DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SAKAI (Publication No.: US 2014/0328588 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 6, 10, SAKAI teaches An optical module, comprising: a local oscillator laser configured to output a local oscillator light (reference numeral 22 in Figure 4) ; a receiving module (reference numeral 21 in Figure 4) configured to receive an input light signal and a local oscillator light signal; a mixing module (reference numeral 21 in Figure 4) configured to mix the input light signal and the local oscillator light signal to obtain a beat frequency signal; and a digital signal processing module (reference numeral 25, 31, 32 in Figure 4) at least configured to calculate a beat frequency signal frequency of the beat frequency signal, and adjust the local oscillator light frequency output by the local oscillator laser through a feedback control loop according to the beat frequency signal frequency.
Regarding claim 2, SAKAI teaches The optical module according to claim 1, wherein the optical module further comprises a digital-to-analog conversion module (reference numeral 24 in Figure 4) , the digital-to-analog conversion module is configured to convert a signal mixed by the mixing module into a digital signal, and the digital signal is sent to the digital signal processing module.
Regarding claim 3, 7, there being no claimed structural difference between the apparatus of the claimed invention and that of the cited prior art, SAKAI teaches The optical module according to claim 2, wherein a formula for calculating a mixing signal /beat of the beat frequency signal frequency by the digital signal processing module is:
I.sub.beat(t)=I.sub.Lo+I.sub.S+2m√{square root over (I.sub.LO.Math.I.sub.S)} cos (2πf.sub.IFt+(θ.sub.LO−θ.sub.S))
f.sub.IFf.sub.LO−f.sub.S, wherein, I.sub.LO is an optical intensity of the local oscillator light signal, I.sub.S is an optical intensity of the input light signal, m is a mixing efficiency of the local oscillator light and the input light, f.sub.IF is a beat frequency signal frequency, f.sub.LO is a local oscillator light frequency, θ.sub.LO is an initial phase of the local oscillator light, f.sub.S is an input light frequency, θ.sub.S is an initial phase of the input light, and a frequency difference between the local oscillator light and the input light is obtained by measuring f.sub.IF through the formula. Examiner further notes that SAKAI meets the limitations of this claim by virtue of the fact that SAKAI clearly calculates the beat frequency of the mixed signal and Applicant broadly claims that the recited formula is but one of the many formulas applicable in finding the beat frequency of the mixed signal without claiming that the recited formula is actually the one used in the claimed invention to find the beat frequency.
Regarding claim 4, 8, SAKAI teaches The optical module according to claim 3, wherein the digital signal processing module is configured as: when a value of the beat frequency signal frequency is greater than a preset threshold value, the digital-to-analog conversion module (reference numeral 24 in Figure 4) generates a control signal to adjust the local oscillator light frequency until a beat frequency signal frequency is less than the preset threshold value (e.g. “threshold” as in paragraph [0107] and throughout) .
Regarding claim 5, 9, SAKAI teaches The optical module according to claim 3, wherein the digital signal processing module (reference numeral 25, 31, 32 in Figure 4) is configured as: when the beat frequency signal frequency is not zero, the digital-to-analog conversion module generates a control signal to adjust the local oscillator light frequency until the beat frequency signal frequency is equal to zero (e.g. “frequency offset becomes zero” as in paragraph [0087]) .
Conclusion
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635