DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022162807, filed on 10/07/2022.
Response to Amendment
This office action is responded to the amendment filed on 10/20/2025. According to the amendment:
Claims 1, 3-8 have been amended.
Claim 2 is as previously presented.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues nowhere in the references disclose “a calibration error calculation unit that calculates an error between a second estimated position and the self-position, the second estimated position being a position of the moving object in the movement area calculated based on the measured position and the calibrated position information of the sensor.” Applicant’s argument is respectfully traversed.
Hirohata discloses a calibration error calculation unit that calculates an error between a second estimated position and the self-position, the second estimated position being a position of the moving object in the movement area calculated based on the measured position and the calibrated position information of the sensor (the sensor unit calibrates position information of the infrastructure sensor based on the information obtained from the moving body in the detected target range – see includes but are not limited to paragraphs 0034, 0046, 0049, 0051). *it is noted that calculates an error is being interpreted as the difference or deviation between two optional values.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirohata et al. (US 20220066051) in view of Duan et al (US 20210331703).
Regarding claim 1, Hirohata discloses a sensor position calibration device (sensor position calculation unit – see paragraph 0019), comprising one or more processor configured to: acquire a self-position measured by a moving object moving in a movement area (a radio reception unit that acquires a position information of the moving body – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0009, 0022, 0051); measure a position of the moving object based on observation information of a sensor (the sensor unit that obtain and estimate the position of the moving body – see include but are not limited to Fig. 1, paragraphs 0028, 0031); calibrate position information of the sensor by using the self-position of the moving object and an estimated position, which is a position of the moving object in the movement area calculated based on the measured position and the position information of the sensor, the measured position being a position of the moving object measured (the sensor unit calibrates position information of the infrastructure sensor based on the information obtained from the moving body in the detected target range – see includes but are not limited to paragraphs 0034, 0046, 0049); calculate an error between a second estimated position and the self-position, the second estimated position being a position of the moving object in the movement area calculated based on the measured position and the calibrated position information of the sensor (the sensor calibration unit calculate the error between the position of the moving body and the infrastructure sensor unit – see include but are not limited to Fig 5. paragraphs 0054, 0060); based on the error, generates a reliability map indicating reliability of position measurement in the movement area using the sensor (the infrastructure sensor unit create a dynamic map using the calculated position error – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0050, 0054);
However, Hirohata does not explicitly disclose controls movement of the moving object by using the reliability map.
Duan discloses that controls movement of the moving object by using the reliability map (communication unit control the movement of the vehicle based on the reliability (confident score)– see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0028-0029).
Hirohata and Duan are analogue art because they are from the same filed of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention- namely, using external sensor to navigate through obstacles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hirohata with the teaching of that controls movement of the moving object by using the reliability map as taught by Duan in order to yield predicable result of improve safety and avoid potential collision [0001].
Regarding claim 2, Hirohata in view of Duan disclose the sensor position calibration device according to claim 1, as discussed supra with respect to same.
Hirohata teaches, wherein the reliability map indicates reliability of each of a plurality of zones obtained by dividing the movement area, and the smaller the error between the self-position of the moving object in a zone among the zones and the second estimated position, the higher the reliability of the zone (the dynamic map is created using the calculated position error the smaller the error the higher the reliability – see include but are not limited to Hirohata Fig.7, paragraphs 0004, 0050, 0054, 0079).
Regarding claim 3, Hirohata in view of Duan disclose the sensor position calibration device according to claim 2 as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Hirohata teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to correct the reliability by using at least one of a distance between the sensor and the moving object, an orientation of the moving object with respect to the sensor, a speed of the moving object, sparseness/denseness of the self-position of the moving object, degree of congestion of other moving objects around the moving object, and a gradient of a road surface (the sensor unit calibrate the reliability using moving body estimated position information with respect to the distance and orientation of the moving body with respect to the sensor – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0050-0054, 0079-0080).
Regarding claim 4, Hirohata in view of Duan disclose the sensor position calibration device according to claim 2 as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Duan teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to control the movement of the moving object so that the moving object travels in a zone where the reliability is lower (the communication unit control the vehicle to travels even when the confidence score is under the threshold – see include but are not limited to Duan paragraphs 0029, 0096).
