DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 04/09/2026
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on April 09, 2026. Claims 1, 13, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 12, 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (see pages 11–16 of the Remarks) that U.S. Patent No. 9,996,468 B1 to Shumsky et al. (“Shumsky”), in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0176430 A1 to Sangha et al. (“Sangha”), fails to teach or suggest the limitations of:
“monitor an available pointer quantity in the register”; and
“integrate the first available pointer and the available pointer quantity into a first allocation response and transmit the first allocation response to the processing unit,” as recited in independent claims 1, 13, and 15.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
At the outset, the Examiner notes that during examination, pending claims are interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) consistent with the Specification. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Am. Acad. of Sci. Tech Ctr., 367 F.3d 1359, 1364 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Under the BRI standard, the claims do not require any particular implementation of the monitoring or allocation operations beyond the functional language expressly recited.
Under this reasonable interpretation, Shumsky teaches a buffer manager configured to manage available memory buffers and corresponding pointer information. Specifically, Shumsky discloses a buffer memory 200 including a plurality of packet buffer spaces (Col. 6, lines 8–15; Fig. 2). Further, Shumsky teaches that buffer manager 400 manages multiple banks within the buffer memory and maintains pointer information identifying available buffer locations (Col. 10, lines 55–65; Fig. 2).
More particularly, Shumsky discloses that the buffer manager obtains a first available pointer (e.g., buffer number 50) from maintained pointer information and updates the corresponding table entries representing available buffer banks (Col. 7, lines 3–50). The pointer identifies an available memory buffer, while the associated table entries collectively represent the quantity and status of available buffer resources. Thus, Shumsky teaches maintaining and updating both available pointer information and corresponding availability information during memory allocation.
Additionally, Shumsky teaches transmitting allocation information to requesting client devices. As disclosed in Col. 3, lines 25–30; Col. 7, lines 10–30; Col. 8, lines 25–35; Figs. 2 and 4, buffer manager 106 maintains information regarding available buffer space and allocates available memory space to client devices upon receiving allocation requests. Such allocation necessarily includes communicating the selected available buffer pointer associated with the allocation decision.
Applicant contends that Shumsky fails to explicitly disclose monitoring an available pointer quantity in a register, integrating pointer information with pointer quantity into an allocation response, and temporarily storing available pointers within a register. The Examiner agrees that Shumsky does not expressly describe these implementation details using the same terminology.
However, these features are expressly taught by Sangha.
Sangha discloses that Buffer Manager 100 maintains queues within registers for storing available data pointers corresponding to available memory locations. As disclosed in paragraphs [0012], [0046], and [0082], together with Fig. 2, one or more queues are used for storing pointers (memory addresses) to data buffers, while the buffer manager monitors the availability of free data pointers maintained within the register structure. Thus, Sangha expressly teaches monitoring an available pointer quantity in the register, as recited.
Further, Sangha teaches integrating available pointer information into allocation processing. Paragraphs [0046] and [0060], together with Fig. 2, disclose that the I/O interface reads an available data pointer from the Receive Free Queue (RFQ 232), wherein the pointer identifies an available storage location in external memory. The retrieved pointer information is incorporated into the allocation operation and provided to the requesting processing circuitry responsible for utilizing the allocated buffer. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, this teaches integrating the first available pointer together with the available pointer information into an allocation response transmitted to the processing unit.
Moreover, Sangha expressly teaches a buffer manager including registers 260 for temporarily storing information (paragraphs [0046] and [0076]; Fig. 5), and further teaches storing available data pointers within those registers (paragraphs [0060]–[0061]). Accordingly, Sangha expressly teaches “a buffer manager comprising a register for temporarily storing at least one available pointer.”
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Sangha’s register-based pointer management techniques into Shumsky’s buffer management system to improve the efficiency, organization, and reliability of buffer allocation by maintaining available pointer information within dedicated register structures while monitoring pointer availability during allocation operations. Such a combination merely applies a known buffer management technique to improve another known memory allocation system performing the same function and would have yielded the predictable benefit of more efficient pointer tracking and allocation management. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007). Substituting one known buffer management implementation for another performing the same function represents nothing more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions.
