DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed an amendment on 10/7/26. Claims 1-9, 11-20 were pending. Applicant has canceled 2-3, 11-13 and 17-18 and amended the remaining claims. Thus claims 1,4-9, 14-16 and 19-20 remain pending. After careful consideration of applicant arguments and amendments, the examiner finds them to be moot and/or non persuasive. This action is a Final Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4-9,14-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1 and 9 are independent and are directed to a device (system) and a abnormality detection program, which should be redrafted as a non-transitory computer readable medium or system claim depending on what it is supposed to be.
Thus claim 1 is directed to a statutory category of invention Yes, claim 9 as drafted is not directed to a statutory category, though it is believed it may be intended to be non-transitory computer readable medium.
Step 1 – yes for claim 1 and no for claim9
Claim 1 is analyzed as representative;
The abstract limitations include
a … configured process value acquirer structured to acquire, during operation of a plant including a plurality of …, a process value of at least one monitoring target … among the …; a command value acquirer structured to acquire a command value of a control operation amount for controlling the monitoring target …; and an abnormality detector structured to detect an abnormality of the monitoring target … on a basis of a relationship between a fluctuation range of a process value acquired by the … process value acquirer and a fluctuation range of a command value acquired by the … command value acquirer during a predetermined period, wherein- the … is configured to detect an abnormality of the monitoring target … using a detection criterion for detecting an abnormality of the monitoring target … on a basis of an index related to a relationship between a fluctuation range of the process value and a fluctuation range of the command value, the index is a magnitude or an inclination of a vector having a fluctuation range of the process value and a fluctuation range of the command value as components, and the monitoring target … is a valve configured to control a flow rate of a fluid flowing through a pipe, the process value represents the flow rate of the fluid, the command value represents an opening degree of the …, and the CPU is configured to detect a sign of a blockage downstream of the … when the fluctuation range of the process value remains small and the fluctuation range of the command value becomes large.
Here the claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation cover performance of the limitation as a mental process that could be performed in the mind. If a claim under it’s broadest reasonable interpretation covers of the limitation as amental process then it falls within the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas.
The computing or technical elements of claim 1 include the following, “a plurality of devices”, “a monitoring target device.” By amendment “a cpu”, Valve . Claim 1 is applying generic computing elements to the recited abstract limitations. The recitation of generic computing components in a claim does not necessarily preclude that claim from reciting an abstract idea.
Claim 9 is rejected for similar reasons. Step 2A prong 1, yes the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims recite the additional elements of “a plurality of devices”, “a monitoring target device” and CPU, Valve , applicant claims an “abnormality detector” that is not clearly a device as distinguished from the already mentioned “abnormality detection device”
The computer hardware/software is/are recited at a high level of generality such that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly these additional elements when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of therefore the claims 1-9, 11-20 are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. Step 2A prong 2 No the claimed additional elements are not integrated into a practical application.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because when considered separately and as an ordered combination they do not add significantly more known as inventive concept to the exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the element of using a generic computer hardware amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
It is noted that applicant specification is directed to industrial conveyors and sensors and avoiding collisions. The claims are improved but, on reading claim 1 for example, it’s clear that the valve that is being monitored does not have to be altered or manipulated. If the inventive concept is to change the valve then it should be claimed. Dependent claim 6 adds some details, claim 7 displays, it appears that controlling the valve in response to an abnormality and displaying the status of the valve would be enough to create a practical application.
Claims 1, 9 are not patent eligible.
Claims 4-8,14-16, 19-20 are rejected because they depend on a rejected independent claim and do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. However, a combination of dependents plus operating the valve may create a practical application.
