DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on October 31, 2025, has been entered. Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-15 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20220126132 A (Choi ‘132 – citing to the attached English translation) in view of US 20190157639 A1 (Smith ‘639).
Regarding claim 1, Choi ‘132 teaches a battery pack (a battery module structure for a vehicle; [0048] & Fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of battery modules (a plurality of battery modules 7 disposed in a case 9; [0049] & Fig. 1), each battery module including: a cell stack that includes a plurality of battery cells arranged in a first direction (battery module 8 is configured by stacking a plurality of battery cells 17 in one direction; [0053] Fig. 4); and a side cover disposed on at least one side of the cell stack (a pack end plate 41 installed between the wall surface formed by the straight side part 13 and the battery module 7; [0067] & Fig. 10);
a pack housing structured to accommodate the plurality of battery modules (a case 9 including a straight side part 13, a bending part 15, and a lower panel 1; [0050] & Fig. 1);
wherein the side cover in each battery module includes:
a body disposed at a side of the cell stack in the first direction (vertical support surface 43 in contact with the battery module 7; [0070] & Fig. 10);
a first extension portion extending from the body in the first direction (a floor support surface 47 connected to the vertical support surface 43; [0071] & Fig. 10); and
a second extension portion connected to an upper end of the body and an end of the first extension portion (an inclined support surface 45 connected to an upper end of the vertical support surface 43 and an end of the floor support surface 45; [0071] & Fig. 10), wherein the second extension portion includes an inclined surface with respect to the body or the first extension portion (the inclined support surface 45 is inclined with respect to the vertical support surface 43 and the floor support surface 47; Fig. 10), wherein the first extension portion has a structure that is perpendicular to the body and connects the body to the second extension portion (the horizontal floor support surface 47 is perpendicular to the vertical support surface 43, connecting the vertical support surface 43 to the inclined support surface 45; Figs. 9 & 10).
Choi ‘132 further discloses that the floor support surface 47 of the pack end plate 41 is configured to be fixed to the upper side of the inner protrusion 49 of the case 9 ([0071] & Fig. 10). Further, there are 3 holes/cut-outs disposed on inclined support surface 45, which appear to be holes/cut-outs that would allow a fastener to pass therethrough, however, Choi ‘132 does not disclose explicitly disclose at least one fastening member that passes through the at least one of the holes/cut-outs shown in Fig. 11 to fasten the floor support surface 47 of the pack end plate 41 to the case 9.
Smith ‘639 teaches a battery pack 24 ([0040]) comprising a plurality of battery assemblies 25 ([0025]) with an enclosure assembly 58 housing each battery assembly 25A, 25B ([0048] & Fig. 2). A mounting clamp 64 is disposed between the first battery assembly 25A and the second battery assembly 25B ([0049] & Fig. 3A). The mounting clamp 64 has a first flexible wing 74, corresponding to the second extension portion, the first flexible wing 74 extending at an incline relative to the z direction ([0056] & Fig. 4A).
The mounting clap 64 may also include a base 72, 172 wherein the base may include one or more fastener platforms 78, 178 ([0056] – [0058]). Each fastener platform 78 includes an opening 80 for receiving a fastener (see feature 68 of Figs. 2-3A, wherein one fastener may be received through each opening 80, and then into the mounting structure 66, for fixedly securing the mounting clamp 64 axially between the first and second battery assemblies 25A, 25B ([0058]).
As shown in Fig. 4A & Fig. 6, mounting clamps 64, 164 have a plurality of smaller cutout-sections 84, 184 formed on the first flexible wing 74, corresponding to the first avoidance portions including a groove structure, like the cut-outs provided on inclined support surface 45 in Choi ‘132, which avoid interference with the fasteners 68. The size and shape of the various cut-out sections 82, 84 of the mounting clamp 64 are designed to distribute stresses and further reduce the weight of the mounting clamp 64 ([0061]). Additionally, the cutout sections 82, 84 are designed to reduce the minimum space required between arrays due to the need for tool clearance/access to the fasteners 68 during assembly ([0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the structure of the pack end plate 41 of the battery pack, as taught by Choi ‘132, such that the floor support surface 47 includes a hole configured to allow the fastening member to penetrate, for fixedly securing the pack end plate to the case, wherein the second extension portion includes a first avoidance portion, i.e., cut-out sections, including a groove structure formed on the inclined surface and configured to avoid interference with the fastening member, to distribute stresses and reduce the weight of the of the battery module end plate, allowing for tool clearance and fastener access, along with reduced minimum required space, as suggested by Smith ‘639.
