DETAILED ACTION
Claims 7, 18 and 20 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10 and 14-17 are currently pending.
The previous rejections to claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10 and 14-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on page 7 of the response in essence that: The cited prior art therefore misses a entire section of the claims where a scaling factor for the first target sheet is determined before any ink is printed on it. Kobayashi and Chiwata fails to address this issue and are not cited to do so. For at least this reason the rejection should be withdrawn.
Tosa discloses that the image forming apparatus 1 according to the first embodiment has a function of detecting each size of the printing medium before printing the first surface and before printing the second surface to calculate the ratio of expansion or contraction, and correcting magnification of the image to be printed on the second surface depending on the ratio of expansion or contraction (paragraph 33).
The Applicant argues on page 8 of the response in essence that: Chiwata uses a prediction table to determine the paper size variation amount B. Chiwata does not teach or suggest applying a selected rear scaling factor that is not a fixed amount, such as those in the prediction table. Chiwata may not account for varying amounts of ink coverage that is applied to the front surface of a target sheet or the target sheet itself outside of the fixed amounts.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e. applying a selected rear scaling factor that is not a fixed amount,) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The Applicant argues on pages 8 and 9 of the response in essence that: Claim 15 recites "detecting that the sheet dimension does not meet a requirement for the first scaling factor for the specified amount of ink coverage for the first scaling factor having the first value." Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references fail to disclose or suggest these limitations of claim 15 now that the claims have clarified the intended meaning of claim 15.
Tosa discloses detecting that the sheet dimension does not meet a requirement for the first scaling factor for the specified amount of ink coverage for the first scaling factor having the first value (paragraph 82, The magnification correcting unit 130 then determines whether or not the difference calculated at Step S107 is within a predetermined range (for example, ±0.05) (Step S108)).
The Applicant argues on page 9 of the response in essence that: Tosa does not base whether the difference is within a predetermined range based on the first scaling factor for a specified amount of ink coverage. Instead, Tosa bases its difference on values for a calculated value and a value read from the NVRAM. Thus, Tosa fails to teach or suggest these limitations of claim 15.
Tosa discloses that in a case of the image forming apparatus using the inkjet system, the printing medium may be contracted or expanded due to an effect of ink adhering to the first surface of the printing medium (paragraph 107). Tosa further discloses that that the magnification correcting unit 130 then determines whether or not the difference calculated at Step S107 is within a predetermined range (for example, ±0.05) (Step S108) (paragraph 82). Thus, the measured sheet dimension is contracted or expanded due the amount of ink coverage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tosa et al. US Publication 2015/0371119 (hereafter “Tosa”), Kobayashi Publication 2020/0264546 (hereafter “Kobayashi”) and Chiwata US Publication 2011/0134178 (hereafter “Chiwata”).
Referring to claim 1, Tosa discloses a method for performing printing operations, the method comprising:
capturing an image of a front surface of a first target sheet for a paper media (paragraph 39, The CPU 101 can fetch necessary information from each of the medium sensor 21, the encoder 22, and the CIS 23 via the sensor I/F 107);
measuring dimensions of the front surface of the first target sheet of the paper media using an inline sensor of a printing device (paragraph 78, the size of the first surface is detected at the time of printing the first surface of the printing medium (Step S101));
performing a first printing operation on the front surface of the first target sheet to provide a first amount of ink coverage (paragraph 107, The present invention can also be effectively applied to another type of image forming apparatus such as an image forming apparatus that performs printing using an inkjet system. In a case of the image forming apparatus using the inkjet system, the printing medium may be contracted or expanded due to an effect of ink adhering to the first surface of the printing medium),
capturing an image of a rear surface of the first target sheet for a paper media (paragraph 39, The CPU 101 can fetch necessary information from each of the medium sensor 21, the encoder 22, and the CIS 23 via the sensor I/F 107),
