DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants’ communication filed on 02/19/2026. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 10-15 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama et al. (US 2022/0278442 A1) in view of Kvist (US 2021/0306773 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 Kodama teaches the limitations "A wireless ear computer comprising: (see abstract and fig. 1 (20));
a casing forming a cavity; (fig. 1 (21) and par. 0040);
a flexible circuit received in the cavity, (see par. 0040 and fig. 1 “ The speaker 24 is connected with the PCB 22 through an FPC (flexible printed circuit) 241”)
the flexible circuit surrounding a component pocket configured to receive at least one electrical component, the flexible circuit having a power circuit, the flexible circuit including a ground plane; (see fig. 1 (22 and 241) and par. 0040-0041, forming flexible circuit with ground plane from ground terminal 222);
a battery received in the component pocket, the battery operably coupled to the battery circuit to power the at least one electrical component, the battery connected to the ground plane of the flexible circuit; (see fig. 1 (23) and par. 0040);
an antenna having an antenna element extending along the casing, the antenna element being spaced apart from, and located outward of, the flexible circuit, the antenna including an antenna feed and an antenna ground, the antenna ground being connected to the ground plane of the flexible circuit" (see fig. 1 (30) and par. 0041-0042 showing, curved antenna around housing and connected to ground terminal 222 and the feed terminal 221).
However, Kodama does not explicitly teach the flexible circuit surrounds multiple sides of the pocket and that the battery is surrounded on multiple sides by the flexible circuit.”
In the same field of endeavor Kvist teaches “A hearing device is configured to be worn in an ear of a user, and is configured to provide an audio signal to the user. The hearing device comprises a circuit assembly. The circuit assembly comprises a printed circuit board assembly. The printed circuit board assembly comprises a first circuit board, a second circuit board, and a third circuit board between the first and second circuit boards. The circuit assembly comprises a battery, wherein the printed circuit board assembly is folded about the battery.” (see abstract). “The printed circuit board assembly is folded about the battery. The third circuit board, which may be a flexible circuit board, may comprise one or more bends, such that the entire printed circuit board assembly can surround, enclose, encase the battery.” (see par. 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to surround the battery with a flexible circuit as taught by Kvist in the system of Kodama, in order to improve the small and compact hearing device with an antenna designed to achieve connectivity with a wide range of devices to obtain good communication for all sizes and shapes of heads, ears and hair, in all environments and with as large frequency bandwidth as possible despite the space limitation and other design constraints imposed by the size requirements of the hearing device (see par. 0009 of Kvist).
Regarding Claim 2 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 1, wherein the casing includes an interior surface and an exterior surface, (see fig. 1 showing housing 21);
the antenna element including an inner portion extending along the interior surface and an outer portion extending along the exterior surface, the antenna element including a connecting portion between the inner portion and the outer portion" (see par. 0003 “The antenna includes: a metal plate, wherein the metal plate is at least a part of a housing of an earbud, the metal plate is configured to be electrically coupled to a feeding terminal and a grounding terminal on a PCB, and the PCB is accommodated in the earbud.” (PCB is accommodated in the earbud, therefore inner portions of antenna connecting to it. Also see fig. 1 (30) and par. 0041-0042 showing, curved antenna around housing and connected to ground terminal 222 and the feed terminal 221 (i.e. transmission line)).
Regarding Claim 5 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 2, wherein the antenna feed includes a feed post connected to the transmission line and the antenna ground includes a ground post connected to the ground plane of the flexible circuit, (see fig. 1 and par. 0041-0042, where the feed line terminal 221 and the ground terminal 222 are equated to the ground posts);
the connecting portion including a connecting line between the feed post and the ground post directly connecting the antenna feed and the ground feed" (see par. 0044 “ In some embodiment, there may be configured on the PCB 22 contact components for electrical connection. Referring to FIG. 1, a first contact component 11 is configured to be electrically coupled between the antenna component 30 and the feeding terminal 221, and a second contact component 12 is configured to be electrically coupled between the antenna component 30 and the grounding terminal 222.” Here the direct line is on the PCB 22 connecting feed terminals).
