2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
3. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
4. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14 & 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandberg et al (Pub No. 2015/0289264) and further in view of Guan (Pub No. 2019/0394779).
Regarding claim 1, Sandberg et al discloses a method of controlling a transmission power for a physical uplink channel by a terminal in a wireless communication system (Fig. 6 & 8), the method comprising: receiving first information configuring a cell and one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs) of the cell (Para. 85: Reference signal for resource configuration & Para. 53 & 44-47: Reference signal-SRS for bandwidth covered area of the serving cell);
identifying path loss information based on a reference signal (RS) received on the indicated BWP of the cell (Para. 78 & 54: Estimate pathloss in the system. Pathloss between the device and the network in the specific cell); and identifying the transmission power for the physical uplink channel based on the path loss information (Para. 78 & 91: Determine uplink transmit power for the RSRP-RS based on path loss estimates (Also see claim 2)).
Sandberg et al is silent regarding receiving second information indicating a BWP among the one or more BWPs of the cell.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guan discloses receiving second information indicating a BWP among the one or more BWPs of the cell (Fig. 5: Broadcast message includes a second configuration information regarding 2nd carrier-2nd Frequency information and cell information. Broadcast message received) and identifying the transmission power for the physical uplink channel based on the path loss information (Para. 168-169: Based on the determined reference path loss, terminal device calculates the transmit power value of an uplink signal transmitted by the terminal device on the second uplink carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device information control system of Guan’s disclosure with the signal pathloss and power control configuration, as taught by Sandberg. Doing so would have resulted in effectively adjusting power in the system to minimize pathloss and producing maximum gain in the communication network.
Regarding claim 2 & 12, Sandberg et al discloses receiving the first information comprises receiving the first information through a higher layer signaling (Para. 51: Transmit SRS is configured by higher layer RRC signaling & Para. 53).
Regarding claim 3 & 13, Sandberg et al discloses receiving the second information comprises receiving the second information through a physical layer signaling or a higher layer signaling (Para. 51: Transmit SRS is configured by higher layer RRC signaling) & (Para. 53).
Regarding claim 4 & 14, Sandberg et al is silent regarding second information is related to a BWP change of the cell.
Guan discloses second information is related to a BWP change of the cell (Fig. 10: 2nd DL frequency information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the instruction message to deliver information regarding frequency of the system.
Regarding claim 6 & 16, Sandberg et al is silent regarding accumulating a power control adjustment state function for the physical uplink channel based on a previous power control adjustment state function.
Guan discloses accumulating a power control adjustment state function for the physical uplink channel based on a previous power control adjustment state function (Para. 168-169: power control).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the power control system to control power to adjust interference in the system.
Regarding claim 7 & 17, Sandberg et al is silent regarding the power control adjustment state function for the physical uplink channel is related to the indicated BWP of the cell, and wherein the previous power control adjustment state function is related to the previous BWP of the cell.
Guan discloses the power control adjustment state function for the physical uplink channel is related to the indicated BWP of the cell, and wherein the previous power control adjustment state function is related to the previous BWP of the cell (Para. 168-169: power control & power control adjusting function).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the power control system to control power to adjust interference in the system.
Regarding claim 8 & 18, Sandberg et al discloses a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Para. 3-4: CSI-RS).
Regarding claim 9 & 19, Sandberg et al discloses identifying the path loss information comprises identifying the path loss information based on a difference between a reference signal power used by a base station for the reference signal and a reference signal received power (RSRP) measured by the terminal based on the reference signal (Para. 53-54: Pathloss estimate).
Regarding claim 10, Sandberg et al discloses a method of controlling a transmission power for a physical uplink channel by a base station in a wireless communication system (Fig. 6 & 8), the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal, first information configuring a cell and one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs) of the cell (Para. 85: Reference signal for resource configuration & Para. 53 & 44-47: Reference signal-SRS for bandwidth covered area of the serving cell); wherein path loss information is identified at the terminal based on a reference signal (RS) transmitted on the indicated BWP of the cell (Para. 78 & 54: Estimate pathloss in the system. Pathloss between the device and the network in the specific cell); and wherein the transmission power for the physical uplink channel is identified at the terminal based on the path loss information (Para. 78 & 91: Determine uplink transmit power for the RSRP-RS based on path loss estimates (Also see claim 2)).
