DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/04/2023 and 03/20/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “cover portion” as recited in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant should clarify what’s intended by “the conductor layer includes a portion protruding toward the element body through the cover layer and physically and electrically connected to the internal conductor.” Specifically, it’s not clear if “the conductor layer includes a portion protruding toward the element body through the cover layer” means the portion of the conductor layer protrudes inside the element body. It appears the claim does not require the portion of the conductor layer does not need to protrude inside the element body. It’s not also clear if the “portion” the conductor layer is required to physically and electrically connected to the internal conductor or any area of the conductor layer could be physically and electrically connected to the internal conductor.
Similar clarification needs to be made in claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, it’s not clear what’s intended by “cover portion” as recited. While the “cover portion” phase in itself is not unclear, paragraph [0035] of the originally filed specification discloses “the opening 20c is formed in the cover portion of the cover layer 20” and “the opening 20d is formed in the cover potion of the cover layer 20.” So, if there’s an opening in the in the cover portion, the claimed “cover portion” as claimed is contradictory to the plain meaning when read in light of the specification. Accordingly, “cover portion” as claimed is not clear when the limitation is interpreted in light of the specification.
Claims 2-8 and 11-15 are rejected as being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1 or 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Araki et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0098183 A1, hereinafter “Araki”).
With respect to claim 1, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Araki teaches an electronic component 10 (FIG. 9) comprising:
an element body 12 (see FIG. 4 for illustration);
an internal conductor 16 disposed in the element body;
a cover layer 50 disposed on an outer surface 12a-12f of the element body and having an electrical insulation property; and
a conductor layer 40a and or 40b disposed on the cover layer and electrically connected to the internal conductor,
wherein the conductor layer includes a portion 42a1 and or 42a2 (annotated FIG. 9) protruding toward the element body through the cover layer and physically and electrically connected to the internal conductor (paras. [0026], [0028], [0069], [0072] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 2, The electronic component according to claim 1, wherein
the outer surface includes an end surface 12e at which the internal conductor is exposed, and
the cover layer is disposed on the end surface (paras. [0064] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 3, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 2, wherein
the internal conductor includes an end exposed at the end surface, and
the portion of the conductor layer covers the end of the internal conductor when the end and the portion are viewed in a direction orthogonal to the end surface (paras. [0064] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 4, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 2, wherein
an opening 50a (annotated FIG. 4) is formed in the cover layer at a position corresponding to the portion of the conductor layer, and
an edge (wall of opening) included in the cover layer and defining the opening is positioned on the end surface when viewed in a direction orthogonal to the end surface (paras. [0064] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 5, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 2, wherein
an opening 50a (annotated FIG. 4) is formed in the cover layer at a position corresponding to the portion of the conductor layer,
the end surface includes a first region (region not covered by the cover layer) exposed from the cover layer through the opening, and a second region (any region except first region) covered with the cover layer, and
the first region is recessed (recessed formed by “irregularities 32”) relative to the second region (paras. [0064, [0072] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 6, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 2, wherein
an opening 50a (annotated FIG. 4) is formed in the cover layer at a position corresponding to the portion of the conductor layer,
the end surface includes a first region (region not covered by the cover layer) exposed from the cover layer through the opening, and a second region (any region except first region) covered with the cover layer, and
surface roughness 32 of the first region is larger than surface roughness of the second region (paras. [0064, [0072] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 7, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 2, wherein
the outer surface further includes a side surface 12c adjacent to the end surface, and
the cover layer is disposed continuously on the end surface and the side surface (paras. [0028] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 9, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Araki teaches an electronic component 10 (FIG. 9)comprising:
an element body 12 (see FIG. 4 for illustration);
an internal conductor 16 disposed in the element body;
a cover layer 50 disposed on the element body and having an electrical insulation property; and
a conductor layer 40a and or 40b electrically connected to the internal conductor and including a first portion 42a and or 42b on the cover layer and a second portion 42a1 and or 42a2 (annotated FIG. 9) penetrating through the cover layer and physically connected to the internal conductor (paras. [0026], [0028], [0069], [0072] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 10, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 9, wherein
the element body includes an end surface 12e at which the internal conductor is exposed, and
the cover layer includes a cover portion (portion around opening 50a) (annotated FIG. 4) on the end surface (paras. [0064] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 11, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein
the internal conductor includes an end exposed (exposed at opening 50a, annotated FIG. 4) at the end surface, and
the second portion of the conductor layer covers the end of the internal conductor when the end and the second portion are viewed in a direction orthogonal to the end surface (para. [0064]).
With respect to claim 12, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein
the cover portion is formed with an opening 50a (annotated FIG. 4) at a position corresponding to the second portion, and includes an edge (wall of opening) defining the opening and positioned on the end surface when viewed in a direction orthogonal to the end surface (paras. [0064] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 13, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein
the cover layer is formed with an opening 50a (annotated FIG. 4) at a position corresponding to the second portion of the conductor layer, and
the end surface includes a first surface region (region covered by cover layer) covered with the cover layer, and a second surface region (region at the opening) exposed from the cover layer through the opening and recessed (recessed formed by “irregularities 32”) relative to the first surface region (paras. [0064, [0072] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 14, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein
the cover layer is formed with an opening 50a (annotated FIG. 4) at a position corresponding to the second portion of the conductor layer, and
the end surface includes a first surface region (region covered by cover layer) covered by covered with the cover layer, and a second surface region (region at the opening) exposed from the cover layer through the opening and having surface roughness 32 larger than surface roughness of the first surface region (paras. [0064, [0072] and [0100]).
With respect to claim 15, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 10, wherein
the element body further includes a side surface 12c adjacent to the end surface, and
the cover layer includes a first cover portion (portion covering end surface) on the end surface and a second cover portion (portion covering side surface) on the side surface, the first cover portion and the second cover portion being continuous with each other (paras. [0028] and [0100]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Yang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2020/0027649 A1, hereinafter “Yang”).
With respect to claim 8, Araki teaches the electronic component according to claim 1. Araki does not expressly teach the cover layer has a thickness of 1 to 3 μm.
Yang teaches an electronic component (FIG. 4), wherein
the cover layer 640 has a thickness of 1 to 3 μm (para. [0062]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the cover layer thickness as taught by Yang to the electronic component of Araki to provide the required protection against foreign objects while reducing size and or thickness (para. [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837