Regarding Claim 7 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 1, wherein the flexible circuit extends circumferentially around the component pocket" (see fig. 1 (where flexible printed circuit 241 extends around battery 23 “pocket”). Note this claim does not require the flexible circuit to fully wrap around the battery pocket, i.e.. does not require a full circle flexible circuit.
Regarding Claim 10 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 1, wherein the flexible circuit includes a transceiver, wherein an RF front-end module is operably coupled to the transceiver, the antenna feed of the antenna being connected to the RF front-end module" (see par. 0040 “The feeding terminal 221 is configured to feed RF signals obtained from an antenna of the wireless earbud 20 to subsequent circuits or transmit signals from subsequent circuits to the antenna of the wireless earbud.” (i.e. transceiver) and see par. 0046 “In some embodiment, a matching circuit may be further configured in the housing for boosting the performance of the antenna. The matching circuit may be electrically configured between the antenna component and the feeding terminal of a RF module.” Also see fig. 3 (33) and par. 0047.
Regarding Claim 11 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 10, wherein the antenna further comprises a transmission line between the RF front-end module and the antenna feed, the transmission line being one of a coaxial cable, a flexible circuit, or a spring contact" (see fig. 3, 4 (33, 43 FEMs) and par. 0048, showing lines connecting FEM to antenna feed terminal). Also see par. 0044 “In some embodiment, the first contact component 11 and the second contact component 12 may be a pogo-pin or a leaf spring. The first contact component 11 and the second contact component 12 may be arranged perpendicularly to the PCB 22.”). Also see par. 0040 “…connected with the PCB 22 through an FPC (flexible printed circuit) 241 or other connecting structure.” Lastly, (see par. 0003 “The antenna includes: a metal plate, wherein the metal plate is at least a part of a housing of an earbud, the metal plate is configured to be electrically coupled to a feeding terminal and a grounding terminal on a PCB, and the PCB is accommodated in the earbud.” (PCB is accommodated in the earbud, therefore inner portions of antenna connecting to it). Also see par. 0040, showing, flexible printed circuit 241 for connecting structure)).
Regarding Claim 12 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 10, wherein the antenna ground is connected to the RF front-end module" (see fig. 3 and par. 0045, showing RF module 33 connected to ground via antenna 30 and protection circuit 31).
Regarding Claim 13 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 10, wherein the antenna element is located at a first side of the casing, the RF front-end module being located at a different second side of the casing" (see fig. 1 and 3 (30 and 33) and par. 0047-0048).
Regarding Claim 14 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 1, wherein the antenna includes a ground conductor between the antenna ground and the ground plane, (see par. 0041 “at least a part of the housing 21 is made of conductive material, such as a metal plate. The part of the housing made of conductive material constitutes an antenna component 30 to act as an antenna radiator of the antenna of the wireless earbud 20. The antenna component 30 is electrically coupled to the feeding terminal 221 and electrically coupled to the grounding terminal 222 configured on the PCB 22.” );
the ground conductor being one of a solder connection, a spring contact, a conductive foam, or a conductive tape" (see par. 0044 “In some embodiment, the first contact component 11 and the second contact component 12 may be a pogo-pin or a leaf spring.”).
Regarding Claim 15 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 1, wherein the casing includes a main housing defining the cavity (see fig. 1 showing housing 30 defining a cavity) but does not explicitly disclose “a cover closing the cavity, the cover being coupled to the main housing.” Kvist teaches “The power management components may further be covered by a shielding can for providing improved shielding of the power management components.” (see par. 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a cover closing the cavity as taught by Kvist in the system of Kodama, in order to improve shielding (see par. 0061 of Kvist).
