DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending in the instant application.
Claim 3 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/17/2026.
Restriction Response
Applicant’s election without traverse of a) Bacillus Calmette Guerin ("BCG") as the immunotherapeutic agent; b) TLD-1433 (Ru(4,4' dimethyl-2,2'-bipyridine )2(2-(2',2" :5",2"'-terthiophene )-imidazo[4,5-f][1,10] phenanthroline) chloride, which has the structure shown below) as the photodynamic compound
; and c) cancer of the bladder as the cancer in the reply filed on 8/17/2026 is acknowledged.
The elected species is present in instant claims 1-2 and 4-18.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding instant claim 15, the meets and bounds of a Maximum Recommended Starting Dose based on a Human Equivalent Dose to a Therapeutic Dose are indefinite to: A) what applicant intends as the scope of the Maximum Recommended Starting Dose based on a Human Equivalent Dose to a Therapeutic Dose, wherein it’s unclear what Applicant intends as the dose; and B) a person having ordinary skill in the art for the scope of the Maximum Recommended Starting Dose based on a Human Equivalent Dose to a Therapeutic Dose. For A) and B) The prior art has taught the extrapolation and the conversion the dose from an animal to a person depends on the area of surface body, pharmacokinetics, the speed of metabolism, and physiological time, wherein there are four different dosage methods namely dose by factor, pharmacokinetically guided, similar drug, and comparative approaches described in the literature to assess the initial dose (Saadh MJ et al. (Sys Rev Pharm 2020;11(8):98-101), page 98, left column, Introduction, first paragraph). Thus, the starting dose based on a human equivalent dose could have multiple values that are dependent on several factors including similar drugs that would yield an indefinite dose. Thus, the “Maximum Recommended Starting Dose based on a Human Equivalent Dose to a Therapeutic Dose” is an indefinite range.
MPEP 2171 states Two separate requirements are set forth in 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
and pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, namely that:
(A) the claims must set forth the subject matter that the inventor or a joint inventor
regards as the invention; and
(B) the claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of
the subject matter to be protected by the patent grant.
The first requirement is a subjective one because it is dependent on what the
inventor or a joint inventor for a patent regards as his or her invention. Note that
although pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, uses the phrase "which applicant
regards as his invention," pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.41(a) provides that a patent is applied for
in the name or names of the actual inventor or inventors.
The second requirement is an objective one because it is not dependent on the views of the inventor or any particular individual, but is evaluated in the context of whether the claim is definite — i.e., whether the scope of the claim is clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art.
Thus, the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monro S et al. (Chem. Rev. (2019) 119 (2): 797–828.), Alhunaidi O et al. (Ecancermedicalscience 2019 13:905.), and NCT03053635 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03053635?term=NCT03053635&viewType=Card&rank=1 8/20/2018).
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12, 16, and 18, Monro taught a method of treating human patients with BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) (instant claims 2 and 18), which therefore have previously been treated with a step of a) administering the Bacillus Calmette Guerin cancer vaccine (BCG) as the immunotherapeutic agent (instant claims 4-5 and 16), wherein the method further comprises b) administering the photodynamic compound TLD1433 for intravesical photodynamic therapy (PDT) in clinical trial NCT03053635 (page 820-821, bridging paragraph), wherein patients were infused with TLD1433 directly into the bladder followed by c) delivery of a light dose to the patient (page 821, fourth paragraph), wherein the dose was half the projected therapeutic dose of TLD1433 (0.35 mg·cm–2) or the full therapeutic dose of TLD1433 (0.70 mg·cm–2), (page 821, left column, second paragraph), which were both were biologically effective doses as shown by: i) the primary, secondary, and exploratory at 90 days posttreatment end points were successfully achieved for all three patients treated with the maximum recommended starting dose of 0.35 mg·cm–2 (page 821, left column, last paragraph); and ii) patients five and six treated with 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 also met the exploratory efficacy end point, with no evidence of disease at 180 days (page 821, right column, third paragraph), wherein the structure of TLD1433 is:
(scheme 7) (instant claims 6 and 10). Regarding instant claim 14, Monri taught at 180 days posttreatment, the three patients treated with the subtherapeutic dose of 0.35 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 recurred (page 821, left to right column bridging paragraph). Thus, treatment with a dose of 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 in the method above in BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer has a synergistic effect to treat the condition, wherein patients administered 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 had no evidence of disease at 180 days. Regarding instant claims 7 and 11, Monro further taught despite light-mediated cancer therapy being inherently selective by confining the light treatment to malignant tissue, intravenous (IV) delivery of previous photosensitizers has caused unwanted side effects due to off-target accumulation (page 821, right column, last paragraph). Monro taught there has been ongoing interest by a number of research groups in the use of the protein transferrin (Tf) to carry metal-based drugs as cargo to Tf receptors that tend to be overexpressed on cancer cell surfaces (page 821, right column, last paragraph). Monro taught the photophysical properties of TLD1433 are improved by premixing TLD1433 and Tf, which includes reduced photobleaching, and that overall PDT efficacies are improved with a significant decrease in toxicity (page 821, right column, last paragraph).
