DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 09/30/2025, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 21, 27, 29 and 37 have been amended. Claims 21-40 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant submitted new amended claims. Accordingly, new grounds of rejection are set forth above. The new grounds of rejection conclusion have been necessitated by Applicant's amendments to the claims.
The objection of claims 21 and 29 has been withdrawn after amendment.
Applicants state that “Claims 21-40 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for allegedly failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claims 21, 29, and 37 have been amended as indicated above. In light of the amendments, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of these rejections”. The examiner disagrees. This is USC 112(a) new matter rejection. Please provide support from the specification about these limitations in the claims 21, 29, and 37.
Applicants state that “Applicant submits that the cited references do not disclose or suggest at least the above- emphasized features of claim 21 as amended. Therefore, claim 21 is believed to be allowable over the cited references. Independent claims 29 and 37 are amended to include one or more elements that are the same as or similar to those elements amended into claim 21. Accordingly, Applicant submits that claims 29 and 37 are allowable over the cited references for reasons similar to those discussed above with respect to claim 21. The dependent claims are distinguished over the cited references for at least the same reasons as discussed with respect to their corresponding independent claims”. The examiner disagrees. Applicant did not raise any specific argument or evidence to support his conclusion. The Examiner directs Applicant to claim rejections for detailed analyses.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites limitation “the explanatory facts being provided as one or more sentences describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and a range of time the at least one of the outliers or the trends was observed”.
Claim 29 recites limitation “the explanatory information being provided as one or more sentences describing: at least one of an outlier or a trend in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and a time the at least one of the outlier or the trend was observed”.
Claim 37 recite limitation “the explanatory facts describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and at least one data value for a dimension associated with the at least one of outliers or trends”.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection. Support was not found for these new limitations in the original specification. MPEP 2163 II A (b) states “To comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112, para. 1, or to be entitled to an earlier priority date or filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119, 120, or 365(c), each claim limitation must be expressly, implicitly, or inherently supported in the originally filed disclosure. When an explicit limitation in a claim “is not present in the written description whose benefit is sought it must be shown that a person of ordinary skill would have understood, at the time the patent application was filed, that the description requires that limitation.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-28, 37-38, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPubs 2014/0053091 to Hou et al. in view of U.S. PGPubs 2017/0177559 to Dang et al. (2017).
Regarding claim 21, Hou et al. teach a system comprising: a processor; and memory comprising executable instructions that, when executed, perform operations comprising (par 0064-0065):
receiving, at a user interface of a computing device, a first selection of a first visualization indicating a graphical depiction of a chart or a graph (Figs 2-4, par 0042-0045, “in response to the user dragging the "Brand" block 206(1) from the left portion of the display to the right portion of the display, as described above with reference to FIG. 2, data exploration user interface module 110 renders a visualization of data from data source 102, based on "Brand." For example, as shown in FIG. 3, a pie chart 304 showing sales information by brand is rendered in the right portion of the display …. the user may select and drag out section 402, which represents sales of Ford brand vehicles. Similarly, the user may select and drag out section 404, which represents sales of Honda brand vehicles”), the first visualization including a set of data points representing a data subspace of a multi-dimensional data structure (Fig. 4, par 0042-0045, “data exploration user interface module 110 renders a visualization of data from data source 102, based on "Brand." For example, as shown in FIG. 3, a pie chart 304 showing sales information by brand is rendered in the right portion of the display…. the user may select and drag out section 402, which represents sales of Ford brand vehicles. Similarly, the user may select and drag out section 404, which represents sales of Honda brand vehicles”);
responsive to receiving the first selection, providing an insight comprising: a second visualization including at least a portion of the graphical depiction of the chart or the graph, wherein the second visualization includes at least a subset of the set of data points, and a textual description providing explanatory facts about the second visualization (Fig 7, par 0048, “FIG. 7 illustrates the result of the "Category" field being applied to blocks 504 and 506. Block 504, which represented sales of Ford vehicles is replaced by a pie chart 702 that represents Ford sales by category. Similarly, block 506, which represented sales of Honda vehicles is replaced by a pie chart 704 that represents Honda sales by category”);
receiving a second selection of a portion of the second visualization; and
responsive to receiving the second selection, providing, in the user interface, a set of dimensions and measures associated with the second visualization (Fig. 12, “FIG. 12 illustrates the same data shown in FIG. 11, but with pie charts 1102 and 1104 replaced by bar charts 1202 and 1204, respectively. Techniques for converting pie charts to bar charts will be illustrated and described below with reference to FIGS. 17 and 18. Charts generated through the data exploration user interface may be combined to enable a user to easily compare data that is currently displayed in two separate charts. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 13, bar chart 1204, which represents sales of compact Honda vehicles by year, may be selected, dragged, and dropped onto bar chart 1202, which represents sales of sporty Ford vehicles by year. FIG. 14 illustrates resulting chart 1402”).