measuring dimensions of the first rear surface of the first target sheet having the first amount of ink coverage of the paper media using the inline sensor (paragraph 78, the size of the second surface is then detected at the time of printing the second surface of the printing medium (Step S102));
measuring dimensions of the rear surface of the first target sheet according to a second amount of ink coverage of the paper media using the inline sensor (paragraph 69, Next, when the individual ratio of expansion or contraction in the sub-scanning direction of the second printing medium is calculated to be −0.1634, the magnification correcting unit 130 determines whether or not a difference between the value of −0.1634 as the individual ratio of expansion or contraction and the value of −0.0962 that has been held by the NVRAM 104 until the value of −0.1634 is calculated is within the predetermined range);
determining a first rear scaling factor for the first rear surface of the first target sheet based on the measured dimensions of the first rear surface of the first target sheet (paragraph 79, Next, the expansion/contraction ratio calculation unit 110 calculates the individual ratio of expansion or contraction of the printing medium based on the size of the first surface detected at Step S101 and the size of the second surface detected at Step S102 (Step S103));
performing a second printing operation on the front surface of a second target sheet to provide a second amount of ink coverage (paragraph 59, Thereafter, every time the individual ratio of expansion or contraction in the sub-scanning direction is obtained for each of subsequent printing media, the same processing will be repeated)
measuring dimensions of a second rear surface of the second target sheet having the second amount of ink coverage of the paper media using the inline sensor (paragraph 69, Next, when the individual ratio of expansion or contraction in the sub-scanning direction of the second printing medium is calculated to be −0.1634, the magnification correcting unit 130 determines whether or not a difference between the value of −0.1634 as the individual ratio of expansion or contraction and the value of −0.0962 that has been held by the NVRAM 104 until the value of −0.1634 is calculated is within the predetermined range);
determining a second rear scaling factor for the second rear surface of the second target sheet based on the measured dimensions of the second rear surface of the second target sheet having the second amount of ink coverage (paragraph 79, Next, the expansion/contraction ratio calculation unit 110 calculates the individual ratio of expansion or contraction of the printing medium based on the size of the first surface detected at Step S101 and the size of the second surface detected at Step S102 (Step S103)); and
performing a third printing operation comprising applying a selected rear scaling factor derived from the first scaling factor and the second rear scaling factor for the rear surface of the first target sheet to a subsequent print job at the printing device using the paper media (paragraph 71, the magnification correcting unit 130 uses the average value of −0.1214 to correct the magnification in the sub-scanning direction of the image to be printed on the second surface of the printing medium), wherein the selected rear scaling factor corresponds to a specified amount of ink coverage for the subsequent print job (paragraph 107, The present invention can also be effectively applied to another type of image forming apparatus such as an image forming apparatus that performs printing using an inkjet system. In a case of the image forming apparatus using the inkjet system, the printing medium may be contracted or expanded due to an effect of ink adhering to the first surface of the printing medium).
Tosa does not disclose expressly determining and applying a first scaling factor to the front surface of the first target sheet.
Kobayashi discloses determining a front scaling factor for the front surface of the first target sheet based on the measured dimensions of the front surface of the first target sheet (paragraph 73, The deformation amount calculation unit 81 of the first embodiment compares an initial shape of the sheet M with the first shape read in step S702 to calculate a first-half magnification as an amount of deformation);
applying the front scaling factor for the front surface of the first target sheet to a subsequent print job at the printing device using the paper media (paragraph 106, Specifically, the image correction unit 82 scales a front image A1 by a reciprocal 121%) of the overall magnification to generate a front image A2; whereas the image correction unit 82 scales a back image B1 by a reciprocal 111%) of the latter-half magnification to generate a back image B2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine and apply a scaling factor to an image printed on the front of a sheet. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the image printed on the front of a sheet is printed correctly.
Tosa discloses printing with ink, but does not disclose any specifics relating to amount of ink printing.
