Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III claims 14-20 in the reply filed on 4/21/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oura et al. (US 2021/0126253)
With respect to claim 14, Oura et al. discloses a battery 10 comprising:
an anode current collector [076-0099];
an anode active layer 2 disposed on the anode current collector; where the anode active layer 2 comprises an anode active material; a polymeric binder and an electrically conducting additive; [0093-0099]
a cathode current collector [0099];
a cathode active layer disposed on the cathode current collector; where the cathode active layer comprises a cathode active material; a polymeric binder, a solid state electrolyte and an electrically conducting additive [0088-0099]; and
the solid state electrolyte; where the solid state electrolyte contacts both the anode active layer and the cathode active layer; and where the solid state electrolyte comprises a blend of the polymeric binder with a pseudobinary sulfide. [0096-0099; 0049; 0069; 0127-0131]
With respect to claim 15, Oura et al. discloses where the anode active material is a hard carbon. [0093-0099]
With respect to claim 16, Oura et al. discloses where the cathode active material is lithium cobalt oxide. [0090-0099]
With respect to claim 17, as the lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide and lithium nickel manganese oxide are not positively required by claim 16 (as long as a lithium cobalt oxide) claim 17 fails to further positively distinguish the claim from the prior art as only these claims further limit options which are not necessarily present.
With respect to claim 18, Oura et al. discloses where the solid state electrolyte includes a Li2S-P2Ss system. [0069; 0126-0133]
With respect to claim 20, Oura et al. discloses where the polymeric binder is poly(vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene). [0092-0097]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oura et al. (US 2021/0126253) as applied to claim 14 above in further view of Platt et al. (US 2022/0123359).
With respect to claim 19, Oura et al. does not disclose where the solid state electrolyte is Li6PSsCl.
Platt et al. discloses where the solid state electrolyte is Li6PSsCl. [0028-0038]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the electrolyte eof Oura et al. to include Li.sub.6PS.sub.5Cl, as disclosed in Platt et al., in order to allow for simple and scalable production processes
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeong (US 2018/0053932) and Suganuma et al. (US 2020/0328451)
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751