DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the restriction response filed on 11/24/2025
Claims 1-30 are pending, with claims 10-30 being withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s response to the restriction requirement is hereby acknowledged. Applicant has elected Group I (claims 1-9), with traverse.
Applicant states that “…a search for the “sensing node” that transmits the power-boosted signal would not create an undue burden on the Examiner, since Group I already recites the signaling of ‘measurement information’ associated with the power-boosted signal. In particular, it is unclear how the Examiner could identify prior art relevant to Group I that would not be relevant to Group II, as Group I necessarily requires the ‘one or more RF-S operations’ to be performed with the power-boost as in Group II.” (see 8 of Applicant’s latest remarks)
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that in at least one aspect, Group I recites “receiving measurement information associated with the one or more RF-S operations” whereas Group II recites “transmitting one or more RF-S signals associated with the one or more RF-S operations. These differences result in the claims being distinct enough that they place an undue burden on the Examiner.
In fact, as is very apparent from the detailed rejection below, the prior art of Chang in view of Yi clearly does disclose the noted claim limitation of Group I but the prior art of Chang in view of Yi does not disclose the noted claim limitation of Group II. In other words, if Examiner was to examine Group II, Examiner would not be able to rely on the prior art of Chang in view of Yi, which supports the position that there would be an undue search and examination burden if Group II had to be examined.
As a result, the restriction requirement is hereby deemed FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 2/12/2025 has been considered by Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (USPAN 2021/0409088) in view of Yi (WO 2015/012654 A1).
Consider claim 1, Chang discloses a method of operating a sensing management component, comprising: transmitting an on-demand request for a power boost (see paragraph 128: “a dynamic [on-demand] transmit power boost using an antenna front end module”; said dynamic power boost would require one or more requests) to one or more sensing nodes associated with one or more radio frequency for sensing (RF-S) operations (see paragraph 120: proximity sensing subsystem 1000 provides integration of a sensing channel into RF module 1001).
Chang does not specifically disclose receiving measurement information associated with the one or more RF-S operations in accordance with the power boost.
Yi discloses receiving measurement information associated with one or more operations in accordance with the power boost (see paragraph 109: “…when power boosting is used for RS transmission, it may impact the power control and/or RRM measurement”; thus, the RRM measurement information that is received will be impacted in accordance with the power boost), and further discloses power boosting (see paragraphs 109: when power boosting is used; see paragraph 110: boost the power on RS over a narrow-band).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang and combine it with the noted teachings of Yi. The motivation to combine these references is to provide an improved method that determines whether user equipment needs coverage enhancement and/or whether network supports coverage enhancement efficiently (see paragraph 6 of Yi).
Consider claim 2, Chang discloses that the one or more sensing nodes comprise one or more transmission reception points (TRPs), one or more user equipments (UEs), or a combination thereof (see figure 2: the one or more sending nodes can a TRP and/or a UE).
Consider claim 3, Chang discloses that the on-demand request requests the one or more sensing nodes to implement the power boost (see above), but does not specifically disclose implementing it within a time-domain window.
Yi discloses implementing a process within a time-domain window (see paragraph 99: the UE may detect the coverage enhancement degree by detecting the number of redundant PBCHs within 40 msec).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang and combine it with the noted teachings of Yi. The motivation to combine these references is to provide an improved method that determines whether user equipment needs coverage enhancement and/or whether network supports coverage enhancement efficiently (see paragraph 6 of Yi).
Consider claim 4, Chang discloses that the on-demand request requests each of the one or more sensing nodes to perform the power boost (see above), but does not specifically disclose performing to achieve a sensing coverage target.
Yi discloses performing to achieve a sensing coverage target (see paragraph 99: the MIB may contain the target coverage enhancement degree).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang and combine it with the noted teachings of Yi. The motivation to combine these references is to provide an improved method that determines whether user equipment needs coverage enhancement and/or whether network supports coverage enhancement efficiently (see paragraph 6 of Yi).
Consider claim 5, Chang discloses that a power boost amount is determined independently at each of the one or more sensing nodes; or wherein the power boost amount at each of the one or more sensing nodes is based on one or more respective sensing environments associated with the one or more sending nodes, or a combination thereof (see paragraph 128: “a dynamic [on-demand] transmit power boost using an antenna front end module”; said dynamic power boost would require one or more requests; see paragraph 120: proximity sensing subsystem 1000 provides integration of a sensing channel into RF module 1001; thus, the power boost amount is determined either independently at each of Chang’s disclosed sensing nodes or based on the sensing environment such as sensing subsystem 1000)
Chang does not specifically disclose performing to achieve a sensing coverage target.
Yi discloses performing to achieve a sensing coverage target (see paragraph 99: the MIB may contain the target coverage enhancement degree).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang and combine it with the noted teachings of Yi. The motivation to combine these references is to provide an improved method that determines whether user equipment needs coverage enhancement and/or whether network supports coverage enhancement efficiently (see paragraph 6 of Yi).
Consider claim 8, Chang discloses receiving RF-S power boost capability information from the one or more sensing nodes, wherein the on-demand request is based on the RF-S power boost capability information (see figure 21 and paragraph 142: “a power boost capability”).
Consider claim 9, Chang discloses that at least one reference signal (RS) associated with the one or more RF-S operations is also associated with communications (see paragraphs 109-110: reference signal (RS) detection and boosting the power on the RS).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (USPAN 2021/0409088) in view of Yi (WO 2015/012654 A1) and Clark (USPAN 2016/0269132).
Consider claim 6, Chang discloses that the on-demand request requests the one or more sensing nodes to implement the power boost with respect to RF-S operations associated with the one or more sensing nodes (see above), but does not specifically disclose with respect to all operations.
Clark discloses performing all operations (see paragraph 70: signal power boosting and the device is configured to perform all of the operations performed by the control unit 600)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang and combine it with the noted teachings of Clark. The motivation to combine these references is to provide an efficient signal power booster for uplink and/or downlink communications (see paragraphs 2-5 of Clark).
Consider claim 7, Chang discloses that the on-demand request requests the one or more sensing nodes to implement the power boost with respect to RF-S operations associated with the one or more sensing nodes (see above), but does not specifically disclose with respect to a designated subset of operations.
Clark discloses performing a designated subset of operations (see paragraph 70: signal power boosting and the device is configured to perform some of the operations performed by the control unit 600)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chang and combine it with the noted teachings of Clark. The motivation to combine these references is to provide an efficient signal power booster for uplink and/or downlink communications (see paragraphs 2-5 of Clark).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412