Furthermore, the rejection does not require that either reference disclose the claimed invention ipsissimis verbis. Rather, the proper inquiry is whether the combined teachings of the references would have suggested the claimed subject matter to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425 (CCPA 1981). A reference must be considered for everything it reasonably teaches, including those teachings that would have been fairly understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 1097 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Accordingly, when the combined teachings of Shumsky and Sangha are considered under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the references collectively teach or at least render obvious:
monitoring an available pointer quantity in a register;
obtaining a first available pointer from register-maintained pointer information;
integrating the first available pointer together with available pointer information into an allocation response;
transmitting the allocation response to the processing unit; and
temporarily storing available pointers within registers.
Therefore, the combination of Shumsky and Sangha teaches or at least renders obvious each of the disputed limitations of independent claims 1 and 15. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 13 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shumsky et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,996,468 B1), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of Sangha et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20020176430 A1), (“D2”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 1, D1 discloses an electronic apparatus ([see, Col. 3, 15-25, and Fig., 1, multi-core network device 100]), comprising:
a processing unit ([see, Col. 2, lines 1-15, processing cores]);
a buffer memory ([see, Col. 6, lines 8-15, and Fig., 2, the buffer memory 200]), having a plurality of packet buffer spaces ([see, Col. 10, lines 55-65, and Fig. 2, the buffer manager is used to manage a buffer that having a plurality banks in the buffer space 200]),
wherein each of the packet buffer spaces is aligned to a packet size ([see, Col. 4, lines 19-25, Col. 6, lines 20-25, and Fig. 2, wherein the buffer memory has the multiple memory banks 204 of the buffer spaces that associated allows efficiently sized buffers]); and
a buffer manager ([see, Col. 5, lines 20-67, the buffer manager 106), comprising a register ([see, Col. 5, lines 20-67, (memory or buffer) space managed by the buffer manager 106), for temporarily storing at least one available pointer ([see, Col. 3, lines 25-30, buffer manager 106 maintains information regarding available buffer space in the memory space 104, and allocated available buffer space in the memory space 104]),
wherein each of the at least one available pointer is configured to mark a start address corresponding to a packet buffer space in the buffer memory ([see, Col. 6, lines 45-55, and Col. 7, 3-20, and Fig. 2, an indicator of or a pointer indicated to the buffer number 50 that the data packet 208 is stored in the buffer number 50]);
the buffer manager is configured to assign the at least one available pointer to the processing unit ([see, Col. 3, lines 25-30, and Col. 7, 10-30, and Fig. 2, and Col. 8, lines 25-35, and Fig. 4, the buffer manager 106 maintains information regarding available buffer space, such as a link to the buffer 50 (e.g., an indicator of or a pointer to the buffer number 50), in the memory space 104, and allocated available buffer space in the memory space 104 to client devices 102 upon receiving allocation requests from the client devices 102]),
wherein in response to that the processing unit transmits a first allocation request to the buffer manager ([see, Col. 4, lines 35-40, receiving a data packet to be stored in the memory space 104, transmits an allocation request 120 to the buffer manager 106]) and the available pointer quantity is sufficient ([see, Col. 6, lines 60-67, he table 300 includes 64 entries corresponding to the 64 buffers of the buffer memory 200 that necessary buffer used for storing a chunk or portion of a multi-buffer data packet]);
the buffer manager is configured to obtain a first available pointer (the buffer 50) from the register, to update the available pointer quantity (table entry banks) ([see, Col. 7, lines 3-50, wherein a buffer manager 400 configured to manage a memory space, the pointer to indicated the buffer number 50 on the available pointer quantity, which is in our case table entry banks, and the table entry corresponding to the buffer number has update a link pointer for every buffer bank numbers]),
the buffer manager is configured to transmit the first allocation response to the processing unit ([see, Col. 3, lines 25-30, and Col. 7, 10-30, and Fig. 2, and Col. 8, lines 25-35, and Fig. 4, the buffer manager 106 maintains information regarding available buffer space, and allocated available buffer space in the memory space 104 to client devices 102 upon receiving allocation requests from the client devices 102]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the buffer manager is configured to monitor an available pointer quantity in the register; and the buffer manager is configured to integrate the first available pointer and the available pointer quantity into a first allocation response and transmit the first allocation response to the processing unit; and a buffer manager comprising a register for temporarily storing at least one available pointer.
