DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
This is a final office action in response to applicant's arguments and remarks filed on 08/03/2026.
Status of Rejections
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
The rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-4 is/are obviated by applicant’s cancellation.
The previous rejection of claim 1 is maintained and modified only in response to the amendments to the claims.
New grounds of rejection are necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1 and 5-8 are pending and under consideration for this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraoka et al. (U.S. 2016/0186354) in view of Schmid et al. (U.S. 2002/0166468).
Regarding claim 1, Hiraoka teaches a film forming apparatus for forming a metal film having a predetermined pattern on a substrate by electroplating (see e.g. Fig. 4, metal-film forming apparatus 1B for forming metal conductor pattern on substrate B by application of a voltage to reduce metal ions, i.e. electroplating; Paragraphs 0012, 0014 and 0071), the film forming apparatus comprising
a mask structure sandwiched between an electrolyte membrane and a substrate (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 6B, conductive member 17B between electrolyte membrane 13 and substrate B for masking the substrate; Paragraph 0072, lines 1-4 and 13-16, and Paragraph 0078, lines 1-5), and
a pressing mechanism that presses the mask structure by the electrolyte membrane with a fluid pressure of a plating solution (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 6A-6B, pressing portion 18 pressing membrane 13 against conductive member 17B to maintain pressure while supplying metal solution thereto, i.e. contributing fluid pressure; Paragraph 0078, lines 1-6, and Paragraph 0079), wherein
the mask structure includes a screen mask with a penetrating portion in which the predetermined pattern is formed, the screen mask includes a mask portion that includes the penetrating portion so as to face the substrate, the mask portion includes a core portion that retains a shape of the mask portion (see e.g. Figs. 4 and 6A-6B, conductive member 17B as mask with through-hole 17c, i.e. penetrating portion, corresponding to pattern shape which is to be arranged on the substrate B, and formed by a metal plate, i.e. core portion, shown maintaining its shape; Paragraph 0072), and
the core portion includes an opposite surface facing the substrate and a side wall surface forming the penetrating portion (see e.g. Figs. 6A and 6C, conductive member 17B with bottom surface facing substrate B and side wall surfaces of respective through-holes 17c; Paragraph 0072).
Hiraoka does not teach the screen mask including a mesh portion that has an opening formed in a grid pattern, the mask portion being fixed to the mesh portion, the mask portion including a seal portion made of an elastic material softer than a material of the core portion and configured to contact the substrate, and the seal portion being along a ridgeline formed by the opposite surface and the side wall surface such that a part of the opposite surface is exposed.
Schmid teaches a patterning mask (see e.g. Abstract) comprising a printing layer, i.e. mask portion, including a stencil layer which is substantially inelastic which adds mechanical stability to the mask (see e.g. Figs. 1a and 2-3; stencil layer 3 of printing layer 2; Paragraph 0014, lines 1-4, and Paragraph 0032, lines 8-10) and an elastic, i.e. softer, seal layer for coming into contact with a substrate to be patterned that acts as a seal for patterning material that reduces pattern distortion caused by leakage (see e.g. Figs. 1a and 2-3, seal layer 4 contacting substrate 5; Paragraph 0008, Paragraph 0014, lines 1-5, and Paragraph 0039, lines 1-3), wherein the seal layer may be formed only along a ridgeline formed by an opposite surface facing the substrate and a sidewall surface of a penetrating portion of the mask and be absent in, i.e. leave exposed, a portion of the opposite surface (see e.g. Fig. 6a, stencil layer 3 with bottom surface and side walls of orifices 9, where seal layer 4 may be formed only along a ridgeline of said surfaces as shown in area 11 while leaving a portion of the bottom exposed; Paragraph 0049, lines 8-13, and Paragraph 0050, lines 1-6) and thereby advantageously enable the mask to avoid contact with sensitive portions of the substrate away from the to be patterned area (see e.g. Paragraph 0050, lines 1-6), the mask further comprising a mesh layer fixed to the printing layer with regular pattern of openings formed by crossing wires, i.e. in a grid, that allows creation of arbitrary patterns on the substrate by holding freestanding structures in the printing layer (see e.g. Figs. 1a-1b and 2-3, mesh layer 1 consisting of crossing wires 17 forming openings 8; Paragraphs 0013 and 0016 and Paragraph 0032, lines 2-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the screen mask of Hiraoka to comprise the mask structure of Schmid including an inelastic stencil, i.e. core layer, and softer elastic seal layer for contacting the substrate, the seal layer being provided along a ridgeline of the substrate facing surface of the inelastic stencil along penetrating openings of the stencil while leaving a portion of the surface exposed, in addition to an affixed mesh layer comprising a grid of openings, as taught by Schmid to respectively add stability to the mask, reduce pattern distortion caused by leakage while avoiding contact with sensitive portions of the substrate away from the to be patterned area, and allow creation of arbitrary patterns on the substrate.