Monro is silent to: 1) treatment of the method of BCG administration and that a biologically effective dose of BCG vaccine was administered; and 2) visible light was used, but this is obvious in view of Alhunaidi, and NCT03053635.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 15, Alhunaidi taught BCG vaccine reduces the risk of progression of NMIBC to muscle-invasive disease (abstract). Alhunaidi taught to obtain the standard dose, the BCG vaccine is infused into the bladder through a urethral catheter after complete drainage of the bladder, wherein the schedule of intravesical BCG treatment comprises an induction course and a maintenance course (page 4, Intravesical BCG dose and schedule, first paragraph). Alhunaidi taught intradermal injections were discontinued in 1982 (page 2, paragraph 4).
Regarding instant claim 13, NCT03053635 taught that the NCT03053635 trial taught by Monro delivered visible green laser light (wavelength 532 nm) (page 3, 10.6 study drug and PDT administration, third paragraph).
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Monro of treating human patients with high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) in NCT03053635 of Monro comprising: a) a step of administering the Bacillus Calmette Guerin cancer vaccine (BCG) as the immunotherapeutic agent; b) followed by administering the photodynamic compound TLD1433 with the structure
for intravesical photodynamic therapy (PDT) wherein patients were infused with TLD1433 directly into the bladder (intravesically); and c) followed by administration of a light dose to the patient, wherein a biologically effective dose of 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 was administered in the method which naturally has a synergistic effect to treat the condition, wherein patients administered 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 had no evidence of disease at 180 days compared to patients administered 0.35 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 – to include:
administering a biologically effective antitumor effective dose of BCG vaccine intravesically to non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer in view of Alhunaidi;
administer green light radiation to the patient in need thereof in view of NCT03053635;
premixing TLD1433 and Tf as taught by Monro, which would administer TLD1433 in combination with transferrin in view of Monro;
This is obvious because Monro taught intravesical administration of TLD1433 and PDT was effective following BCG vaccine treatment and:
1) Alhunaidi taught: i) BCG vaccine reduces the risk of progression of NMIBC to muscle-invasive disease; and ii) to obtain the standard dose, the BCG vaccine is infused into the bladder through a urethral catheter after complete drainage of the bladder, wherein the schedule of intravesical BCG treatment comprises an induction course and a maintenance course. Thus, administration of a biologically effective dose of BCG vaccine is known to be effective when administered intravesically for cancer of the bladder;
2) NCT03053635 taught that the NCT03053635 trial taught by Monro delivered visible green laser light (wavelength 532 nm) and Monro taught that the method was effective for treating cancer of the bladder;
3a) premixing TLD1433 and Tf reduces photobleaching and improves overall PDT efficacies with a significant decrease in toxicity; and 3b) there is ongoing interest to use the protein transferrin (Tf) to carry metal-based drugs as cargo to Tf receptors that tend to be overexpressed on cancer cell surfaces.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because Monro taught intravesical administration of TLD1433 and PDT was effective following BCG vaccine treatment and:
1) Alhunaidi taught: i) BCG vaccine reduces the risk of progression of NMIBC to muscle-invasive disease; and ii) to obtain the standard dose, the BCG vaccine is infused into the bladder through a urethral catheter after complete drainage of the bladder, wherein the schedule of intravesical BCG treatment comprises an induction course and a maintenance course. Thus, administration of a biologically effective dose of BCG vaccine is known to be effective when administered intravesically for cancer of the bladder;
2) NCT03053635 taught that the NCT03053635 trial taught by Monro delivered visible green laser light (wavelength 532 nm) and Monro taught that the method was effective for treating cancer of the bladder;
3a) premixing TLD1433 and Tf reduces photobleaching and improves overall PDT efficacies with a significant decrease in toxicity; and 3b) there is ongoing interest to use the protein transferrin (Tf) to carry metal-based drugs as cargo to Tf receptors that tend to be overexpressed on cancer cell surfaces.