Therefore, the cited references render obvious the limitations of a fastening member configured to fasten the first extension portion to the pack housing, wherein the first extension portion includes a hole configured to allow the fastening member to penetrate, and the second extension portion includes a first avoidance portion including a groove structure formed on the inclined surface and configured to avoid interference with the fastening member.
Regarding claim 3, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein a spacing is formed between the second extension portion and the body (a spacing is formed between the inclined support surface 45 and the vertical support surface 43 of the pack end plate 41; Fig. 10 of Choi ‘132).
Regarding claim 4, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 3, wherein the pack housing includes: a lower frame structured to support the plurality of battery modules (case 9 includes a lower panel 1; [0050] & Fig. 11 of Choi ‘132; enclosure assembly 58 includes a tray 60; [0049] & Fig. 2 of Smith ‘639); and an upper frame covering an upper portion of the plurality of battery modules (enclosure assembly 58 includes a cover 62; [0049] & Fig. 2 of Smith ‘639); and wherein the spacing between the second extension portion and the body tapers in a direction from the lower frame toward the upper frame (the spacing between the first flexible wing 74 and the side of each battery assembly 25A, 25B tapers in a direction from the tray 60 to the cover 62; Fig. 2 of Smith ‘639).
Regarding claim 7, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the pack housing includes a cross frame disposed to face the side cover of the plurality of battery modules (first inner member 3; [0056] & Fig. 5 of Choi ‘132; mounting structure 66 protrudes upwardly from the tray 60 and is disposed at a location axially between the first and second battery assemblies 25A, 25B; [0052] & Fig. 2 of Smith ‘639).
Regarding claim 8, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 7, wherein the side cover is coupled to the cross frame (the side of each battery assembly 25A, 25B is coupled to the mounting structure 66 via the mounting clamp 64; Fig. 3A of Smith ‘639).
Regarding claim 9, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 7, wherein the body is disposed to face the cross frame in the first direction, and the first extension portion is disposed to face the cross frame in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction (the side of each battery assembly 25A, 25B, is disposed to face the mounting structure 66 in the x direction, corresponding to the first direction, and the base 72 is disposed to face the mounting structure in the z direction, corresponding to the third direction, which is perpendicular to the first direction; Fig. 3A of Smith ‘639).
Regarding claim 10, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 9, wherein the fastening member is fastened to the cross frame (the one or more fasteners 68 may be inserted through the mounting clamp 64 and intro the mounting structure 66; [0052] of Smith ‘639 & Fig. 3A).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20220126132 A (Choi ‘132 – citing to the attached English translation) in view of US 20190157639 A1 (Smith ‘639), and further in view of US 20220021060 (Yoo ‘060).
Regarding claim 5, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 1, but does not disclose that the battery module further includes: a busbar electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells in the cell stack; and an end cover disposed to face the busbar in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction.
Yoo ‘060 discloses a battery module that reduces the risk of secondary ignition or explosion and increases cooling efficiency including a cell assembly having a plurality of secondary batteries stacked on each other in a front and rear direction (abstract). The battery module may comprise an upper cover with side portions extending downward from the cover ([0018]). The battery module also has a bus bar assembly having a bus bar electrically connected to the cell assembly and a bus bar frame couple to the side portion so that the bus bar is mounted thereto ([0018]). The bus bar assembly 270 may include bus bars 272 and bus bar frames 276, wherein the bus bar 272 may be configured to electrically connect the plurality of secondary batteries 110 of the cell assembly 100 to each other ([0078]). As shown in Fig. 2, the side portions 226 of the upper cover 220 extending downward from the cover 220 are disposed to face the bus bar assembly 270 in a second direction (the x direction in Fig. 2 of Yoo ‘060, which is perpendicular to the y direction, corresponding to the first direction; [0074]).
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to the modify the battery pack, as taught by Choi ‘132, to include a busbar electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells in the cell stack and an end cover disposed to face the busbar in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, as suggested by Yoo ‘060, to electrically connect the plurality of secondary batteries of the cell assembly.
Regarding claim 6, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 5, wherein the side cover is coupled to the end cover (the front cover 250 and rear cover 260 may be coupled to the base plate 210 with the side portion 226 being coupled to the base plate 210 also; [0074], [0081], & [0083] & Fig. 1 of Yoo ‘060).
Claims 12, 13, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20220126132 A (Choi ‘132 – citing to the attached English translation) in view of US 20190157639 A1 (Smith ‘639), and further in view of US 20220131119 (Popovski ‘119).
Regarding claim 12, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 9, wherein the pack housing includes: an upper frame covering an upper portion of the plurality of battery modules (enclosure assembly 58 includes a cover 62; [0048] of Smith ‘639); but does not disclose a coupling portion disposed on the cross frame and coupled to the upper frame.