But Hou et al. keep silent for teaching the explanatory facts being provided as one or more sentences describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and a range of time the at least one of the outliers or the trends was observed.
In related endeavor, Dang et al.(2017) teach responsive to receiving the first selection, providing an insight comprising: a second visualization including at least a portion of the graphical depiction of the chart or the graph, wherein the second visualization includes at least a subset of the set of data points (Fig 2C, par 0047-0049, “Interaction with an insight 125 is illustrated FIG. 2C. As shown, on mouse hover or selection, an insight 125 may be highlighted 210. In addition, the range of cells 255 in the spreadsheet 205 to which the insight 125 pertains may be highlighted. Additionally, on mouse hover or selection, an automatically generated chart 160 that best exemplifies the insight 125 may be displayed. The chart 160 may comprise trend lines, shapes, annotations, or other added features that help make the insight 125 more intuitive, and may also include confidence level data 245 pertaining to an insight 125. Each insight 125 may have one or more charts 160 that showcase the particular insight”) and a textual description providing explanatory facts about the second visualization, the explanatory facts being provided as one or more sentences describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and a range of time the at least one of the outliers or the trends was observed (Figs 2B-2D, par 0042-0048, “ According to an embodiment, the sequenced listing of insights 135 may dynamically change in response to a selection of data 105 in the spreadsheet 205. Each insight 125A-N in the list 135 may be represented by a natural language text string 165A-N describing the specific insight. The natural language text 165 may explain the insight 125 in plain terminology such that it may be understandable to a general audience who may not have a familiarity with statistics. The natural language text 165 may include text sourced from the data 105 …. The chart 160 may comprise trend lines, shapes, annotations, or other added features that help make the insight 125 more intuitive, and may also include confidence level data 245 pertaining to an insight 125. Each insight 125 may have one or more charts 160 that showcase the particular insight “, par 0054, “the chart(s) 160 and natural language text 165 may be presented in an insights user interface (UI) 145. The insights 125 may be presented in a sequenced order by importance as determined by the ranking system 130”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Hou et al. to include the explanatory facts being provided as one or more sentences describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and a range of time the at least one of the outliers or the trends was observed as taught by Dang et al.(2017) to generate charts that visually describe each insight and in natural language text that describes each insight to explain the insight in plain terminology such that it may be understandable to a general audience who may not have a familiarity with statistics.
Regarding claim 22, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) teach all the limitation of claim 21, and Hou et al. further teach wherein receiving the first selection comprises: receiving the first selection on a first page or tab of the user interface; and causing the first visualization to be added to an exploration area on a second page or a tab of the user interface (Figs 2-3, par 0042-0044, “A user may select any of the discrete blocks 206 from the left portion of the display to initiate a request for data associated with the selected block. For example, in the illustrated touch-screen environment (e.g., using tablet computer system 106(1)), a user may touch the "Brand" block 206(1) with their finger and drag the "Brand" block 206(1) from the left portion of the display (a selection area) into the right portion of the display (a visualization area). When the "Brand" block 206(1) is dropped in the right portion of the display, a query is executed against the data source 102 based on "brand."”, Figs 5-7, par 0046-0047, “the user-selected sections 402 and 404 from pie chart 304. Furthermore, first level drill down view 502 includes path indicators 508 and 510, which provide a visual indication of how blocks 504 and 506 were generated from sections 402 and 404, respectively, of pie chart 304. Specifically, each path indicator represents a connection between a parent data visualization object and a child data visualization object”).
Regarding claim 23, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) teach all the limitation of claim 22, and Hou et al. further teach wherein providing the insight comprises: causing the insight to be added to the exploration area (Figs 2-3, par 0042-0044, “as shown in FIG. 3, a pie chart 304 showing sales information by brand is rendered in the right portion of the display”, Figs 5-7, par 0046-0047, “the user-selected sections 402 and 404 from pie chart 304. Furthermore, first level drill down view 502 includes path indicators 508 and 510, which provide a visual indication of how blocks 504 and 506 were generated from sections 402 and 404, respectively, of pie chart 304. Specifically, each path indicator represents a connection between a parent data visualization object and a child data visualization object”).
