DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the another ring in claim 8, the luer lock of claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the other ring” should be “the another ring”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 14, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cottone US 5,509,911.
Regarding claim 1, Cottone discloses a system for reducing twisting of medical tubing, comprising: a spinning component 22 comprising a first end portion 1, a second end portion 2, an inner surface, labeled inner surface, and an outer surface, labeled outer surface, wherein the first end portion includes a protrusion, labeled pt, that extends from the outer surface in a direction away from the inner surface, pt extends radially outward from the inner surface as a bump out, and the inner surface forms a fluid channel 60 that extends through the first and second end portions; and
a tubing connector 12 comprising a proximal end portion 3, a distal end portion 4, and an inner surface, labeled is, wherein the inner surface forms a fluid channel, see the channel in which 47 is labeled, that extends through the proximal and distal end portions, and the distal end portion forms a male mating portion 54 and a sheath 40, the sheath having an inner surface, labeled sis, that is spaced apart from the outer surface of the male mating portion to form a cavity, labeled cv, therebetween, and a recess, labeled recess that extends into the inner surface of the sheath, the recess is interpreted as the reduced region downstream from the hook snaps 65,
wherein, the distal end portion of the tubing connector is configured to couple with the first end portion of the spinning component such that the male mating portion of the tubing connector is positioned within the fluid channel of the spinning component and the protrusion of the spinning component is positioned within the recess of the sheath, see fig. 7, the protrusion pt is mated between the male connector and the sheathe, and the spinning component is rotatable relative to the tubing connector, see col. 6, lines 31-40 stating that the assembly permits relative rotation between 12 and the stem 22.
Regarding claim 2, Cottone discloses the second end portion of the spinning component is configured to couple with an infusion fluid bag. The stem 22 is configured to be used with flexible tubing 125 as shown in fig. 8 where the tubing is capable of being connected to an infusion fluid bag and thus the stem is configured to be coupled to the bag.
Regarding claim 4, Cottone discloses the spinning component comprises a ring 56 coupled to the outer surface of the spinning component. See fig. 9. The Examiner notes that figs. 8 and 6, show materially similar embodiments with respect to the spinning component and the tubing connector and that analogous elements labeled in fig. 6 above remain the same in fig. 8.
Regarding claim 5, Cottone discloses the ring abuts a first side of the protrusion of the first end portion of the spinning component. Referring to fig. 9 for example, the ring 56 abuts the rear side of the first end portion.
Regarding claim 6, Cottone discloses the ring abuts the recess of the tubing connector when the spinning component is attached to the tubing connector. See fig. 9, the ring 14’ touches the distal end of the sheathe of the tubing connector.
Regarding claim 8, Cottone discloses the spinning component further comprises another ring 14’ coupled to the outer surface of the spinning component, wherein the other ring abuts a second side of the protrusion, different from the first side of the protrusion, the ring 14’ abuts the outer side of the protrusion opposite the ring 56.
Regarding claim 9, Cottone discloses the other ring abuts the recess of the tubing connector when the spinning component is attached to the tubing connector. The radially inner portion of the ring 14’ abuts the recess.
Regarding claim 14, Cottone discloses a cross-sectional width of the male mating portion of the tubing connector tapers towards the distal end portion of the tubing connector. Referring to fig. 8 for example, the cross sectional width of the male mating member tapers in a stepwise fashion from 59 to 54.
Regarding claim 16, referring to claim 1, Cottone discloses all elements.
Regarding claim 18, Cottone discloses the spinning component comprises a ring 56 coupled to the outer surface of the spinning component, the ring is coupled to the spinning component and thus coupled to all surfaces of the spinning component, and the ring abuts a first side of the protrusion of the first end portion of the spinning component, the ring abuts the rear side of the first end portion, and a recess of the tubing connector when the spinning component is attached to the tubing connector, the ring is capable of abutting a recess of the tubing connector.
Regarding claim 19, Cottone discloses the spinning component further comprises another ring 14’ coupled to the outer surface of the spinning component, wherein the other ring abuts a second side of the protrusion, the radially outer side, different from the first side of the protrusion and the recess of the tubing connector when the spinning component is attached to the tubing connector, the ring abuts the recess of the tubing connector.
Regarding claim 20, Cottone discloses the spinning component that is capable of being connected to the fluid channel of the tubing connecter, the tubing connecter further extends between a proximal port at the proximal end portion and a distal port at the distal end portion; and the tubing connector comprises a collapsible valve positioned within the fluid channel of the tubing connector to resist a fluid flow through the proximal port in a first position, and permit the fluid flow through the proximal port in the second position. The Examiner notes that the claim recites only the spinning component that is capable of being coupled to the tubing connector where the tubing connector isn’t claimed but merely modifies the spinning component to the extent that the claimed tubing connector must be attachable to the spinning component as claimed. Cottone discloses the spinning component structure which is capable of being attached to a tubing connector with a collapsible valve.
