DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 14-20, and 28-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reevell (GB 2534210 A).
Claims 1-2, 14-20, and 28-32, Reevell teaches a compressible rod 2 for an aerosol-generating device (abstract; pg23 L26; pg26 L10-11), the compressible rod 2 comprising: a first layer 10 including a first material including shredded tobacco (thermally conductive also) which is fibrous; and a wrapper 8 (having an aluminum metallic foil portion; and a tipping paper) circumscribing the first layer 10 (pg7 L21-23; pg24 L5-10), the compressible rod 2 having a circular cross-sectional shape (Fig1) and a hollow center (when pierced as in Figure 9 – and at areas around elements 52 and 54 as in Figure 13) (pg4 L10-12; pg15 L18 to pg16 L26; pg26 L30-36; pg28 L32 to pg29 L3), the compressible rod 2 configured to be compressed (pg24 L5-10), such that the compressible rod 2 has a non-circular cross-sectional shape after compression (Fig8). The compressible rod 2 includes a filter at an end without a hollow portion (pg23 L26-33). Reevell teaches an aerosol-generating device having an outer housing defining a cavity to receive the compressible rod 2 – and a heater with a blade heater (pg22 L24-25; pg24 L12 to pg25 L34; Fig5). Reevell teaches a power source, for heating, which is an electric battery – which has electrodes (pg20 L21-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-13 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reevell, as applied to claims 1-2, 14-20, and 28-32 above, and further in view of Hopkins (US 1,796,522).
Claims 3-13 and 21-27, Reevell does not teach a second layer (and third) layer of tobacco fibers between under the wrapper 8.
Hopkins teach a tobacco cigarette, with a wrapper, having area with two layers of tobacco fiber wherein one layer is stronger than the other layer which helps yield a uniform quality – wherein the layers are spaced along the cigarette providing at least three layers (pg1 c1 L18; pg2 L16-32).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have provided in Reevell a second layer (and third) of tobacco fibers under the wrapper 8 (areas with two layers of tobacco fibers where one layer is stronger than the other layer – wherein the layers are spaced along the cigarette providing at least three layers) in that Hopkins teaches that such helps yield a uniform quality.
Reevell teaches a flavor material of encapsulated flavor beads (pg29 L22 to pg30 L19; Figs14-15). In Reevell modified each layer of tobacco has a different permeability and a different density given that the strength of each layer varies. In Reevell modified tobacco is present in each layer.
Prior Art of Record
The following prior art is made of record: Kido teaches a compressible smoking item.
Conclusion
/LINDA L GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745