DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 8/4/26, the following has occurred: Claims 1, 14, and 20 have been amended; and Claims 5, 13, 18, and 21 are cancelled.
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-17, and 19-20 are pending. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 8/4/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0111427 A1 (US'427).
As to Claim 1:
US'427 discloses a solid state battery cell comprising an anode, a cathode, and a solid state electrolyte disposed between the anode and the cathode (US'427, [0004], [0337], [0341], [0357], FIG. 19, disclosing a fully solid-state battery cell 19-800 comprising positive electrode/cathode 19-820, negative electrode/anode 19-810, and a solid electrolyte separator sheet 19-802 disposed between the anode and the cathode);
where the solid state electrolyte is a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
S
n
S
2
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
S
i
S
2
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
G
e
S
2
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
B
2
S
3
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
G
a
2
S
3
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
3
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
A
l
2
S
3
system, a
L
i
2
O
-
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
P
2
O
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
G
e
S
2
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
L
i
X
system, where
X
=
F
,
C
l
,
B
r
o
r
I
; a
L
i
2
S
-
A
s
2
S
5
-
S
n
S
2
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
A
l
2
S
3
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
L
i
X
-
S
i
S
2
, where
X
=
F
,
C
l
,
B
r
o
r
I
(US'427, [0197]–[0201], disclosing sulfide solid electrolyte compositions including a
0.7
L
i
2
S
-
0.29
P
2
S
5
-
0.01
P
2
O
5
system (
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
P
2
O
5
system),
L
i
2
S
-
S
i
S
2
systems,
L
i
3
P
S
4
and
L
i
7
P
3
S
11
(
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
systems), and
L
i
10
G
e
P
2
S
12
(
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
G
e
S
2
system));
where the anode is a lithium metal composite anode that comprises a lithium metal layer and a metal sulfide (US'427, [0011]–[0012], [0349]–[0357], FIGS. 15, 16, 18, 19, disclosing an electrode assembly providing the negative electrode comprising a deposited lithium metal layer 16-510/18-710/19-810 and a metal sulfide protective coating layer 14-304/15-402/17-602a); and
where the metal sulfide is aluminum sulfide, germanium sulfide, silicon sulfide, selenium sulfide, or a combination thereof (US'427, [0011], [0012], [0349], [0351], [0354], [0358], disclosing that the metal sulfide protective coating layer is formed by depositing metals/semi-metals specifically selected from
A
l
,
G
e
, and
S
i
to react with sulfur derived from the sulfide glass solid electrolyte, thereby forming aluminum sulfide, germanium sulfide, or silicon sulfide).
As to Claim 2:
US'427 discloses the solid state battery cell of Claim 1 (see the rejection of Claim 1); and
where the metal sulfide is disposed as a continuous layer on the lithium metal layer (US'427, [0007], [0011]–[0012], [0349]–[0354], [0356]–[0357], FIGS. 15, 16, 18, 19, disclosing that the protective metal sulfide coating 14-304/15-402/17-602a is a continuous, pinhole-free layer of metal sulfide disposed on and directly contacting the deposited lithium metal layer 16-510/18-710/19-810).
As to Claim 7:
US'427 discloses the battery cell of Claim 2 (see the rejection of Claim 2); and
where the continuous layer of metal sulfide has a thickness of 0.001 micrometers to 50 micrometers (US'427, [0007], [0354], disclosing that the continuous, pinhole-free metal sulfide protective coating layer has a thickness in the range of 10 nm to 3000 nm (i.e., 0.010 micrometers to 3.0 micrometers), and more generally from ten nanometers to several micrometers, which falls entirely within the claimed range of 0.001 micrometers to 50 micrometers).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0111427 A1 (US'427), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2021/0126260 A1 (US'260).
As to Claim 3:
US'427 discloses the solid state battery cell of Claim 1 (see the rejection of Claim 1), comprising an anode, a cathode, and a solid state electrolyte disposed between the anode and the cathode, where the solid state electrolyte is a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
S
i
S
2
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
P
2
O
5
system, or a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
G
e
S
2
system, and where the anode is a lithium metal composite anode that comprises a lithium metal layer and a metal sulfide, where the metal sulfide is aluminum sulfide, germanium sulfide, or silicon sulfide (US'427, [0004], [0011]–[0012], [0197]–[0201], [0337], [0341], [0349]–[0358], FIGS. 15, 16, 18, 19).
However, US'427 does not explicitly disclose that the metal sulfide is in a form of particles partially embedded on a surface of the lithium metal layer, disclosing instead that the metal sulfide is formed as a continuous thin-film coating layer (US'427, [0007], [0011]–[0012], [0344], [0349]–[0354]).
