that, in such a high-frequency module, a component top surface may be exposed through the resin layer and connected to a grounded shield film. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use Otsubo's top-surface connection technique in Shinozaki's module to improve grounding/shielding of the transmission components and reduce unwanted electromagnetic coupling/noise.
Accordingly, Shinozaki teaches the claimed ground electrode covering at least part of the resin layer, and Otsubo teaches the claimed top-surface connection to the ground electrode. Therefore, the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo teaches or at least renders obvious the disputed limitations, and Applicant's argument does not overcome the rejection.
In pages 4-5, Applicant argues that:
The prior art references also do not teach that "the first component and the second component are configured to perform simultaneous transmission" while "the third component is configured not to perform a simultaneous transmission operation together with the first component and the second component" and "the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate" as recited by claim 1, and similarly recited by claims 2 and 15. That is, the prior art references do not teach the claimed arrangements of components performing simultaneous communication relative to those not performing simultaneous communication. To support the rejection of this feature, the action notes only that Shinozaki [0052] describes radio frequency module 1 as being capable of simultaneous communication. This citation merely supports a finding that simultaneous communication is known, but that is not what is claimed. Rather, the claims relate each component's simultaneous communication ability to other structural features.
Put differently, nothing in the rejection or the art establishes whether each alleged component (and thus its arrangement) corresponds to a simultaneous/not simultaneous communication ability. As a particular example regarding claims 1 and 2, the action cites to Shinozaki2 Fig. 1 as illustrating a duplexer 32C (alleged to be the third component) between duplexers 32A and 32E (alleged to be the first and second components). However, nothing in the references identifies duplexer 32C as one not performing simultaneous communication and duplexers 32A and 32E as performing simultaneous communication. Therefore, the prior art does not teach the entirety of the claim feature.
For at least the above reasons, the prior art references fail to render all the limitations in claim 1 obvious. Therefore, it is respectfully requested that the rejection of the claim be withdrawn. As the remaining rejected claims depend from claim 1, they are allowable for at least the same reasons. Accordingly, it is also requested that the rejections of those claims be withdrawn.
Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reason:
Regarding the limitation that “the first component and the second component are configured to perform simultaneous transmission” Shinozaki teaches this feature. Shinozaki Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0027]-[0051] identify the transmission circuits for communication bands A, B, C, and D. For example, Shinozaki teaches that transmission power amplifier 11 amplifies transmission signals of communication bands A and B, while transmission power amplifier 12 amplifies transmission signals of communication bands C and D. Shinozaki further identifies the transmission filters and duplexers associated with each of those communication bands. Shinozaki paragraph [0052] then states that, with the above-described circuit configuration, radio frequency module 1 is capable of simultaneously transmitting a radio frequency signal of either communication band A or B and a radio frequency signal of either communication band C or D. Thus, Shinozaki does not merely teach simultaneous communication in the abstract. Rather, Shinozaki teaches simultaneous transmission in view of the specific transmission circuits and components described in the preceding paragraphs and shown in Fig. 1.
Applicant argues that Shinozaki paragraph [0052] only shows that simultaneous communication is generally known. This is not persuasive because paragraph [0052) expressly refers back to “the above-described circuit configuration”. That circuit configuration includes specific transmission circuits for bands A/B and C/D, including the associated power amplifiers, transmission filters, matching circuits, switches, and duplexers. Accordingly, when Shinozaki states that the module is capable of simultaneously transmitting one of bands A/B and one of bands C/D, that teaching is tied to the particular components and transmission paths shown in Fig. 1, not merely to a general concept of simultaneous communication.
Regarding the limitation that “the third component is configured not to perform a simultaneous transmission operation together with the first component and the second component”, Shinozaki also teaches or at least suggests this feature. Shinozaki's simultaneous transmission is between a signal of either communication band A or B and a signal of either communication band C or D. Thus, where the first and second components correspond to components in the simultaneously used transmission paths, another component outside that simultaneously selected transmission combination is not used to perform that same simultaneous transmission operation together with the first and second components. In other words, Shinozaki's circuit configuration includes multiple selectable transmission paths, and paragraph [0052) teaches simultaneous transmission for selected combinations of those paths, not simultaneous transmission by every component in the module at the same time.
Regarding the structural limitation that “the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate” Shinozaki2 teaches this arrangement. As shown in Shinozaki2 Fig. 1, in a plan view from the thickness direction of mounting board 91, duplexer 32C, corresponding to the third component, is disposed between duplexer 32A, corresponding to the first component, and duplexer 32E, corresponding to the second component. Therefore, Shinozaki2 teaches the claimed positional relationship.