Regarding claim 24, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) teach all the limitation of claim 23, and Hou et al. further teach wherein providing the insight comprises: causing the insight to be added to the exploration area (par 0055-0056, “wherein providing the set of dimensions and measures comprises: causing the set of dimensions and measures to be added to the exploration area” …display bar charts (including dimension and measure) to replace pie charts).
Regarding claim 25, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) teach all the limitation of claim 24, and Hou et al. further teach wherein the first visualization, the insight, and the set of dimensions and measures are presented concurrently in the exploration area (Fig 12, par 0055-0056, “wherein providing the set of dimensions and measures comprises: causing the set of dimensions and measures to be added to the exploration area” …display bar charts (including dimension and measure) to replace pie charts with other insights).
Regarding claim 26, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) teach all the limitation of claim 21, and Hou et al. further teach wherein: dimensions in the set of dimensions and measures represent intrinsic properties of data in the at least a portion of the data subspace; and measures in the set of dimensions and measures represent quantitative properties of data in the at least a portion of the data subspace (Fig 12, par 0055-0056, for example, bar charts with dimension: years and measure: amount of sale).
Regarding claim 27, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) teach all the limitation of claim 21, and Hou rt al. further teach wherein: receiving the first selection comprises receiving a selection of a data point in the chart or the graph (Figs 4-5, par 0045-0047, “the user-selected sections 402 and 404 from pie chart 304. Furthermore, first level drill down view 502 includes path indicators 508 and 510, which provide a visual indication of how blocks 504 and 506 were generated from sections 402 and 404, respectively, of pie chart 304. Specifically, each path indicator represents a connection between a parent data visualization object and a child data visualization object”).
Regarding claim 28, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) teach all the limitation of claim 21, and Hou et al. further teach the operations further comprising: receiving a third selection of a dimension or a measure in the set of dimensions and measures; and responsive to third selection, providing a third visualization associated with the dimension or the measure (Figs 12-16, par 0055-0057, “FIG. 16 illustrates an example screen display resulting from the user dragging out the series designators as shown in FIG. 15. In the illustrated example, the existing data visualization 1502 remains on the display, and new data visualizations 1602 and 1604 are added, one for each of the selected series. In an alternate implementation, since both series represented in 1502 were dragged out, existing data visualization 1502 may be removed from the display, and instead be replaced by new data visualizations 1602 and 1604. In another alternate implementation, if a user selects a single series from a data visualization representing multiple series, a new data visualization may be generated for the selected series, and the selected series may be removed from the existing data visualization”).
Regarding claim 37, Hou et al. teach a system comprising: a processor; and memory comprising executable instructions that, when executed, perform operations comprising (par 0064-0065):
receiving a first selection of a first visualization indicating a graphical depiction of a chart or a graph (Figs 2-4, par 0042-0045, “in response to the user dragging the "Brand" block 206(1) from the left portion of the display to the right portion of the display, as described above with reference to FIG. 2, data exploration user interface module 110 renders a visualization of data from data source 102, based on "Brand." For example, as shown in FIG. 3, a pie chart 304 showing sales information by brand is rendered in the right portion of the display …. the user may select and drag out section 402, which represents sales of Ford brand vehicles. Similarly, the user may select and drag out section 404, which represents sales of Honda brand vehicles”), the first visualization including a set of data points representing a data subspace of a multi-dimensional dataset (Fig. 4, par 0042-0045, “data exploration user interface module 110 renders a visualization of data from data source 102, based on "Brand." For example, as shown in FIG. 3, a pie chart 304 showing sales information by brand is rendered in the right portion of the display…. the user may select and drag out section 402, which represents sales of Ford brand vehicles. Similarly, the user may select and drag out section 404, which represents sales of Honda brand vehicles”);
responsive to receiving the first selection, providing a plurality of insights, each comprising: a respective second visualization of a data subspace of the of the multi- dimensional dataset, the respective second visualization including: at least a portion of the graphical depiction of the chart or the graph; and at least a subset of the set of data points; and a textual description providing explanatory facts about the respective second visualization (Fig 7, par 0048, “FIG. 7 illustrates the result of the "Category" field being applied to blocks 504 and 506. Block 504, which represented sales of Ford vehicles is replaced by a pie chart 702 that represents Ford sales by category. Similarly, block 506, which represented sales of Honda vehicles is replaced by a pie chart 704 that represents Honda sales by category”);
receiving a second selection of a portion of an insight in the plurality of insights; and responsive to receiving the second selection, adding a corresponding second visualization of the insight to an exploration area (Fig. 12, “FIG. 12 illustrates the same data shown in FIG. 11, but with pie charts 1102 and 1104 replaced by bar charts 1202 and 1204, respectively. Techniques for converting pie charts to bar charts will be illustrated and described below with reference to FIGS. 17 and 18. Charts generated through the data exploration user interface may be combined to enable a user to easily compare data that is currently displayed in two separate charts. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 13, bar chart 1204, which represents sales of compact Honda vehicles by year, may be selected, dragged, and dropped onto bar chart 1202, which represents sales of sporty Ford vehicles by year. FIG. 14 illustrates resulting chart 1402”).