US'260 discloses a lithium metal anode and a method of making the same wherein a composite lithium metal anode (10) comprises a lithium metal layer (14) and a particulate material (16) added and partially embedded on the exterior surface (18) of the lithium metal layer (US'260, [0007], [0011], [0012], [0017], [0020], FIG. 1, Claim 14). US'260 further discloses that the particulate materials define a size of 100 microns or less, 10 microns or less, or 1 micron or less (US'260, [0024]), are selected from lithiophilic metallic and inorganic materials (including
A
l
,
S
i
,
G
e
,
S
e
,
A
l
2
O
3
, and
S
i
O
2
) (US'260, [0028], [0035]), and are distributed onto the surface of the lithium metal layer and passed through a nip (330) formed between press rollers (340, 350) to at least partially attach, press, or embed the particulate materials into the surface of the lithium metal layer to mitigate lithium dendrite growth and enhance battery cycle life (US'260, [0003]–[0006], [0011], [0018], [0020], [0044], FIG. 4, Claim 1).
US'427 and US'260 are analogous arts because both references are in the same field of endeavor of lithium-based rechargeable batteries and battery electrodes, and both are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of mitigating lithium dendrite formation and improving the interfacial stability of a lithium metal anode (US'427, [0003], [0005]–[0006]; US'260, [0002]–[0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium composite anode of US'427 by providing the metal sulfide in the form of particles partially embedded on the surface of the lithium metal layer, as taught by US'260, in order to mechanically anchor the protective particulate material onto the lithium metal surface via roller pressing, improve interfacial contact with the electrolyte, accommodate electrode volume changes during charging and discharging, and effectively suppress the growth of lithium dendrites (US'427, [0005]–[0006]; US'260, [0005]–[0007], [0011], [0018]).
As to Claim 4:
US'427 discloses the solid state battery cell of Claim 1 (see the rejection of Claim 1), comprising an anode, a cathode, and a solid state electrolyte disposed between the anode and the cathode, where the solid state electrolyte is a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
S
i
S
2
system, a
L
i
2
O
-
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
P
2
O
5
system, or a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
G
e
S
2
system, and where the anode is a lithium metal composite anode that comprises a lithium metal layer and a metal sulfide, where the metal sulfide is aluminum sulfide, germanium sulfide, silicon sulfide, or a combination thereof (US'427, [0004], [0011]–[0012], [0197]–[0201], [0337], [0341], [0349]–[0358], FIGS. 15, 16, 18, 19).
However, US'427 does not explicitly disclose that the metal sulfide is in a form of particles that are dispersed in a volume of the lithium metal layer, disclosing instead that the metal sulfide is disposed as a continuous layer or multi-layer coating on the surface of the lithium metal layer (US'427, [0007], [0011]–[0012], [0344], [0349]–[0354]).
US'260 discloses a lithium metal composite anode (200) for a battery comprising a lithium metal layer (214) and a plurality of particulate materials (216) dispersed and embedded throughout the volume and width of the lithium metal layer (US'260, [0007], [0011], [0014], [0017], [0020], FIG. 3, Claim 16). US'260 further discloses that the particulate materials define a micron or sub-micron particle size of 100 microns or less, 10 microns or less, or 1 micron or less (US'260, [0024]), are selected from lithiophilic metallic and inorganic materials (specifically including
A
l
,
S
i
,
G
e
,
S
e
,
A
l
2
O
3
, and
S
i
O
2
) (US'260, [0028], [0035]), and are dispersed throughout the volume of the lithium metal layer by depositing the particles onto a lithium metal film, folding the lithium film upon itself, and passing it through a nip (330) formed between press rollers (340, 350) multiple times to distribute the particulate material throughout the bulk width/volume of the lithium metal layer to provide active void sites for faster three-dimensional lithium-ion transfer flux, control the growth rate of dead lithium, suppress dendrite formation, and improve battery cycle life (US'260, [0003]–[0006], [0011], [0018]–[0020], [0036], FIG. 3, FIG. 4, Claims 1, 4).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the lithium metal composite anode of US'427 by providing the metal sulfide in the form of particles that are dispersed in the volume of the lithium metal layer, as taught by US'260, in order to establish a three-dimensional network for lithium-ion transfer throughout the bulk of the anode, facilitate faster lithium-ion diffusion, control the kinetic growth rate of dead lithium, and enhance the cycle life and operating stability of the solid state battery cell (US'427, [0005]–[0006]; US'260, [0005]–[0007], [0011], [0020], [0036]).