However, D2 discloses the buffer manager (Buffer manager 100) is configured to monitor an available pointer quantity in the register ([see, [0012, 0046, 0082], and Fig. 2, wherein the Buffer manager 100, the queue in the register, one queue may be used for storing pointers (i.e., memory addresses) to a data buffer that includes a received communication packet, and monitors the availability of free data pointers]); and
the buffer manager is configured to integrate the first available pointer and the available pointer quantity into a first allocation response and transmit the first allocation response to the processing unit ([see, [0046, 0060], and Fig. 2, wherein the Buffer manager 100, with I/O interface 270 integrate to read an available data pointer from RFQ 232. An available data pointer is a data pointer that points to an empty storage location (i.e., pointer quantity) allocated in external memory (i.e., allocation response to the processing unit)]); and
a buffer manager comprising a register for temporarily storing ([see, [0046, 0076] and Fig. 5, Buffer manager 100 includes registers 260, one or more registers for temporarily storing data]) at least one available pointer ([see, [0060-0061], registers 260 to read an available data pointer]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing data packets in the register results enhanced the throughput of the buffer management system (D2, ¶ [0007]).
As per Claims 8, 20, D1 further discloses transmits the first allocation request ([see, Col. 4, lines 35-40, receiving a data packet to be stored in the memory space 104, transmits an allocation request 120 to the buffer manager 106]). D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein and the available pointer quantity is insufficient, and in response to that the processing unit transmits the first allocation request and the available pointer quantity is insufficient, the buffer manager is configured to set a lower-bits portion of the first allocation response to be null or zero and transmit the first allocation response to the processing unit ([see, [0063], the memory space is 8 Megabytes, a 23-bit data pointer is sufficiently large to address the memory space. In accordance with one aspect of the system, the data buffers are aligned on 128-byte address boundaries. As a result, the 7 least significant bits of a 32-bit data pointer can be set to zero, for example, because they are not significant for memory addressing purposes]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing data packets in the register results enhanced the throughput of the buffer management system (D2, ¶ [0007]).
As per Claim 15, D1 discloses a control method, comprising:
transmitting a first allocation request from a processing unit to a buffer manager ([see, Col. 4, lines 35-40, transmits an allocation request 120 to the buffer manager 106]);
determining by the buffer manager whether an available pointer quantity in a register is sufficient or not ([see, Col. 5, lines 1-20, Col. 10, lines 55-67, and Col. 11, lines 5-10, wherein the buffer manager 400 to quickly clear buffer space for a higher number of multi-buffer data packets, checks validity of a clearing operation by determining whether the buffer being cleared is a buffer that is currently allocated]),
in response to that the available pointer quantity is sufficient, obtaining a first available pointer (i.e., an indicator of or a pointer to the buffer number 50)) from the register (i.e., table entry that corresponds to a buffer used for storing a chunk or portion of a multi-buffer data packet includes a link to the buffer used for storing the next consecutive chunk of the data packet) by the buffer manager (the buffer manager 106) according to the first allocation request ([see, Col. 7, lines 3-60, Col. lines 15-20, and Fig. 6, in response to determining that the buffer for which the clearing operation, the first chunk of the packet 208 is stored in the buffer number 14, the table entry corresponding to the buffer number 14 includes a link to the buffer 50 (e.g., an indicator of or a pointer to the buffer number 50, implemented at least partially by the buffer manager based on allocation request 120 to the buffer manager 106]);
the first available pointer being configured to mark a start address of a packet buffer space ([see, Col. 6, lines 45-55, and Col. 7, 3-20, and Fig. 2, a first portion of the data packet 208 is stored in buffer number 14, a second portion of the data packet 208 is stored in the buffer number 50]);
transmitting the first allocation response to the processing unit by the buffer manager ([see, Col. 4, lines 40-65, and Fig. 1, buffer manager 106 then transmits an allocation response 124 to the client device 102 from which the allocation request was received]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: updating the available pointer quantity within the register by the buffer manager; the available pointer quantity in the register; and integrating the first available pointer by the buffer manager for generating a first allocation response; and a buffer manager comprising a register for temporarily storing at least one available pointer.