Regarding Claim 16 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "A wireless ear computer comprising: (see abstract, fig. 1 (20));
a casing forming a cavity, the casing including an interior surface and an exterior surface; (fig. 1 (21));
a flexible circuit received in the cavity, the flexible circuit surrounding a component pocket configured to receive at least one electrical component, the flexible circuit having a power circuit and a speaker circuit, the flexible circuit including a ground plane; (see fig. 1 (22 and 241) and par. 0040-0041, forming flexible circuit with ground plane from ground terminal 222);
a battery received in the component pocket, the battery operably coupled to the battery circuit to power the at least one electrical component, the battery connected to the ground plane of the flexible circuit; (see fig. 1 (23) and par. 0040);
a speaker operably coupled to the speaker circuit to control the speaker, the speaker connected to the ground plane of the flexible circuit; (see fig. 1 (24) and par. 0040-0041);
an antenna extending along the casing, the antenna element being spaced apart from, and located outward of, the flexible circuit, (see fig. 1 (30) and par. 0041-0042 showing, curved antenna around housing and connected to ground terminal 222 and the feed terminal 221).
the antenna including an inner portion extending along the interior surface of the casing, the antenna including an outer portion extending along the exterior surface of the casing, (see fig. 1 showing antenna 30 with interior side facing inner portion and exterior side facing the outside);
the antenna including a connecting portion between the inner portion and the outer portion, (see par. 0003 “The antenna includes: a metal plate, wherein the metal plate is at least a part of a housing of an earbud, the metal plate is configured to be electrically coupled to a feeding terminal and a grounding terminal on a PCB, and the PCB is accommodated in the earbud.” The plate itself connects the inner and outer portions of antenna. Also the PCB connecting the antenna feeds meets this limitation);
the inner portion of the antenna including an antenna feed connected to a transmission line, the inner portion of the antenna including an antenna ground connected to the ground plane of the flexible circuit" (see par. 0003 “The antenna includes: a metal plate, wherein the metal plate is at least a part of a housing of an earbud, the metal plate is configured to be electrically coupled to a feeding terminal and a grounding terminal on a PCB, and the PCB is accommodated in the earbud.” (PCB is accommodated in the earbud, therefore inner portions of antenna connecting to it. Also see fig. 1 (30) and par. 0041-0042 showing, curved antenna around housing and connected to ground terminal 222 and the feed terminal 221 (i.e. transmission line)).
Regarding Claim 18 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "A wireless ear computer comprising: a casing forming a cavity, the casing including an interior surface and an exterior surface; a flexible circuit received in the cavity, the flexible circuit surrounding a component pocket configured to receive at least one electrical component, the flexible circuit having a power circuit, the flexible circuit including a transceiver, the flexible circuit including a ground plane; a battery received in the component pocket, the battery operably coupled to the battery circuit to power the at least one electrical component, the battery connected to the ground plane of the flexible circuit; (see above in claim 1 as limitations have been addressed);
an RF front-end module coupled to the flexible circuit, the RF front-end module operably coupled to the transceiver; and (see par. 0046 “In some embodiment, a matching circuit may be further configured in the housing for boosting the performance of the antenna. The matching circuit may be electrically configured between the antenna component and the feeding terminal of a RF module.” Also see fig. 3 (33) and par. 0047.
an antenna having an antenna element extending along the casing, the antenna element being spaced apart from, and located outward of, the flexible circuit, the antenna including an antenna feed and an antenna ground, the antenna feed being connected to the RF front-end module, the antenna ground being connected to the ground plane of the flexible circuit" (see fig. 1 (30) and par. 0041-0042 showing, curved antenna around housing and connected to ground terminal 222 and the feed terminal 221). Also see fig. 3 and 4 showing connecting to RF module).
Regarding Claim 19 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 18, wherein the antenna further comprises a transmission line between the RF front-end module and the antenna feed, the transmission line being one of a coaxial cable, a flexible circuit, or a spring contact" (see par. 0003 “The antenna includes: a metal plate, wherein the metal plate is at least a part of a housing of an earbud, the metal plate is configured to be electrically coupled to a feeding terminal and a grounding terminal on a PCB, and the PCB is accommodated in the earbud.” (PCB is accommodated in the earbud, therefore inner portions of antenna connecting to it). Also see par. 0040, showing, flexible printed circuit 241 for connecting structure)).
Regarding Claim 20 Kodama and Kvist teach the limitations "The wireless ear computer of claim 18, wherein the antenna element is located at a first side of the casing, the RF front-end module being located at a different second side of the casing" (see fig. 1 and 3 (30 and 33) and par. 0047-0048).
