DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/04/2023 and 10/04/2023 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 10/04/2023. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The letters, numbers, and/or bonds in the chemical structure given in paragraphs [0134] and [0135] are illegible due to poor resolution. Please correct these structures so all letters, numbers, and/or bonds are clearly visible. See the example below.
Please note that this example is non-limiting and there may be other structures that require correction. Please check all formulae to make sure they are clear. Applicant may wish to make these structures clearer by increasing the size of the structure and/or font, or by making the bond lines thicker.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The letters, numbers, and/or bonds in the chemical structure given in claim 19 are illegible due to poor resolution. Please correct these structures so all letters, numbers, and/or bonds are clearly visible. See the example below.
Please note that this example is non-limiting and there may be other structures that require correction. Please check all formulae to make sure they are clear. Applicant may wish to make these structures clearer by increasing the size of the structure and/or font, or by making the bond lines thicker.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to independent claim 1, the claim contains the limitation,
This introduces uncertainty into the claims because X is defined as CRX.
In continuing examination, this is being interpreted as a simple typographical error, wherein CR is meant to be CRX.
Claims 2-20 are rejected by virtue of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohsawa et al. (US 2015/0073142 A1).
With respect to claims 1-4, Ohsawa discloses Compound (115) (page 13), which is pictured below.
This compound meets the requirements of condition (1) of the instant claim when each of X1-X6 is carbon, K is a direct bond, LA is coordinated to an iridium atom, R1 is a C6 aryl (phenyl) group which is substituted at the para position with a C1 alkyl (methyl) group, and RA and RB represent no substitution. All other groups are either hydrogen atoms or not present.
With respect to claim 9, Ohsawa teaches the compound of claim 1, and R2 is not present.
With respect to claim 10, Ohsawa teaches the compound of claim 1, and ligand LA has the structure of the first embodiment of the claim.
With respect to claim 11, Ohsawa teaches the compound of claim 1, and ligand LA has the structure of the last embodiment of the claim.
With respect to claim 12, Ohsawa teaches the compound of claim 1, and ligand LA has the structure of instant ligand LA2(R2)(R2)(R1)(R1).
With respect to claim 13, Ohsawa teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound has the formula Ir(LA)2(LB).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2017/0077425 A1).
With respect to claims 1-4, Ma discloses Comp (LA1)2Ir(LB196) (page 16), which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Ma formula M(LA)x(LB)y(LC)z, wherein all ligands are derived from the phenylpyridine derivative shown below (paragraph 0016).
In this formula, Ma teaches that each of X1 to X13 are a carbon or a nitrogen atom.
When X2 is selected as a nitrogen atom, it forms a compound which meets the requirements of condition (1) of the instant claim when each of X1-X6 is carbon, K is a direct bond, LA is coordinated to an iridium atom, R1 is a C6 aryl (phenyl) group which is substituted at the para position with a C5 alkyl (neopentyl-α,α-d2) group, and RA and RB represent no substitution. All other groups are either hydrogen atoms or not present.
Ma includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Ma being a single nitrogen atom. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a carbon or nitrogen atom at the required location since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an emitter which has a more parallel orientation factor as a result of the steric bulkiness from the substituent, which has increased external quantum efficiency (paragraph 0131), and which can be used at a higher concentration due to decreased self-quenching, resulting in increased emitter PLQY (paragraph 0132), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claims 5-7, Ma teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Ma also teaches that ligand LA may be represented by the structure below (paragraph 0016).
In this formula, X2 is nitrogen, X1 and X3-X10 are carbon atoms (paragraph 0017), and X is an oxygen atom (paragraph 0018).
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when two RB are joined to form a structure of Formula II, wherein Y is oxygen, X is CRX, and RX and R2 are joined to form a fused benzene ring.
Ma includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Ma being a lack of the aforementioned specific ligand being used. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any taught ligand from the finite list of possible ligands since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of an emitter which has a more parallel orientation factor as a result of the steric bulkiness from the substituent, which has increased external quantum efficiency (paragraph 0131), and which can be used at a higher concentration due to decreased self-quenching, resulting in increased emitter PLQY (paragraph 0132), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 8, Ma teaches the compound of claim 5, and Ma also teaches that the materials may be further modified to have better solution processing by adding substituents such as aryl because such structures demonstrate a lower tendency to recrystallize (paragraph 0089, lines 23-33).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an aryl substituent to the ligand of Ma in order to lower the tendency for the compound to recrystallize during solution processing, as taught by ma.