Applicant argues that the references do not identify duplexer 32C as one not performing simultaneous communication while duplexers 32A and 32E perform simultaneous communication. This argument is not persuasive because the rejection does not rely on Shinozaki2 for the simultaneous-transmission functionality. Shinozaki2 is relied upon for the physical arrangement of the components in plan view. Shinozaki is relied upon for the functional teaching that selected transmission components in different band groups are configured to perform simultaneous transmission, while other components outside the selected simultaneous-transmission combination are not part of that simultaneous transmission operation. Applicant's argument with regards to Shinozaki2 for a feature for which it was not relied upon.
The combination of Shinozaki and Shinozaki2 is proper because both references are directed to high-frequency/radio-frequency modules having a mounting board and a plurality of RF components, including duplexers and transmission-related components arranged on the board. Shinozaki teaches the functional simultaneous-transmission configuration, and Shinozaki2 teaches a known layout in which a third duplexer is positioned between first and second duplexers in plan view. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to apply the known layout of Shinozaki2 to Shinozaki's module to arrange RF components in a compact module while maintaining the known functional transmission paths. The modification would have amounted to using a known component arrangement in a similar RF module for its expected purpose. Accordingly, Shinozaki teaches the claimed simultaneous-transmission and non-simultaneous-operation features, and Shinozaki2 teaches the claimed plan-view placement of the third component between the first and second components. Therefore, Applicant's argument does not overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 11, 12, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozaki et al. (US 20210092213, hereinafter “Shinozaki”), in view of Otsubo et al. (US 20200381336, hereinafter “Otsubo”), and further in view of WO 2021044691 (hereinafter “Shinozaki2”).
Regarding claim 1, Shinozaki discloses,
A high frequency module (Fig. 1; high frequency module 1) comprising:
a mounting substrate (module board 91) that has a first main surface and a second main surface that are opposite to each other (It should be noted that in FIG. 2A illustrates a layout of the circuit elements when, of principal surfaces 91a and 91b on opposite sides of module board 91, [0057]);
a plurality of components that are on the first main surface (transmission power amplifiers 11 and 12, duplexers 61 to 64, switch 56, matching circuits 31, 32, 41, and 42, and diplexer 60 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91a of module board 91, Fig. 2A and [0062]);
a resin layer (resin component 92; Fig. 2B) that covers at least part of the plurality of components (Resin component 92 is disposed on principal surface 91a of module board 91 and covers a portion of the transmission circuit, a portion of the reception circuit, and principal surface 91a of module board 91); and
a ground electrode that covers at least part of the resin layer (that module board 91 have a multilayer structure in which a plurality of dielectric layers are stacked, and that at least one of the plurality of dielectric layers include a ground electrode pattern formed thereon, [0068]),
wherein the plurality of components comprises a first component, a second component, and a third component (transmission power amplifiers 11 and 12, duplexers 61 to 64, switch 56, matching circuits 31, 32, 41, and 42, and diplexer 60 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91a of module board 91, Fig. 2A and [0062]),
wherein the first component is a first transmission filter or a first transmission power amplifier for a first transmission signal (Transmission filter 61T is disposed on transmission output path AT that connects transmission power amplifier 11 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 61T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band A, among the transmission signals that have been amplified by transmission power amplifier 11. Transmission filter 62T is disposed on transmission output path BT that connects transmission power amplifier 11 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 62T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band B [0032]),
wherein the second component is a second transmission filter or a second transmission power amplifier for a second transmission signal (Transmission filter 63T is disposed on transmission output path CT that connects transmission power amplifier 12 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 63T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band C, among the transmission signals that have been amplified by transmission power amplifier 12. Transmission filter 64T is disposed on transmission output path DT that connects transmission power amplifier 12 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 64T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band D, [0032]) of a frequency band different from a frequency band of the first transmission signal (transmission power amplifier 12 is an amplifier that amplifies radio frequency signals of communication band C and communication band D that belong to a second frequency band group different from the first frequency band group, which have been input from transmission input terminal 110, [0027]),
wherein the first component and the second component are configured to perform simultaneous transmission, wherein the third component is configured not to perform a simultaneous transmission operation together with the first component and the second component (radio frequency module 1 is capable of performing at least one of simultaneously transmitting, simultaneously receiving, or simultaneously transmitting and receiving a radio frequency signal of either communication band A or communication band B and a radio frequency signal of either communication band C or communication band D, [0052]), and
However, Shinozaki does not disclose, wherein a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode and wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate. In the same field of endeavor, of Otsubo discloses, wherein a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode (The shield film 5 covers surfaces of the sealing resin layer 4 (the upper surface 4a and the side surfaces 4c) and side surfaces 20c of the circuit board 2. The shield film 5 is connected to the ground electrodes (not illustrated) exposed at the corresponding side surface 20c of the circuit board 2, [0060]-[0062]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shinozaki by specifically providing wherein a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode and wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate, as taught by Otsubo for the purpose of providing a high-frequency module that, while maintaining a heat dissipation structure of a component that generates heat, can suppress heat from affecting another component [0007].