However, D2 discloses updating the available pointer quantity within the register by the buffer manager ([see, [00161], and Table A24 includes description of I/O interface signals for buffer manager 100, update data pointer, such as update status, data length and source/destination address for buffer manager]);
the buffer manager (Buffer manager 100) is configured the available pointer quantity in the register ([see, [0012, 0046, 0082], and Fig. 2, wherein the Buffer manager 100, the queue in the register, one queue may be used for storing pointers (i.e., memory addresses) to a data buffer that includes a received communication packet, and monitors the availability of free data pointers]); and
integrating the first available pointer by the buffer manager for generating a first allocation response ([see, [0046, 0060], and Fig. 2, wherein the Buffer manager 100, with I/O interface 270 integrate to read an available data pointer from RFQ 232. An available data pointer is a data pointer that points to an empty storage location (i.e., pointer quantity) allocated in external memory (i.e., allocation response to the processing unit)]); and
a buffer manager comprising a register for temporarily storing ([see, [0046, 0076] and Fig. 5, Buffer manager 100 includes registers 260, one or more registers for temporarily storing data]) at least one available pointer ([see, [0060-0061], registers 260 to read an available data pointer]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing data packets in the register results enhanced the throughput of the buffer management system (D2, ¶ [0007]).
As per Claim 19, D1 and D2 disclose the control method of claim 15, and D1 further discloses wherein further comprising:
counting a pending return pointer quantity by a communication transceiver unit ([see, Col. 12, lines 15-35, a number of indications that corresponds to the number free buffer queue]),
wherein the communication transceiver unit is configured to integrate the first available pointer and the pending return pointer quantity into a first return request; transmitting the first return request from the communication transceiver unit to the buffer manager ([see, Col. 7, lines 50-67, Col. 8, lines 1-25, and Fig. 1-2, wherein the client device that issues memory allocation requests to the buffer manager 400, buffer manager 400 maintains a free buffer pool to store indications of buffers currently available for allocation, and Col. 8, lines 60-67, a first buffer type are allocated for data packets having a first priority level]); and
pushing the first available pointer into the register by the buffer manager according to the first return request ([see, Col. 8, lines 1-30, and Fig. 1-2, the buffer manager 400 maintains a free buffer pool to store indications of buffers currently available for allocation]).
Claims 2, 4-6, 9-12, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Deutsch et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0240638), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claims 2, 16, D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the buffer manager is configured to duplicate a higher-bits portion of the first available pointer as a higher-bits portion of the first allocation response, and the buffer manager is configured to record the available pointer quantity currently into a lower-bits portion of the first allocation response, so as to generate the first allocation response.
However, D3 discloses wherein the buffer manager is configured to duplicate a higher-bits portion of the first available pointer as a higher-bits portion of the first allocation response, and the buffer manager is configured to record the available pointer quantity currently into a lower-bits portion of the first allocation response, so as to generate the first allocation response ([see, [0154-0156, 0227], and Fig. 9, wherein memory allocations, marker region 862 is evenly divided in the lower half of the slot and in the upper half of the slot, the lower bits of the pointer may be duplicated in the upper bits]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing bits portion of the slot results improve efficacy for the clearing memory with every memory allocation that enhanced the security vulnerabilities and increase memory safety to computing systems (D3, ¶ [0003]).
As per Claims 4, 18, D1 further discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to obtain the first available pointer (a pointer to the buffer number 50) and a first packet buffer space in the buffer memory (the table 300 includes 64 entries) corresponding to the first available pointer according to the higher-bits portion of the first allocation response ([see, Col. 6, lines 60-67, the table 300 includes 64 entries corresponding to the 64 buffers of the buffer memory 200 that necessary buffer used for storing a chunk or portion of a multi-buffer data packet]),
the processing unit is configured to write an outward-transmitting packet into the first packet buffer space ([see, Col. 7, lines 15-25, Col. 9, 55-67, and Col. 10, lines 1-10, and Fig. 2-3, wherein enable the buffer manager 400 to efficiently clear an entire buffer space allocated for storing a multi-buffer packet, the first chunk of the packet 210 is stored in the buffer number 57, and each following consecutive chunk of the packet 210 is stored in buffer numbers 20, 23, 11, and 59, respectively]).