With respect to claim 9, Ma teaches the compound of claim 1, and R2 is an alkyl group which combines with RX to form a fused ring structure, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 10, Ma teaches the compound of claim 1, and the ligand LA has the structure of the first embodiment of the claim, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 11, Ma teaches the compound of claim 1, and the ligand LA has the structure of the last embodiment of the claim.
With respect to claim 12, Ma teaches the compound of claim 1, and the ligand LA has the structure of instant LA2(R1)(R15)(R1)(R1), as pictured above.
With respect to claims 13, Ma teaches the compound of claim 1, and the compound has the formula Ir(LA)(LB)2, as pictured above.
With respect to claims 14 and 15, Ma teaches the compound of claim 13, and LB has the structure of the first embodiment on the second row of the instant claim when all Y characters are CH, K1’ is a direct bond, and Ra and Rb are no substitution, as pictured above. Ligand LC is absent.
With respect to claim 15, Ma teaches the compound of claim 13, and the compound has the formula Ir(LA)(LB)2, when k is 2 and LB has the structure of instant LB1, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 17, Ma teaches the compound of claim 1, and Ma also teaches an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer between the anode and cathode and the organic layer comprises the compound (paragraph 0035).
With respect to claims 18 and 19, Ma teaches the OLED of claim 17, and Ma also teaches that the organic layer may comprise a host (paragraph 0220), such as the compound pictured below, which comprises a dibenzothiophene moiety, and meets the requirements of the third embodiment on the second row on page 195 of the instant claim (dated 10/04/2023), when all X characters are carbon atoms, YA is sulfur, and RA’-RD’ represent no substituent.
With respect to claim 20, Ma teaches the compound of claim 1, and Ma also teaches a consumer product, such as a lighting panel, comprising a cathode, an anode, and an organic layer, and the organic layer comprises the compound (paragraph 0219).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound in a consumer product, such as a lighting panel, with the claimed device structure, as taught by Ma.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2017/0077425 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Inoue et al. (US 2015/0005496 A1).
With respect to claim 16, Ma teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, while Ma teaches that the phenyl substituent on the pyrimidine moiety may be further substituted by a deuterated alkyl group (see for example the formulae in paragraph [0029] and the definition of R6 in paragraph [0034]), Ma does not fairly suggest such a selection.
In analogous art, Inoue teaches an iridium organometallic complex comprising a phenylpyrimidine ligand wherein the pyrimidine portion of the ligand comprises a phenyl substituent and the phenyl substituent is substituted at the 2 and 6-positions.
Inoue teaches that when a phenyl group whose 2 and 6-positions are each substituted by an alkyl group is bonded to the 4-position of a pyrimidine skeleton, a broad electron distribution caused by conjugation between the pyrimidine skeleton and the phenyl group can be prevented, thus, the spectrum derived from the complex can be narrower than that of an organometallic iridium complex that is not substituted this way. As a result, emission efficiency is increased (paragraph 0055).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include alkyl groups, deuterated or otherwise, at the 2 and 6-positions of the phenyl substituent on the ligand of Ma in order to prevent a broad electron distribution caused by conjugation between the pyrimidine skeleton and phenyl group, narrowing the spectrum of the organometallic complex, and increasing the emission efficiency, as taught by Inoue.
Such a modification produces the first compound in the second row on page 191 of the instant claims (dated 10/04/2023).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-11, 13-15, and 17-20 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-11, 13-15, and 17-20 of copending Application No. 18/627,982 (reference application).
The wording, structures, formulae, limitations, and wording of claims 1-11, 13-15, and 17-20 of ‘982 are either identical to each corresponding claim in the instant application, or the claims differ in their wording, but still contain the same limitations listed in the alternative. The substance of the claims is identical.
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoo et al. (KR 2018/0064216 A, translation provided) – teaches phenylpyridine ligands with a 5-membered heterocycle condensed to the benzene portion of the ligand.
Seo et al. (US 2017/0288154 A1) – teaches an iridium phenyl-pyrimidine ligand wherein the substituent on the pyrimidine group causes the HOMO to be distributed over the first ligand and the LUMO to be distributed over the ancillary phenylpyridine ligand.
Dyatkin et al. (US 2021/0188888 A1) -teaches an iridium organometallic complex with a dibenzoheterole group wherein the pyridine/pyrimidine portion has a steric polyphenylene substituent.
Li et al. (US 2018/0159051 A1) – teaches iridium organometallic complexes with polyphenylene luminophore substituents.
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786