DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 3/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-12 remain pending in the present application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection as well as the previous claim objections. Claims 10-12 are new claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shih et al. (US PGPUB 20190299942) in view of Nakamura (US PGPUB 20220234467).
Regarding Claims 1 and 8-9; Shih teaches; A server that uses a battery replacement apparatus for virtual power plant (VPP) control to perform power feeding to a power grid and charging from the power grid, the battery replacement apparatus provided with at least one battery replaceable with a battery mounted on at least one electrically powered vehicle, (Shih; at least Figs. 3A; paragraphs [0016] and [0045]; disclose a battery replacement server system the provides a plurality of components for communicating with an electric vehicle containing an exchangeable battery)
the battery mounted on the at least one electrically powered vehicle being a first battery, the at least one battery provided in the battery replacement apparatus being a second battery, the server comprising: (Shih; at least paragraphs [0045]-[0046]; disclose a vehicle with a first battery attached as its power source and a plurality of second batteries contained in battery slots at a swappable battery power station)
a first communication unit that receives information about a request for adjustment of power supply-and-demand in the power grid; and (Shih; at least paragraph [0064]; disclose a power source analysis component (i.e. first communication unit) which receives a request that power to the battery swap station will be, for example, interrupted from 1am-3am)
a controller that predicts a schedule of replacement of the first battery at the battery replacement apparatus, wherein (Shih; at least paragraph [0070]; discloses battery demand prediction for exchanging a battery at the battery exchange station)
the controller specifies, based on the schedule, the second battery available for the VPP control for the request for adjustment, (Shih; at least paragraphs [0071]-[0074]; disclose identifying from the plurality of available batteries, whether to charge or discharge the battery based upon a state of charge to ensure there are charged batteries that can be acquired by a user needing a battery swap)
determines, based on the specified second battery, whether or not it is possible to respond to the request for adjustment, and (Shih; at least paragraph [0077]; disclose, wherein the system makes a determination, based upon the available batteries whether it’s possible to respond to the adjustment to continue providing services, and if not, notifying the server and shutting the station down)
uses the specified second battery to perform the VPP control in response to the request for adjustment. (Shih; at least paragraphs [0071]-[0074]; disclose wherein the system can utilize specific batteries selected for discharging their power to be used for an adjustment request).
Shih appears to be silent on; A server that uses a battery replacement apparatus for virtual power plant (VPP) control to perform power feeding to a power grid and charging from the power grid,
However, Nakamura teaches; A server that uses a battery replacement apparatus for virtual power plant (VPP) control to perform power feeding to a power grid and charging from the power grid, (Nakamura; at least Fig. 3; paragraphs [0076]-[0077]; disclose utilizing an electric vehicle power charging/supply station (i.e. which can reasonably be substituted for the battery swapping station as taught by Shih) to perform virtual power plant operations by providing power to a grid using the electric power vehicle systems).
Shih and Nakamura are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor or problem solving area of, vehicle supply/charging systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have incorporated the known method of using a battery charging/supply station to operate in a VPP system as taught by Nakamura with the known system of a battery swapping and charging station as taught by Shih in order to provide a way to help supplement energy demands during a demand response event as taught by Nakamura (paragraphs [0081]-[0083]).
Regarding Claim 2; the combination of Shih and Nakamura teach; The server according to claim 1, wherein the controller detects a first number of the at least one electrically powered vehicle around the battery replacement apparatus, and predicts the schedule of replacement of the first battery based on the first number. (Shih; at least paragraph [0067]).
Regarding Claim 3; the combination of Shih and Nakamura teach; The server according to claim 2, further comprising a first memory in which a first vehicle number estimation model is stored, wherein the first vehicle number estimation model is a trained model, the trained model inputting the first number and outputting a value based on a second number of the at least one electrically powered vehicle that uses the battery replacement apparatus, out of the first number, and the controller predicts the schedule based on the first vehicle number estimation model and the first number. (Shih; at least paragraphs [0032], [0035], [0037], [0050], and [0070]).