As per Claim 5, D1 and D2 disclose the electronic apparatus of claim 4, and D1 further discloses further comprising: a communication transceiver unit, configured to read the outward-transmitting packet from the first packet buffer space and transmit the outward-transmitting packet to an external network ([see, Col. 4, lines 55-65, and Fig. 1, wherein transmitted from the network device 100, a client device 102 couple to read 132-1-N with a read interface 132, and any client device 102 can then access the allocated buffer in the buffer memory 200 for writing packet data to and/or reading packet data from the buffer memory 200]),
wherein in response to that the communication transceiver unit completes transmission of the outward-transmitting packet, the communication transceiver unit transmits a first return request to the buffer manager for returning the first available pointer ([see, Col. 7, lines 50-67, Col. 8, lines 1-25, and Fig. 1-2, wherein the client device that issues memory allocation requests to the buffer manager 400, buffer manager 400 maintains a free buffer pool to store indications of buffers currently available for allocation, and Col. 8, lines 60-67, a first buffer type are allocated for data packets having a first priority level]), the buffer manager is configured to push the first available pointer into the register according to the first return request ([see, Col. 8, lines 1-30, and Fig. 1-2, the buffer manager 400 maintains a free buffer pool to store indications of buffers currently available for allocation]).
As per Claim 6, D1 and D2 disclose the electronic apparatus of claim 5, and D1 further discloses wherein the communication transceiver unit is configured to count a pending return pointer quantity (free buffer size) ([see, Col. 12, lines 15-35, a number of indications that corresponds to the number free buffer queue]), to integrate the first available pointer and the pending return pointer quantity into the first return request and transmit the first return request to the buffer manager, the communication transceiver unit is configured to record the pending return pointer quantity currently into a lower-bits portion of the first return request, so as to generate the first return request ([see, Col. 4, lines 15-35, Col. 12, lines 15-35, and Fig. 1-30, wherein improve the speed and efficiency of buffer management, network device 100 is configured to efficiently utilize the memory space 104 for storing variable length packets received by the network device 100 by partitioning the memory space into a plurality of fixed-sized buffers and dynamically allocating the fixed-sized buffers to store a data packet based upon the size of the data packet]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the communication transceiver unit is configured to duplicate the higher-bits portion of the first available pointer as a higher-bits portion of the first return request.
However, D3 further discloses wherein the communication transceiver unit is configured to duplicate the higher-bits portion of the first available pointer as a higher-bits portion of the first return request ([see, [0154-0156, 0227], and Fig. 9, wherein memory allocations, marker region 862 is evenly divided in the lower half of the slot and in the upper half of the slot, the lower bits of the pointer may be duplicated in the upper bits]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing bits portion of the slot results improve efficacy for the clearing memory with every memory allocation that enhanced the security vulnerabilities and increase memory safety to computing systems (D3, ¶ [0003]).
As per Claim 9, D1 and D2 disclose the electronic apparatus of claim 1, and D1 further discloses further comprising:
a communication transceiver unit ([see, Fig. 1), configured to receive an inward-transmitting packet from an external network ([see, Col. 3, lines 15-40, and Fig. 1, wherein buffer manager 106, receiving allocation requests from the client devices 102]);
wherein in response to that the communication transceiver unit transmits a second allocation request to the buffer manager ([see, Col. 8, lines 25-45, and Fig. 4, client device that issues memory allocation requests to the buffer manager again to accesses an appropriate free buffer queue]) and
the available pointer quantity is sufficient, the buffer manager is configured to obtain a second available pointer (free buffer) from the register (table) ([see, Col. 8, lines 25-45, Col. 9, lines 55-67, Col. 10, lines 1-10, and Fig. 4, wherein the buffer manager 400 maintains a free buffer pool to store indications of buffers currently available for allocation, and an appropriate free buffer queue disclosed]) and
update the available pointer quantity ([see, Col. 8, lines 40-60, using (update) a one of the free buffer queues 406 for subsequent allocations performed by the buffer manager 400]); and the buffer manager is configured to integrate of the second available pointer (next pointer) and the available pointer quantity (free pointer) into a second allocation response and transmit the second allocation response to the communication transceiver unit ([see, Col. 7, lines 50-67, Col. 8, lines 1-25, and Fig. 1-2, wherein the client device that issues memory allocation requests to the buffer manager 400, buffer manager 400 maintains a free buffer pool to store indications of buffers currently available for allocation, and Col. 8, lines 60-67, a first buffer type are allocated for data packets having a first priority level]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: a higher-bits portion of the second available pointer.
