DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in 10/4/23. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the GB application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Note the file wrapper indicates “interim copy of foreign priority” not “certified copy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2022/0119042).
The Zhang reference discloses a cross car beam SCS (see Figure 4) comprising a first main body with upper and lower fixing points on distal ends (see multiple connectors shown in the explosion view of Figure 4 proximate reference numerals 104 and 106), wherein one of ordinary skill could draw a center line between the upper fixing points on the distal ends that would run through the first main body, the first main body in u-shaped (see cross sections proximate reference numeral 131 in Figures 4 and 4A) and the cross car beam is formed by at least one reinforced polymer (see paragraph [0010]), wherein the fibers associated with the reinforced polymer would be at least partly aligned (i.e. longitudinally or otherwise ) with any forces flowing through the cross car beam.
In regard to claim 18, see paragraph [0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 2022/0119042).
In regard to claims 1 and 17, the Zhang reference discloses a cross car beam SCS (see Figure 4) comprising a first main body with upper and lower fixing points on distal ends (see multiple connectors shown in the explosion view of Figure 4 proximate reference numerals 104 and 106), wherein one of ordinary skill could draw a center line between the upper fixing points on the distal ends that would run through the first main body, the first main body in u-shaped (see cross sections proximate reference numeral 131 in Figures 4 and 4A) and the cross car beam is formed by at least one reinforced polymer (see paragraph [0010]). The Zhang reference fails to disclose the cross beam being made without metal parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the cross car beam solely of a known material such as a fiber reinforced polymer (i.e. without metal parts), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Furthermore, Applicant’s attention is directed to paragraph [0072] where it appears that one of ordinary skill had already at least contemplated making the cross car beam solely of plastic, regardless whether the weight, size and strength be desirable or not.
In regard to claim 2, see paragraph [0010].
In regard to claims 4 and 5, see body proximate reference letter E on left side in Figure 4.
In regard to claim 6, 11 and 14, see ribs discloses in paragraph [0049].
In regard to claim 9 and 10, see body proximate reference letter BR in Figure 4.
In regard to claim 3, the Zhang reference discloses a cross car beam (supra), but fails to disclose the distance between upper fixing points and the center line as being less than 30 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the distance between upper fixing points and the center line as being less than 30 mm since it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN O DOUGLAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612