Popovski ‘119 discloses a traction battery 18 that is a battery pack including a plurality of battery arrays 44, wherein each battery array includes a plurality of individual battery cells ([0038]). The traction battery 18 includes an enclosure 46 that houses the battery arrays 44 ([0041]). Enclosure 46 further includes a cross-member 62 within an interior of the enclosure 46, adding support to help control the kinematics of the traction battery 18 when a load is applied to a vehicle having the traction battery 18 ([0042]). The cross-member 62 includes posts 98 that extend upwardly from the cross-member 62 to secure the intermediate bracket 80, covering the upper portion of the battery array 44L, to the cross-member 62 ([0048] & Fig. 3). The posts 98 correspond to the coupling portion of the present invention. The intermediate bracket 80 includes apertures 90 that received mechanical fasteners 94 used to directly secure the intermediate bracket 80 to a respective post 98 that extends upwardly from the cross-member 62 ([0048] & Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pack, as taught by Choi ‘132, to include a coupling portion disposed on the cross frame and coupled to the upper frame, as suggested by Popovski ‘119, for improved control of the kinematics of the traction battery when a load is applied to a vehicle having the traction battery.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 12, wherein the second extension portion includes a second avoidance portion (as shown in Fig. 4A & Fig. 6 of Smith ‘639, the mounting clamps 64, 164 have a plurality of larger cutout-sections 84, 184 formed on the first flexible wing 74, corresponding to the second avoidance portions of the second extension portion) through which the coupling portion penetrates (intermediate bracket 80 includes apertures 90 that received mechanical fasteners 94 used to directly secure the intermediate bracket 80 to a respective post 98 that extends upwardly from the cross-member 62; [0048] & Fig. 2 of Popovski ‘119), wherein the first extension portion includes a third avoidance portion (as shown in Fig. 4A & Fig. 6 of Smith ‘639, the mounting clamps 64, 164 have a plurality of larger cutout-sections 84, 184 formed on the base 72, corresponding to the third avoidance portions of the first extension portion) through which the coupling portion penetrates (intermediate bracket 80 includes apertures 90 that received mechanical fasteners 94 used to directly secure the intermediate bracket 80 to a respective post 98 that extends upwardly from the cross-member 62; [0048] & Fig. 2 of Popovski ‘119), and the third avoidance portion and the second avoidance portion overlap each other in the third direction (the larger cutout-sections 84, 184, formed on the first flexible wing 74 and the base 72 overlap each other in the Z direction, as shown in Fig. 4A & Fig. 6 of Smith ‘639).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pack, as taught by Choi ‘132, provide that the coupling portion penetrates the second avoidance portion and the third avoidance portion, as suggested by Popovski ‘119, for improved control of the kinematics of the traction battery when a load is applied to a vehicle having the traction battery.
Regarding claim 15, Choi ‘132 teaches the battery pack of claim 4, but does not disclose that the cell stack is disposed to face the upper frame and the lower frame in a state in which upper and lower portions of the plurality of battery cells are exposed.
Popovski ‘119 discloses a traction battery 18 that is a battery pack including a plurality of battery arrays 44, wherein each battery array 44 includes a plurality of individual battery cells, corresponding to the cell stack ([0038]). The traction battery 18 includes an enclosure 46 that houses the plurality of battery arrays 44 ([0041]). The enclosure 46 includes an enclosure lid 48 and an enclosure tray 52 ([0041] & Fig. 1). As shown in Fig. 1, the plurality of battery arrays 44 made up of the plurality of individual battery cells are disposed to face the enclosure lid 58 and the enclosure tray 52, corresponding to the upper frame and the lower frame. As shown in Fig. 4, the plurality of individual battery cells of the plurality of battery arrays 44 are in a state in which upper and lower portions of the plurality of individual battery cells are exposed.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery pack, as taught by Choi ‘132, to provide that the cell stack is disposed to face the upper frame and the lower frame in a state in which upper and lower portions of the plurality of battery cells are exposed, in view of the disclosure of Popovski ‘119.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 31, 2025, have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the combination of Zhao and Smith fails to disclose “a second extension portion connected to an upper end of the body and an end of the first extension portion, wherein the second extension portion includes an inclined surface with respect to the body or the first extension portion,” as recited in amended intendent claim 1.
However, applicant’s argument is unpersuasive in view of the combination of KR 20220126132 A (Choi ‘132) and US 20190157639 A1 (Smith ‘639), as presented above in this Office action.
Conclusion
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JONATHAN CREPEAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725