Thus claims 4-8,14-16, 19-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication to Nakagawa(2018/0285183) 20220117119 to Heydari
As per claim 1 Nakagawa discloses;
An abnormality detection device comprising: a CPU configured process value acquirer structured to acquire, during operation of a plant including a plurality of devices, a process value of at least one monitoring target device among the plurality of devices;
Nakagawa(0080)
a command value acquirer structured to acquire a command value of a control operation amount for controlling the monitoring target device;
Nakagawa(0070)
and an abnormality detector structured to detect an abnormality of the monitoring target device on a basis of a relationship between a fluctuation range of a process value acquired by the CPU process value acquirer and a fluctuation range of a command value acquired by the CPU command value acquirer during a predetermined period,
Nakagawa(0044 range change)
wherein- the CPU is configured to detect an abnormality of the monitoring target device
Nakagawa(0028, abnormality detection unit)
using a detection criterion for detecting an abnormality Nakagawa (fig. 14, threshold value for abnormality)
of the monitoring target device Nakagawa(0030)
on a basis of an index related to a relationship
between a fluctuation range of the process value and a fluctuation range of the command value, Nakagawa(0074)
the index is a magnitude or an inclination of a vector having a fluctuation range of the process value and a fluctuation range of the command value as components,
Nakagawa( (0060)
Nakagawa does not explicitly disclose what Heydari teaches;
and the monitoring target device is a valve configured to control a flow rate of a fluid flowing through a pipe,
Flow Heydari(0061, 0067)
the process value represents the flow rate of the fluid, (0054 control the rate, 0061,0067)
the command value represents an opening degree of the valve, and the CPU is configured to detect a sign of a blockage downstream Heydari(0064, clogging)
of the valve when the fluctuation range of the process value remains small and the fluctuation range of the command value becomes large. (0064, monitor by valves for clogging etc)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the process monitoring of Nakagawa with the valve monitoring for blockage of Heydari for the motivation of “identifying fluid quality problems … “ rather than after the fact. (0002)
claim 9 is similar to claim 1.
As per claim 4, Nakagawa discloses; The abnormality detection device according to claim 1, wherein the detection criterion is machine-learned on a basis of a fluctuation range of the process value, a fluctuation range of the command value, and a state of the monitoring target device in a past predetermined period. Nakagawa (0074)
Claim 11 is similar to claim 4.
As per claim 5, Nakagawa discloses; The abnormality detection device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU is structured to detect an abnormality of the monitoring target device when a relationship between a fluctuation range of the process value and a fluctuation range of the command value is out of a normal range. Nakagawa (0067-68)
Claim 12 is similar to claim 5
As per claim 6 Nakagawa discloses the abnormality detection device according to claim 1; wherein the CPU determines an abnormality on a basis of a tendency that a shape of a rectangle region whose horizontal length is a fluctuation range of the process value and whose vertical length is a fluctuation range of the command value becomes horizontally long or vertically long from a shape during a stable operation or becomes large with the same shape. (as drafted, there is a broader interpretation because of the the “or”, horizontal or vertical stable or large etc ). Nakagawa (0077, valve measuring)
However, removing “or” should create a claim that would overcome the current art of record.
Claim 13 is similar to claim 6
As per claim 8 Nakagawa discloses; the abnormality detection device according to claim 1; wherein the CPU is configured to detect an abnormality of the monitoring target device further on a basis of a set point of the control operation amount in the predetermined period. Nakagawa (0070-71 monitor based on setting of a normal range and an abnormality based on that range)
Claims 17-20 are similar to claim 8
As per claim 7 Nakagawa discloses; the abnormality detection device according to claim 1, wherein the CPU displays a temporal change of the shape of the vector on a display device. Nakagawa(0068 temporal pattern)
Claims 14-16 are similar to claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant filed an amendment on 10/7/26. Claims 1-9, 11-20 were pending. Applicant has canceled 2-3, 11-13 and 17-18 and amended the remaining claims. Thus claims 1,4-9, 14-16 and 19-20 remain pending. After careful consideration of applicant arguments and amendments, the examiner finds them to be moot and/or non persuasive. This action is a Final Rejection.
