DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.03.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 07/01/2026 does not place the Application in condition for allowance.
Status of the Rejections
Due to Applicant’s amendment of claims 1 and 12, all rejections from the Office Action mailed on 04/06/2026 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe et al. (US 2013/0333758 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 10,809,588 B2). Supporting evidence provided by Ye et al. (CN 102681175 A) (refer to translation as provided).
Regarding claim 1, Okabe discloses a vehicle roof panel (thin film solar cell 14 as shown in figure 2 that can be disposed on desired location, [0497], such as roof of an automobile, [0512]) comprising:
a multilayer laminate having a shield layer (back sheet 10), a solar cell laminate (solar cell element 6 that comprises a photoelectric conversion element 107 of figure 1, [0323], which is a laminate of various layers as shown in fig. 1), and an electrochromic layer (getter film 4 that is made of alkali earth metal oxide, [0412], that is known as electrochromic material as evidenced by Ye, [0011]);
at least one electrical connection electronically connected to said solar cell laminate (the terminals as shown in fig. 1 that collects current, or the electrical connection between the solar cell elements 6 as disclosed in [0461]); and
wherein said solar cell laminate (6) is located between said shield layer (10) and said electrochromic layer (4) in said multilayer laminate (see fig. 2).
Okabe does not explicitly disclose a user operable control is coupled to the electrochromic layer and to an electrical source external to the laminate thereby allowing the user to supply a variable electrical input to the electrochromic layer to alter its visible light transmittance properties over a range of from 0% to over 85%.
Yu discloses a Schottky-barrier solar cell coupled to an electrochromic cell (see fig. 6) that can be installed on vehicle (3:31-41). Yu further discloses a user controllable electrical input coupled to the electrochromic layer and to an external electrical source by which a variable electrical input can be provided to the electrochromic layer (see fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the electrical connection between solar cell and the electrochromic layer as taught by Yu in the device of Okabe such that the current can be provided to the electrochromic cell, as shown by Yu.
Okabe as modified discloses the visible transmittance is altered by 0%, which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, Okabe further discloses that a protective coating (gas barrier film 3, [0356-0405]) on said electrochromic layer (4) (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Okabe further discloses that said protective coating comprises acrylic ([0376]).
Regarding claim 4, Okabe further discloses that said shield layer (10) comprises a polycarbonate ([0471]).
Regarding claim 5, Okabe does not disclose the solar cell being a Schottky-barrier solar cell.
Yu discloses a Schottky-barrier solar cell coupled to an electrochromic cell (see fig. 6) that can be installed on vehicle (3:31-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the Schottky-barrier solar cell as taught by Okabe to form the solar cell of Okabe to power the electrochemical cell/layer, as shown by Yu and also desired by Okabe.
Regarding claim 6, Okabe further discloses that said solar cell laminate has a high absorption at 650 to 700 nm (see figures 4 and 5, [0586]) and very nominal absorbance at 450-650 nm (see figures 4 and 5, [0586]). Although Okabe does not explicitly disclose the transparency of at least 70% (or the absorbance being 30% or less) to visible light in a range of 450 nanometers to 650 nanometers, Okabe explicitly discloses it is desired to have low absorbance to visible light in a range of 450 nanometers to 650 nanometers (see figures 4 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have chosen the appropriate semiconductor material such that the solar cell laminate has low absorption, and thus high transparency, to visible light in a range of 450 nanometers to 650 nanometers.
Regarding claim 6, Okabe further discloses that said solar cell laminate has a high absorption at 650 to 700 nm (see figures 4 and 5, [0586]) and very nominal absorbance at 450-650 nm (see figures 4 and 5, [0586]). However, Okabe does not explicitly disclose the transparency of at least 70% to visible light in a range of 450 nanometers to 650 nanometers.
Yu discloses a Schottky-barrier solar cell coupled to an electrochromic cell (see fig. 6) that can be installed on vehicle (3:31-41). Yu further discloses that the solar cell is transparent to visible light or absorbs less than 20% of the visible light (claim 1), and thus has a transparency of at least 80% to visible light in a range of 450 nanometers to 650 nanometers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the Schottky-barrier solar cell as taught by Okabe to form the solar cell of Okabe such that it has low absorbance at visible light, as shown by Yu and also desired by Okabe (figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 7, Okabe further discloses that a transparent adhesive layer (seal material 7 made of EVA, [0425], which is known as transparent adhesive) between said shield layer (10) and said solar cell laminate (6) (fig. 2, [0324] and [0419-0457] and [0463]) and a transparent adhesive layer (seal material 5 made of EVA, [0425], which is known as transparent adhesive) between said solar cell laminate (6) and said electrochromic layer (4) (fig. 2, [0324] and [0419-0457]) .
Regarding claim 8, Okabe further discloses that said shield layer has a thickness of at least 12 µm ([0479]). Thus, claimed range (1 to 2 millimeters) overlaps with the disclosed range (at least 12 micron). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)) (MPEP § 2144.05 - (I)).
Regarding claim 9, Okabe further discloses that said solar cell laminate has a thickness of 2000 µm or 2 mm ([0495]), which is within the claimed range of 1.5-2.5 millimeters.
Regarding claim 10, Okabe further discloses that said electrochromic layer has a thickness of at least 5 µm ([0419]). Thus, claimed range (1 to 2 millimeters) overlaps with the disclosed range (at least 5 micron). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)) (MPEP § 2144.05 - (I)).