But Hou et al. keep silent for teaching the explanatory facts describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and at least one data value for a dimension associated with the at least one of outliers or trends.
In related endeavor, Dang et al.(2017) teach responsive to receiving the first selection, providing a plurality of insights, each comprising: a respective second visualization of a data subspace of the of the multi- dimensional dataset, the respective second visualization including: at least a portion of the graphical depiction of the chart or the graph; and at least a subset of the set of data points (Fig 2C, par 0047-0049, “Interaction with an insight 125 is illustrated FIG. 2C. As shown, on mouse hover or selection, an insight 125 may be highlighted 210. In addition, the range of cells 255 in the spreadsheet 205 to which the insight 125 pertains may be highlighted. Additionally, on mouse hover or selection, an automatically generated chart 160 that best exemplifies the insight 125 may be displayed. The chart 160 may comprise trend lines, shapes, annotations, or other added features that help make the insight 125 more intuitive, and may also include confidence level data 245 pertaining to an insight 125. Each insight 125 may have one or more charts 160 that showcase the particular insight”), and a textual description providing explanatory facts about the respective second visualization, the explanatory facts describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and at least one data value for a dimension associated with the at least one of outliers or trends (Figs 2B-2D, par 0042-0048, “ According to an embodiment, the sequenced listing of insights 135 may dynamically change in response to a selection of data 105 in the spreadsheet 205. Each insight 125A-N in the list 135 may be represented by a natural language text string 165A-N describing the specific insight. The natural language text 165 may explain the insight 125 in plain terminology such that it may be understandable to a general audience who may not have a familiarity with statistics. The natural language text 165 may include text sourced from the data 105…. The chart 160 may comprise trend lines, shapes, annotations, or other added features that help make the insight 125 more intuitive, and may also include confidence level data 245 pertaining to an insight 125. Each insight 125 may have one or more charts 160 that showcase the particular insight “, par 0054, “the chart(s) 160 and natural language text 165 may be presented in an insights user interface (UI) 145. The insights 125 may be presented in a sequenced order by importance as determined by the ranking system 130”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Hou et al. to include the explanatory facts describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and at least one data value for a dimension associated with the at least one of outliers or trends as taught by Dang et al.(2017) to generate charts that visually describe each insight and in natural language text that describes each insight to explain the insight in plain terminology such that it may be understandable to a general audience who may not have a familiarity with statistics.
Regarding claim 38, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al. teach all the limitation of claim 37, and Hou rt al. further teach wherein providing the plurality of insights comprises presenting the plurality of insights in one of: a comic strip style view; or a treemap file view (Figs 4-16, par 0045-0057, tree view).
Regarding claim 40, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) teach all the limitation of claim 37, and Hou rt al. further teach wherein the exploration area is provided in a first tab or page of an interface and the plurality of insights is provided in a second tab or page of the interface (Fig 7, par 0044-0048, tab view for the plurality of insights).
Claim 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPubs 2014/0053091 to Hou et al. in view of U.S. PGPubs 2016/0117373 to Dang et al., further in view of U.S. PGPubs 2015/0088851 to Deshpande et al.
Regarding claim 39, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) teach all the limitation of claim 38, and Hou et al. further teach wherein: the treemap file view arranges the plurality of insights adjacent to each other such that adjacent insights are topically related (Figs 4-16, par 0045-0057, tree view (see Figs 11-12, related of adjacent insights)), but keep silent for teach wherein: the comic strip style view arranges the plurality of insights adjacent to each other such that one or more adjacent insights are topically unrelated.