Sandberg et al is silent regarding transmitting, to the terminal, second information indicating a BWP among the one or more BWPs of the cell.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guan discloses transmitting, to the terminal, second information indicating a BWP among the one or more BWPs of the cell (Fig. 5: Broadcast message includes a second configuration information regarding 2nd carrier-2nd Frequency information and cell information)
and the transmission power for the physical uplink channel is identified at the terminal based on the path loss information (Para. 168-169: Based on the determined reference path loss, terminal device calculates the transmit power value of an uplink signal transmitted by the terminal device on the second uplink carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device information control system of Guan’s disclosure with the signal pathloss and power control configuration, as taught by Sandberg. Doing so would have resulted in effectively adjusting power in the system to minimize pathloss and producing maximum gain in the communication network.
Regarding claim 11, Sandberg et al discloses a terminal configured to control a transmission power for a physical uplink channel in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 6 & 8 & 2-3: Processor-6 & 12 connected to Tx & RX) and configured to: receiving first information configuring a cell and one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs) of the cell (Para. 85: Reference signal for resource configuration & Para. 53 & 44-47: Reference signal-SRS for bandwidth covered area of the serving cell); identifying path loss information based on a reference signal (RS) received on the indicated BWP of the cell (Para. 78 & 54: Estimate pathloss in the system. Pathloss between the device and the network in the specific cell); and identifying the transmission power for the physical uplink channel based on the path loss information (Para. 78 & 91: Determine uplink transmit power for the RSRP-RS based on path loss estimates (Also see claim 2)).
Sandberg et al is silent regarding receiving second information indicating a BWP among the one or more BWPs of the cell.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guan discloses receiving second information indicating a BWP among the one or more BWPs of the cell (Fig. 5: Broadcast message includes a second configuration information regarding 2nd carrier-2nd Frequency information and cell information. Broadcast message received) and identifying the transmission power for the physical uplink channel based on the path loss information (Para. 168-169: Based on the determined reference path loss, terminal device calculates the transmit power value of an uplink signal transmitted by the terminal device on the second uplink carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device information control system of Guan’s disclosure with the signal pathloss and power control configuration, as taught by Sandberg. Doing so would have resulted in effectively adjusting power in the system to minimize pathloss and producing maximum gain in the communication network.
Regarding claim 20, Sandberg et al discloses a base station configured to control a transmission power for a physical uplink channel in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver (Fig. 6 & 8 & Fig. 2-3: Processor-6 & 12 connected to Tx & RX), configured to: transmitting, to a terminal, first information configuring a cell and one or more bandwidth parts (BWPs) of the cell (Para. 85: Reference signal for resource configuration & Para. 53 & 44-47: Reference signal-SRS for bandwidth covered area of the serving cell); wherein path loss information is identified at the terminal based on a reference signal (RS) transmitted on the indicated BWP of the cell (Para. 78 & 54: Estimate pathloss in the system. Pathloss between the device and the network in the specific cell); and wherein the transmission power for the physical uplink channel is identified at the terminal based on the path loss information (Para. 78 & 91: Determine uplink transmit power for the RSRP-RS based on path loss estimates (Also see claim 2)).
Sandberg et al is silent regarding transmitting, to the terminal, second information indicating a BWP among the one or more BWPs of the cell.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guan discloses transmitting, to the terminal, second information indicating a BWP among the one or more BWPs of the cell (Fig. 5: Broadcast message includes a second configuration information regarding 2nd carrier-2nd Frequency information and cell information) and the transmission power for the physical uplink channel is identified at the terminal based on the path loss information (Para. 168-169: Based on the determined reference path loss, terminal device calculates the transmit power value of an uplink signal transmitted by the terminal device on the second uplink carrier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device information control system of Guan’s disclosure with the signal pathloss and power control configuration, as taught by Sandberg. Doing so would have resulted in effectively adjusting power in the system to minimize pathloss and producing maximum gain in the communication network.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandberg et al (Pub No. 2015/0289264), in view of Guan (Pub No. 2019/0394779) and further in view of Harada et al (Pat No. 11553491).
Regarding claim 5 & 15, Sandberg et al is silent regarding activating the indicated BWP of the cell and deactivating a previous BWP of the cell, based on the second information.
Harada et al discloses activating the indicated BWP of the cell and deactivating a previous BWP of the cell, based on the second information (Col. 10 Line 10-15: Band activate and deactivated by the system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the active and deactivate system to control frequency band for robust transceiver.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648