However, D3 further discloses a higher-bits portion of the second available pointer ([see, [0154-0156, 0227], and Fig. 9, wherein memory allocations, the upper bits of the pointer disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing bits portion of the slot results improve efficacy for the clearing memory with every memory allocation that enhanced the security vulnerabilities and increase memory safety to computing systems (D3, ¶ [0003]).
As per Claim 10, D1 and D2 disclose the electronic apparatus of claim 9, and D1 further discloses wherein the communication transceiver unit ([see, Fig. 1), is configured to obtain the second available pointer (next pointer) and a second packet buffer space (free buffer) in the buffer memory corresponding to the second available pointer according to the second allocation response ([see, Col. 3, lines 15-40, and Fig. 1, wherein buffer manager 106, receiving allocation requests from the client devices 102]), the communication transceiver unit is configured to write the inward-transmitting packet into the second packet buffer space ([see, Col. 7, lines 50-67, Col. 8, lines 1-25, and Fig. 1-2, wherein the client device that issues memory allocation requests to the buffer manager 400, buffer manager 400 maintains a free buffer pool to store indications of buffers currently available for allocation, and Col. 8, lines 60-67, a first buffer type are allocated for data packets having a first priority level]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the second available pointer according to the higher-bits portion of the second allocation response.
However, D3 further discloses the second available pointer according to the higher-bits portion of the second allocation response ([see, [0154-0156, 0227], and Fig. 9, wherein memory allocations, the upper bits of the pointer disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing bits portion of the slot results improve efficacy for the clearing memory with every memory allocation that enhanced the security vulnerabilities and increase memory safety to computing systems (D3, ¶ [0003]).
As per Claim 11, D1 and D2 disclose the electronic apparatus of claim 10, and D1 further discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to read the inward-transmitting packet from the second packet buffer space ([see, Col. 4, lines 55-65, and Fig. 1, the client device read data packet via a read interface 132]),
in response to that the processing unit completes reading the inward-transmitting packet, the processing unit transmits a second return request to the buffer manager for returning the second available pointer ([see, Col. 4, lines 40-65, and Fig. 1, the client device 102 sequentially transmits a corresponding number of allocation requests 120]), the buffer manager is configured to push the second available pointer into the register according to the second return request ([see, Col. 4, lines 40-65, and Fig. 1, buffer manager 106 then transmits an allocation response 124 to the client device 102 from which the allocation request was received]).
As per Claim 12, D1 and D2 disclose the electronic apparatus of claim 11, and D1 further discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to count a pending return pointer quantity and to generate the second return request ([see, Col. 12, lines 15-35, a number of indications that corresponds to the number free buffer queue]),
the processing unit is configured to integrate the second available pointer and the pending return pointer quantity into the second return request and transmit the second return request to the buffer manager ([see, Col. 6, lines 20-40, the buffer group 202-1 includes a second set of buffers that includes second available pointer, and on Col. 4, lines 40-65, and Fig. 1, the client device 102 sequentially transmits a corresponding number of allocation requests 120]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the processing unit is configured to duplicate the higher-bits portion of the second available pointer as a higher-bits portion of the second return request; and the processing unit is configured to record the pending return pointer quantity currently into a lower-bits portion of the second return request.
However, D3 further discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to duplicate the higher-bits portion of the second available pointer as a higher-bits portion of the second return request ([see, [0154-0156, 0227], and Fig. 9, wherein memory allocations, marker region 862 is evenly divided in the lower half of the slot and in the upper half of the slot, the lower bits of the pointer may be duplicated in the upper bits]); and
the processing unit is configured to record the pending return pointer quantity currently into a lower-bits portion of the second return request ([see, [0227], and Fig. 9, the lower bits of the pointer disclosed]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing bits portion of the slot results improve efficacy for the clearing memory with every memory allocation that enhanced the security vulnerabilities and increase memory safety to computing systems (D3, ¶ [0003]).
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, in view of D3, and further in view of Pais et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0088965), (“D4”, hereinafter)
As per Claims 3, 17, D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the processing unit is configured to obtain the available pointer quantity (entry banks) according to the lower-bits portion of the first allocation response, in response to that the available pointer quantity is lower than a threshold value, the processing unit temporarily stops transmitting another allocation request or reduces a frequency of transmitting the another allocation request.