Regarding claim 5, Hirohata disclose the sensor position calibration device according to claim 4, wherein, when the vehicle is traveling with a front surface, a lateral surface, or a rear surface of the moving object oriented toward the sensor (moving body moving toward the infrastructure sensor unit – see include but are not limited to Fig.1 paragraphs 0048-0050 ).
However, Hirohata does not disclose when the vehicle is to travel in a zone where the reliability is low, the moving object control unit controls the movement of the moving object so as to satisfy at least one of: traveling at a low speed.
Duan disclose, when the vehicle is to travel in a zone where the reliability is low, the one or more processors are further configured to control the movement of the moving object so as to satisfy at least one of: traveling at a low speed (decelerate the speed of the vehicle when traveling on an area with low confidence score – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0028-0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hirohata with the teaching of when the vehicle is to travel in a zone where the reliability is low, the one or more processors are further configured to controls the movement of the moving object so as to satisfy at least one of: traveling at a low speed as taught by Duan in order to yield predicable result of improve safety and avoid potential collision.
Regarding claim 6, Hirohata in view of Duan disclose the sensor position calibration device according to claim 2 as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Duan teaches, wherein, in a case where the moving object is a person or in a case where the moving object is to perform conveyance, the one or more processors are further configured to control the movement of the moving object so that the moving object travels in a zone where the reliability is higher (the communication unit control the movement of the vehicle to move it to an area where reliability (confident score) is higher – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0028-0029, 0097).
Regarding claim 7, Hirohata in view of Duan disclose the sensor position calibration device according to claim 6 as discussed supra with respect to the same.
Duan teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to control the movement of the moving object such that an upper limit for a speed of the moving object is high in a zone where the reliability is high and is low in a zone where the reliability is low (the communication unit control the movement of the vehicle according to the confidence score of the area being high or low – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0029, 0096).
Regarding claim 8, Hirohata disclose a sensor position calibration method executed by a sensor position calibrating device, (sensor position calibration method – see paragraph 0002), the method comprising: acquiring a self-position measured by a moving object moving in a movement area (a radio reception unit that acquires a position information of the moving body – see include but are not limited to paragraph 0009, 0022, 0051); measuring a position of the moving object based on observation information of a sensor (the sensor unit that obtain and estimate the position of the moving body – see include but are not limited to Fig. 1, paragraphs 0028, 0031); calibrating position information of the sensor by using the self-position of the moving object and an estimated position, which is a position of the moving object in the movement area calculated based on the measured position and the position information of the sensor, the measured position being a position of the moving object measured (the sensor unit calibrates position information of the infrastructure sensor based on the information obtained from the moving body in the detected target range – see includes but are not limited to paragraphs 0034, 0046, 0049); calculating an error between a second estimated position and the self-position, the second estimated position being a position of the moving object in the movement area calculated based on the measured position and the calibrated position information of the sensor (the sensor calibration unit calculate the error between the position of the moving body and the infrastructure sensor unit – see include but are not limited to Fig 5. paragraphs 0054, 0060); generating unit that, based on the error, generates a reliability map indicating reliability of position measurement in the movement area using the sensor (the infrastructure sensor unit create a dynamic map using the calculated position error – see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0050, 0054); and a moving object control unit that controls movement of the moving object by using the reliability map.
However, Hirohata does not explicitly disclose controlling movement of the moving object by using the reliability map.
Duan discloses controlling movement of the moving object by using the reliability map (communication unit control the movement of the vehicle based on the reliability (confident score)– see include but are not limited to paragraphs 0028-0029).
Hirohata and Duan are analogue art because they are from the same filed of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed by the claimed invention- namely, using external sensor to navigate through obstacles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hirohata with the teaching of controlling movement of the moving object by using the reliability map as taught by Duan in order to yield predicable result of improve safety and avoid potential collision [0001].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure:
Nakatani et al. (US 20170067750) discloses stabilizing the vessel providing more comfortable rides for the user.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.K.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665