Chiwata discloses performing a first printing operation on the front surface of the first target sheet to provide a first amount of ink coverage (paragraph 99, The print controller 22 carries out the front-side printing by controlling the respective sections shown in FIG. 1 (the paper supply unit 112, the treatment liquid deposition unit 114, the image formation unit 116, the drying unit 118, the fixing unit 120, the paper output unit 122, and the like));
measuring dimensions of the first rear surface of the first target sheet according to a first amount of ink coverage of the paper media using the inline sensor (paragraph 127, In the first to third embodiments, the paper size variation amount prediction (step S4) calculates the paper size variation amounts A and B in order to correct relative dimensional error of the images between the front and rear sides, whereas in the fourth embodiment, this step also calculates the paper size variation amount C in order to correct absolute dimensional error of the images as well);
determining a first rear scaling factor for the first rear surface of the first target sheet based on the measured dimensions of the first rear surface of the first target sheet having the first amount of ink coverage (paragraph 123, In step S6, the image correction amount calculation unit 18 calculates an image correction amount on the basis of the calculated amounts of paper size variation);
performing a second printing operation on the front surface of a second target sheet to provide a second amount of ink coverage (paragraph 99, The print controller 22 carries out the rear-side printing (i.e., double-side printing) by controlling the respective sections shown in FIG. 1 (the paper supply unit 112, the treatment liquid deposition unit 114, the image formation unit 116, the drying unit 118, the fixing unit 120, the paper output unit 122, and the like)), wherein the second amount of ink coverage is greater than the first amount of ink coverage (paragraph 120, a non-uniform size variation corresponding to the image pattern (the distribution of the ink volume) also occurs in addition to the size variation that is uniform throughout the sheet of the paper);
measuring dimensions of a second rear surface of the second target sheet according to the second amount of ink coverage of the paper media using the inline sensor (paragraph 127, In the first to third embodiments, the paper size variation amount prediction (step S4) calculates the paper size variation amounts A and B in order to correct relative dimensional error of the images between the front and rear sides, whereas in the fourth embodiment, this step also calculates the paper size variation amount C in order to correct absolute dimensional error of the images as well);
determining a second rear scaling factor for the second rear surface of the second target sheet based on the measured dimensions of the second rear surface of the second target sheet having the second amount of ink coverage (paragraph 123, In step S6, the image correction amount calculation unit 18 calculates an image correction amount on the basis of the calculated amounts of paper size variation) (paragraph 93, The paper size variation amount B is principally dependent on the pre-coating conditions of the rear-side printing. The paper size variation amount prediction unit 16 calculates the paper size variation amount B on the basis of the paper size variation parameters which indicate the pre-coating conditions of the rear-side printing, and the paper size variation amount prediction table); and
performing a third printing operation comprising applying the front scaling factor for the front surface of the first target sheet and a selected rear scaling factor from the first rear scaling factor and the second rear scaling factor for the rear surface of the first target sheet to a subsequent print job at the printing device using the paper media, wherein the selected rear scaling factor corresponds to a specified amount of ink coverage for the subsequent print job (paragraph 122, The paper size variation amount B prediction table according to the present embodiment indicates the correspondence between the paper type and the pre-coating conditions (treatment liquid deposition volume, the amount of drying of the treatment liquid, and the like), and the paper size variation rate. If the treatment liquid deposition volume (pre-coating liquid volume) and the amount of drying of the treatment liquid (pre-coat drying amount) are altered in accordance with the print mode, then table information corresponding to each print mode is used [the paper size variation B is selected which is used to select the rear-side correction amount]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine different scaling factors based on different amounts of ink coverage. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that images of different ink volumes are printed correctly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kobayashi and Chiwata with Tosa to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Referring to claim 2, Tosa discloses storing the selected rear scaling factor for the paper media paper media (paragraph 83, Thereafter, the storage control unit 120 stores the value of the ratio of expansion or contraction calculated at Step S105 in the NVRAM 104 (Step S111)).
Kobayashi discloses storing the front scaling factor and the second scaling factor for the paper media paper media (paragraph 73, The deformation amount calculation unit 81 then stores, in the RAM 20, the first-half magnification (=90%) thus calculated)
Referring to claim 4, Tosa discloses performing printing operations for a third target sheet media (paragraph 59, Thereafter, every time the individual ratio of expansion or contraction in the sub-scanning direction is obtained for each of subsequent printing media, the same processing will be repeated).
Referring to claim 5, Tosa discloses applying a third amount of ink coverage onto the third target sheet and measuring dimensions of the second target sheet of the paper media using the inline sensor (paragraph 78, the size of the second surface is then detected at the time of printing the second surface of the printing medium (Step S102).
Referring to claim 6, Tosa discloses determining a third scaling factor for the paper media based on the measured dimensions of the third target sheet (paragraph 59, Thereafter, every time the individual ratio of expansion or contraction in the sub-scanning direction is obtained for each of subsequent printing media, the same processing will be repeated).
Referring to claim 8, Tosa discloses determining a final scaling factor based on a printed sheet to adjust inline finishing (paragraph 59, Thereafter, every time the individual ratio of expansion or contraction in the sub-scanning direction is obtained for each of subsequent printing media, the same processing will be repeated [determining the magnification of the last sheet to be printed is a final scaling factor])).