Regarding claim 5, Hiraoka as modified by Schmid teaches the seal portion being formed in an edge area of the opposite surface opposite the ridgeline, and a region of the opposite surface other than the edge area being exposed from the seal portion (see e.g. Schmid Fig. 6a, stencil layer 3 with bottom surface and side walls of orifices 9, where seal layer 4 may be formed only along an edge of the bottom surface along a ridgeline as shown in area 11 while leaving a portion of the bottom away from the edge exposed; Paragraph 0049, lines 8-13, and Paragraph 0050, lines 1-6).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraoka in view of Schmid, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Riscke et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,282,945).
Regarding claim 6, modified Hiraoka teaches all the elements of the apparatus of claim 1 as stated above. Hiraoka as modified by Schmid further teaches the seal portion protruding toward the substrate relative to the part of the opposite surface that is exposed (see e.g. Schmid Fig. 6a, seal layer 4 protruding relative to exposed bottom surface of stencil layer 3 in area 11; Paragraph 0049, lines 8-13).
Modified Hiraoka does not teach a recess being in an edge area along the ridgeline of the opposite surface of the core portion, and the seal portion being in the recess.
Riscke teaches a device for applying shaped coatings to metal by way of electrolysis (see e.g. Abstract) wherein a masking device is provided with a soft insert piece protruding from on an outside surface thereof along a ridgeline of an opening through which the coating is formed and engaging with a groove on the side of the mask facing the object to be coated to be secured, e.g. by gluing or in a self-gripping manner (see e.g. Figs. 20-21, insert piece 62/64 protruding from grooves in surface of masking segment remove from band to be processed; Col. 8, line 59-Col. 9, line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Hiraoka to have the seal portion positioned in a groove, i.e. recess, along the ridgeline of the substrate-facing opposite surface of the core portion as taught by Riscke as a suitable configuration for engaging/affixing a soft, i.e. sealing, component to the outside surface of a mask for electrolytic coating. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraoka in view of Schmid, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Higo et al. (U.S. 2022/0136126) and Stern et al. (U.S. 2012/0097329); as evidenced by Lӧtters et al. (“Polydimethylsiloxane, a photocurable rubberelastic polymer used as spring material in micromechanical sensors”, Microsystem Tech., 1997) and Qualitest (“Durometer Hardness: Shore A vs Shore D Differences”, Qualitest, 2025).
Regarding claim 7, modified Hiraoka teaches all the elements of the apparatus of claim 1 as stated above. Hiraoka as modified by Schmid further teaches the seal portion including a rubber material (see e.g. Schmid Paragraph 0034, lines 1-2, seal layer comprising UV-curable PDMS; which is a rubber material, as evidenced by Lӧtters, see e.g. Lӧtters Abstract). Modified Hiraoka does not teach the core portion including a rubber material.
Higo teaches a mask for partial electroplating (see e.g. Abstract) comprising an elastic insulated sheet member made of a material such as silicone rubber for contacting a circuit board to be plated (see e.g. Paragraph 0077, lines 1-6) and a base member formed of a material with a hardness higher than the insulated sheet member, such as a silicone rubber (see e.g. Paragraph 0078, lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the core portion of modified Hiraoka to be made of silicone rubber as taught by Higo as a suitable material for a base of an electroplating mask that can be made with high hardness for use in combination with a softer, more elastic rubber member. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP § 2144.07 states “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)”.
Modified Hiraoka does not explicitly teach the core portion having a Shore A hardness of HS200 or more, and the seal portion having a Shore A hardness of HS50 or less. Schmid does however teach the core portion being harder than the seal portion, such that the core portion can add mechanical stability, and the seal portion can exert its functionality as an elastic steal (see e.g. Schmid Paragraph 0014, lines 1-5, substantially inelastic stencil layer and substantially elastic seal layer).