In related endeavor, Deshpande et al. teach wherein: the comic strip style view arranges the plurality of insights adjacent to each other such that one or more adjacent insights are topically unrelated (Fig 3D, par 0070-0072, “the visualization carrousel 399 depicts a series of available visualizations 398A, 398B, and 398C based on the request sent from the device pursuant to the user clicking the button to trigger the request and additionally based on available context passed with the request”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) to include wherein: the comic strip style view arranges the plurality of insights adjacent to each other such that one or more adjacent insights are topically unrelated as taught by Deshpande et al. to provide a single repository or view with meta data mapping between two or more tables such that a database join may combine the information sources and provide the data and an associated visualization back to the mobile device for display to access such information from anywhere at anytime is especially helpful to businesses which are able to provide centrally accessible data, analytics, status, business reports, metrics, and other relevant information to their employees.
Claims 29-32 and 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPubs 2014/0053091 to Hou et al. in view of U.S. PGPubs 2017/0177559 to Dang et al. (2017), further in view of U.S. PGPubs 2014/0282184 to Dewan et al.
Regarding claim 29, Hou et al. teach a method comprising (par 0004):
receiving, at a computing device, a first selection of a portion of first visualization indicating a graphical depiction of a chart or a graph (Figs 2-4, par 0042-0045, “in response to the user dragging the "Brand" block 206(1) from the left portion of the display to the right portion of the display, as described above with reference to FIG. 2, data exploration user interface module 110 renders a visualization of data from data source 102, based on "Brand." For example, as shown in FIG. 3, a pie chart 304 showing sales information by brand is rendered in the right portion of the display …. the user may select and drag out section 402, which represents sales of Ford brand vehicles. Similarly, the user may select and drag out section 404, which represents sales of Honda brand vehicles”), the first visualization including a set of data points representing a data space of a multi-dimensional dataset (Fig. 4, par 0042-0045, “data exploration user interface module 110 renders a visualization of data from data source 102, based on "Brand." For example, as shown in FIG. 3, a pie chart 304 showing sales information by brand is rendered in the right portion of the display…. the user may select and drag out section 402, which represents sales of Ford brand vehicles. Similarly, the user may select and drag out section 404, which represents sales of Honda brand vehicles”);
responsive to receiving the first selection, providing a first insight comprising: a second visualization having a first size representing a data subspace corresponding to the portion of the first visualization, and including at least a portion of the graphical depiction of the chart or the graph, wherein the second visualization includes at least a subset of the set of data points; and a textual description providing explanatory information about the second visualization (Fig 7, par 0048, “FIG. 7 illustrates the result of the "Category" field being applied to blocks 504 and 506. Block 504, which represented sales of Ford vehicles is replaced by a pie chart 702 that represents Ford sales by category. Similarly, block 506, which represented sales of Honda vehicles is replaced by a pie chart 704 that represents Honda sales by category”);
receiving a second selection of the first insight; and responsive to receiving the second selection, providing an expanded version of the second visualization (Fig. 12, “FIG. 12 illustrates the same data shown in FIG. 11, but with pie charts 1102 and 1104 replaced by bar charts 1202 and 1204, respectively. Techniques for converting pie charts to bar charts will be illustrated and described below with reference to FIGS. 17 and 18. Charts generated through the data exploration user interface may be combined to enable a user to easily compare data that is currently displayed in two separate charts. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 13, bar chart 1204, which represents sales of compact Honda vehicles by year, may be selected, dragged, and dropped onto bar chart 1202, which represents sales of sporty Ford vehicles by year. FIG. 14 illustrates resulting chart 1402”).
But Hou et al. keep silent for teaching the explanatory facts being provided as one or more sentences describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and a range of time the at least one of the outlier or the trend was observed.