Referring to claim 9, Tosa discloses processing the subsequent print job using a raster image processor (RIP) that applies the selected rear scaling factor (paragraph 82, the magnification correcting unit 130 uses the value of the ratio of expansion or contraction calculated at Step S105 to correct the magnification of the image to be printed on the second surface of the printing medium (Step S109)).
Kobayashi discloses processing the print job using a raster image processor (RIP) that applies the front scaling factor (paragraph 106, Specifically, the image correction unit 82 scales a front image A1 by a reciprocal 121%) of the overall magnification to generate a front image A2; whereas the image correction unit 82 scales a back image B1 by a reciprocal 111%) of the latter-half magnification to generate a back image B2).
Referring to claim 10, Tosa discloses receiving a second subsequent sheet to be printed for a second subsequent print job using the paper media (paragraph 59, Thereafter, every time the individual ratio of expansion or contraction in the sub-scanning direction is obtained for each of subsequent printing media, the same processing will be repeated);
applying the selected rear scaling factor to a rear surface of the second subsequent sheet (paragraph 82, the magnification correcting unit 130 uses the value of the ratio of expansion or contraction calculated at Step S105 to correct the magnification of the image to be printed on the second surface of the printing medium (Step S109));
printing the second subsequent sheet;
measuring dimensions of the front surface of the second subsequent sheet (paragraph 78, First, based on the information fetched from each of the medium sensor 21, the encoder 22, and the CIS 23, the size of the first surface is detected at the time of printing the first surface of the printing medium (Step S101));
measuring dimensions of the rear surface of the second subsequent sheet (paragraph 78, the size of the second surface is then detected at the time of printing the second surface of the printing medium (Step S102); and
Kobayashi discloses applying the front scaling factor to the front surface of the second subsequent sheet and the second scaling factor to the rear surface of the second subsequent sheet (paragraph 106, Specifically, the image correction unit 82 scales a front image A1 by a reciprocal 121%) of the overall magnification to generate a front image A2; whereas the image correction unit 82 scales a back image B1 by a reciprocal 111%) of the latter-half magnification to generate a back image B2);
updating the front scaling factor based on the measured dimensions of the front surface of the second subsequent sheet or the selected rear scaling factor based on the measured dimensions of the rear surface of the second subsequent sheet (paragraph 106, Specifically, the image correction unit 82 scales a front image A1 by a reciprocal 121%) of the overall magnification to generate a front image A2; whereas the image correction unit 82 scales a back image B1 by a reciprocal 111%) of the latter-half magnification to generate a back image B2).
Referring to claim 14, Tosa discloses applying the updated selected rear scaling factor to the rear surface of the second subsequent printed sheet (paragraph 82, the magnification correcting unit 130 uses the value of the ratio of expansion or contraction calculated at Step S105 to correct the magnification of the image to be printed on the second surface of the printing medium (Step S109))
Kobayashi discloses applying the updated front scaling factor to the front surface of the second subsequent printed sheet (paragraph 106, Specifically, the image correction unit 82 scales a front image A1 by a reciprocal 121%) of the overall magnification to generate a front image A2; whereas the image correction unit 82 scales a back image B1 by a reciprocal 111%) of the latter-half magnification to generate a back image B2).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tosa et al. US Publication 2015/0371119, Publication 2015/0371119, Wong US Publication 2019/0286387 (hereafter "Wong"), and Kobayashi Publication 2020/0264546.
