DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In Figure 3, item 141 and its reference line should be deleted as the pin does not appear to be shown. See Figure 4 which clearly shows pin 141.
In Figure 8, it is unclear why there are two occurrences of item 119. Was one supposed to be a different number?
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 9 line 16, the phrase “PF of Figure 3” should be replaced with “PF of Figure 4”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the phrase “a self-retained assembly” is unclear. It is unclear what is meant by this phrase. As written, a new assembly has been introduced. The cartridge appears to be the self-retained assembly and it is unclear why the name “a self-retained assembly” instead of just utilizing the phrase “slider cartridge”.
With regards to claims 6 and 17, it is unclear what is meant by “form factor”.
With regards to claim 7, the phrase “in an assembled state” is unclear. Claims 1 and 7 discloses “a slider cartridge comprising”. In order for the cartridge to comprise all of the structures, the cartridge must be in an assembled state. There cannot be a state where the cartridge exists and comprises the structures when the structures are disassembled. If the structures are disassembled, the cartridge does not exist.
With regards to claim 8, the phrase “two biasing elements” is unclear. This limitation does not further limit claim 1’s “as least one biasing element” limitation. Claim 8 discloses three elements which is not supported. The phrase should be replaced with “the at least one biasing element is two biasing elements”.
Claims 11, 12, and 13 recite the limitations "the knife handle", “the knife blade”, “stowed position”, and “the deployed position”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Claim 10 depends from claim 1 as it utilizes the cartridge from claim 1. While claim 1 introduces the knife handle and blade, they are not positively claimed in claim 1. Claim 10 should introduce the “a knife blade” and “a knife handle” as being parts of the knife and introduce “a stowed position” of the blade and “a deployed position” of the blade.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-13, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marfione (11,945,126).
With regards to claims 1 and 7-9, Marfione disclose the same invention including a slider cartridge (38, 40, 42, 48) for an out-the-front knife (10) having a handle (12) and blade (14) that is selectively deployable out a front of the handle to move from a stowed position within the handle (Fig. 1) to a deployed out of the handle (Fig. 2), the cartridge having a slider plate (48), a pair of opposing catches (40, 42), at least one biasing element (38), the opposing catches are configured to be retained on opposing ends of the slider plate under bias of the at least one biasing element in a self-retaining assembly that is manipulable in space apart from the knife handle and knife blade (Figs. 4, 9, and 10), each of the catches includes at least one aperture configured to detachably receive a respective end of the at least one biasing element such that, in an assembled state, the at least one biasing element extends between the catches (Fig. 10), two biasing elements (38) between the catches and extending along an outer face of the slider plate (Figs. 4 and 10), and the catches are of identical form (40, 42).
With regards to claims 10-13, Marfione disclose the same invention including an out-the-front knife (10) having the cartridge of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), a detent mechanism positioned at a rear end of the knife within the handle to interact with a tang of the knife blade to secure the blade in the stowed position until a bias of the detent mechanism is overcome by movement of the plate (46, Fig. 10), a detent mechanism positioned at a front end of the knife within the handle to interact with a tang of the knife blade to secure the blade in the deployed position until a bias of the detent mechanism is overcome by movement of the plate (44, Fig. 10), and a movable engagement member coupled to the handle to move in fore and aft directions and operable in conjunction with the slider plate to move the blade between the stowed and deployed positions (16).
With regards to claims 19 and 20, Marfione disclose the same invention including a method of assembling an out-the-front knife (10, Fig. 4) having a handle (12) and blade (14) that is selectively deployable out a front of the handle to move from a stowed position within the handle (Fig. 1) to a deployed out of the handle (Fig. 2), the method including providing a slider plate (48), a pair of opposing catches (40, 42), and at least one biasing element (38), configuring the opposing catches on opposing ends of the slider plate under a bias of the at least one biasing element to form a self-retaining slider cartridge (Figs. 4 and 10), positioning the cartridge between opposing portions of the handle (Fig. 4), and the cartridge being manipulable in space apart from the portions of the handle and the blade (Figs. 4, 9, and 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marfione (11,945,126). See Figure below for Examiner added reference labels.
With regards to claims 2-6, Marfione discloses the invention including each of the catches includes structures (y) that are operable to assist in securing each respective catch on a respective one of the opposing ends of the slider plate (catches 40, 42 incorporate portion x which abuts a front side of slider plate 48 and portion y that abuts a backside of slider plate 48 which assists in securing), the slider plate includes a catch engaging slot on each of the opposing ends of the slider plate to insertably receive a respective one of the catches (Figs. 4 and 10), the slots are defined by a slot width (Figs. 4 and 10), the structures are configured to abuts a backside of the slider plate to assist in retaining the catches in the assembly (y), and a slider plate engaging end of the catches which includes the structures is provided in a form factor that is configured to nest with the opposing end of the slider plate to assist in retaining the catches on the slider plate in the assembly (in Fig. 9, the ends of plate 48 nest with portions x and y of catches 40 and 42).
However, with regards to claims 2 and 4, Marfione fails to disclose the structures (y) are opposing tabs that protrude outwardly from a center of the catch to a side of the slider plate and the tabs protrude outwardly beyond the slot width such that the tabs overlap with portions of the slider plate adjacent to the slots.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the structures (y) of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient including taking the form of opposing tabs that protrude outwardly from a center of the catch to a side of the slider plate and protrude outwardly beyond the slot width such that the tabs overlap with portions of the slider plate adjacent to the slots. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the device of Marfione to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2-6. The claim would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marfione (11,945,126). See rejections of claims 1-6 and 10-12 above.
Conclusion
19 November 2025
/Jason Daniel Prone/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724