DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Status of the Claims The claims submitted 10/04/2023 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-13 are pending and are examined herein. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 13 , the claim references Formulas 7 and 8 but the chemical formula for these compounds is omitted from the claim, rendering the scope of the claim indefinite. For the purpose of this Office action, Formulas 7 and 8 will be treated as the same those in claim 6. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0178806 A1 (“Choi”) . Regarding claim s 1 -3 and 8-10 , Choi discloses a non-aqueous lithium secondary battery comprising a negative electrode, a positive electrode, and an electrolyte (inherently between the negative electrode and the positive electrode) ( [0026], [0038]) . The positive electrode comprises a positive electrode active material ([0039]) and the negative electrode comprises a negative electrode active material ([0044]). The electrolyte comprises a lithium salt ([0031] -[ 0032]), an organic solvent ([0027]-[0030]), and a n electrolyte additive containing a substituent represented by Chemical Formula 1: See [0018] -[ 0021] for a detailed description of the compound. Of note is that Q is oxygen or an unshared electron pair; R 1 to R 4 correspond to the claimed A , and the substituent is bonded various groups at the * position such as cyclosulfonylalkyl ([0019], [0021]). Among the examples disclosed by Choi is Chemical Formula 25: The compound represented by Chemical Formula 25 differs from the claimed Formula 2 [claims 1 and 8], Formula 4 [claims 2 and 9], and Compound E [claims 3 and 10] only in the position of attachment on the cyclic sulfone. However, the claimed compounds would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the chemical compounds have very close structural similarities (i.e. the chemical compounds are position isomers) and similar utilities (i.e. the chemical compounds are used for forming films on positive electrodes ; Choi at [0024] and the instant specification as filed at [0044] ). See In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979) , In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977) , and MPEP 2144.09. Regarding claims 4 and 11 , modified Choi discloses the electrolyte of claim 1 and the lithium secondary battery of claim 8. Choi further discloses the electrolyte additive is included in an amount of 0.1 to 10% by weight based on 100% by weight in total of the battery electrolyte ([0025]). Regarding claims 5 and 1 2 , modified Choi discloses the electrolyte of claim 1 and the lithium secondary battery of claim 8. Choi further discloses the lithium salt is provided in a concentration of about 0.6 mol % to 2 mol % in the electrolyte ([0032]). The concentration of the lithium salt would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because the concentration disclosed by Choi overlaps the concentration as claimed. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim , 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Furthermore, “[t]he normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson , 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See also In re Geisler , 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff , 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and MPEP 2144.05. Regarding claims 6 and 1 3 , modified Choi discloses the electrolyte of claim 1 and the lithium secondary battery of claim 8. Choi further discloses examples of the lithium salt include LiPF 6 , LiBF 4 , LiCl, LiI , LiClO 4 , LiCF 3 SO 3 , LiAsF 6 , LiSbF 6 , LiAlCl 4 , CF 3 SO 3 Li, and (CF 3 SO 2 ) 2 NLi ([0031]). Regarding claim 7 , modified Choi discloses the electrolyte of claim 1. Choi further discloses examples of the organic solvent include ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethylmethyl carbonate (EMC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), propylene carbonate (PC), dipropyl carbonate (DPC), butylene carbonate, methylpropyl carbonate, and ethylpropyl carbonate ([0027]). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0128510 A1 and US 2024/0332615 A1 each disclose an electrolyte for batteries and a secondary battery , where the electrolyte comprises an additive, such one represented by the following Chemical Formulas: Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Robert Scott Carrico whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5504 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9:15AM-6PM ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Barbara Gilliam can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1330 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT Robert Scott Carrico Primary Examiner Art Unit 1727 /Robert S Carrico/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727