This would produce a method of treating human patients with non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) (instant claims 2 and 18) comprising:
a) a step of intravesically administering a biologically effective antitumor effective dose of Bacillus Calmette Guerin cancer vaccine (BCG) as the immunotherapeutic agent first (instant claims 4-5, 8, and 15-16);
b) administering the photodynamic compound TLD1433 with the structure
(instant claims 6, 9-10, and 12) for intravesical photodynamic therapy (PDT) wherein patients were infused with TLD1433 directly into the bladder intravesically; and
c) lastly administering a visible light radiation dose to the patient (instant claims 1 and 13),
wherein TLD1433 was premixed with transferrin, which would administer TLD1433 in combination with transferrin (instant claims 7 and 11), wherein a biologically effective dose of 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 was administered in the method which naturally has a synergistic effect (instant claim 14) to treat the condition, wherein patients administered 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 had no evidence of disease at 180 days compared to patients administered 0.35 mg·cm–2 TLD1433.
Claims 1-2 and 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monro S et al. (Chem. Rev. (2019) 119 (2): 797–828.), Alhunaidi O et al. (Ecancermedicalscience 2019 13:905.), and NCT03053635 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03053635?term=NCT03053635&viewType=Card&rank=1 8/20/2018) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18 above, and further in view of Woldu SL et al. (J Clin Oncol 2022 40, 545 40, 6_suppl).
Monro, Alhunaidi, and NCT03053636 is described above.
Monro did not teach a method wherein the cancer is characterized by expression of PD-L1, but this is obvious in view of Woldu.
Woldu taught Intravesical bacillus Calmette Guerin (BCG) is the standard of care adjuvant therapy for high risk non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) and patients showing PD-L1 expression were more likely to demonstrate BCG responsiveness (abstract). Woldu taught these findings suggest a role of PD-L1 in the immune surveillance mechanism of BCG at initial pathologic diagnosis and may assist in predicting responses to BCG among patients with high grade NMIBC (abstract).
Regarding instant claims 17, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Monro, Alhunaidi, and NCT03053636 above – to include:
treating non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) patients characterized by PD-L1 expression in view of Woldu.
This is obvious because: 1a) Woldu taught Intravesical bacillus Calmette Guerin (BCG) is the standard of care adjuvant therapy for high risk non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) and patients showing PD-L1 expression were more likely to demonstrate BCG responsiveness; and 1b) Woldu PD-L1 plays a role in the immune surveillance mechanism of BCG at initial pathologic diagnosis and may assist in predicting responses to BCG among patients with high grade NMIBC. Thus, NMIBC cancers that express PD-L1 are expected to be treated effectively with the method comprising BCG administration.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because: 1a) Woldu taught Intravesical bacillus Calmette Guerin (BCG) is the standard of care adjuvant therapy for high risk non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) and patients showing PD-L1 expression were more likely to demonstrate BCG responsiveness; and 1b) Woldu PD-L1 plays a role in the immune surveillance mechanism of BCG at initial pathologic diagnosis and may assist in predicting responses to BCG among patients with high grade NMIBC. Thus, NMIBC cancers that express PD-L1 are expected to be treated effectively with the method comprising BCG administration.