Claims objection to the claims 1 and 9- moot in view of amendment.
Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 101,
Thus, the present invention does not merely monitor a process value or merely identify whether acquired data is "normal" or "abnormal." Rather, the claimed invention monitors both the process value and the command value used to control the monitoring target device, and detects an abnormality based on a particular relationship between their respective fluctuation ranges.
As explained in the specification, this makes it possible to detect a sign of abnormality before the PV itself takes an abnormal value, whereas monitoring only the PV cannot detect the abnormality until after the PV becomes abnormal.
Further, amended claim 1 expressly requires use of a detection criterion based on an index related to the relationship between the fluctuation range of the PV and the fluctuation range of the OP, wherein the index is a magnitude or an inclination of a vector having the fluctuation range of the PV and the fluctuation range of the OP as components. The
specification explains that such magnitude and inclination correspond, for example, to the length L and angle 0 of a diagonal line of a plot region and are correlated with signs of abnormality of the monitoring target device.
Regarding Step 1
With respect to Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, amended claim 1 is directed to an
abnormality detection device including a CPU configured to perform the specifically recited acquisition and abnormality-detection operations, and therefore falls within the statutory category of a machine.
Further, claim 9 has been amended to recite "[a] non-transitory computer-readable medium storing an abnormality detection program" that, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform the recited operations. Accordingly, the issue identified in the Office Action concerning whether original claim 9 recited a statutory category has been overcome by amendment. The Office Action itself indicated that claim 9 appeared to be intended as a non-transitory computer-readable-medium claim.
Accordingly, amended independent claims 1 and 9 satisfy Step 1.
Here the examiner has noted that the claims are improved but, broadly speaking no action occurs when the abnormality is detected. No control function of the valve is undertaken. However if the valve is manipulated and abnormalities are resolved, reported, this would likely be satisfactory.
Regarding Step 2A, Prong One
The Office Action alleges that the claimed limitations constitute a mental process because, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitations allegedly could be
performed in the human mind. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
The claims do not merely require observing information and mentally evaluating whether an abnormality exists. Instead, amended claim 1 requires, during operation of a plant including a plurality of devices, acquisition of a process value of a monitoring target device and acquisition of a command value of a control operation amount for controlling that monitoring target device, followed by detection of an abnormality using a specifically defined detection criterion based on an index representing the relationship between the respective fluctuation ranges. The claimed index is specifically defined as a magnitude or inclination of a vector having the fluctuation range of the PV and the fluctuation range of the OP as components.
These limitations reflect a particular technical analysis of the dynamic relationship
between a controlled physical process and the control operation applied to the monitoring target device. For example, the specification explains that when downstream blockage occurs, the PV fluctuation may remain small while the OP fluctuation becomes large; when a rapid upstream- pressure change occurs, the OP fluctuation may remain small while the PV fluctuation becomes large; and during a normal set-point change, both the PV and OP fluctuation ranges increase. These different physical/control conditions therefore produce different vector magnitudes and inclinations that can be used to distinguish signs of abnormality from normal operation.
Thus, the claimed subject matter is not merely a mental judgment that particular
information indicates an abnormality. Rather, the claims recite a specific manner of processing operational data generated during control of a physical monitoring target device to derive a particular technical indicator of the device condition.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that the claims do not recite a mental process or other abstract idea under Step 2A, Prong One.
Regarding Step 2A, Prong Two
Even assuming, arguendo, that some aspect of the claimed analysis could be
characterized as an abstract idea, the claims as a whole integrate any such alleged abstract idea into a practical application.
Here practical application would in the examiner’s mind include some form of manipulation of the valve and or taking other actions.
The claimed invention addresses a specific problem arising in operation and control of a plant. As explained in the specification, a plant may include numerous independently feedback- controlled devices, and an abnormality occurring in one device may propagate to other devices
and destabilize the overall process. The abnormality detection system therefore detects a sign of abnormality of a monitoring target device so that the influence of the abnormality may be addressed before it expands to other devices.
