DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of Aoun (U.S. Patent No. 11,938,010) in view of Levitz (U. S. 2014/0224267).
Regarding claims 1, 3-20, Aoun (U. S. Patent 11,938,010) discloses the claimed invention except for the plate comprises a printed circuit board. Levitz discloses a laminate flexible printed circuit board (see paragraph 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Aoun to provide such features as taught by Levitz so as to easy for manufacture.
Regarding claim 2, Aoun and Levitz disclose for the first and second flat spiral coils comprise: (i) 1OzCu and are around 38 microns thick; or (ii) 20zCu and are around 76 microns thick. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Aoun and Levitz to provide such features so as to design for optimum performance. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 206018744 (CN’744) in view of CN 105307526 (CN’526) and further in view of Levitz (U. S. 2014/0224267).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 8, 20, CN’744 discloses an induction coil 1, 2 arrangement for use with apparatus for heating smokable material to volatilize at least one component of the smokable material, the induction coil 1, 2 arrangement comprising: a plate 3 having opposite first and second sides, a first flat spiral coil 1 of electrically-conductive material printed on the first side of the plate 3; and a second flat spiral coil 2 of electrically-conductive material printed on the second side of the plate 3. CN’744 discloses the claimed invention except for the plate comprises a printed circuit board (PCB). CN’526 discloses the electronic device 12 comprises a printed circuit board and further Levitz discloses flexible laminate printed circuit board (see paragraph 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify CN’744 to provide such features as taught by CN’526 and Levitz so as to easy for manufacture.
Regarding claim 2, CN’744, CN’526, Levitz disclose the claimed invention except for the first and second flat spiral coils comprise: (i) 1OzCu and are around 38 microns thick; or (ii) 20zCu and are around 76 microns thick. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify CN’744, CN’526 and Levitz to provide such features so as to design for optimum performance. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, CN’744 discloses an electrically-conductive connector electrically-connecting the first flat spiral coil 1 to the second flat spiral coil 2; more preferably the electrically-conductive connector extends from a radially-inner end of the first flat spiral coil 1 to a radially-inner end of the second flat spiral coil 2.
Regarding claim 4, CN’744 discloses when observed from one side of the induction coil 1, 2 arrangements, the first flat spiral coil 1 follows a clockwise path from a radially-inner end of the first flat spiral coil 1, and the second flat spiral coil 2 follows an anti- clockwise path from a radially-inner end of the second flat spiral coil 2.
Regarding claim 6, CN’744 discloses the plate 3 further comprises a heating zone defining a longitudinal axis; and wherein the first and second flat spiral coils 1, 2 are arranged sequentially and in respective planes along the longitudinal axis of the heating zone.
Regarding claim 7, CN’744 discloses a retainer (plate 3 and plate 4 are each readable as such a retainer) to which the respective plates 4, 3 of the induction coils 1, 2 arrangements are connected to fix the induction coil 1, 2 arrangements in position relative to one another.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 206018744 (CN’744 in view of CN’526 and Levitz and further in view of Aldridge (U. S. 2016/0278428)
Regarding claims 9, 19, CN’744 and CN’526, Levitz disclose the claimed invention except for apparatus for heating smokable material to volatilize at least one component of the smokable material. Aldridge see figures 1-2, and paragraph 0014 discloses that many materials including tea leaves may be used for smoking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify CN’744 and CN’526, Levitz to provide such feature as taught by Aldridge so as to heat or cook any such material including tea leaves to obtain on edible item. Such material is readable as a smokable material.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 206018744 (CN’744) in view of Aldridge (U. S. 2016/0278428) and further in view of CN 105307526 (CN’526), Levitz.
Regarding claim 10, CN’744 discloses apparatus comprising: a heating zone for receiving one or more articles comprising smokable material; and a magnetic field generator for generating varying magnetic fields that penetrate respective longitudinal portions of the heating zone in use, wherein the magnetic field generator comprises a plurality of flat spiral coils 1, 2 of electrically-conductive material arranged sequentially and in respective planes along a longitudinal axis of the heating zone. CN’744 discloses the claimed invention except for an apparatus clearly stated as used for heating smokable material to volatilize at least one component of the smokable material and wherein each of the flat spiral coils are provided on a PCB. Aldridge see figures 1-2, and paragraph 0014 discloses that many materials including tea leaves may be used for smoking. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify CN’744 to provide such feature as taught by Aldridge so as to heat or cook any such material including tea leaves to obtain on edible item. Such material is readable as a smokable material. Further in view of CN’526 discloses the plate 12 comprises a printed circuit board. Levitz discloses flexible laminate printed circuit board (see paragraph 0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify CN’744 and Aldridge to provide such features as taught by CN’526 and Levitz so as to easy for manufacture.
Regarding claim 11, CN’744, CN’526, Levitz and Aldridge disclose the planes are substantially parallel to one another.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831