This would produce a method of treating human patients with non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) that is characterized by PD-L1 expression (instant claim 17) comprising:
a) a step of intravesically administering a biologically effective antitumor effective dose of Bacillus Calmette Guerin cancer vaccine (BCG) as the immunotherapeutic agent first;
b) administering the photodynamic compound TLD1433 with the structure
for intravesical photodynamic therapy (PDT) wherein patients were infused with TLD1433 directly into the bladder intravesically; and
c) lastly administering a visible light radiation dose to the patient,
wherein TLD1433 was premixed with transferrin, which would administer TLD1433 in combination with transferrin, wherein a biologically effective dose of 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 was administered in the method which naturally has a synergistic effect to treat the condition, wherein patients administered 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 had no evidence of disease at 180 days compared to patients administered 0.35 mg·cm–2 TLD1433.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/734,622 in view of Monro S et al. (Chem. Rev. (2019) 119 (2): 797–828.), Alhunaidi O et al. (Ecancermedicalscience 2019 13:905.), and NCT03053635 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03053635 ?term=NCT03053635&viewType=Card&rank=1 8/20/2018).
‘622 taught methods for treating a condition, comprising: a) selecting a patient for treatment who has the condition: b) administering to the patient at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient; and c) administering to the patient at least one metal complex represented by formula (I)
, wherein the Markush options overlap with the structure:
in copending claims 1-17.
‘622 taught methods for treating a condition, comprising: a) selecting a patient for treatment who has the condition: b) administering to the patient at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient; and c) administering to the patient at least one metal complex represented by formula (I)
, wherein the Markush options overlap with the structure:
in copending claim 1, wherein the metal complex is Ru(4,4'-dimethyl-2,2'-bipyridine)2(2-(2',2":5 ",2"'-terthiophene)-imidazo [4,5 -f] [1,10] phenanthroline) in copending claim 11, wherein the condition is cancer, and the at least one API is at least one member selected from the group consisting of a chemotherapeutic agent, an immunotherapeutic agent and a targeted therapeutic agent in copending claim 5, wherein the method further comprises administering transferrin to the patient in copending claim 8, wherein the method further comprises administering to the patient radiation selected from the group consisting of infrared light, visible light, X-rays and gamma rays in copending claim 9.
‘622 does not teach the immunotherapeutic agent as BCG vaccine and bladder cancer, but this is obvious in view of Monro, Alhunaidi, and NCT03053635.
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12, 16, and 18, Monro taught a method of treating human patients with BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) (instant claims 2 and 18), which therefore have previously been treated with a step of a) administering the Bacillus Calmette Guerin cancer vaccine (BCG) as the immunotherapeutic agent (instant claims 4-5 and 16), wherein the method further comprises b) administering the photodynamic compound TLD1433 for intravesical photodynamic therapy (PDT) in clinical trial NCT03053635 (page 820-821, bridging paragraph), wherein patients were infused with TLD1433 directly into the bladder followed by c) delivery of a light dose to the patient (page 821, fourth paragraph), wherein the dose was half the projected therapeutic dose of TLD1433 (0.35 mg·cm–2) or the full therapeutic dose of TLD1433 (0.70 mg·cm–2), (page 821, left column, second paragraph), which were both were biologically effective doses as shown by: i) the primary, secondary, and exploratory at 90 days posttreatment end points were successfully achieved for all three patients treated with the maximum recommended starting dose of 0.35 mg·cm–2 (page 821, left column, last paragraph); and ii) patients five and six treated with 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 also met the exploratory efficacy end point, with no evidence of disease at 180 days (page 821, right column, third paragraph), wherein the structure of TLD1433 is:
(scheme 7) (instant claims 6 and 10).