As to Claim 14:
US'427 discloses a method of manufacturing a battery cell comprising: (US'427, [0004], [0314]–[0328], [0337], [0357], FIG. 19);
disposing a lithium metal composite anode on an anode current collector; where the lithium metal composite anode comprises a lithium metal layer and a metal sulfide; where the metal sulfide is aluminum sulfide, germanium sulfide, silicon sulfide, or a combination thereof (US'427, [0011]–[0012], [0047], [0324], [0328], [0349]–[0356], [0358], FIGS. 15, 16, 18, 19, disclosing forming a negative electrode/anode comprising a deposited lithium metal layer 16-510/18-710/19-810 and a metal sulfide protective coating layer 14-304/15-402/17-602a formed by depositing metals/semi-metals specifically selected from Al, Ge, and Si to react with sulfur to produce aluminum sulfide, germanium sulfide, or silicon sulfide, and disposing an anode current collector such as copper foil on the lithium metal layer);
disposing a solid state electrolyte on the lithium metal composite anode; where the solid state electrolyte is a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
S
i
S
2
system, a
L
i
2
O
-
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
P
2
O
5
system, or a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
G
e
S
2
system (US'427, [0197]–[0201], [0343]–[0357], FIGS. 12, 19, disclosing providing/disposing a sulfide solid electrolyte sheet 12-102/19-802 on/adjacent the composite anode, wherein the sulfide solid electrolyte comprises a
0.7
L
i
2
S
-
0.29
P
2
S
5
-
0.01
P
2
O
5
system (
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
P
2
O
5
system),
L
i
2
S
-
S
i
S
2
systems,
L
i
3
P
S
4
and
L
i
7
P
3
S
11
(
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
systems), or
L
i
10
G
e
P
2
S
12
(
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
G
e
S
2
system));
disposing a cathode active layer on the solid state electrolyte (US'427, [0337], [0339]–[0341], [0357], FIG. 19, disclosing disposing a positive electrode / cathode active layer 19-820 on the solid electrolyte sheet 19-802 opposing the negative electrode); and
disposing a cathode current collector on the cathode active layer (US'427, [0314], [0337], [0357], FIG. 19, disclosing disposing a cathode current collector in contact with the cathode active layer).
However, US'427 does not explicitly teach disposing the lithium metal composite anode on the anode current collector by laminating a pre-formed particulate-based lithium composite anode structure onto a current collector foil via a roller press process.
US'260 discloses a method of manufacturing a lithium metal composite anode and battery cell comprising providing at least a portion of lithium metal (14, 300), adding particulate materials (16, 310) onto the lithium metal, and passing the layers through a nip (330) formed between press rollers (340, 350) to embed/adhere the particulate materials on or in the lithium metal layer, and disposing/laminating the lithium metal layer to a copper foil or current collector (12, 212) using a roll coating/roller press process (US'260, [0008], [0011], [0017]–[0020], [0022], Abstract, FIG. 1, FIG. 4, Claims 1, 14).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to manufacture the battery cell of US'427 by disposing the lithium metal composite anode onto the current collector foil via a roller press lamination process, as taught by US'260, in order to provide a robust, practical, and cost-effective roll-to-roll manufacturing method that ensures uniform mechanical adhesion and intimate contact between the lithium metal composite anode and the current collector (US'427, [0005]–[0006]; US'260, [0006], [0011], [0018], [0020]).
As to Claim 15:
US'427 discloses the method of manufacturing a battery cell of Claim 14 (see the rejection of Claim 14; (US'427, [0004], [0011]–[0012], [0047], [0197]–[0201], [0314]–[0328], [0337], [0341], [0349]–[0358], FIGS. 12, 15, 16, 18, 19)); and
where the metal sulfide is disposed as a continuous layer on the lithium metal layer (US'427, [0007], [0011]–[0012], [0349]–[0354], [0356], FIGS. 15, 16, 18, 19, disclosing that the metal sulfide protective coating layer 14-304/15-402/17-602a is formed as a continuous, pinhole-free layer disposed on and directly contacting the deposited lithium metal layer 16-510/18-710/19-810).
However, as discussed in the rejection of Claim 14, US'427 does not explicitly teach disposing the lithium metal composite anode on the anode current collector by laminating the lithium metal composite anode structure onto a current collector foil via a roller press process.
US'260 discloses a method of manufacturing a lithium metal composite anode and battery cell comprising providing at least a portion of lithium metal (14, 300), disposing a protective layer (16, 310) onto the lithium metal layer, and passing the layers through a nip (330) formed between press rollers (340, 350) to press and adhere the layer on the lithium metal layer, and disposing/laminating the lithium metal layer onto a current collector foil (such as copper foil 12, 212) using a roll coating/roller press process (US'260, [0008], [0011], [0017]–[0020], [0022], Abstract, FIG. 1, FIG. 4, Claims 1, 14).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to manufacture the battery cell of US'427 having the continuous metal sulfide layer on the lithium metal layer by disposing the lithium metal composite anode onto the current collector foil via a roller press lamination process, as taught by US'260, in order to provide a robust, practical, and cost-effective roll-to-roll manufacturing method that ensures uniform mechanical adhesion and intimate contact between the lithium metal composite anode and the current collector (US'427, [0005]–[0006]; US'260, [0006], [0011], [0018], [0020]).