The claimed solution is also technically different from conventional monitoring of the PV alone. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the PV can initially remain substantially constant because the feedback controller continues changing the OP. Only after the valve reaches its limit does the PV itself begin to take an abnormal value. Thus, monitoring only the PV delays detection, while monitoring the relationship between PV fluctuation and OP fluctuation permits detection of the sign of abnormality before the PV reaches an abnormal value.
The claimed vector index provides a concrete mechanism for implementing that
improvement. The specification correlates particular vector shapes with different operating conditions. For example, a relatively small PV fluctuation and large OP fluctuation produces a horizontally elongated region, while a large PV fluctuation and relatively small OP fluctuation produces a vertically elongated region. By contrast, during a normal set-point change, both PV and OP fluctuate, resulting in a substantially different relationship. The specification expressly states that the resulting length L and angle 0 are correlated with signs of abnormality and may therefore be used as indices for detecting abnormality.
Here if an abnormality is detected then actions would likely be required to correct the abnormality rather than just monitoring.
Accordingly, the claimed use of the relationship between PV fluctuation and OP
fluctuation is not merely the use of a computer as a tool for performing an abstract calculation. Rather, it provides a specific technical technique for monitoring operation of a physical plant and detecting an incipient abnormal condition earlier and more accurately than monitoring the process value alone.
Indeed, the present application expressly provides a physical implementation in which, for example, a valve controls fluid flow through a pipe, a flow controller obtains the flow rate as the PV, calculates the valve-opening command value OP by PID control, and transmits that command value to the valve. Thus, the claimed PV and OP are not arbitrary items of information but operational quantities associated with control of a physical monitoring target device.
For at least these reasons, any alleged judicial exception is integrated into a practical application, and the claims are patent eligible at Step 2A, Prong Two.
Here the bolded argued elements for example are not claimed but if they were likely the examiner would agree.
Regarding Step 2B
For similar reasons, even if the analysis were to proceed to Step 2B, the claims recite significantly more than any alleged abstract idea.
The claims do not merely add generic computer implementation to the concept of
detecting an abnormality. Rather, the claimed arrangement combines acquisition of a process value of a physical monitoring target device, acquisition of the command value used to control that device, determination of the relationship between their fluctuation ranges during a predetermined period, and use of a specifically defined vector-based index representing that relationship to detect an abnormality.
This ordered combination enables detection of a sign of abnormality that cannot be obtained merely by conventional monitoring of the PV. As expressly explained in the specification, a sign of abnormality may become apparent from fluctuation of the OP while the PV is still maintained substantially constant, thereby permitting detection before the PV actually reaches an abnormal value. Periodic calculation and monitoring of the claimed
indices further permits an abnormality to be detected quickly.
Thus, when considered as an ordered combination rather than by dissecting individual limitations, the claims provide a specific technical abnormality-detection technique that improves monitoring and control of a physical plant. Accordingly, the claims recite significantly more than any alleged judicial exception.
Further, it is respectfully submitted that a limitation "the monitoring target device is a valve configured to control a flow rate of a fluid flowing through a pipe, the process value represents the flow rate of the fluid, the command value represents an opening degree of the valve, and the computer is caused to detect a sign of a blockage downstream of the valve when the fluctuation range of the process value remains small and the fluctuation range of the command value becomes large" has been further added to further present the practical application according to the Examiner's comment.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that amended claims 1- 9 and 11-20 are directed to patent-eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101, and withdrawal
of the rejection is respectfully requested.
Here the examiner noted that the monitoring and control of the valve itself to resolve an abnormality would create a practical application, potentially depending on how exactly it’s claimed.
Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112- withdrawn in view of amendment
In regards to 35 USC 102
The anticipation rejections of claims 1-9 and 11-20 based on Nakagawa (US 2018/0285183)
Claims 1, 9 are argued as amended.