Regarding instant claim 14, Monri taught at 180 days posttreatment, the three patients treated with the subtherapeutic dose of 0.35 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 recurred (page 821, left to right column bridging paragraph). Thus, treatment with a dose of 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 in the method above in BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer has a synergistic effect to treat the condition, wherein patients administered 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 had no evidence of disease at 180 days.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 15, Alhunaidi taught BCG vaccine reduces the risk of progression of NMIBC to muscle-invasive disease (abstract). Alhunaidi taught to obtain the standard dose, the BCG vaccine is infused into the bladder through a urethral catheter after complete drainage of the bladder, wherein the schedule of intravesical BCG treatment comprises an induction course and a maintenance course (page 4, Intravesical BCG dose and schedule, first paragraph). Alhunaidi taught intradermal injections were discontinued in 1982 (page 2, paragraph 4).
Regarding instant claim 13, NCT03053635 taught that the NCT03053635 trial taught by Monro delivered visible green laser light (wavelength 532 nm) (page 3, 10.6 study drug and PDT administration, third paragraph).
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 4-14, 16, and 18, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the copending method of copending claims 1, 5, 8-9, and 11 of ‘622 of treating a condition of cancer, comprising: a) selecting a patient for treatment who has the condition: b) administering to the patient at least one active pharmaceutical ingredient; and c) administering to the patient at least one metal complex represented by formula (I)
, wherein the metal complex is Ru(4,4'-dimethyl-2,2'-bipyridine)2(2-(2',2":5 ",2"'-terthiophene)-imidazo [4,5 -f] [1,10] phenanthroline) with the structure:
wherein the at least one API is an immunotherapeutic agent, wherein the method further comprises administering transferrin to the patient, wherein the method further comprises administering to the patient radiation selected from the group consisting of infrared light, visible light, X-rays and gamma rays – to include in view of Monro, Alhunaidi, and NCT03053635:
administration of BCG vaccine as the immunotherapeutic agent wherein a biologically effective dose of BCG vaccine is administered intravesically to non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer;
treatment of bladder cancer; and
treatment with a dose of 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 in the method above in high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer which has a synergistic effect to treat the condition, wherein patients administered 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 had no evidence of disease at 180 days.
This is obvious with a reasonable expectation of success because: 1-3) Monro taught a method of treating human patients with BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC), which therefore have previously been treated with a step of a) administering the Bacillus Calmette Guerin cancer vaccine (BCG) as the immunotherapeutic agent, wherein the method further comprises b) administering the photodynamic compound TLD1433 for intravesical photodynamic therapy (PDT) in clinical trial NCT03053635, wherein patients were infused with TLD1433 directly into the bladder followed by c) delivery of a light dose to the patient, wherein the dose was half the projected therapeutic dose of TLD1433 (0.35 mg·cm–2) or the full therapeutic dose of TLD1433 (0.70 mg·cm–2), wherein treatment with a biologically effective dose of 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 in the method above in BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer has a synergistic effect to treat the condition, wherein patients administered 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 had no evidence of disease at 180 days. Thus, the combination was already known to be effective.
1) Alhunaidi taught: i) BCG vaccine reduces the risk of progression of NMIBC to muscle-invasive disease; and ii) to obtain the standard dose, the BCG vaccine is infused into the bladder through a urethral catheter after complete drainage of the bladder, wherein the schedule of intravesical BCG treatment comprises an induction course and a maintenance course. Thus, administration of a biologically effective dose of BCG vaccine is known to be effective when administered intravesically for cancer of the bladder;
1) NCT03053635 taught that the NCT03053635 trial taught by Monro delivered visible green laser light (wavelength 532 nm) and Monro taught that the method was effective for treating cancer of the bladder;
This meets the claim limitation of instant claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18/734,622 in view of Monro S et al. (Chem. Rev. (2019) 119 (2): 797–828.), Alhunaidi O et al. (Ecancermedicalscience 2019 13:905.), NCT03053635 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03053635 ?term=NCT03053635&viewType=Card&rank=1 8/20/2018), and Woldu SL et al. (J Clin Oncol 2022 40, 545 40, 6_suppl).