As to Claim 16:
US'427 discloses the method of manufacturing a battery cell of Claim 14 (see the rejection of Claim 14; (US'427, [0004], [0011]–[0012], [0047], [0197]–[0201], [0314]–[0328], [0337], [0341], [0349]–[0358], FIGS. 12, 15, 16, 18, 19)), comprising disposing a lithium metal composite anode on an anode current collector, where the lithium metal composite anode comprises a lithium metal layer and a metal sulfide (aluminum sulfide, germanium sulfide, or silicon sulfide); disposing a solid state electrolyte on the lithium metal composite anode, where the solid state electrolyte is a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
S
i
S
2
system, a
L
i
2
O
-
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
P
2
O
5
system, or a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
G
e
S
2
system; disposing a cathode active layer on the solid state electrolyte; and disposing a cathode current collector on the cathode active layer.
However, US'427 does not explicitly disclose that the metal sulfide is in a form of particles partially embedded on a surface of the lithium metal layer, disclosing instead that the metal sulfide is disposed as a continuous layer or multi-layer coating on the surface of the lithium metal layer (US'427, [0007], [0011]–[0012], [0344], [0349]–[0354]).
US'260 discloses a method of manufacturing a lithium metal anode for a battery comprising providing at least a portion of lithium metal (14, 300), adding particulate materials (16, 310) onto at least a part of the surface of the lithium metal via a feeder device (360), and pressing the portion of lithium metal and the particulate materials through a nip (330) formed between an upper press roller (340) and a lower press roller (350) to at least partially adhere, press, or embed the particulate materials on the surface (18) of the lithium metal layer to inhibit or eliminate the formation of dendrites (US'260, [0005]–[0007], [0011], [0017]–[0018], [0020], [0022], FIG. 1, FIG. 4, Claims 1, 2, 14). US'260 further discloses that the particulate materials define a micron or sub-micron size of 100 microns or less, 10 microns or less, or 1 micron or less (US'260, [0024]), and are selected from lithiophilic metallic and inorganic materials (specifically including
A
l
,
S
i
,
G
e
,
S
e
,
A
l
2
O
3
, and
S
i
O
2
) (US'260, [0028], [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of manufacturing the battery cell of US'427 by providing the metal sulfide in the form of particles partially embedded on the surface of the lithium metal layer via roller pressing, as taught by US'260, in order to mechanically embed and anchor the protective particulate material onto the lithium metal surface, enhance interfacial mechanical contact with the solid electrolyte, accommodate volume expansion/contraction of the electrode during charging and discharging, and effectively suppress the growth of lithium dendrites (US'427, [0005]–[0006]; US'260, [0005]–[0007], [0011], [0018], [0036]).
As to Claim 17:
US'427 discloses the method of manufacturing a battery cell of Claim 14 (see the rejection of Claim 14; (US'427, [0004], [0011]–[0012], [0047], [0197]–[0201], [0314]–[0328], [0337], [0341], [0349]–[0358], FIGS. 12, 15, 16, 18, 19)), comprising disposing a lithium metal composite anode on an anode current collector, where the lithium metal composite anode comprises a lithium metal layer and a metal sulfide (aluminum sulfide, germanium sulfide, or silicon sulfide); disposing a solid state electrolyte on the lithium metal composite anode, where the solid state electrolyte is a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
S
i
S
2
system, a
L
i
2
O
-
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
system, a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
P
2
O
5
system, or a
L
i
2
S
-
P
2
S
5
-
G
e
S
2
system; disposing a cathode active layer on the solid state electrolyte; and disposing a cathode current collector on the cathode active layer.
However, US'427 does not explicitly disclose that the metal sulfide is in a form of particles that are dispersed in a volume of the lithium metal layer, disclosing instead that the metal sulfide is disposed as a continuous layer or multi-layer coating on the surface of the lithium metal layer (US'427, [0007], [0011]–[0012], [0344], [0349]–[0354]).