Further, the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo does not disclose, wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate. In the same field of endeavor, Shinozaki2 discloses, wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate (Fig. 1 of on a plan view seen from the thickness direction of the mounting board 91, the duplexer 32C (corresponding to the third component) is disposed between the duplexer 32A (corresponding to the first component (or the second component)) and the duplexer 32E (corresponding to the second component (or the first component)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo by specifically providing wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate, as taught by Shinozaki2 for the purpose of providing a system where size of the high frequency module is reduced and the jumping of transmitting signal within the power amplifier is suppressed so that operation of the power amplifier is stabilized.
Regarding claim 2, Shinozaki discloses,
A high frequency module (Fig. 1; high frequency module 1) comprising:
a mounting substrate (module board 91) that has a first main surface and a second main surface that are opposite to each other (It should be noted that in FIG. 2A illustrates a layout of the circuit elements when, of principal surfaces 91a and 91b on opposite sides of module board 91, [0057]);
a plurality of components that are on the first main surface (transmission power amplifiers 11 and 12, duplexers 61 to 64, switch 56, matching circuits 31, 32, 41, and 42, and diplexer 60 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91a of module board 91, Fig. 2A and [0062]);
a resin layer (resin component 92; Fig. 2B) that covers at least part of the plurality of components (Resin component 92 is disposed on principal surface 91a of module board 91 and covers a portion of the transmission circuit, a portion of the reception circuit, and principal surface 91a of module board 91); and
a ground electrode that covers at least part of the resin layer (that module board 91 have a multilayer structure in which a plurality of dielectric layers are stacked, and that at least one of the plurality of dielectric layers include a ground electrode pattern formed thereon, [0068]),
wherein the plurality of components comprises a first component, a second component, and a third component (transmission power amplifiers 11 and 12, duplexers 61 to 64, switch 56, matching circuits 31, 32, 41, and 42, and diplexer 60 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91a of module board 91, Fig. 2A and [0062]),
wherein the first component is a first transmission filter or a first transmission power amplifier for a first transmission signal (Transmission filter 61T is disposed on transmission output path AT that connects transmission power amplifier 11 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 61T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band A, among the transmission signals that have been amplified by transmission power amplifier 11. Transmission filter 62T is disposed on transmission output path BT that connects transmission power amplifier 11 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 62T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band B [0032]),
wherein the second component is a second transmission filter or a second transmission power amplifier for a second transmission signal (Transmission filter 63T is disposed on transmission output path CT that connects transmission power amplifier 12 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 63T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band C, among the transmission signals that have been amplified by transmission power amplifier 12. Transmission filter 64T is disposed on transmission output path DT that connects transmission power amplifier 12 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 64T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band D, [0032]) of a frequency band different from a frequency band of the first transmission signal (transmission power amplifier 12 is an amplifier that amplifies radio frequency signals of communication band C and communication band D that belong to a second frequency band group different from the first frequency band group, which have been input from transmission input terminal 110, [0027]),
wherein the third component is reception-system component for a reception signal (Reception filter 61R is disposed on reception path AR that connects reception low noise amplifier 21 and antenna connection terminal 100. Reception filter 61R passes a reception signal in a reception band of communication band A, among the reception signals that have been input from antenna connection terminal 100…. Reception filter 64R is disposed on reception path DR that connects reception low noise amplifier 22 and antenna connection terminal 100, [0033]),
wherein the first component and the second component are configured to perform simultaneous transmission (radio frequency module 1 is capable of performing at least one of simultaneously transmitting, simultaneously receiving, or simultaneously transmitting and receiving a radio frequency signal of either communication band A or communication band B and a radio frequency signal of either communication band C or communication band D, [0052]), and
However, Shinozaki does not disclose, wherein a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode and wherein the reception-system component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate. In the same field of endeavor, of Otsubo discloses, wherein a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode (The shield film 5 covers surfaces of the sealing resin layer 4 (the upper surface 4a and the side surfaces 4c) and side surfaces 20c of the circuit board 2. The shield film 5 is connected to the ground electrodes (not illustrated) exposed at the corresponding side surface 20c of the circuit board 2, [0060]-[0062]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shinozaki by specifically providing wherein a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode and wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate, as taught by Otsubo for the purpose of providing a high-frequency module that, while maintaining a heat dissipation structure of a component that generates heat, can suppress heat from affecting another component [0007].
