DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-10, 12-14, 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7, 10-11, 14-15 of copending Application No. 18/480591 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because as shown in the chart below the claims listed from ‘591 read on the claims listed for the present application.
18/480591
Present application
Claim 1
Claims 1, 3, 5, 18
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 6
Claim 5
Claim 7
Claim 6
Claim 8
Claim 7
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 11
Claim 12
Claim 14
Claim 13
Claim 15
Claim 14
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Policicchio (USPN 10694915) in view of Cameron (PGPub 20150266633).
With regards to claim 1, a product comprising a container (packaging, col. 14, lines 52-55) and a plurality of cleaning wipes (10) contained in said container, wherein said cleaning wipes have a longitudinal axis (LA) extending between opposing transverse edges that cross said longitudinal axis and longitudinal edges spaced apart from said longitudinal axis and extending between said transverse edges, wherein said cleaning wipes each comprise: a first nonwoven (fig. 2a, b, 3a, top set of 27; col. 4, lines 5-7) extending along said longitudinal axis and comprising a plurality of first nonwoven strips (17) extending from first nonwoven fixed ends, wherein said first nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis; a second nonwoven (fig. 2a, b, 3a; middle set of 27, col. 4, lines 5-7) extending along said longitudinal axis, wherein said second nonwoven is joined to said first nonwoven along a central bonded portion (38) and comprises a plurality of second nonwoven strips (17) extending from second nonwoven fixed ends to second nonwoven free ends, wherein said second nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis, wherein along said central bonded portion said second nonwoven is below said first nonwoven (figure 2a, b); and wherein more than about 10% by number of said second nonwoven strips are bent so that said second nonwoven free ends are out of plane relative to said second nonwoven fixed ends (17; folds in figure 2a are bent, so that the second nonwoven free ends are out of plane relative to the second nonwoven fixed ends; figure 2a shows where the top portions 27 have free ends that are out of the central plane of the center of items 27 having the fixed ends; further, the fluffing that occurs will deform the nonwoven layers out of the XY plane; col. 8, lines 30-36; while there is not mention of %, it is clear that more than 10% will be located out of the central plane since all the strips will be fluffed).
With regards to claim 2 and 16, more than 30% by number of said second nonwoven strips are bent so that said second nonwoven free ends are out of plane relative to said second nonwoven fixed ends (17; folds in figure 2a are bent; figure 2a shows where the top portions 27 have free ends that are out of the central plane of the center of items 27 having the fixed ends, further, the fluffing that occurs will deform the nonwoven layers out of the XY plane; col. 8, lines 30-36; while there is not mention of %, it is clear that more than 30% will be located out of the central plane since all the strips will be fluffed); and the second nonwoven fixed ends are above the first nonwoven fixed ends (as shown in figure 2b).
With regards to claim 3 and 18, the first nonwoven is gate folded (folds in figure 2a) and comprises a first nonwoven main portion (center of 27) that extends across said longitudinal axis, a pair of first nonwoven fold lines on opposite sides of said longitudinal axis, and a pair of first nonwoven gate portions each of which extend from one of said first nonwoven fold lines towards said central bonded portion and are bonded to said first nonwoven main portion (figure 2a).
With regards to claim 4, parts of said first nonwoven gate portions adjacent said first nonwoven fold lines and said first nonwoven main portion are unbonded to one another (bonds 28 are not at the folds and gate portions as shown in figure 2a).
With regards to claim 5, said second nonwoven is gate folded (folds in figure 2a) and comprises a second nonwoven main portion (center of 27) that extends across said longitudinal axis, a pair of second nonwoven fold lines on opposite sides of said longitudinal axis, and a pair of second nonwoven gate portions, each of which extend from one of said second nonwoven fold lines towards said central bonded portion and are bonded to said second nonwoven main portion (figure 2a).
With regards to claim 6, said second nonwoven gate portions each extend to an individual second nonwoven gate portion end (see folds in figure 2a) wherein parts of said second nonwoven gate portions adjacent said second nonwoven fold lines and said second nonwoven main portion are unbonded to one another (bonds 38 are not at the folds and gate portions as shown in figure 2a).
With regards to claim 7, said cleaning wipe further comprises: a third nonwoven (bottom set of 27 in figure 2a, b, 3a) extending along said longitudinal axis, wherein said third nonwoven is joined directly or indirectly to said second nonwoven along said central bonded portion (directed joined via 38) and comprises a plurality of third nonwoven strips (17) extending from third nonwoven fixed ends (at folds; figure 2a), wherein said third nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis, and wherein along said central bonded portion said second nonwoven is between said first nonwoven and said third nonwoven (25, 27, figure 1 and 2a).
With regards to claim 8, said third nonwoven strips extend further away from said longitudinal axis than said second nonwoven strips (figure 2b, where the third strip is further from the center).
With regards to claim 9, said third nonwoven is gate folded (see folds in figure 2a) and comprises a third nonwoven main portion (center of 25, 27) that extends across said longitudinal axis, a pair of third nonwoven fold lines on opposite sides of said longitudinal axis, and a pair of third nonwoven gate portions each of which extend from one of said third nonwoven fold lines towards said central bonded portion and are bonded to said third nonwoven main portion (figure 2a).