‘622, Monro, Alhunaidi, and NCT03053635 teach the limitations of claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18 for the reasons set forth above.
‘622 does not teach a method wherein the cancer is characterized by expression of PD-L1, but this is obvious in view of Woldu.
Woldu taught Intravesical bacillus Calmette Guerin (BCG) is the standard of care adjuvant therapy for high risk non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) and patients showing PD-L1 expression were more likely to demonstrate BCG responsiveness (abstract). Woldu taught these findings suggest a role of PD-L1 in the immune surveillance mechanism of BCG at initial pathologic diagnosis and may assist in predicting responses to BCG among patients with high grade NMIBC (abstract).
Regarding instant claim 17, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of ‘622, Monro, Alhunaidi, and NCT03053635 above by:
treating non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) patients characterized by PD-L1 expression in view of Woldu.
This is obvious because: 1a) Woldu taught Intravesical bacillus Calmette Guerin (BCG) is the standard of care adjuvant therapy for high risk non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) and patients showing PD-L1 expression were more likely to demonstrate BCG responsiveness; and 1b) Woldu PD-L1 plays a role in the immune surveillance mechanism of BCG at initial pathologic diagnosis and may assist in predicting responses to BCG among patients with high grade NMIBC. Thus, NMIBC cancers that express PD-L1 are expected to be treated effectively with the method comprising BCG administration.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because: 1a) Woldu taught Intravesical bacillus Calmette Guerin (BCG) is the standard of care adjuvant therapy for high risk non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) and patients showing PD-L1 expression were more likely to demonstrate BCG responsiveness; and 1b) Woldu PD-L1 plays a role in the immune surveillance mechanism of BCG at initial pathologic diagnosis and may assist in predicting responses to BCG among patients with high grade NMIBC. Thus, NMIBC cancers that express PD-L1 are expected to be treated effectively with the method comprising BCG administration.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/734,679 in view of Monro S et al. (Chem. Rev. (2019) 119 (2): 797–828.), Alhunaidi O et al. (Ecancermedicalscience 2019 13:905.), NCT03053635 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03053635 ?term=NCT03053635&viewType=Card&rank=1 8/20/2018), and Li J et al. (NPJ Vaccines. 2021 6(1):14.).
‘679 taught compositions and methods for treating a condition with hyperproliferation of cells, comprising a composition of: a) at least one infectious agent of bacteria, wherein the infectious agent has a net negative charge and is effective to treat the condition: and b) at least one metal cation in copending claims 1-23.
‘679 taught a method for treating a condition with hyperproliferation of cells, comprising administering a composition comprising: a) at least one infectious agent of bacteria, wherein the infectious agent has a net negative charge and is effective to treat the condition: b) at least one metal cation in copending claims 1 and 11, wherein the at least one metal cation is contained in a metal complex of formula (I)
, wherein the Markush options overlap with the structure:
in copending claim 13, wherein the metal complex is Ru(4,4'-dimethyl-2,2'-bipyridine)2(2-(2',2":5 ",2"'-terthiophene)-imidazo [4,5 -f] [1,10] phenanthroline) in copending claims 18-19, wherein the composition is administered separately in copending claim 14, wherein the condition is non-muscle invasive bladder cancer in copending claim 16, wherein the method further comprises administering transferrin in copending claim 17, wherein the infectious agent is Mycobacterium Bovis in copending claim 21
‘679 does not teach the immunotherapeutic agent as BCG vaccine and administration of visible light but this is obvious in view of Monro, Alhunaidi, and NCT03053635.