However, D4 discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to obtain the available pointer quantity (entry banks) according to the lower-bits portion of the first allocation response, in response to that the available pointer quantity is lower than a threshold value, the processing unit temporarily stops transmitting another allocation request or reduces a frequency of transmitting the another allocation request ([see, [0006, 0028], wherein the managing a plurality of buffer addresses, a controller configured to monitor a number of unassigned buffer pointers, and if the number of unassigned buffer pointers in falls below a threshold value, allocate one or more buffer pointers from an external buffer pointer pool]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing bits portion of the slot results improve efficacy for the clearing memory with every memory allocation that enhanced the security vulnerabilities and increase memory safety to computing systems (D4, ¶ [0003]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, in view of D3, and further in view of WANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20100299460), (“D5”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 7, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the electronic apparatus of claim 6, and D3 further discloses in response to that a sum of the pending return pointer quantity and the available pointer quantity is greater than a maximal accommodation volume of the register (table), the buffer manager is configured to transmit a warning signal (i.e., preventing stack pointers created in this frame from accessing data) to the communication transceiver unit ([see, [0222], when the decorated pointer 1702 reached maximum offset/max RSP value, value may include the address of the top of the frame recorded after the CALL instruction has finished executing, baked value in the encoding of the pointer may prohibit the pointer from accessing a higher address than the top of current frame, preventing stack pointers created in this frame from accessing data in prior frames]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing bits portion of the slot results improve efficacy for the clearing memory with every memory allocation that enhanced the security vulnerabilities and increase memory safety to computing systems (D3, ¶ [0003]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the buffer manager is configured to obtain the pending return pointer quantity according to the lower-bits portion of the first return request.
However, D5 discloses wherein the buffer manager (FIG. 2, the buffer manager) is configured to obtain the pending return pointer quantity (address pointer returns) according to the lower-bits portion of the first return request ([see, [0008, 0028-0029], and Fig. 2, wherein a buffer manager based on an address pointer linked list, the address pointers have different lower bits of an address pointer pointed by the address pointer requested]),
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D6. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a buffer manager and buffer management based on an address pointer linked list results improved linked list information unit includes a two-level link RAM consisting of an ADD_LINK_ Random Access Memory (RAM) and a RE_LINK_RAM (D6, ¶ [0064]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of WANG et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20100299460), (“D5”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 13, D1 discloses an electronic apparatus ([see, Col. 3, 15-25, and Fig., 1, multi-core network device 100]),, comprising:
a processing unit ([see, Col. 2, 1-15, processing cores]);
a buffer memory ([see, Col. 6, 8-15, and Fig., 2, the buffer memory 200]), having a plurality of packet buffer spaces ([see, Col. 10, lines 55-65, buffer space allocated to a single buffer packet, i.e., a packet that occupies only one buffer in the memory space 106]),
wherein each of the packet buffer spaces is aligned to a packet size ([see, Col. 4, lines 19-25, Col. 6, lines 20-25, and Fig. 2, wherein the buffer memory has the multiple memory banks 204 of the buffer spaces that associated allows efficiently sized buffers]); and
a buffer manager (see Fig. 1, the buffer manager 106), comprising wherein each of the at least one available pointer is configured to mark a start address corresponding to a packet buffer space in the buffer memory ([see, Col. 6, lines 45-55, and Col. 7, 3-20, and Fig. 2, an indicator of or a pointer indicated to the buffer number 50 that the data packet 208 is stored in the buffer number 50]),
the buffer manager is configured to assign the at least one available pointer to the processing unit ([see, Col. 6, lines 45-55, and Col. 7, 3-20, and Fig. 2, and Col. 8, lines 25-35, and Fig. 4, a buffer manager 400 configured to manage a memory space shared by several client devices 410, 411 and the buffer manager 400 maintains a free buffer pool to store indications of buffers currently available for allocation… an allocation engine 402 accesses an appropriate free buffer queue 406 and retrieves an indication of (e.g., a pointer to) a free buffer from the head of the free buffer queue 406]),
wherein the processing unit is configured to count a pending return pointer quantity ([see, Col. 12, lines 15-35, a number of indications that corresponds to the number free buffer queue]), to transmit the return request to the buffer manager ([see, Col. 4, lines 35-40, receiving a data packet to be stored in the memory space 104, transmits an allocation request 120 to the buffer manager 106]),
in response to that the buffer manager receives the return request ([see, Col. 4, lines 40-65, and Fig. 1, the client device 102 sequentially transmits a corresponding number of allocation requests 120]),
the buffer manager is configured to push the first available pointer into the register according to the return request and update the available pointer quantity ([see, Col. 4, lines 40-65, and Fig. 1, buffer manager 106 then transmits an allocation response 124 to the client device 102 from which the allocation request was received]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: the buffer manager is configured to monitor an available pointer quantity; to integrate a first available pointer and
the pending return pointer quantity into a return request;
a buffer manager comprising a register for temporarily storing at least one available pointer; and wherein the pending return pointer quantity indicates a total amount of pointers which are currently occupied by the processing unit corresponding to different packets and to be returned later.