US'260 discloses a method of manufacturing a lithium metal anode for a battery comprising providing at least a portion of lithium metal (214, 300), adding particulate materials (216, 310) onto a surface of the lithium metal, and passing the lithium metal layer through a nip (330) formed between an upper press roller (340) and a lower press roller (350), wherein the lithium metal layer with the particulate material is folded upon itself and passed through the nip one or more times to disperse and embed the particulate materials throughout the volume and width of the lithium metal layer (US'260, [0007], [0011], [0014], [0017], [0018], [0020], [0036], FIG. 3, FIG. 4, Claims 1, 4, 16). US'260 further discloses that the particulate materials define a micron or sub-micron size of 100 microns or less, 10 microns or less, or 1 micron or less (US'260, [0024]), are selected from lithiophilic metallic and inorganic materials (specifically including
A
l
,
S
i
,
G
e
,
S
e
,
A
l
2
O
3
, and
S
i
O
2
) (US'260, [0028], [0035]), and are dispersed throughout the volume of the lithium metal layer to provide active void sites for faster three-dimensional lithium-ion transfer flux, control the growth rate of dead lithium, suppress dendrite formation, and improve battery cycle life (US'260, [0003]–[0006], [0011], [0020], [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of manufacturing the battery cell of US'427 by providing the metal sulfide in the form of particles that are dispersed in the volume of the lithium metal layer via folding and roller pressing, as taught by US'260, in order to establish three-dimensional pathways for lithium-ion diffusion throughout the bulk of the anode, increase lithium-ion transfer kinetics, control the growth rate of dead lithium, and enhance the cycle life and operating stability of the solid state battery cell (US'427, [0005]–[0006]; US'260, [0005]–[0007], [0011], [0020], [0036]).
Claims 6, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0111427 A1 (US'427).
As to Claim 6:
US'427 discloses the battery cell of Claim 2 (see the rejection of Claim 2);
where the continuous layer of metal sulfide has a thickness in the range of 10 nm to 3000 nm (0.01 micrometers to 3 micrometers) (US'427, [0007], [0354]); and
where the lithium metal layer has a thickness of at least 1 micrometer, typically between 2 to 10 micrometers (e.g., about 1 micrometer, about 2 micrometers, about 5 micrometers, or about 10 micrometers) (US'427, [0049], [0070], [0356]).
However, US'427 does not explicitly express the mathematical thickness ratio of the continuous layer of metal sulfide to that of the lithium metal layer as a range of 0.01:1 to 0.5:1.
US'427 explicitly teaches continuous metal sulfide coating layer thicknesses ranging from 10 nm to 3000 nm (0.01 micrometers to 3 micrometers) (US'427, [0354]) and deposited lithium metal layer thicknesses ranging from 1 micrometer to 10 micrometers (US'427, [0049], [0356]). Selecting thickness values within these explicitly disclosed ranges directly yields thickness ratios that fall squarely within the claimed range of 0.01:1 to 0.5:1 (for example, a metal sulfide thickness of 0.01 micrometers (10 nm) with a lithium metal layer thickness of 1 micrometer yields a ratio of 0.01:1; a metal sulfide thickness of 0.1 micrometers (100 nm) with a lithium metal layer thickness of 2 micrometers yields a ratio of 0.05:1; and a metal sulfide thickness of 1 micrometer (1000 nm) with a lithium metal layer thickness of 2 micrometers yields a ratio of 0.5:1) (US'427, [0049], [0354], [0356]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select and combine layer thicknesses within the ranges taught by US'427 to arrive at a thickness ratio of the continuous layer of metal sulfide to that of the lithium metal layer of 0.01:1 to 0.5:1 in order to ensure that the protective metal sulfide coating is sufficiently thick to protect the solid electrolyte and prevent side reactions while providing sufficient lithium metal layer thickness for cell capacity and cycling (US'427, [0005]–[0007], [0354], [0356]).
As to Claim 19:
US'427 discloses the method of Claim 15 (see the rejection of Claim 15);
where the continuous layer of metal sulfide has a thickness in the range of 10 nm to 3000 nm (0.01 micrometers to 3 micrometers) (US'427, [0007], [0354]); and
where the lithium metal layer has a thickness of at least 1 micrometer, typically between 2 to 10 micrometers (e.g., about 1 micrometer, about 2 micrometers, about 5 micrometers, or about 10 micrometers) (US'427, [0049], [0070], [0356]).
However, US'427 does not explicitly express the mathematical thickness ratio of the continuous layer of metal sulfide to that of the lithium metal layer as a range of 0.01:1 to 0.5:1.
US'427 explicitly teaches continuous metal sulfide coating layer thicknesses ranging from 10 nm to 3000 nm (0.01 micrometers to 3 micrometers) (US'427, [0354]) and deposited lithium metal layer thicknesses ranging from 1 micrometer to 10 micrometers (US'427, [0049], [0356]). Selecting thickness values within these explicitly disclosed ranges directly yields thickness ratios that fall squarely within the claimed range of 0.01:1 to 0.5:1 (for example, a metal sulfide thickness of 0.01 micrometers (10 nm) with a lithium metal layer thickness of 1 micrometer yields a ratio of 0.01:1; a metal sulfide thickness of 0.1 micrometers (100 nm) with a lithium metal layer thickness of 2 micrometers yields a ratio of 0.05:1; and a metal sulfide thickness of 1 micrometer (1000 nm) with a lithium metal layer thickness of 2 micrometers yields a ratio of 0.5:1) (US'427, [0049], [0354], [0356]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select and combine layer thicknesses within the ranges taught by US'427 in the method of manufacturing the battery cell to arrive at a thickness ratio of the continuous layer of metal sulfide to that of the lithium metal layer of 0.01:1 to 0.5:1 in order to ensure that the protective metal sulfide coating is sufficiently thick to protect the solid electrolyte and prevent side reactions while providing sufficient lithium metal layer thickness for cell capacity and cycling (US'427, [0005]–[0007], [0354], [0356]).