Claim 1 has been amended to include the features of Claims 2 and 3. The amendment of claim 1 is based on [0018] to [0028] of the specification and figures 4 to 13. Regarding the above limitations, it is respectfully not seen where the cited reference discloses or anticipates the claimed structure quoted above. For example, the USPTO respectfully alleges on pages 7-9 of the Office Action that Nakagawa discloses the process value acquirer based on paragraph [0080], the command value acquirer based on paragraph [0070], and detection based on a relationship between fluctuation ranges based on paragraph [0044], and further alleges with respect to former claims 2 and 3 that paragraph [0060] of Nakagawa discloses an index related to a relationship between the fluctuation range of the process value and the fluctuation range of the command value, as well as a magnitude or an inclination of a vector having those fluctuation ranges as components.
However, it is noted that Nakagawa discloses an anomaly detection device that pre- divides the output data series generated by software into clusters, determines that output data included in any of the clusters is normal, and determines that output data not included in any of the clusters is abnormal.
Although Nakagawa describes terminology similar to that of the present invention, the specific method for detecting anomalies differs from that of the present invention. In particular, the cited portions of Nakagawa do not disclose that an index is defined based on a relationship between a fluctuation range of a process value and a fluctuation range of a command value for controlling the same monitoring target device, much less that such an index is a magnitude or an inclination of a vector having the respective fluctuation ranges as components. Further, it is respectfully submitted that Nakagawa does not specifically discloses that the CPU is configured to detect a sign of a blockage downstream of the valve when the fluctuation range of the process value remains small and the fluctuation range of the command value becomes large.
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that Nakagawa does not disclose "the CPU is
configured to detect an abnormality of the monitoring target device using a detection criterion for detecting an abnormality of the monitoring target device on a basis of an index related to a relationship between a fluctuation range of the process value and a fluctuation range of the command value, and the index is a magnitude or an inclination of a vector having a fluctuation range of the process value and a fluctuation range of the command value as components, the monitoring target device is a valve configured to control a flow rate of a fluid flowing through a pipe, the process value represents the flow rate of the fluid, the command value represents an opening degree of the valve, and the CPU is configured to detect a sign of a blockage downstream of the valve when the fluctuation range of the process value remains small and the fluctuation range of the command value becomes large," as recited in amended claim 1.
In contrast, as described in paragraphs [0018] to [0028] of the present specification, the claimed index specifically represents the relationship between the fluctuation range of the process value (PV) and the fluctuation range of the command value (OP). For example, the
magnitude and inclination of the vector correspond to the length L and angle 0 of the diagonal line of the plot region, and these values are correlated with signs of abnormality of the monitoring target device. Thus, the claimed technique can distinguish, for example, a condition in which the OP greatly fluctuates while the PV remains substantially constant from normal control in which the PV and OP fluctuate together, thereby enabling detection of a sign of abnormality before the PV itself takes an abnormal value.
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that Nakagawa does not disclose "the CPU is
configured to detect an abnormality of the monitoring target device using a detection criterion for detecting an abnormality of the monitoring target device on a basis of an index related to a relationship between a fluctuation range of the process value and a fluctuation range of the command value, and the index is a magnitude or an inclination of a vector having a fluctuation range of the process value and a fluctuation range of the command value as components," as claimed in amended claim 1.
Here the applicant arguments re Nakagawa are moot in view of the added art to Heydari.
Dependent claims- by virtue of dependency only, it is noted that claim 6 could be firmed up by removing or to overcome the art, potentially rolling this claim up with the 35 UCS 101 recommendations may be allowable though that would require further consideration/search.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Self-adaption Faster-than-real-time Temperature Prediction Technology of Pumped Storage Power Unit in Start-up State, IEEE, 2020
Research on parallel control strategy of thermal power plant operating parameters, IEEE 2022
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRUCE I EBERSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693