Claims 3-4, 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama and Kvist as applied to claims 2 and 16, above, and further in view of Oesch et al. (US 2020/0044323 A1).
Regarding Claim 3 and 4, Kodama and Kvist teach claim 2 and show connecting elements of the circuitry to the antenna via flexible printed circuit, contacts points or “other connecting structure” (see fig. 1, par. 0040 of Kodama) and “the protection circuit 31 is coupled to the grounding terminal on the PCB through wires, and the antenna component 30 is electrically coupled to the feeding terminal through a sole contact component 36” (see par. 0045 of Kodama).
However, the modified system of Kodama and Kvist do not explicitly disclose the limitation “wherein the connecting portion includes a side trace wrapping around the side of the casing from the interior surface to the exterior surface” or “wherein the connecting portion includes a through trace extending through the casing between the interior surface and the exterior surface.”
In the same field of endeavor Oesch discloses a hearing device having an antenna for wireless communication where “the disclosed technology includes a loop antenna for a BTE or RIC hearing device where the loop antenna is disposed horizontally on top of a hearing device so that traces for the antenna circumvent a microphone or switch for the hearing device.” “The antenna 140 also includes metallic traces and is connected to a transmission line, which is explained in FIGS. 3 and 4.” (see abstract, fig. 1, 3 and par. 0014 and 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the antenna via side or through traces as suggested by Oesch in the system of Kodama and Kvist, in order to circumvent any device elements, modules or housing and making a connection from the circuit board to the antenna (see par. 0014 of Oesch).
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above as the limitations have been addressed.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kodama and Kvist as applied to claims 2 and 16, above, and further in view of Cousins et al. (US 2019/0103661 A1).
Regarding Claim 8 Kodama and Kvist teach the wireless ear computer of claim 1, and that the antenna includes feed terminal (i.e. feed line) (see par. 0040 and fig. 1) but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the antenna element includes a feed line, a branch line, and a main line between the feed line and the branch line, the feed line connecting the antenna feed and the antenna ground to the main line, the main line extending between a top and a bottom of the casing, the branch line extending from the main line between an outer end and an inner end of the casing.”
In the same field of endeavor Cousins teaches wireless earphone antennas that include a main line, feed line and branches (see fig. 5 antenna 40-2 and 40-1) and the “Antenna 40 may have a feed that includes positive antenna feed terminal 42 and ground antenna feed terminal 44. Transmission line 30 may be used to couple radio-frequency transceiver circuitry 22 to antenna 40. Transmission line 30 may have a positive signal path such as line 32 and a ground signal path such as line 34. More than one feed may be used for antenna 40 if desired (e.g., each feed may be coupled to a corresponding transmission line 30). Transmission lines in device 10 such as transmission line 30 may include coaxial cable paths, microstrip transmission lines, stripline transmission lines, edge-coupled microstrip transmission lines, edge-coupled stripline transmission lines, transmission lines formed from combinations of transmission lines of these types, etc.” (see par. 0027). Also see par. 0032 “The length of arm 104 may be selected such that antenna structure 40 resonates at desired operating frequencies. For example, the length of arm 104 (or a branch of arm 104) may be a quarter of a wavelength at a desired operating frequency for antenna 40.” Lastly, the abstract shows “The antennas may be formed on opposing sides of a housing for the device.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the antenna with feed, main and branches connected to ground and on opposite sides of housing as taught by Cousins in the modified system of Kodama and Kvist, in order to adapt to the current environment and efficiently perform communications (see abstract of Cousins).
Regarding Claim 9 Kodama, Kvist and Cousins teach the limitations “The wireless ear computer of claim 8, wherein the branch line includes a first branch and a second branch spaced apart from the first branch and extending between the outer end and the inner end of the casing. (see Cousins abstract, fig. 5 and par. 0052, showing antenna 40-1 and 40-2 having two branches each spaced apart and “The antennas may be formed on opposing sides of a housing for the device.”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include two branches on outer and inner ends as taught by Cousins in the system of Kodama, in order to adapt to the current environment and efficiently perform communications (see abstract of Cousins).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/David Bilodeau/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648