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, 12, 16, and 18, Monro taught a method of treating human patients with BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) (instant claims 2 and 18), which therefore have previously been treated with a step of a) administering the Bacillus Calmette Guerin cancer vaccine (BCG) as the immunotherapeutic agent (instant claims 4-5 and 16), wherein the method further comprises b) administering the photodynamic compound TLD1433 for intravesical photodynamic therapy (PDT) in clinical trial NCT03053635 (page 820-821, bridging paragraph), wherein patients were infused with TLD1433 directly into the bladder followed by c) delivery of a light dose to the patient (page 821, fourth paragraph), wherein the dose was half the projected therapeutic dose of TLD1433 (0.35 mg·cm–2) or the full therapeutic dose of TLD1433 (0.70 mg·cm–2), (page 821, left column, second paragraph), which were both were biologically effective doses as shown by: i) the primary, secondary, and exploratory at 90 days posttreatment end points were successfully achieved for all three patients treated with the maximum recommended starting dose of 0.35 mg·cm–2 (page 821, left column, last paragraph); and ii) patients five and six treated with 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 also met the exploratory efficacy end point, with no evidence of disease at 180 days (page 821, right column, third paragraph), wherein the structure of TLD1433 is:
(scheme 7) (instant claims 6 and 10). Regarding instant claim 14, Monri taught at 180 days posttreatment, the three patients treated with the subtherapeutic dose of 0.35 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 recurred (page 821, left to right column bridging paragraph). Thus, treatment with a dose of 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 in the method above in BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer has a synergistic effect to treat the condition, wherein patients administered 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 had no evidence of disease at 180 days.
Regarding instant claims 1 and 15, Alhunaidi taught BCG vaccine reduces the risk of progression of NMIBC to muscle-invasive disease (abstract). Alhunaidi taught to obtain the standard dose, the BCG vaccine is infused into the bladder through a urethral catheter after complete drainage of the bladder, wherein the schedule of intravesical BCG treatment comprises an induction course and a maintenance course (page 4, Intravesical BCG dose and schedule, first paragraph). Alhunaidi taught intradermal injections were discontinued in 1982 (page 2, paragraph 4).
Regarding instant claim 13, NCT03053635 taught that the NCT03053635 trial taught by Monro delivered visible green laser light (wavelength 532 nm) (page 3, 10.6 study drug and PDT administration, third paragraph).
Regarding instant claim 1, Li taught Bacillus Calmette–Guérin (BCG), is a live-attenuated bacterial vaccine derived from Mycobacterium bovis (page 1, left column, first paragraph). Li taught BCG has been recognized to exert a non-specific therapeutic effect in patients with non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) (page 14, right column, second to last paragraph).
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 4-14, 16, and 18, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the copending method of copending claims 1, 11, 13-14, 16-19, and 21 of ‘679 of treating a condition of non-muscle invasive bladder cancer, comprising administering a composition comprising: a) at least one infectious agent of bacteria, wherein the infectious agent has a net negative charge and is effective to treat the condition, and wherein the infectious agent is Mycobacterium Bovis; and b) at least one metal cation, wherein the metal complex is Ru(4,4'-dimethyl-2,2'-bipyridine)2(2-(2',2":5 ",2"'-terthiophene)-imidazo [4,5 -f] [1,10] phenanthroline) with the structure:
, wherein the composition is administered separately, and wherein the method further comprises administering transferrin
– to include in view of Monro, Alhunaidi, and NCT03053635:
administration of BCG vaccine as the Mycobacterium Bovis infectious agent and administer it first intravesically to non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer patients in a biologically effective dose;
treatment with a dose of 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 in the method above in BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer which has a synergistic effect to treat the condition, wherein patients administered 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 had no evidence of disease at 180 days; and
wherein the method further comprises administering to the patient visible light for photodynamic therapy
This is obvious with a reasonable expectation of success because Li taught Bacillus Calmette–Guérin (BCG), is a live-attenuated bacterial vaccine derived from Mycobacterium bovis and:
1-2) Monro taught a method of treating human patients with BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC), which therefore have previously been treated with a step of a) administering the Bacillus Calmette Guerin cancer vaccine (BCG) as the immunotherapeutic agent, wherein the method further comprises b) administering the photodynamic compound TLD1433 for intravesical photodynamic therapy (PDT) in clinical trial NCT03053635, wherein patients were infused with TLD1433 directly into the bladder followed by c) delivery of a light dose to the patient, wherein the dose was half the projected therapeutic dose of TLD1433 (0.35 mg·cm–2) or the full therapeutic dose of TLD1433 (0.70 mg·cm–2), wherein treatment with a biologically effective dose of 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 in the method above in BCG refractory high-risk non-muscle-invasive bladder cancer has a synergistic effect to treat the condition, wherein patients administered 0.70 mg·cm–2 TLD1433 had no evidence of disease at 180 days.
