Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loncaric (WO 2006105577) “Loncaric”, in view of Kodi (US Patent 8117796) “Kodi”.
Regarding claims 1-8, Loncaric discloses a shotcrete gauge (1) for facilitating an application of shotcrete (45) to a surface (42), the shotcrete gauge (1) comprising: a main body (2); a pair of twist-on members (Fig. 17), a fastener-supporting bore (fig. 17) extending centrally inside the main body (2) and having internal threads (see labelled excerpt of fig. 17 below) for receiving a depth-setting fastener (5) wherein the depth-setting fastener (5) is a depth-setting bolt having a bolt head (30), wherein the bolt head (30) has a head color different from a shank color (page 10, paragraph 1), and a threaded shank having the external threads (threads shown in Fig. 17), wherein the bolt head (30) provides a visual indicator (20) for a user applying the shotcrete (45). The shotcrete gauge (1) comprises a threaded support bracket (60) that replaces the depth-setting fastener (5) after the shotcrete has been applied, the threaded support bracket (60) being adapted to support an object (66) wherein the object is a vent or hose (66). The depth-setting fastener (5) is one of a plurality of depth-setting fasteners (5) of different lengths (page 8; lines 17-23) that can be fastened into the fastener-supporting bore to set different thicknesses.
Loncaric does not disclose having parallel hooks to attach to a reinforcement mesh.
Kodi teaches parallel hooks (34) to attach to a reinforcement mesh (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kodi’s parallel hooks on Loncaric’s shotcrete gauge to more securely attach Loncaric’s shotcrete gauge to Kodi’s reinforcement mesh, ensuring the gauge is firmly locked into position to provide more accurate thickness measurements.
Regarding claims 9-16, Loncaric discloses a shotcrete gauge (1) for applying shotcrete (45) to a surface (42), the shotcrete gauge (1) comprising: a main body (2); a pair of twist-on members (fig. 17), a fastener-supporting bore (fig. 17) extending centrally inside the main body (2) and having internal threads (see labelled excerpt of fig. 17 below) for receiving a depth-setting fastener (5) wherein the depth-setting fastener (5) is a depth-setting bolt having a bolt head (30), wherein the bolt head (30) has a head color different from a shank color (page 10, paragraph 1), and a threaded shank having the external threads (threads shown in Fig. 17), wherein the bolt head (30) provides a visual indicator (20) for a user applying the shotcrete (45). The shotcrete gauge (1) comprises a threaded support bracket (60) that replaces the depth-setting fastener (5) after the shotcrete has been applied, the threaded support bracket (60) being adapted to support an object (66) wherein the object is a vent or hose (66). The depth-setting fastener (5) is one of a plurality of depth-setting fasteners (5) of different lengths (page 8; lines 17-23) that can be fastened into the fastener-supporting bore to set different thicknesses.
Loncaric does not disclose having parallel hooks to attach to a reinforcement mesh.
Kodi teaches parallel hooks (34) to attach to a reinforcement mesh (52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kodi’s parallel hooks to more securely attach Loncaric’s shotcrete gauge to Kodi’s reinforcement mesh, ensuring the gauge is firmly locked into position to provide more accurate thickness measurements.
Regarding claims 17-20, Loncaric discloses a method of applying shotcrete (45) to a surface (42), the method comprising: attaching a reinforcement mesh (“screen”) to the surface (42); attaching a shotcrete gauge (1) to the reinforcement mesh (“screen”), the shotcrete gauge comprising: a main body (2); a pair of twist-on members (Fig. 17) to attach to a reinforcement mesh (“screen”) disposed against the surface (42); and a fastener-supporting bore (fig. 17) extending centrally inside the main body (2) and having internal threads (see labelled excerpt of fig. 17 below) for receiving a depth-setting fastener (5) having corresponding external threads (see labelled excerpt of fig. 17 below); fastening the depth-setting fastener (5) in the fastener-supporting bore (fig. 17) to set a depth of the shotcrete (45); removing the depth-setting fastener (5); and fastening a threaded support bracket (60) into the bore; hanging a vent or hose (66) from the threaded support bracket (60); wherein the depth-setting fastener is a depth-setting bolt (5) having a bolt head (30) and a threaded shank (5) having the external threads, wherein the bolt head (30) provides a visual indicator (20) for a user applying the shotcrete to the reinforcement mesh, wherein the bolt head has a head color different from a shank color (page 10, paragraph 1).
Loncaric does not disclose having parallel hooks.
Kodi teaches parallel hooks (34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kodi’s parallel hooks to more securely attach Loncaric’s shotcrete gauge to reinforcement mesh during Loncaric’s method of applying shotcrete, ensuring the gauge is firmly locked into position to provide more accurate thickness measurements during shotcrete application.
Conclusion
/ANNA JOSEPHINE SAUNDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855