Further, the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo does not disclose, wherein the reception-system component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate. In the same field of endeavor, Shinozaki2 discloses, wherein the wherein the reception-system component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate (Fig. 1 of on a plan view seen from the thickness direction of the mounting board 91, the duplexer 32C (corresponding to the third component) is disposed between the duplexer 32A (corresponding to the first component (or the second component)) and the duplexer 32E (corresponding to the second component (or the first component)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo by specifically providing wherein the reception-system component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate, as taught by Shinozaki2 for the purpose of providing a system where size of the high frequency module is reduced and the jumping of transmitting signal within the power amplifier is suppressed so that operation of the power amplifier is stabilized.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Shinozaki discloses, wherein the third component is a reception filter for a reception signal (Reception input matching circuit 40 includes matching circuits 41 and 42. Matching circuit 41 is disposed on a reception path that connects reception low noise amplifier 21 and reception filters 61R and 62R. Matching circuit 41 matches the impedance of reception low noise amplifier 21 with the impedance of reception filters 61R and 62R, [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Shinozaki discloses, wherein the third component is a matching circuit that is in a different path than a path through which the first transmission signal passes and than a path through which the second transmission signal passes (the matching circuits 41 and 42 are provided on a different path to the path along with the transmission signal pass, Fig. 1 and [0036]-[0038]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Shinozaki discloses, wherein a top surface of the third component is connected to the ground electrode (Fig. 2A illustrates the duplexers and matching circuits 41 and 42 are on the top surfaces….It is desirable that module board 91 have a multilayer structure in which a plurality of dielectric layers are stacked, and that at least one of the plurality of dielectric layers include a ground electrode pattern formed thereon, [0077]-[0078]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo does not disclose, wherein the first component comprises an input terminal to which the first transmission signal is input, and wherein, among sides of the first component that intersect a direction along which the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged, the input terminal of the first component is closest to a short side that is closest to the third component.
In the same field of endeavor, Shinozaki2 discloses, wherein the first component comprises an input terminal to which the first transmission signal is input, and wherein, among sides of the first component that intersect a direction along which the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged, the input terminal of the first component is closest to a short side that is closest to the third component (the second switch 5 includes a common terminal 50 and five selection terminals 51-55 (Para. [0029]), the selection terminal 55 is connected to the input terminal of the transmission filter 12E (the transmission terminal of the duplexer 32E) (corresponding to "the input terminal of the first component" and "the input terminal of the second component" in claim 12) (Para. [0029]). In addition, it can be seen from Fig. 1 that (i) the duplexer 32E has two long sides, namely a left-side long side and a right-side long side, and (ii) the left-side long side is closer to the duplexer 32C and the second switch 5 than the right-side long side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo by specifically providing wherein the first component comprises an input terminal to which the first transmission signal is input, and wherein, among sides of the first component that intersect a direction along which the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged, the input terminal of the first component is closest to a short side that is closest to the third component, as taught by Shinozaki2 for the purpose of providing a system where size of the high frequency module is reduced and the jumping of transmitting signal within the power amplifier is suppressed so that operation of the power amplifier is stabilized.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo does not disclose, wherein the second component comprises an input terminal to which the second transmission signal is input, and wherein among sides of the second component that intersect a direction along which the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged, the input terminal of the second component is arranged closest to a short side that is closest to the third component.
