DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first member; the vibration actuator provided in or on the first member; and a second member that is connected to the contact body and has a ground potential”, as described in claim 24, and “a wire that is inserted through the elongated member and is fixed to a part of the elongated member”, as described in claim 26, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claim 24, the applicant claims a first member and a second member. The examiner does not see any support for what or where the first member and second member are described. For examination purposes the examinator is treating the limitation to be met if the vibration actuator is taught.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 11-12, 15-18 and 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi (PG Pub 20190115853).
Considering claim 1, Hayashi (Figures 4A + 7) teaches a vibration actuator comprising: a vibrator including (1011 + paragraph 0051); a piezoelectric material (1 + paragraph 0053), an electrode (3 + paragraph 0045) disposed on a first surface of the piezoelectric material, an elastic body (6 + paragraph 0047) disposed on a side of a second surface, opposite to the first surface, of the piezoelectric material; a contact body (8 + paragraph 0084) that is in contact with the elastic body and is movable relative to the vibrator (paragraph 0084); wherein the vibrator vibrates when a voltage is applied between the contact body and the electrode with the contact body at a ground potential (paragraphs 0084-0086).
Considering claim 2, Hayashi (Figure 7) teaches wherein the elastic body and the piezoelectric material are joined via a conductive bonding portion (4 + paragraph 0063).
Considering claim 4, Hayashi (Figure 4A) teaches wherein the conductive bonding portion contains conductive particles (4 + paragraph 0059).
Considering claim 11, Hayashi (Figure 4A) teaches wherein the elastic body is covered with a conductor (4 + paragraph 0063).
Considering claim 12, Hayashi (Figure 7) teaches wherein the elastic body includes a rectangular portion (paragraph 0071), and the vibrator is held by a vibrator holding member at four corners of the rectangular portion (11 + paragraph 0108).
Considering claim 15, Hayashi (Figure 7) teaches wherein the contact body is a stator (8 + paragraph 0084), and the vibrator is a mover (61 + paragraph 0084).
Considering claim 16, Hayashi (Figure 4A) teaches wherein the electrode includes a first electrode (2) and a second electrode (3 + paragraph 0051) that are adjacent to each other.
Considering claim 17, Hayashi (Figure 4A + 7) teaches wherein, when a first region and a second region are respectively defined as a region in which the first electrode (2 + paragraph 0051) is provided and a region in which the second electrode (3 + paragraph 0051) is provided in the piezoelectric material, the vibrator forms a first bending vibration mode in which the first region and the second region both extend or contract (paragraph 0086) and a second bending vibration mode in which the second region contracts and extends respectively when the first region extends and contracts (paragraphs 0051 + 0086).
Considering claim 18, Hayashi (Figures 4A + 7) teaches wherein an electrode (2 + paragraph 0045) of a ground potential is not provided on the first surface of the piezoelectric material.
Considering claim 20, Hayashi teaches wherein the piezoelectric material includes a lead zirconate titanate-based material (paragraph 0065).
Considering claim 21, Hayashi teaches wherein a content of lead in the piezoelectric material is less than 1000 ppm (It has been held that where the structure recited in a reference is the same as the claimed structure, claimed properties and functions are presumed to be inherent (In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433)).
Considering claim 22, Hayashi teaches wherein the piezoelectric material includes a barium titanate-based material (paragraph 0068).
Considering claim 23, Hayashi teaches wherein the piezoelectric material includes a barium calcium titanate zirconate material (paragraph 0068).
Considering claim 24, Hayashi (Figure 7) teaches an electronic apparatus comprising: a first member; the vibration actuator provided in or on the first member; and a second member that is connected to the contact body and has a ground potential (2 + paragraph 0045).
Considering claim 25, Hayashi (Figure 10) teaches the vibration actuator (1011 + paragraph 0051) in a driving unit (paragraphs 0107); and at least one of an optical element (16 + paragraph 0109) and an imaging element (paragraph 0107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (PG Pub 20190115853).
Considering claim 3, Hayashi teaches the conductive bonding portion is layered except for an average thickness of the conductive bonding portion is 1.5 microns or greater and 7 microns or less. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice have the conductive bonding portion is layered is 1.5 microns or greater and 7 microns or less, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering claim 5, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein an average particle diameter of the conductive particles is 1 micron or greater and 5 micron or less. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have an average particle diameter of the conductive particles is 1 micron or greater and 5 micron, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering claim 6, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the conductive particles are contained in the conductive bonding portion with a volume fraction of 0.4% or greater and 2% or less. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the conductive particles are contained in the conductive bonding portion with a volume fraction of 0.4% or greater and 2% or less, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Considering claim 7, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the contact body includes stainless steel. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the contact body includes stainless steel, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Considering claim 8, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein at least one of a surface of the contact body and a surface of the elastic body is covered with a nitride. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include at least one of a surface of the contact body and a surface of the elastic body is covered with a nitride, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Considering claim 9, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention except wherein the contact body includes aluminum. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein the contact body includes aluminum, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Considering claim 10, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a surface of the contact body is covered with an oxide of aluminum. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a surface of the contact body is covered with an oxide of aluminum, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Considering claim 19, Hayashi discloses the claimed invention except wherein a plurality of the vibrators are in contact with the contact body that is common to all of the vibrators, and the contact body and the plurality of vibrators move relative to each other due to vibrations of the plurality of vibrators. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a plurality of the vibrators are in contact with the contact body that is common to all of the vibrators, and the contact body and the plurality of vibrators move relative to each other due to vibrations of the plurality of vibrators, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (PG Pub 20190115853) and in view of Furuta (PG Pub 20190334458).
Considering 13, Hayashi teaches the elastic body as described above.
However, Hayashi does not teach a support portion protruding from an end portion of the rectangular portion, and the vibrator is held by the vibrator holding member via the support portion.
Furuta (Figure 4B) teaches a support portion (6 + paragraph 0028) protruding from an end portion of the rectangular portion, and the vibrator is held by the vibrator holding member via the support portion (paragraphs 0028-0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a support portion protruding from an end portion of the rectangular portion, and the vibrator is held by the vibrator holding member via the support portion into Hayashi’s device for the benefit of designing the device with versatility.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi (PG Pub 20190115853) and in view of Watanabe (PG Pub 20190379305).
Considering claim 14, Hayashi teaches the elastic body as described above.
However, Hayashi does not teach wherein the elastic body has an annular shape.
Watanabe (Figure 1A) teaches wherein the elastic body has an annular shape (3 + paragraph 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include wherein the elastic body has an annular shape into Hayashi’s device for the benefit of improving the driving efficiency of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Considering claim 26, the prior art does not teach a wire-driven actuator comprising: a wire that is inserted through the elongated member and is fixed to a part of the elongated member wherein the elongated member bends due to driving of the wire in combination with the rest of the applicant’s claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837