Regarding claim 12, Okabe discloses a vehicle roof panel (thin film solar cell 14 as shown in figure 2 that can be disposed on desired location, [0497], such as roof of an automobile, [0512]) comprising:
a multilayer laminate having a shield layer (back sheet 10), a plurality of a solar cell laminate layers (plurality of solar cell elements 6 each of which comprises a photoelectric conversion element 107 of figure 1, [0323], that is a laminate of various layers as shown in fig. 1), and an electrochromic layer (getter film 4 that is made of alkali earth metal oxide, [0412], that is known as electrochromic material as evidenced by Ye, [0011]);
at least one electrical connection electronically connected to said plurality of solar cell laminate (the electrical connection between the solar cell elements 6 as disclosed in [0461]); and
wherein said plurality of solar cell laminates (6) are located between said shield layer (10) and said electrochromic layer (4) in said multilayer laminate (see fig. 2).
Electrochromic layer (getter film 4) is known to have a transparency that varies as a function of electrical power applied to the electrochromic layer.
Okabe does not explicitly disclose a user operable control is coupled to the electrochromic layer and to an electrical source external to the laminate thereby allowing the user to supply a variable electrical input to the electrochromic layer to alter its visible light transmittance properties over a range of from 0% to over 85%.
Yu discloses a Schottky-barrier solar cell coupled to an electrochromic cell (see fig. 6) that can be installed on vehicle (3:31-41). Yu further discloses a user controllable electrical input coupled to the electrochromic layer and to an external electrical source by which a variable electrical input can be provided to the electrochromic layer (see fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used the electrical connection between solar cell and the electrochromic layer as taught by Yu in the device of Okabe such that the current can be provided to the electrochromic cell, as shown by Yu.
Okabe as modified discloses the visible transmittance is altered by 0%, which is within the claimed range.
Okabe further discloses that said solar cell laminate has a high absorption at 650 to 700 nm (see figures 4 and 5, [0586]) and very nominal absorbance at 450-650 nm (see figures 4 and 5, [0586]). Although Okabe does not explicitly disclose the transparency of at least 70% (or the absorbance being 30% or less) to visible light in a range of 450 nanometers to 650 nanometers, Okabe explicitly discloses it is desired to have low absorbance to visible light in a range of 450 nanometers to 650 nanometers (see figures 4 and 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have chosen the appropriate semiconductor material such that the solar cell laminate has low absorption, and thus high transparency, to visible light in a range of 450 nanometers to 650 nanometers.
Alternatively, Yu discloses a Schottky-barrier solar cell coupled to an electrochromic cell (see fig. 6) that can be installed on vehicle (3:31-41). Yu further discloses that the solar cell is transparent to visible light or absorbs less than 20% of the visible light (claim 1), and thus has a transparency of at least 80% to visible light in a range of 450 nanometers to 650 nanometers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the Schottky-barrier solar cell as taught by Okabe to form the solar cell of Okabe such that it has low absorbance at visible light, as shown by Yu and also desired by Okabe (figures 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 13, Okabe further discloses that a protective coating (gas barrier film 3, [0356-0405]) on said electrochromic layer (4) (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Okabe further discloses that said protective coating comprises acrylic ([0376]).
Regarding claim 15, Okabe further discloses that said shield layer (10) comprises a polycarbonate ([0471]).
Regarding claim 16, Okabe does not disclose the solar cell being a Schottky-barrier solar cell.
Yu discloses a Schottky-barrier solar cell coupled to an electrochromic cell (see fig. 6) that can be installed on vehicle (3:31-41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the Schottky-barrier solar cell as taught by Okabe to form the solar cell of Okabe to power the electrochemical cell/layer, as shown by Yu and also desired by Okabe.
Regarding claim 17, Okabe further discloses that a transparent adhesive layer (seal material 7 made of EVA, [0425], which is known as transparent adhesive) between said shield layer (10) and one of said plurality of solar cell laminate layers (6) (fig. 2, [0324] and [0419-0457] and [0463]), a transparent adhesive layer between each of said plurality of solar cell laminate layers (seal material 5/7 is present between solar cells 6, fig. 2) and a transparent adhesive layer (seal material 5 made of EVA, [0425], which is known as transparent adhesive) between one of said plurality of solar cell laminate layers (6) and said electrochromic layer (4) (fig. 2, [0324] and [0419-0457]).
Regarding claim 19, Okabe further discloses that each of said plurality of solar cell laminate layers has a thickness of 2000 µm or 2 mm ([0495]), which is within the claimed range of 1.5-2.5 millimeters.
Regarding claim 18, Okabe further discloses that said shield layer has a thickness of at least 12 µm ([0479]). Thus, claimed range (1 to 2 millimeters) overlaps with the disclosed range (at least 12 micron). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)) (MPEP § 2144.05 - (I)).
Regarding claim 20, Okabe further discloses that said electrochromic layer has a thickness of at least 5 µm ([0419]). Thus, claimed range (1 to 2 millimeters) overlaps with the disclosed range (at least 5 micron). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)) (MPEP § 2144.05 - (I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 12-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by the amendments.
On page of Remarks, Okabe as modified does not explicitly disclose a user operable control is coupled to the electrochromic layer and to an electrical source external to the laminate thereby allowing the user to supply a variable electrical input to the electrochromic layer to alter its visible light transmittance properties over a range of from 0% to over 85%.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Okabe as modified discloses that claimed feature. See above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence/Contact Information
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721