In related endeavor, Dang et al.(2017) teach responsive to receiving the first selection, providing a first insight comprising: a second visualization having a first size representing a data subspace corresponding to the portion of the first visualization, and including at least a portion of the graphical depiction of the chart or the graph, wherein the second visualization includes at least a subset of the set of data points; and a textual description providing explanatory information about the second visualization (Fig 2C, par 0047-0049, “Interaction with an insight 125 is illustrated FIG. 2C. As shown, on mouse hover or selection, an insight 125 may be highlighted 210. In addition, the range of cells 255 in the spreadsheet 205 to which the insight 125 pertains may be highlighted. Additionally, on mouse hover or selection, an automatically generated chart 160 that best exemplifies the insight 125 may be displayed. The chart 160 may comprise trend lines, shapes, annotations, or other added features that help make the insight 125 more intuitive, and may also include confidence level data 245 pertaining to an insight 125. Each insight 125 may have one or more charts 160 that showcase the particular insight”), and a textual description providing explanatory facts about the respective second visualization, the explanatory facts being provided as one or more sentences describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and a range of time the at least one of the outlier or the trend was observed (Figs 2B-2D, par 0042-0048, “ According to an embodiment, the sequenced listing of insights 135 may dynamically change in response to a selection of data 105 in the spreadsheet 205. Each insight 125A-N in the list 135 may be represented by a natural language text string 165A-N describing the specific insight. The natural language text 165 may explain the insight 125 in plain terminology such that it may be understandable to a general audience who may not have a familiarity with statistics. The natural language text 165 may include text sourced from the data 105…. The chart 160 may comprise trend lines, shapes, annotations, or other added features that help make the insight 125 more intuitive, and may also include confidence level data 245 pertaining to an insight 125. Each insight 125 may have one or more charts 160 that showcase the particular insight “, par 0054, “the chart(s) 160 and natural language text 165 may be presented in an insights user interface (UI) 145. The insights 125 may be presented in a sequenced order by importance as determined by the ranking system 130”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al. to include the explanatory facts being provided as one or more sentences describing: at least one of outliers or trends in the subset of the set of data points in the second visualization; and a range of time the at least one of the outlier or the trend was observed as taught by Dang et al.(2017) to generate charts that visually describe each insight and in natural language text that describes each insight to explain the insight in plain terminology such that it may be understandable to a general audience who may not have a familiarity with statistics.
But Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) keep silent for teaching the expanded version of the second visualization having a second size that is larger than the first size.
In related endeavor, Dewan et al. teach receiving a second selection of the first insight; and responsive to receiving the second selection, providing an expanded version of the second visualization, the expanded version of the second visualization having a second size that is larger than the first size (Fig 4, par 0067-0071, “Graphical regions 74 may be displayed as part of insight view 66 with respect to revenue dimension 70 and state dimension 72. Revenue dimension 70 and state dimension 72 may be the same as revenue dimension 46 and state dimension 47, respectively. The size of each of graphical regions 74 may correspond to the proportional value of revenue for the corresponding city. For instance, in the example of FIG. 4, the city corresponding to graphical region 74A may have a smaller revenue value than the cities corresponding to each of graphical regions 74B and 74C. That is, insight view 66 may maintain the context of report 41 by including the same dimensions and/or by maintaining the displayed shape and relative size of the underlying data element”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al. to include the expanded version of the second visualization having a second size that is larger than the first size as taught by Dewan et al. to provide further details from original insight based on the user’s selection to prepare and aggregate individual reports and analyses by executing queries on underlying data sources, and to present those reports and analyses in a user-accessible format.
Regarding claim 30, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) and Dewan et al. teach all the limitation of claim 29, and Dewan et al. further teach wherein providing the expanded version of the second visualization comprises: placing the expanded version of the second visualization in an exploration area of a user interface of the computing device, the exploration area comprising a set of dimensions and measures associated with the second visualization (Fig 4, par 0067-0071, “Graphical regions 74 may be displayed as part of insight view 66 with respect to revenue dimension 70 and state dimension 72. Revenue dimension 70 and state dimension 72 may be the same as revenue dimension 46 and state dimension 47, respectively. The size of each of graphical regions 74 may correspond to the proportional value of revenue for the corresponding city. For instance, in the example of FIG. 4, the city corresponding to graphical region 74A may have a smaller revenue value than the cities corresponding to each of graphical regions 74B and 74C. That is, insight view 66 may maintain the context of report 41 by including the same dimensions and/or by maintaining the displayed shape and relative size of the underlying data element”). This would be obvious for the same reason given in the rejection for claim 29.