As to Claim 20:
US'427 discloses the method of Claim 19 (see the rejection of Claim 19); and
where the continuous layer of metal sulfide has a thickness in the range of 10 nm to 3000 nm (0.010 micrometers to 3.0 micrometers), and more generally from ten nanometers to several micrometers (US'427, [0007], [0354]).
However, US'427 does not explicitly recite the broader thickness range of 0.001 micrometers to 50 micrometers verbatim.
US'427 explicitly teaches that the continuous, pinhole-free metal sulfide protective coating layer has a thickness in the range of 10 nm to 3000 nm (0.010 micrometers to 3.0 micrometers), and up to several micrometers (US'427, [0007], [0354]), which falls entirely within and overlaps the claimed thickness range of 0.001 micrometers to 50 micrometers.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select a thickness of the continuous layer of metal sulfide within the range of 0.001 micrometers to 50 micrometers, as taught by US'427, in order to provide a continuous, pinhole-free protective layer that prevents adverse chemical reactions and moisture degradation at the sulfide glass electrolyte interface while ensuring low interfacial resistance during battery cycling (US'427, [0005]–[0007], [0354]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0111427 A1 (US'427), as applied to Claim 3 above, and further in view of US 2022/0085361 A1 (US'361).
As to Claim 8:
US'427 discloses the battery cell of Claim 3 (see the rejection of Claim 3; and see the rejection of Claim 1, US'427, [0004], [0011]–[0012], [0197]–[0201], [0337], [0341], [0349]–[0358], FIGS. 15, 16, 18, 19).
However, US'427 does not explicitly disclose that the particles are disposed on the lithium metal layer in an amount effective to cover an area of 10 to 90 percent of a total surface area of the lithium metal layer.
US'361 discloses a negative electrode plate and battery comprising an active material layer and an inorganic dielectric material layer disposed on a surface of the electrode layer, wherein the inorganic dielectric material is disposed on the surface in an amount effective to provide a surface coverage ratio (
δ
) of 50% to 100%, for example 50% to 95%, 60% to 80%, 50%, 70%, 80%, or 90% (which falls squarely within the claimed range of 10 to 90 percent of a total surface area) (US'361, [0049]–[0054], [0059], [0171], [0196], [0198], [0243], Claim 3). US'361 further teaches that configuring the inorganic material with spaced-apart regions and open channels to achieve a surface coverage ratio within this range provides open pathways for electrolyte penetration and lithium ion transport, relieves expansion and shrinkage stress, stabilizes the negative electrode interface, and improves the cycle life and rate performance of the battery (US'361, [0018], [0042]–[0045], [0051]–[0054]).
US'427 and US'361 are analogous arts because both references are in the same field of endeavor of lithium-based rechargeable batteries and lithium battery electrodes, and both references are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of protecting electrode interfaces, stabilizing lithium metal/active materials, controlling interfacial reaction rates, and improving battery cycle life and safety (US'427, [0003]–[0006]; US'361, [0002]–[0005], [0018], [0042]–[0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the metal sulfide particles of US'427 to be disposed on the lithium metal layer in an amount effective to cover an area of 10 to 90 percent of the total surface area of the lithium metal layer, as taught by US'361, in order to provide open channels for facile electrolyte penetration and ion migration, effectively relieve volume expansion stress, stabilize the negative electrode interface, and improve battery cycle life and safety performance (US'427, [0005]–[0006]; US'361, [0018], [0042], [0051]–[0054]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0111427 A1 (US'427), as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of US 2017/0338475 A1 (US'475).
As to Claim 9:
US'427 discloses the battery cell of Claim 4 (see the rejection of Claim 4; and see the rejection of Claim 1, US'427, [0004], [0011]–[0012], [0197]–[0201], [0337], [0341], [0349]–[0358], FIGS. 15, 16, 18, 19).
However, US'427 does not explicitly disclose that the particles dispersed in the volume of the lithium metal layer occupy 1 to 50 percent of the total volume of the lithium metal composite anode.