However, D2 discloses the buffer manager (Buffer manager 100) is configured to monitor an available pointer quantity in the register ([see, [0012, 0046, 0082], and Fig. 2, wherein the Buffer manager 100, the queue in the register, one queue may be used for storing pointers (i.e., memory addresses) to a data buffer that includes a received communication packet, and monitors the availability of free data pointers]); and
the buffer manager is configured to integrate the first available pointer and the available pointer quantity into a first allocation response and transmit the first allocation response to the processing unit ([see, [0046, 0060], and Fig. 2, wherein the Buffer manager 100, with I/O interface 270 integrate to read an available data pointer from RFQ 232. An available data pointer is a data pointer that points to an empty storage location (i.e., pointer quantity) allocated in external memory (i.e., allocation response to the processing unit)]); and
a buffer manager comprising a register for temporarily storing ([see, [0046, 0076] and Fig. 5, Buffer manager 100 includes registers 260, one or more registers for temporarily storing data]) at least one available pointer ([see, [0060-0061], registers 260 to read an available data pointer]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide managing data packets in the register results enhanced the throughput of the buffer management system (D2, ¶ [0007]).
The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the pending return pointer quantity indicates a total amount of pointers which are currently occupied by the processing unit corresponding to different packets and to be returned later.
However, D5 discloses wherein the pending return pointer (i.e., pointer returns) quantity indicates a total amount of pointers which are currently occupied by the processing unit corresponding to different packets and to be returned later ([see, [0009, 0018, 0082-0083], and Fig. 2, wherein the buffer manager, a POINTER QUEUE (PTRQ) with a width equal to the depth of an address pointer and with a depth equal to the total number of buffer blocks in the buffer, and different and all the address pointers buffer are recorded in the PTRQ, the write address pointer returns quantity indicates the total amount of pointers from a packet header write address from a corresponding packet end write address; otherwise, the write address pointer still stays at its current position (i.e., currently occupied)]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a buffer manager and buffer management based on an address pointer linked list results improved linked list information unit includes a two-level link RAM consisting of an ADD_LINK_ Random Access Memory (RAM) and a RE_LINK_RAM (D5, ¶ [0064]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, in view of D5, and further in view of Roh et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0080929), (“D6”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 14, D1, D6, and D5 disclose the electronic apparatus of claim 13, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein in response to that the buffer manager receives the return request, the buffer manager is configured to check whether a sum of the pending return pointer quantity and the available pointer quantity is greater than a maximal accommodation volume of the register, in response to that the sum is greater than the maximal accommodation volume, the buffer manager transmits a warning signal to the processing unit.
However, D6 discloses wherein in response to that the buffer manager receives the return request, the buffer manager is configured to check whether a sum of the pending return pointer quantity and the available pointer quantity is greater than a maximal accommodation volume of the register ([see, [0016-0017], wherein a buffer manager for detecting an overflow of the buffer storing the data, detecting a position of a memory pointer of the double buffer and determining whether or not a buffer overflow]), in response to that the sum is greater than the maximal accommodation volume, the buffer manager transmits a warning signal to the processing unit ([see, [0021, 0037], a buffer manager 140 for detecting an overflow of the buffer 132 storing the data encoded by the encoder 130 and issuing a control signal for pausing an encoding operation when the overflow is detected]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D6. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a buffer manager capable of automatically pausing results improve transmission delay at the server device transmitting predetermined data to a client device and an overflow of data due to the transmission delay (D6, ¶ [0002]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418