DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/4/23 and 3/19/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pahl (US 2021/0139317).
As to claim 1, Pahl teaches a MEMS module (fig. 9) comprising:
a substrate (1, [0027]);
a semiconductor chip (2) in which a MEMS including a mechanical movable portion is formed ([0027]); and
a soft member (30,3) that is interposed between the substrate (1) and the semiconductor chip (2) and has a lower hardness than the substrate ([0031]),
wherein the soft member (30.3) is disposed in a partial region of a first main surface (bottom) of the semiconductor chip (2) facing the substrate (1, any one of the configurations shown in fig. 14A-14D).
As to claim 2, Pahl further teaches a hard member (24,40) configured to mechanically connect the substrate (1) and the semiconductor chip (2) and have a higher hardness than the soft member ([0036] – [0037], 24 is a bump with the purpose of mechanically and electrically connecting the substrate and the chip, whereas the flexible mounting material 3 has the express purpose of “providing sufficient flexibility” [0031]),
As to claim 4, Pahl further teaches the hard member is a bump electrode configured to electrically connect the substrate and the semiconductor chip ([0036]), and wherein the soft member is disposed in a region other than the one corner portion where the bump electrode is disposed (any of figures 14A-14D).
As to claim 5, Pahl further teaches the soft member (3) is disposed at another corner portion diagonal to the one corner portion where the bump electrode is disposed (fig. 14B, the soft member 3 is in all corners, as are the hard members 24, thus, they are also in diagonal corners from each other).
As to claims 8-10, Pahl further teaches the soft member (3) is disposed in a corner portion and/or an intermediate portion of a peripheral region of the first main surface, which is a region located within a predetermined distance from a periphery toward a center of the semiconductor chip (figs. 14A-14D, the central portion is the hole 6 for the MEMS device. Soft member 3 is located along the entirety of the periphery region – including the corner and the intermediate area).
As to claim 11, Pahl further teaches the soft member includes a portion disposed outside a periphery of the semiconductor chip (fig. 14A, soft member 3 is beyond the periphery region containing the bumps 24).
As to claim 12, Pahl further teaches the soft member is disposed in a central region that is separated by a predetermined distance from a periphery toward a center of the semiconductor chip (fig. 14D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pahl.
As to claim 3, Pahl further teaches the semiconductor chip includes a plurality of electrode pads that are formed on at least one selected from the group of the first main surface and a second main surface opposite the first main surface and configured to obtain an electrical connection with an outside (24, [0036], obvious, if not inherent, that the stud bump is connected to an electrode/bonding/landing pad within the chip so as to pass electrical signals to and from the active devices within the chip), and
wherein when the MEMS module is viewed from a normal direction of the first main surface, the plurality of electrode pads are arranged at one of a plurality of corner portions of the first main surface or the second main surface (figs. 14A-14D).
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Pahl, as applied to claim 3, and in further view of Pahl (US 2016/0345106, herein “Pahl2”).
As to claim 6, Pahl does not teach the plurality of electrode pads are formed on the second main surface of the semiconductor chip, wherein the MEMS module further comprises a metal wire electrically connected to the plurality of electrode pads, and wherein the semiconductor chip is mounted on the substrate via the soft member.
However, Pahl2 does teach a semiconductor MEMs device on a substrate and having electrode pads/terminals on both sides of the chip (figs. 7 and 8, [0043] – [0048], there are multiple types of chips and connections).
Having a wire bonding electrode on the second main surface of the chip would have been obvious so as to form multiple different types of devices.
As to claim 7, Pahl2 further teaches the MEMS module is viewed from the normal direction of the first main surface, the soft member overlaps with the plurality of electrode pads (Pahl2, fig. 7).
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
2/15/26