US'475 discloses an article for an electrochemical cell comprising an electrode layer (such as a lithium metal layer) and a plurality of particles embedded within the layer, wherein the particles occupy 0.1 vol% to 25 vol% (e.g., at least 1 vol%, at least 5 vol%, at least 10 vol%, or at least 20 vol%) of the layer, or where particulate materials are mixed and distributed in volume amounts of 10 vol% to 30 vol% (which falls squarely within the claimed range of 1 to 50 percent of the total volume of the composite anode) (US'475, [0005], [0064], [0077], [0177], [0179]–[0180]). US'475 further teaches that incorporating and embedding the particulate materials within the lithium metal layer in these volume ranges prevents side reactions with the electrolyte, lowers initial cell impedance, facilitates smooth ion transport, and significantly improves the cycle life of the electrochemical cell (US'475, [0003]–[0005], [0045], [0050], [0174]–[0175]).
US'427 and US'475 are analogous arts because both references are in the same field of endeavor of lithium-based rechargeable batteries and lithium composite electrodes, and both references are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of protecting lithium metal anodes, improving ionic transport, reducing interfacial impedance, and mitigating dendrite growth (US'427, [0003]–[0006]; US'475, [0002]–[0005], [0045], [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the metal sulfide particles dispersed in the volume of the lithium metal layer of US'427 to occupy 1 to 50 percent of the total volume of the lithium metal composite anode, as taught by US'475, in order to optimize the balance between lithium storage capacity and ion-conduction pathways, maintain low interfacial impedance, and enhance the cycle life and operational stability of the solid state battery cell (US'427, [0005]–[0006]; US'475, [0003]–[0005], [0050], [0077]).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0111427 A1 (US'427), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0296393 A1 (US'393).
As to Claim 10:
US'427 discloses the solid state battery cell of Claim 1 (see the rejection of Claim 1); and
where the cathode comprises a cathode current collector in electrical communication with a cathode active layer, and the cathode active layer comprises a cathode active material and the solid state electrolyte (US'427, [0047], [0314], [0337], [0339]–[0341], [0357], FIG. 19, disclosing a positive electrode/cathode 19-820 comprising a cathode active material in electrical communication with a current collector and in direct contact with a solid state electrolyte sheet 19-802).
However, US'427 does not explicitly disclose that the cathode active layer comprises an electrically conductive additive and a polymeric binder together with the cathode active material and the solid state electrolyte.
US'393 discloses a sulfide solid-state battery (100) comprising a cathode (10), an anode (20), and a sulfide solid electrolyte layer (30) provided between the cathode (10) and the anode (20), wherein the cathode (10) comprises a cathode current collector (11) in contact and electrical communication with a cathode active layer (cathode mixture layer 12) (US'393, [0020]–[0021], [0024]–[0025], FIG. 1, Claim 1). US'393 further discloses that the cathode active layer (12) comprises a cathode active material (such as lithium cobaltate, lithium nickelate, lithium manganate, or NMC), an electrically conductive additive (such as acetylene black, Ketjen black, carbon nanotubes, carbon nanofibers, or graphite), the sulfide solid state electrolyte, and a polymeric binder (such as PVdF, PTFE, SBR, or butadiene rubber) (US'393, [0024], [0026]–[0031]).
US'427 and US'393 are analogous arts because both references are in the same field of endeavor of sulfide-based all-solid-state lithium secondary batteries, and both references are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of constructing solid-state battery electrodes and solid electrolyte interfaces to improve ionic conductivity, reduce interfacial resistance, and enhance battery cycle life and safety (US'427, [0003]–[0006]; US'393, [0001]–[0002], [0006]–[0007]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to formulate the cathode active layer of US'427 to comprise a cathode active material, an electrically conductive additive, the solid state electrolyte, and a polymeric binder on the cathode current collector, as taught by US'393, in order to establish continuous 3D networks for both electron transport and lithium-ion conduction throughout the cathode active layer while ensuring strong mechanical binding, cohesion, and crack resistance of the cathode mixture on the current collector during repeated charge-discharge cycling (US'427, [0003]–[0005]; US'393, [0006]–[0007], [0024], [0028]–[0031]).
As to Claim 11:
US'427 discloses the battery of Claim 10 (see the rejection of Claim 10; and see the rejection of Claim 1, (US'427, [0004], [0011]–[0012], [0197]–[0201], [0314], [0337], [0341], [0349]–[0358], FIG. 19)); and
where the cathode active material is lithium cobalt oxide, lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide, lithium iron phosphate oxide, or spinel (US'427, [0339], disclosing that the positive electrode / cathode active material comprises lithium ion intercalation compounds selected from intercalating transition metal oxides such as lithium cobalt oxides (
L
i
C
o
O
2
), lithium manganese oxides / spinel (
L
i
M
n
2
O
4
), lithium nickel oxides, lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxides (
L
i
N
i
0.33
C
o
0.33
O
2
), lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxides (
L
i
N
i
0.8
C
o
0.15
A
l
0.05
O
2
), or intercalating transition metal phosphates such as lithium iron phosphate (
L
i
F
e
P
O
4
)).