Regarding claim 31, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) and Dewan et al. teach all the limitation of claim 30, and Dewan et al. further teach further comprising: receiving a third selection of a dimension or a measure in the set of dimensions and measures; and responsive to third selection, replacing the expanded version of the second visualization with a third visualization associated with the dimension or the measure (Fig 5, par 0075-0082, “Both graphical regions 84 and graphical sub-regions 88 may be displayed as part of insight view 82 with respect to revenue dimension 70 and state dimension 72. As in FIG. 4, the size of each of graphical regions 84 may correspond to the proportional value of revenue for the corresponding city. Furthermore, the size of each of graphical sub-regions 88 may correspond to the proportional value of revenue within the city for corresponding product categories. That is, insight view 82 may allow for further insight into data elements such as State 6 while maintaining the context of report 41 by including the same dimensions and/or by maintaining the displayed shape and relative size of the underlying data elements” ….display another insight with dimension and measure based on user’s selection). This would be obvious for the same reason given in the rejection for claim 29.
Regarding claim 32, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) and Dewan et al. teach all the limitation of claim 29, and Hou et al. further teach wherein receiving the second selection comprises receiving a drag-and-drop operation that places the first insight in an exploration canvas (par 0037, “Queryable fields of a data source are visually represented in a selection area of the user interface and can be dragged and dropped into a visualization area of the user interface to query the data source and display the results as a data visualization. Data points within the displayed data visualizations may be selected and pulled out to generate child-level data visualizations, and visual paths are maintained to provide historical context as large visualization structures are built”).
Regarding claim 34, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) and Dewan et al. teach all the limitation of claim 29, and Dewan et al. further teach further comprising: receiving a request to add a second insight to the expanded version of the second visualization; and responsive to the request, providing a user interface enabling a user to create the second insight (Fig 5, par 0075-0082, “Both graphical regions 84 and graphical sub-regions 88 may be displayed as part of insight view 82 with respect to revenue dimension 70 and state dimension 72. As in FIG. 4, the size of each of graphical regions 84 may correspond to the proportional value of revenue for the corresponding city. Furthermore, the size of each of graphical sub-regions 88 may correspond to the proportional value of revenue within the city for corresponding product categories. That is, insight view 82 may allow for further insight into data elements such as State 6 while maintaining the context of report 41 by including the same dimensions and/or by maintaining the displayed shape and relative size of the underlying data elements” ….display another insight with dimension and measure based on user’s selection). This would be obvious for the same reason given in the rejection for claim 29.
Regarding claim 35, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) and Dewan et al. teach all the limitation of claim 34, and further teach wherein the user interface comprises at least one of: a first field for entering a subject title for the second insight (Hou et al.: Fig 4-7, par 0044-0048, provide title about parent of child charts); or a second field for entering a comment for the second insight (Dang et al.:, par 0090-0091, provide explanation of the charts).
Regarding claim 36, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) and Dewan et al. teach all the limitation of claim 35, and Hou et al. further teach wherein the user interface further comprises at least one of: a third field for indicating whether the second insight is to be shared; or a fourth field for linking a third visualization to the second visualization (Fig 7, par 0048, disclose a link between parent chart and child charts).
Claim 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. PGPubs 2014/0053091 to Hou et al. in view of U.S. PGPubs 2017/0177559 to Dang et al. (2017), further in view of U.S. PGPubs 2014/0282184 to Dewan et al., further in view of U.S. PGPubs 2016/0350389 to Kloke et al.
Regarding claim 33, Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) and Dewan et al. teach all the limitation of claim 26, but do not explicitly teach wherein the data subspace is directly linked to the second visualization such that a modification to data in the data subspace causes the second visualization to be updated to reflect the modification.
In related endeavor, Kloke et al. teach wherein the data subspace is directly linked to the second visualization such that a modification to data in the data subspace causes the second visualization to be updated to reflect the modification (par 280-281, “It will be appreciated that the cancer map visualization 1400 may be updated with new information at any time. As such, as new patients are added to the cancer map visualization 1400, the new data updates the visualization such that as future patients are placed in the map, the map may already include the updated information. As new information and/or new patient data is added to the cancer map visualization 1400, the cancer map visualization 1400 may improve as a tool to better inform physicians or other medical professionals”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modified Hou et al. as modified by Dang et al.(2017) and Dewan et al. to include wherein the data subspace is directly linked to the second visualization such that a modification to data in the data subspace causes the second visualization to be updated to reflect the modification as taught by Kloke et al. to provide new data updates the visualization to allow for exploratory data analysis where the analysis can be quickly modified to discover new relationships with update to improve as a tool to better inform professionals.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JIN . GE
Examiner
Art Unit 2619
/JIN GE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2619