With regards to claim 10, said cleaning wipe further comprises: a fourth nonwoven (col. 7, lines 39-53 stated that up to 25 layers of items 27 can be used) extending along said longitudinal axis, wherein said fourth nonwoven is joined to said third nonwoven layer along said central bonded portion and comprises a plurality of fourth nonwoven strips extending from fourth nonwoven fixed ends, wherein said fourth nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis L, and wherein along said central bonded portion said third nonwoven is between said second nonwoven and said fourth nonwoven (the same rejection as laid out in claim 7 would apply to claim 10 but with respect to a fourth layer).
With regards to claim 11, it is clear that for each layer added, it would extend further from the longitudinal axis than the previous layer as shown in figure 2b and3a.
With regards to claim 12, said fourth nonwoven is gate folded and comprises a fourth nonwoven main portion that extends across said longitudinal axis, a pair of fourth nonwoven fold lines on opposite sides of said longitudinal axis, and pair of fourth nonwoven gate portions each of which extend from one of said fourth nonwoven fold lines towards said central bonded portion and are bonded to said fourth nonwoven main portion (the same rejection as laid out in claim 9 would apply to claim 12, but respect to a fourth layer).
With regards to claim 13, said cleaning wipe is folded about a fold axis orthogonal to said longitudinal axis and portions of said first nonwoven on opposite sides of said fold axis face one another (folds of 27 which extend perpendicular/orthogonal to the longitudinal axis; element 27 is arranged on top of each other to face each other as seen in figure 1 and 2a).
With regards to claim 17, wherein more than about 10% by number of said second nonwoven strips are twisted so that said second nonwoven free ends are out of plane relative to said second nonwoven fixed ends and are above said first nonwoven free ends (the fluffing that occurs will deform the nonwoven layers out of the XY plane; col. 8, lines 30-36; while there is not mention of %, it is clear that more than 10% will be located out of the central plane since all the strips will be fluffed; further, while there is no mention of twisting, it is clear that while being fluffed, the strips are twisted upward and will become intertangled/interlaced with each other due to the close nature of the strips).
With regards to claim 19, a product comprising a container (packaging, col. 14, lines 52-55) and a plurality of cleaning wipes (10) contained in said container, wherein said cleaning wipes have a longitudinal axis (LA) extending between opposing transverse edges that cross said longitudinal axis and longitudinal edges spaced apart from said longitudinal axis and extending between said transverse edges, wherein said cleaning wipes each comprise: a first nonwoven (fig. 2a, b, 3a, top set of 27; col. 4, lines 5-7) extending along said longitudinal axis and comprising a plurality of first nonwoven strips (17) extending from first nonwoven fixed ends, wherein said first nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis; a second nonwoven (fig. 2a, b, 3a; middle set of 27, col. 4, lines 5-7) extending along said longitudinal axis, wherein said second nonwoven is joined to said first nonwoven along a central bonded portion (38) and comprises a plurality of second nonwoven strips (17) extending from second nonwoven fixed ends to second nonwoven free ends, wherein said second nonwoven fixed ends are oriented towards said longitudinal axis, wherein along said central bonded portion said second nonwoven is below said first nonwoven (figure 2a, b); and wherein said second nonwoven strips are interlaced with said first nonwoven strips (when fluffed out of the XY plane, col. 8, lines 30-33).
With regards to claim 20, the first nonwoven is gate folded (folds in figure 2a) and comprises a first nonwoven main portion (center of 27) that extends across said longitudinal axis, a pair of first nonwoven fold lines on opposite sides of said longitudinal axis, and a pair of first nonwoven gate portions each of which extend from one of said first nonwoven fold lines towards said central bonded portion and are bonded to said first nonwoven main portion (figure 2a).
Policicchio teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach a closed container (claim 1, 18) with an intact frangible opening feature (claim 15). Cameron teaches a package for wet wipes comprising a closed container (11) with a frangible opening feature (23, 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Policicchio so that the package for the wipes is a closed container with a frangible opening feature as taught by Cameron so that the container can be opened and reclosed in a non-destructive manner.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Policicchio (USPN 10694915) and Cameron (PGPub 20150266633), further in view of Yamada (WO 2006070502).
Policicchio and Cameron teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach that the first nonwoven strips have a first color and said second nonwoven strips have a second color, wherein said first color differs from said second color. Policicchio teaches that some of the structure of the wipes are different colors to show contrast, however makes no mention of different colored strips (col. 13, lines 34-42). Yamada teaches a cleaning wipe with a first and second nonwoven layer (6) with strips having free ends and fixed ends (10). Each of the layers can be different colors (paragraph 0024, 0034). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strips of Policicchio so that they are different colors as taught by Yamada, since changing colors is a modification that has been considered to be within the level of ordinary skill in the art to follow and would not modify the functionality of the device. MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723