In the same field of endeavor, Shinozaki2 discloses, wherein the second component comprises an input terminal to which the second transmission signal is input, and wherein among sides of the second component that intersect a direction along which the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged, the input terminal of the second component is arranged closest to a short side that is closest to the third component (the second switch 5 includes a common terminal 50 and five selection terminals 51-55 (paragraph [0029]), the selection terminal 55 is connected to the input terminal of the transmission filter 12E (the transmission terminal of the duplexer 32E) (corresponding to "the input terminal of the first component" and "the input terminal of the second component" in claim 12) (Para. [0029]). In addition, it can be seen from Fig. 1 that (i) the duplexer 32E has two long sides, namely a left-side long side and a right-side long side, and (ii) the left-side long side is closer to the duplexer 32C and the second switch 5 than the right-side long side).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo by specifically providing wherein the second component comprises an input terminal to which the second transmission signal is input, and wherein among sides of the second component that intersect a direction along which the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged, the input terminal of the second component is arranged closest to a short side that is closest to the third component, as taught by Shinozaki2 for the purpose of providing a system where size of the high frequency module is reduced and the jumping of transmitting signal within the power amplifier is suppressed so that operation of the power amplifier is stabilized.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1 (see the claim 1 rejection above). Further, Shinozaki discloses, a signal processing circuit configured to process the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal that pass through the high frequency module (FIG. 1 illustrates a circuit configuration of radio frequency module 1 according to an embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 1, communication device 5 includes radio frequency module 1, antenna 2, radio frequency (RF) signal processing circuit (RF integrated circuit (IC)) 3, and baseband signal processing circuit (BBIC) 4, [0017]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses the high frequency module according to claim 2 (see the claim 2 rejection above). Further, Shinozaki discloses, a signal processing circuit configured to process the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal that pass through the high frequency module (FIG. 1 illustrates a circuit configuration of radio frequency module 1 according to an embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 1, communication device 5 includes radio frequency module 1, antenna 2, radio frequency (RF) signal processing circuit (RF integrated circuit (IC)) 3, and baseband signal processing circuit (BBIC) 4, [0017]).
Claims 3, 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozaki, in view of Otsubo, in view of Shinozaki2 and further in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 20200403596, hereinafter “Yamaguchi”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 does not disclose, an antenna terminal; and a switch integrated circuit (IC) comprising a switch configured to selectively connect a destination for the antenna terminal, wherein the reception-system component is the switch IC.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamaguchi discloses, an antenna terminal (i.e., ANT; Fig. 1); and a switch integrated circuit (IC) comprising a switch configured to selectively connect a destination for the antenna terminal, wherein the reception-system component is the switch (The high-frequency module 10C includes a base body 100C, the high-frequency switch 11C, and a LNA 12C. A basic configuration of the high-frequency switch 11C and a basic configuration of the LNA 12C are the same as those of the high-frequency switch 11B and the LNA 12B, respectively, Fig. 7A-7B and [0124]-[0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 by specifically providing an antenna terminal; and a switch integrated circuit (IC) comprising a switch configured to selectively connect a destination for the antenna terminal, wherein the reception-system component is the switch IC, as taught by Yamaguchi for the purpose of providing a high-frequency module that, while including a multiplexer having a duplexer and a single filter, has excellent transmission characteristics [0008].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 does not disclose, wherein the frequency band of the first transmission signal is a frequency band based on 4G standards, and wherein the frequency band of the second transmission signal is a frequency band based on 5G standards.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamaguch discloses, wherein the frequency band of the first transmission signal is a frequency band based on 4G standards, and wherein the frequency band of the second transmission signal is a frequency band based on 5G standards (A pass band of the filter 211 in the filter 21 is assigned with communication band B25 (1930 MHz to 1995 MHz), and a pass band of the filter 212 is assigned with communication band B66 (2110 MHz to 2200 MHz). These are combinations of communication bands that are targets of simultaneous communication in carrier aggregation, [0067]…A pass band of the filter 31 is assigned with communication band B30 (2350 MHz to 2360 MHz). A pass band of the filter 32 is assigned with communication band B41 (2496 MHz to 2690 MHz). A pass band of the filter 33 is assigned with communication band B7 (2620 MHz to 2690 MHz), [0070].]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 by specifically providing wherein the frequency band of the first transmission signal is a frequency band based on 4G standards, and wherein the frequency band of the second transmission signal is a frequency band based on 5G standards, as taught by Yamaguchi for the purpose of providing a high-frequency module that, while including a multiplexer having a duplexer and a single filter, has excellent transmission characteristics [0008].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo, Shinozaki2 and Yamaguchi discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), in addition Yamaghuchi discloses, wherein a combination of the frequency band of the first transmission signal and the frequency band of the second transmission signal is a combination of Band 1 and n40, a combination of Band 3 and n40, a combination of Band 1 and n41, a combination of Band 3 and n41, a combination of Band 39 and n41, a combination of Band 66 and n41, or a combination of Band 25 and n41 (A pass band of the filter 211 in the filter 21 is assigned with communication band B25 (1930 MHz to 1995 MHz), and a pass band of the filter 212 is assigned with communication band B66 (2110 MHz to 2200 MHz). These are combinations of communication bands that are targets of simultaneous communication in carrier aggregation, [0067]…A pass band of the filter 31 is assigned with communication band B30 (2350 MHz to 2360 MHz). A pass band of the filter 32 is assigned with communication band B41 (2496 MHz to 2690 MHz). A pass band of the filter 33 is assigned with communication band B7 (2620 MHz to 2690 MHz), [0070].]).