However, as discussed in the rejection of Claim 10, US'427 does not explicitly disclose formulating the cathode active material into a cathode active layer comprising the cathode active material, an electrically conductive additive, the solid state electrolyte, and a polymeric binder together on the cathode current collector.
US'393 discloses a sulfide solid-state battery (100) comprising a cathode (10), an anode (20), and a solid electrolyte layer (30) provided between the cathode and anode, wherein the cathode (10) includes a cathode current collector (11) and a cathode mixture layer (12) comprising a cathode active material, a solid electrolyte, an electrically conductive additive, and a polymeric binder (US'393, [0020]–[0021], [0024]–[0025], [0028]–[0031], FIG. 1, Claim 1). US'393 further discloses that the cathode active material contained in the cathode mixture layer (12) is selected from lithium cobaltate (lithium cobalt oxide), lithium nickelate,
L
i
N
i
,
M
n
,
C
o
O
2
(
L
i
1
+
a
N
i
1
/
3
M
n
1
/
3
C
o
1
/
3
O
2
, lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide), lithium manganate, spinel lithium composite oxides, and lithium metal phosphates (
L
i
M
P
O
4
, where
M
is at least one selected from
F
e
,
M
n
,
C
o
, and
N
i
, such as lithium iron phosphate) (US'393, [0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the cathode active material of US'427 (such as lithium cobalt oxide, lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide, lithium iron phosphate, or spinel) with an electrically conductive additive, the sulfide solid state electrolyte, and a polymeric binder on the cathode current collector, as taught by US'393, in order to provide an electrochemically stable, high-capacity positive electrode layer with established continuous three-dimensional electronic and ionic conduction pathways while ensuring mechanical integrity and crack resistance during battery charge-discharge cycling (US'427, [0339]; US'393, [0006]–[0007], [0024]–[0031]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0111427 A1 (US'427), as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of CN 114142035 A (CN'035).
As to Claim 12:
US'427 discloses the battery of Claim 10 (see the rejection of Claim 10; and see the rejection of Claim 1, (US'427, [0004], [0011]–[0012], [0197]–[0201], [0314], [0337], [0341], [0349]–[0358], FIG. 19)); and
where the cathode active material comprises lithium nickel transition metal oxide intercalation compounds including lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (
L
i
N
i
0.33
C
o
0.33
M
n
0.33
O
2
) or lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide (
L
i
N
i
0.8
C
o
0.15
A
l
0.05
O
2
) (US'427, [0339]).
However, US'427 does not explicitly disclose the generic chemical formula
L
i
N
i
x
M
n
y
A
l
1
-
x
-
y
O
2
,
L
i
N
i
x
M
n
y
C
o
1
-
x
-
y
O
2
, or
L
i
N
i
x
M
n
1
-
x
O
2
wherein in each case
x
is 0.7 to 0.85 and
y
is less than 0.15.
CN'035 discloses high-nickel ternary positive electrode active materials having the chemical formula
L
i
N
i
x
M
n
y
A
l
1
-
x
-
y
O
2
, wherein
0.6
<
x
<
1
(specifically disclosing
x
values of 0.7, 0.75, 0.8, and 0.85) and
0
<
y
<
0.4
(specifically disclosing
y
values of 0.05, 0.1, and 0.15), such as
L
i
N
i
0.8
M
n
0.1
A
l
0.1
O
2
where
x
=
0.8
and
y
=
0.1
<
0.15
, and
L
i
N
i
0.85
M
n
0.1
A
l
0.05
O
2
where
x
=
0.85
and
y
=
0.1
<
0.15
(CN'035, Pgs. 2-3, 5-6, 12). CN'035 further teaches that employing high-nickel ternary cathode compositions within these stoichiometric ranges significantly increases the specific capacity and working voltage of the positive electrode material to satisfy high energy density requirements while maintaining multiplying power rate performance and high cycle stability (CN'035, Pgs. 2-3, 10).
US'427 and CN'035 are analogous arts because both references are in the same field of endeavor of rechargeable lithium batteries and lithium transition metal oxide positive electrode active materials, and both references are reasonably pertinent to the common problem of formulating high-capacity cathode active materials with optimized nickel stoichiometries to achieve high energy density and extended cycle stability (US'427, [0003], [0339]; CN'035, Pgs. 2-3).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to select and adjust the stoichiometry of the lithium nickel composite oxide of US'427 to satisfy the formula
L
i
N
i
x
M
n
y
A
l
1
-
x
-
y
O
2
with
x
being 0.7 to 0.85 and
y
being less than 0.15, as taught by CN'035, in order to increase the active nickel content and reversible specific capacity of the positive electrode, thereby maximizing the overall energy density and cycle performance of the solid state battery cell (US'427, [0003], [0339]; CN'035, Pgs. 2-3, 10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-17, and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723