Claim(s) 1, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stevens US 5,693,025.
Regarding claim 1, Stevens discloses a system for reducing twisting of medical tubing, comprising: a spinning component 24 comprising a first end portion 1, a second end portion 2, an inner surface, labeled inner surface, and an outer surface, labeled outer surface, wherein the first end portion includes a protrusion, labeled pt, that extends from the outer surface in a direction away from the inner surface, pt extends radially outward from the inner surface as a bump out, and the inner surface forms a fluid channel 56 that extends through the first and second end portions; and
a tubing connector 48 comprising a proximal end portion 3, a distal end portion 4, and an inner surface, labeled is, wherein the inner surface forms a fluid channel, see the channel 142, that extends through the proximal and distal end portions, and the distal end portion forms a male mating portion 148 and a sheath 124, the sheath having an inner surface, labeled sis, that is spaced apart from the outer surface of the male mating portion to form a cavity, labeled cv, therebetween, and a recess, labeled recess that extends into the inner surface of the sheath, the recess is the space in which the pt mates in fig. 4,
wherein, the distal end portion of the tubing connector is configured to couple with the first end portion of the spinning component such that the male mating portion of the tubing connector is positioned within the fluid channel of the spinning component and the protrusion of the spinning component is positioned within the recess of the sheath, see fig. 4, the protrusion pt is mated between the male connector and the sheathe, and the spinning component is rotatable relative to the tubing connector, The elements for a luer lock and thus the spinning component is rotatable relative to the tubing connector to lock the luer lock.
Regarding claim 15, Stevens discloses the spinning component and the tubing connector couple together to form a luer lock 134.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cottone in view of Yeh US 8,708,976.
Regarding claim 10, Cottone discloses the fluid channel of the tubing connector further extends between a proximal port 26 at the proximal end portion and a distal port 54 at the distal end portion but does not teach the tubing connector comprising a collapsible valve positioned within the fluid channel of the tubing connector to resist a fluid flow through the proximal port in a first position, and permit the fluid flow through the proximal port in a second position.
Yeh teaches a collapsible valve 120, see fig. 3, positioned within the fluid channel of a tubing connector to resist a fluid flow through the proximal port in a first portion, and permit the fluid flow through the proximal port in a second position. Yeh shows that the valve can be closed in fig. 3 and open in fig. 4a.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide a collapsible valve in the connector of Cottone, as taught by Yeh, in order to provide a means to open and close the connector with respect to fluid flow and to provide a self-sealing, needless connector to meet the ISO standard. See col. 2, lines 18-23.
Regarding claim 11, Cottone, in view of Yeh, discloses the collapsible valve comprises a bellows portion 125 and a heat portion 120 coupled to the bellows portion.
Regarding claims 12-13, Cottone, in view of Yeh, discloses the heat portion of the collapsible valve is positioned within the proximal port of the tubing connector when the collapsible valve is in the first position and the bellows portion is compressed toward the distal port of the tubing connector when the collapsible valve is in the second portion. Referring to figs. 3, the head portion is in the proximal port 116 in the first closed position and the bellows is compressed toward the distal port 132 in the second open position, see fig. 4a.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cottone in view of Becker US 2001/0021825.
Regarding claim 7, Cottone discloses all elements but does not disclose the ring comprises a lubricant.
Becker teaches an appropriate lubricant can be used with o-rings 29. The lubricants allow for less friction in install and suitable adhering/sealing.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide a suitable lubricant to the o-ring of Cottone as taught by Becker since Becekr teaches lubricant can be used on o-rings and in addition it is known that lubricant reduce friction and improve sealing.
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cottone in view of Bourgignon US 5,735,841.
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Cottone discloses all elements but does not disclose the second end portion comprises a nut that can rotate independently of the spinning component.
Bourgignon teaches a bag 6 having a nut 1b that is configured to connect to a bag to a line to provide aseptic conditions and prevent contamination while remaining reliable. See col. 1, lines 18-29.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled worker to provide the nut1b and corresponding elements 1 connected to the second end portion of the spinning component of Cottone, as taught by Bourgignon, in order to provide a bag connector that provides aseptic conditions but remains reliable. Id. The nut would be independently rotatable about the spinning component.
Conclusion
/GERALD L SUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741