Referring to claim 15, Tosa discloses a method for performing printing operations at a printing device, the method comprising:
processing a print job at a digital front end (DFE) for the printing device by applying a first scaling factor having a first value (paragraph 48, The magnification correcting unit 130 corrects the magnification of the image to be printed on the second surface of the printing medium at the point corresponding to whether or not a difference between the value of the ratio of expansion or contraction newly calculated by the expansion/contraction ratio calculation unit 110 and the value that has been held by the NVRAM 104 until the new value is calculated is within a predetermined range), based on a specified amount of ink coverage for the print job (paragraph 107, The present invention can also be effectively applied to another type of image forming apparatus such as an image forming apparatus that performs printing using an inkjet system. In a case of the image forming apparatus using the inkjet system, the printing medium may be contracted or expanded due to an effect of ink adhering to the first surface of the printing medium);
monitoring a sheet dimension for a sheet within the print job (paragraph 78, First, based on the information fetched from each of the medium sensor 21, the encoder 22, and the CIS 23, the size of the first surface is detected at the time of printing the first surface of the printing medium (Step S101), and the size of the second surface is then detected at the time of printing the second surface of the printing medium (Step S102));
detecting that the sheet dimension does not meet a requirement for the first scaling factor for the specified amount of ink coverage for the first scaling factor having the first value (paragraph 82, The magnification correcting unit 130 then determines whether or not the difference calculated at Step S107 is within a predetermined range (for example, ±0.05) (Step S108));
capturing an image of a front surface of a first target sheet for a paper media (paragraph 39, The CPU 101 can fetch necessary information from each of the medium sensor 21, the encoder 22, and the CIS 23 via the sensor I/F 107);
measuring dimensions of the front surface of the first target sheet of the paper media using an inline sensor of a printing device (paragraph 78, the size of the first surface is detected at the time of printing the first surface of the printing medium (Step S101));
performing a first printing operation on the front surface of the first target sheet to provide a first amount of ink coverage (paragraph 107, The present invention can also be effectively applied to another type of image forming apparatus such as an image forming apparatus that performs printing using an inkjet system. In a case of the image forming apparatus using the inkjet system, the printing medium may be contracted or expanded due to an effect of ink adhering to the first surface of the printing medium),
measuring the sheet dimension for a second sheet having the specified amount of ink coverage (paragraph 78, First, based on the information fetched from each of the medium sensor 21, the encoder 22, and the CIS 23, the size of the first surface is detected at the time of printing the first surface of the printing medium (Step S101), and the size of the second surface is then detected at the time of printing the second surface of the printing medium (Step S102));
determining the first scaling factor having a second value based on the measured second sheet dimension of the sheet (paragraph 79, Next, the expansion/contraction ratio calculation unit 110 calculates the individual ratio of expansion or contraction of the printing medium based on the size of the first surface detected at Step S101 and the size of the second surface detected at Step S102 (Step S103));
updating the first scaling factor with the second value (paragraph 83, Thereafter, the storage control unit 120 stores the value of the ratio of expansion or contraction calculated at Step S105 in the NVRAM 104 (Step S111), and a series of processing is ended);
applying the first scaling factor having the second value at the DFE for processing the print job having the specified amount of ink coverage (paragraph 82, the magnification correcting unit 130 uses the value of the ratio of expansion or contraction calculated at Step S105 to correct the magnification of the image to be printed on the second surface of the printing medium (Step S109)).
Tosa does not disclose expressly pausing the print job before resuming.
Wong discloses pausing processing of the print job because the requirement is not met (paragraph 20, An initial portion of the print file, such as a first page, is printed at block 312 and printing of subsequent pages suspended at block 316);
measuring the sheet dimension for the sheet (paragraph 20, The electronic scan file from the printed first page is analyzed relative to the image quality metrics at block 328);
resuming processing of the print job (paragraph 21, If the image is acceptable to the user as determined at block 352, the process proceeds to block 336 to complete the print).
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to pause the print job before resuming. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce waste by allowing a user to review the image quality of a print job before reprinting.
Tosa does not disclose expressly determining and applying a first scaling factor to the front surface of the first target sheet.
Kobayashi discloses determining a front scaling factor for the front surface of the first target sheet by comparing the measured dimensions of the front surface of the first target sheet to target dimensions of the front surface of the first target sheet (paragraph 73, The deformation amount calculation unit 81 of the first embodiment compares an initial shape of the sheet M with the first shape read in step S702 to calculate a first-half magnification as an amount of deformation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine and apply a scaling factor to an image printed on the front of a sheet. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure that the image printed on the front of a sheet is printed correctly. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wong and Kobayashi with Tosa to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Referring to claim 16, Tosa discloses measuring the sheet dimension using an inline sensor within the printing device (paragraph 78, First, based on the information fetched from each of the medium sensor 21, the encoder 22, and the CIS 23, the size of the first surface is detected at the time of printing the first surface of the printing medium (Step S101), and the size of the second surface is then detected at the time of printing the second surface of the printing medium (Step S102)).
Referring to claim 17, Tosa discloses determining the first scaling factor based on the measured dimensions of an initial sheet of the print job (paragraph 79, Next, the expansion/contraction ratio calculation unit 110 calculates the individual ratio of expansion or contraction of the printing medium based on the size of the first surface detected at Step S101 and the size of the second surface detected at Step S102 (Step S103)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682