Regarding Claim 4; the combination of Shih and Nakamura teach; The server according to claim 2, further comprising a second communication unit that receives positional information about the at least one electrically powered vehicle, and the controller detects the first number based on the positional information. (Shih; at least paragraphs [0035] and [0050]).
Regarding Claim 5; the combination of Shih and Nakamura teach; The server according to claim 1, further comprising a second memory in which a second vehicle number estimation model is stored, wherein the second vehicle number estimation model is a trained model, the trained model inputting information about date and outputting a value based on a third number of the at least one electrically powered vehicle that uses the battery replacement apparatus on the date, and the controller predicts the schedule based on the second vehicle number estimation model and the information about the date. (Shih; at least paragraphs [0032], [0035], [0037], [0050], and [0070]).
Regarding Claim 6; the combination of Shih and Nakamura teach; The server according to claim 1, wherein the controller determines, based on a state of charge (SOC) of the specified second battery, whether or not it is possible to respond to the request for adjustment. (Shih; at least paragraphs [0076]-[0077]).
Regarding Claim 7; the combination of Shih and Nakamura teach; The server according to claim 6, wherein the controller calculates a total chargeable amount or a total dischargeable amount of the second battery, based on the SOC of the specified second battery, and determines, based on the total chargeable amount or the total dischargeable amount, whether or not it is possible to respond to the request for adjustment. (Shih; at least paragraphs [0071]-[0077]).
Regarding Claim 10; the combination of Shih and Nakamura teach; The server according to claim 1, wherein the controller preferentially selects the second battery having a high SOC to replace the first battery, and specifies a different second battery, other than the second battery selected for replacement with the first battery, as the second battery available for VPP control. (Shih; at least paragraphs [0070]-[0074]).
Regarding Claim 11; the combination of Shih and Nakamura teach; The server according to claim 1, wherein the controller calculates, based on a state of charge (SOC) of the specified second battery, a first amount of electric power indicating total chargeable amount or total dischargeable amount of the second battery, determines whether the first amount of electric power is greater than or equal to a second amount of electric power that satisfies the request for adjustment, and determines it is possible to respond to the request for adjustment when the first amount of electric power is determined to be greater than or equal to the second amount of electric power. (Shih; at least paragraphs [0070]-[0077]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 recites, “The server according to claim 1, wherein the controller calculates, based on a state of charge (SOC) of the specified second battery, first amount of electric power indicating a total chargeable amount or total dischargeable amount of the second battery,
determines whether the first amount of electric power is greater than or equal to a second amount of electric power that satisfies the request for adjustment,
when the first amount of electric power is more than or equal to the second amount of electric power:
calculates a time required to charge or discharge the second amount of electric power by using the specified second battery,
determines whether the calculated time is less than or equal to a requested time that satisfies the request for adjustment, and
determines it is possible to respond to the request for adjustment when the first amount of electric power is determined to be greater than or equal to the second amount of electric power and the calculated time is less than or equal to the requested time.”
The closest prior art of record is Shih et al. (US PGPUB 20190299942). Shih discloses an EV battery exchange system and method which determines battery exchange schedules as well as determines a plurality of batteries that can be utilized to respond to various events. The system will account for a state of charge of the plurality of batteries, predict batteries that will need to be swapped, based on the predicted schedule/demand as well as the state of charge, and will designate batteries to be utilized to perform discharge operations in the event they are required while preventing them from being swapped into a vehicle. However, Shih does not account for a charging time to charge the batteries to a specific level such that they will even be able to respond to a demand event, thus establishes a method to determine if a response is possible in a demand situation, which Shih does not account for.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 3/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8, and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shih et al. (US PGPUB 20190299942) in view of Nakamura (US PGPUB 20220234467).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kachi (US PGPUB 20140184159): disclose a vehicle battery charging/swapping system and method that in the event of a demand response event, can utilize batteries at the station for providing power to a grid to cover the response.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER W CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2117