DETAILED ACTION
The indicated allowability of claims 11 and 12 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Penner (US 2007/0182189). Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guerreiro (US 11407454) in view of Penner (US 2007/0182189).
Regarding claim 11, Guerreiro discloses a cross car beam (10) for a vehicle, the cross car beam comprising: a first main body (44) comprising a first end and a second end (see annotation below), the first main body extends in a longitudinal direction from the first end to the second end, wherein the first main body has a u-shaped cross section (Fig. 8) following the longitudinal direction, and wherein the cross car beam is formed integrally by at least one fiber reinforced polymer (Abstract). Guerreiro further discloses that a glove compartment is attached to the main body (col. 4, line 39).
Guerreiro does not disclose the details of the glove box housing.
Penner discloses a glove box housing wherein and a wall thickness (Fig. 8 at 84) of the glove box housing facing the first main body is thicker compared to the wall thickness of the glove box housing facing a passenger compartment (Fig. 3, portion near 58).
It would have been obvious to have a wall thickness of the glove box housing facing the first main body being thicker compared to the wall thickness of the glove box housing facing a passenger compartment as taught by Penner. The motivation would have been to facilitate transferring of energy through the main body as taught by Penner (paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 2, Guerriero disclose injection molding at col. 6, line 20.
Regarding claim 3, Guerriero discloses the main body 44 has a u-shaped cross section.
Regarding claim 4, Guerriero discloses reinforcing ribs 38.
Regarding claim 5, 42 is in addition to main body 44.
Regarding claims 6-8, Guerriero discloses a second main body with first and second ends which correspond to the first and second ends of the first main body.
Regarding claim 9, Guerriero discloses that the first and second main bodies are welded together (col. 10, line 59).
Regarding claim 12, Penner discloses that the thickness of the glove box housing decreases from the first main body to the passenger compartment.
Regarding claim 13, Guerriero discloses an attachment for a steering column 32.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA L ENGLE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3993