Regarding claim 15, Shinozaki discloses,
A high frequency module (Fig. 1; high frequency module 1) comprising:
a mounting substrate (module board 91) that has a first main surface and a second main surface that are opposite to each other (It should be noted that in FIG. 2A illustrates a layout of the circuit elements when, of principal surfaces 91a and 91b on opposite sides of module board 91, [0057]);
a plurality of components that are on the first main surface (transmission power amplifiers 11 and 12, duplexers 61 to 64, switch 56, matching circuits 31, 32, 41, and 42, and diplexer 60 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91a of module board 91, Fig. 2A and [0062]);
a resin layer (resin component 92; Fig. 2B) that covers at least part of the plurality of components (Resin component 92 is disposed on principal surface 91a of module board 91 and covers a portion of the transmission circuit, a portion of the reception circuit, and principal surface 91a of module board 91); and
a ground electrode that covers at least part of the resin layer (that module board 91 have a multilayer structure in which a plurality of dielectric layers are stacked, and that at least one of the plurality of dielectric layers include a ground electrode pattern formed thereon, [0068]),
wherein the plurality of components comprises a first component, a second component, and a third component (transmission power amplifiers 11 and 12, duplexers 61 to 64, switch 56, matching circuits 31, 32, 41, and 42, and diplexer 60 are surface-mounted on principal surface 91a of module board 91, Fig. 2A and [0062]),
wherein the first component is a first transmission filter or a first transmission power amplifier for a first transmission signal (Transmission filter 61T is disposed on transmission output path AT that connects transmission power amplifier 11 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 61T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band A, among the transmission signals that have been amplified by transmission power amplifier 11. Transmission filter 62T is disposed on transmission output path BT that connects transmission power amplifier 11 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 62T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band B [0032]),
wherein the second component is a second transmission filter or a second transmission power amplifier for a second transmission signal (Transmission filter 63T is disposed on transmission output path CT that connects transmission power amplifier 12 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 63T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band C, among the transmission signals that have been amplified by transmission power amplifier 12. Transmission filter 64T is disposed on transmission output path DT that connects transmission power amplifier 12 and antenna connection terminal 100. Transmission filter 64T passes a transmission signal in a transmission band of communication band D, [0032]) of a frequency band different from a frequency band of the first transmission signal (transmission power amplifier 12 is an amplifier that amplifies radio frequency signals of communication band C and communication band D that belong to a second frequency band group different from the first frequency band group, which have been input from transmission input terminal 110, [0027]),
wherein the third component is configured not to perform a simultaneous transmission operation together with the first component and the second component (radio frequency module 1 is capable of performing at least one of simultaneously transmitting, simultaneously receiving, or simultaneously transmitting and receiving a radio frequency signal of either communication band A or communication band B and a radio frequency signal of either communication band C or communication band D, [0052]), and
However, Shinozaki does not disclose, wherein a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode and wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate. In the same field of endeavor, of Otsubo discloses, wherein a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode (The shield film 5 covers surfaces of the sealing resin layer 4 (the upper surface 4a and the side surfaces 4c) and side surfaces 20c of the circuit board 2. The shield film 5 is connected to the ground electrodes (not illustrated) exposed at the corresponding side surface 20c of the circuit board 2, [0060]-[0062]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shinozaki by specifically providing wherein a top surface of the first component and a top surface of the second component are connected to the ground electrode and wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate, as taught by Otsubo for the purpose of providing a high-frequency module that, while maintaining a heat dissipation structure of a component that generates heat, can suppress heat from affecting another component [0007].