1) Alhunaidi taught: i) BCG vaccine reduces the risk of progression of NMIBC to muscle-invasive disease; and ii) to obtain the standard dose, the BCG vaccine is infused into the bladder through a urethral catheter after complete drainage of the bladder, wherein the schedule of intravesical BCG treatment comprises an induction course and a maintenance course. Thus, administration of a biologically effective dose of BCG vaccine is known to be effective when administered intravesically for cancer of the bladder;
3) NCT03053635 taught that the NCT03053635 trial taught by Monro delivered visible green laser light (wavelength 532 nm), which was effective.
Thus, the combination was already known to be effective.
This meets the claim limitation of instant claims 1-2, 4-16, and 18.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 16-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of copending Application No. 18/734,679 in view of Monro S et al. (Chem. Rev. (2019) 119 (2): 797–828.), Alhunaidi O et al. (Ecancermedicalscience 2019 13:905.), NCT03053635 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03053635?term= NCT03053635&viewType=Card&rank=1 8/20/2018), Li J et al. (NPJ Vaccines. 2021 6(1):14.), and Woldu SL et al. (J Clin Oncol 2022 40, 545 40, 6_suppl).
‘679, Monro, Alhunaidi, NCT03053635, and Li teach the limitations of claims 1-2, 4-6, 10, 13-14, 16, and 18 for the reasons set forth above.
‘679 does not teach a method wherein the cancer is characterized by expression of PD-L1, but this is obvious in view of Woldu.
Woldu taught Intravesical bacillus Calmette Guerin (BCG) is the standard of care adjuvant therapy for high risk non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) and patients showing PD-L1 expression were more likely to demonstrate BCG responsiveness (abstract). Woldu taught these findings suggest a role of PD-L1 in the immune surveillance mechanism of BCG at initial pathologic diagnosis and may assist in predicting responses to BCG among patients with high grade NMIBC (abstract).
Regarding instant claim 17, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of ‘679, Monro, Alhunaidi, NCT03053635, and Li above by:
treating non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) patients characterized by PD-L1 expression in view of Woldu.
This is obvious because: 1a) Woldu taught Intravesical bacillus Calmette Guerin (BCG) is the standard of care adjuvant therapy for high risk non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) and patients showing PD-L1 expression were more likely to demonstrate BCG responsiveness; and 1b) Woldu PD-L1 plays a role in the immune surveillance mechanism of BCG at initial pathologic diagnosis and may assist in predicting responses to BCG among patients with high grade NMIBC. Thus, NMIBC cancers that express PD-L1 are expected to be treated effectively with the method comprising BCG administration.
There is a reasonable expectation of success because: 1a) Woldu taught Intravesical bacillus Calmette Guerin (BCG) is the standard of care adjuvant therapy for high risk non-muscle invasive bladder cancer (NMIBC) and patients showing PD-L1 expression were more likely to demonstrate BCG responsiveness; and 1b) Woldu PD-L1 plays a role in the immune surveillance mechanism of BCG at initial pathologic diagnosis and may assist in predicting responses to BCG among patients with high grade NMIBC. Thus, NMIBC cancers that express PD-L1 are expected to be treated effectively with the method comprising BCG administration.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2 and 4-18 are rejected.
/J.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/Karen A. Canella/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643