Stern teaches a stencil for high resolution processing of a substrate (see e.g. Abstract) including a substrate contacting layer comprising an elastomeric composition capable of elastically deforming (see e.g. Fig. 1, elastomeric composition 103 forming contact surface 101; Paragraph 0069, lines 1-5, and Paragraph 0070, lines 1-3), the elastomeric composition having a Shore Type A hardness of 5 to 95, with example ranges of 5 to 50 and 5 to 25 (see e.g. Paragraph 0071, lines 1-5), overlapping or falling within the claimed range of the present invention, and a stability layer (see e.g. Fig. 1, stability layer 105; Paragraph 0073, lines 1-3), the stability layer having a Shore Type A hardness of about 97 or more (see e.g. Paragraph 0134, lines 7-9, stability layer with Shore Type D hardness of 50 or more; which is equal to approximately Shore Type A hardness greater than about 97 or more, as evidenced by Qualitest, see e.g. Qualitest Page 5, comparison chart), overlapping the claimed range of the present invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the core portion and seal portion of modified Hiraoka to have respective Shore Type A hardnesses of 5 to 95, e.g. 5 to 50 or 5 to 25, and about 97 or more as taught by Stern as suitable respective hardnesses for an elastic substrate contacting layer and stability-providing layer of a stencil for substrate processing. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results. MPEP § 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiraoka in view of Schmid, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stern.
Regarding claim 8, modified Hiraoka teaches all the elements of the apparatus of claim 1 as stated above. Modified Hiraoka does not teach a thickness of the seal portion being not less than one-tenth and not more than one-fifth of a thickness of the core portion. Schmid does however teach the core portion adding mechanical stability and the seal portion functioning as an elastic steal (see e.g. Schmid Paragraph 0014, lines 1-5).
Stern teaches a stencil for high resolution processing of a substrate (see e.g. Abstract) including a substrate contacting layer comprising an elastomeric composition capable of elastically deforming (see e.g. Fig. 1, contact surface 101; Paragraph 0069, lines 1-5, and Paragraph 0070, lines 1-3) and a stability layer (see e.g. Fig. 1, stability layer 105; Paragraph 0073, lines 1-3), wherein a ratio of a thickness of the elastomeric composition layer and stability layer may be in a range of 1:2 to 1:10, with specific examples of 1:5, 1:6, 1:8 and 1:10 (see e.g. Paragraph 0076, lines 8-13), overlapping or falling within the claimed range of the present invention (see MPEP § 2144.05 I as cited above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of modified Hiraoka to have the thickness of the seal portion be ½ to 1/10, e.g. 1/5, 1/6, 1/8 or 1/10, the thickness of the core portion as taught by Stern as suitable relative thicknesses for an elastic substrate contacting layer and stability-providing layer of a stencil for substrate processing. MPEP § 2143(I)(A) states that “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results” may be obvious. The claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would yield nothing more than predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7, Applicant argues that the rejection incorporating Schmid has no rational underpinning and instead relies on impermissible hindsight, and further that neither Hiraoka nor Schmid recognize the problem of improving compressible deformability of the seal or suggest the localization of the seal along the ridgeline as a solution to said problem. This is not considered persuasive. Schmid teaches the seal layer may be formed only along a ridgeline formed by an opposite surface facing the substrate and a sidewall surface of a penetrating portion of the mask and be absent in, i.e. leave exposed, a portion of the opposite surface (see e.g. Fig. 6a, stencil layer 3 with bottom surface and side walls of orifices 9, where seal layer 4 may be formed only along a ridgeline of said surfaces as shown in area 11 while leaving a portion of the bottom exposed; Paragraph 0049, lines 8-13, and Paragraph 0050, lines 1-6), and therefore reads on the claimed structure. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Schmid teaches the above described configuration advantageously enabling the mask to avoid contact with sensitive portions of the substrate away from the area to be patterned (see e.g. Paragraph 0050, lines 1-6), and thereby provides motivation to utilize such a seal structure.
In response to applicant's argument that Hiraoka and Schmid do not recognize the problem of the compressible deformability or suggest this structure as a solution thereto, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Hiraoka as modified by Schmid teaches all the structural elements of the claimed invention as stated above, regardless of the recognition of the particular benefits described in the instant disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1795
/LUAN V VAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1795