Further, the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo does not disclose, wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate. In the same field of endeavor, Shinozaki2 discloses, wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate (Fig. 1 of on a plan view seen from the thickness direction of the mounting board 91, the duplexer 32C (corresponding to the third component) is disposed between the duplexer 32A (corresponding to the first component (or the second component)) and the duplexer 32E (corresponding to the second component (or the first component)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki and Otsubo by specifically providing wherein the third component is between the first component and the second component in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting substrate, as taught by Shinozaki2 for the purpose of providing a system where size of the high frequency module is reduced and the jumping of transmitting signal within the power amplifier is suppressed so that operation of the power amplifier is stabilized. Furthermore, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 does not explicitly disclose, wherein a combination of the frequency band of the first transmission signal and the frequency band of the second transmission signal is a combination of Band 1 based on 4G standards and n40 based on 5G standards, a combination of Band 3 based on the 4G standards and n40 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 1 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 3 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 39 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 66 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, or a combination of Band 25 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards. In the same field of endeavor, Yamaguchi discloses, wherein a combination of the frequency band of the first transmission signal and the frequency band of the second transmission signal is a combination of Band 1 based on 4G standards and n40 based on 5G standards, a combination of Band 3 based on the 4G standards and n40 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 1 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 3 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 39 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards (A pass band of the filter 31 is assigned with communication band B30 (2350 MHz to 2360 MHz). A pass band of the filter 32 is assigned with communication band B41 (2496 MHz to 2690 MHz). A pass band of the filter 33 is assigned with communication band B7 (2620 MHz to 2690 MHz), [0070]), a combination of Band 66 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, or a combination of Band 25 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards ( A pass band of the filter 211 in the filter 21 is assigned with communication band B25 (1930 MHz to 1995 MHz), and a pass band of the filter 212 is assigned with communication band B66 (2110 MHz to 2200 MHz). These are combinations of communication bands that are targets of simultaneous communication in carrier aggregation, [0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 by specifically providing wherein a combination of the frequency band of the first transmission signal and the frequency band of the second transmission signal is a combination of Band 1 based on 4G standards and n40 based on 5G standards, a combination of Band 3 based on the 4G standards and n40 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 1 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 3 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 39 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, a combination of Band 66 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, or a combination of Band 25 based on the 4G standards and n41 based on the 5G standards, as taught by Yamaguchi for the purpose of providing a high-frequency module that, while including a multiplexer having a duplexer and a single filter, has excellent transmission characteristics [0008].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses the high frequency module according to claim 15 (see the claim 15 rejection above). Further, Shinozaki discloses, a signal processing circuit configured to process the first transmission signal and the second transmission signal that pass through the high frequency module (FIG. 1 illustrates a circuit configuration of radio frequency module 1 according to an embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 1, communication device 5 includes radio frequency module 1, antenna 2, radio frequency (RF) signal processing circuit (RF integrated circuit (IC)) 3, and baseband signal processing circuit (BBIC) 4, [0017]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozaki, in view of Otsubo, in view of Shinozaki2 and further in view of Hatanaka et al. (US 20090091904, hereinafter “Hatanaka”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 does not disclose, wherein the third component comprises a ground terminal that is connected to ground, wherein the third component comprises a through-hole via, and wherein the via connects the ground terminal to the ground electrode.
In the same field of endeavor, Hatanaka discloses, wherein the third component comprises a ground terminal that is connected to ground (The metal plate 14 in the electronic component 3 with a shielding function is connected to the ground terminal 15 through wiring 19 provided in the container 20, [0091]-[0093]), wherein the third component comprises a through-hole via, and wherein the via connects the ground terminal to the ground electrode (Note that the ground terminal 15 provided on the lower surface of the container 20 is connected to the external terminal 9 for grounding provided on the lower surface of the wiring board 2 through the internal wiring 7 and the via hold conductor 8 that are provided in the wiring board 2, as shown in FIG. 2, [0093]-[0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 by specifically providing wherein the third component comprises a ground terminal that is connected to ground, wherein the third component comprises a through-hole via, and wherein the via connects the ground terminal to the ground electrode, as taught by Hatanaka for the purpose of providing a circuit module that is superior in electromagnetic shielding function, can be miniaturized and reduced in height, and is superior in productivity [0015].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozaki, in view of Otsubo, in view of Shinozaki2 and further in view of Kishimoto (US 20180337439, hereinafter “Kishimoto”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 does not disclose, a ground terminal that is connected to a first end of the matching circuit and to ground, the ground terminal being on the second main surface of the mounting substrate, wherein the ground terminal is between the first component and the second component in the plan view of the mounting substrate.
