DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending herein
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II (Claims 10-18) and Species D (Fig.9-13) in the reply filed on 11/20/2025 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
Inventions I, II, and III are overlapping in scope and therefore should be examined together; and
the Examiner has not shown that maintaining the species in the application would be a burden or how searching would be burdensome.
This is not found persuasive because:
As best understood, Inventions I and III are different in scope based on the claim terms provided in Claims 1-9, and 19-20.
Furthermore, in addition to reading and understanding all of the various features of the species of invention presented it would, indeed, be a serious burden upon the examiner to search for the added features and apply any found additional relevant prior art to each of the inventions/species presented. Moreover, the examiner disagrees with Applicant's allegation that the search for each Invention/Species would be substantially the same. Clearly, in the examiner's view, the Inventions/Species carry substantially more features that could be claimed, and which therefore would require being individually searched and individually addressed in the written Office Action, thus prima facie a serious burden.
Consequently, Applicant’s arguments in traverse notwithstanding, the examiner maintains the restriction requirement to be proper and hereby makes the restriction final.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-9, 16 (unelected Fig.7), and 19-20, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 10/24/2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “125” (Fig.9). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “at least one of a torsion spring, a compression spring, a tension spring, an extension spring, a conical spring, a spiral spring, or a leaf spring” (Claim 10 – not all options shown only torsion springs 114 shown) must be labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “the diameter” (line 2 & 3) should be rewritten as “a diameter”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “biasing mechanism” in claim 10.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
page 7, P[0001] improperly restarts the paragraph numbering.
Page 7, P[0001] provides that the cart is element “10” however the figures and the remainder of the disclosure provided element “100”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 10, the claim recites the limitation: "configured to engage" (line 3), is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 10, the claim recites the limitation: "changes a biasing state" (line 13), is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 12, the claim recites the limitation: “at least one of a torsion spring, a compression spring, a tension spring, an extension spring, a conical spring, a spiral spring, or a leaf spring" (line 1-3, see above drawing objection), is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10, 12-15, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (US 7,219,907 B1).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, Chang discloses: A suspension system (See, e.g., Fig.1-11) for a roller board assembly (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 10), the suspension system comprising:
a truck center housing (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 40+42+30) configured to engage with a lower portion of a truck assembly (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 41), the truck center housing defining a pivot axle cavity (See, e.g., Fig.1-11) that houses a pivot axle (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 421), a pivot axle shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 421+33), and a biasing mechanism (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 60) coupled to the pivot axle (See, e.g., Fig.1-11), the pivot axle defining a shaft orifice (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 421) through which the pivot axle shaft extends from a first end to a second end of the truck center housing and defines a truck axis (See, e.g., Fig.1-11);
a truck wing (See, e.g., Fig.1-11,30+40) coupled to the truck center housing, the truck wing having a front cavity and a rear orifice (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 30), the front cavity configured to receive at least a portion of the biasing mechanism and the pivot axle shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-11), and the rear orifice configured to receive a wheel axle shaft (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 34), the wheel axle shaft defining a wheel axis; wherein the truck wing is pivotable about the truck axis and the biasing mechanism changes a biasing state (See, e.g., Fig.1-11).
[Claim 12] Regarding Claim 12, Chang discloses: wherein the biasing mechanism is at least one of a torsion spring, a compression spring, a tension spring, an extension spring, a conical spring, a spiral spring, or a leaf spring (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 60).
[Claim 13] Regarding Claim 13, Chang discloses: wherein the biasing mechanism is a torsion spring (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 60).
[Claim 14] Regarding Claim 14, Chang discloses: wherein the pivot axle includes a center portion and an arm portion disposed at an end of the center portion (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 421+33), wherein the diameter of the center portion is larger than the diameter of the arm portion and the torsion spring surrounds the arm portion of the pivot axle (See, e.g., Fig.1-11).
[Claim 15] Regarding Claim 15, Chang discloses: wherein the pivot axle defines a spring notch (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 422+35) at a circumference of the center portion (See, e.g., Fig.1-11), the spring notch configured to receive a leg of the torsion spring and limit rotation of the torsion spring with respect to the truck axis (See, e.g., Fig.1-11).
[Claim 17] Regarding Claim 17, Chang discloses: wherein the suspension system includes a dampening system disposed on the truck wing (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 310) the dampening system configured to absorb kinetic energy as the biasing mechanism changes its biasing state (See, e.g., Fig.1-11).
[Claim 18] Regarding Claim 18, Chang discloses: further including a bumper stop (See, e.g., Fig.1-11, 422+35) disposed on a side of the truck wing adjacent to the truck center housing (See, e.g., Fig.1-11), the bumper stop configured to limit the rotation of the truck wing with respect to the truck center housing (See, e.g., Fig.1-11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 7,219,907 B2) in view of Johnson (US 4,176,850).
[Claim 11] Regarding Claim 11, Chang fails to explicitly teach: wherein the truck wing further houses at least one roller bearing disposed around the pivot axle shaft in the front cavity, the at least one roller bearing configured to pivot the truck wing with respect to the truck center housing.
However, Johnson teaches: a similar roller board suspension system (See, e.g., Johnson: Fig.1-19, 200) wherein at least one roller bearing (See, e.g., Johnson: Fig.1-19, 194) is disposed around a pivot axle shaft (See, e.g., Johnson: Fig.1-19, 22+77).
Johnson teaches that it is well known in the art of transport cart design to provide roller bearings around a pivot axle shaft. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Chang modified with roller bearings around the pivot axle shaft as taught by Johnson and housed in the front cavity, for the purpose of precisely controlling operation of the pivot axle shaft when in use to provide smooth movement (See, e.g., Johnson: Fig.1-19; Col.7, Ln.34-58), and beneficially allowing a user to use the roller board without significant exertions of strength during tricks/turns. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613