In the same field of endeavor, Kishimoto discloses, a ground terminal that is connected to a first end of the matching circuit and to ground (one end of coupling line 11S is connected to a ground potential via termination resistor 13, Fig. 1), the ground terminal being on the second main surface of the mounting substrate, wherein the ground terminal is between the first component and the second component in the plan view of the mounting substrate (the termination resistor 13, which is constituted by a surface mounted component, is mounted on the land conductors 911 and 940. the resistance element 142, which is constituted by a surface mounted component, is mounted on the land conductor 913, Fig. 5 and Para. [0099]-[0101]…. in the configuration of this embodiment, as shown in fig. 5, a ground via conductor VHG that is connected to the ground terminal PGND on the rear surface of the multilayer substrate is provided between the coupling line 11S for the first high-frequency signal and the coupling line 12S for the second high-frequency signal and between the transmission line 11M for the first high-frequency signal and the transmission line 12M for the second high-frequency signal [0099]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 by specifically providing a ground terminal that is connected to a first end of the matching circuit and to ground, the ground terminal being on the second main surface of the mounting substrate, wherein the ground terminal is between the first component and the second component in the plan view of the mounting substrate, as taught by Kishimoto for the purpose of providing a directional coupler that has stable and high coupling performance for a plurality of high-frequency signals having different frequencies [0007].
Claim 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozaki, in view of Otsubo, in view of Shinozaki2 and further in view of Nagai (US 20130307749, hereinafter “Nagai”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 does not disclose, wherein the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged along a short side of the first component in the plan view of the mounting substrate, and wherein the third component is arranged such that a long side of the third component intersects a direction along the short side of the first component. In the same field of endeavor, Nagai discloses, wherein the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged along a short side of the first component in the plan view of the mounting substrate (the duplexer chip 4 also includes an antenna terminal 4a, a transmission-side signal terminal 4b, reception-side signal terminals 4c1 and 4c2, and a ground terminal 4d. Between the antenna terminal 4a and the transmission-side signal terminal 4b, a transmission filter unit is connected that preferably has the same or substantially the same configuration as the transmission filter unit 32, [0038]-[0040]), and wherein the third component is arranged such that a long side of the third component intersects a direction along the short side of the first component (The mounting substrate 2 includes first and second long sides 2a and 2b extending in an x direction and first and second short sides 2c and 2d extending in a y direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the x direction, Fig. 2 and [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 by specifically providing wherein the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged along a short side of the first component in the plan view of the mounting substrate, and wherein the third component is arranged such that a long side of the third component intersects a direction along the short side of the first component, as taught by Nagai for the purpose of providing a high-frequency module in which a plurality of demultiplexer chips are installed and preventing the deterioration of the sensitivity characteristic of a communication system [0007].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 does not disclose, wherein the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged along a short side of the second component in the plan view of the mounting substrate.. In the same field of endeavor, Nagai discloses, wherein the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged along a short side of the second component in the plan view of the mounting substrate.(the duplexer chip 4 also includes an antenna terminal 4a, a transmission-side signal terminal 4b, reception-side signal terminals 4c1 and 4c2, and a ground terminal 4d. Between the antenna terminal 4a and the transmission-side signal terminal 4b, a transmission filter unit is connected that preferably has the same or substantially the same configuration as the transmission filter unit 32, [0038]-[0040]..The mounting substrate 2 includes first and second long sides 2a and 2b extending in an x direction and first and second short sides 2c and 2d extending in a y direction perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to the x direction, Fig. 2 and [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Shinozaki, Otsubo and Shinozaki2 by specifically providing wherein the first component, the second component, and the third component are arranged along a short side of the second component in the plan view of the mounting substrate, as taught by Nagai for the purpose of providing a high-frequency module in which a plurality of demultiplexer chips are installed and preventing the deterioration of the sensitivity characteristic of a communication system [0007].
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
WO 2020179504: The module has a mounted substrate that is provided with a ground electrode layer formed with a plane wiring pattern. Several external connection terminals are arranged at the first main surface of the mounted substrate, and are set to ground electric potential. First high frequency component is mounted in the main surface. External connection terminals are arranged rather than first high frequency component at the outer peripheral side of the first main surface, and are connected to the ground electrode layer.
WO 2019004332: The high frequency module has a component that is mounted on an upper surface of a wiring board. A shield component is mounted between a component and a component. A sealing resin layer is set to coat the components and the shield component. A shield film is set to coat a surface of the sealing resin layer. An upper surface of the sealing resin layer is formed with a recess in which the shield component is exposed. The recess is formed on the inside of an edge so as to not reach a side surface of the sealing resin layer.
US 20060250182: Provides radio frequency module in which functions of radio frequency circuit realized in one component. Provides radio frequency circuit apparatus which us compatible with both a Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) system and a conventional system and permits alleviation of drop of power amplification efficiency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641