DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment and request for continued examination filed 02/05/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-13, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kocher (U.S. 2004/0002894 A1) in view of Jiang (U.S. 2003/0172282 A1) in view of Lee-Smith (U.S. 2024/0388676 A1).
Claim 1, Kocher teaches:
A method for executing additional analytics (Kocher, Fig. 2) at an access control point (Kocher, Fig. 1) comprising:
identifying a target at an access control point attempting to traverse the access control point (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The target is a vehicle which is attempting to access an area protected by a gate (see Kocher, Fig. 1).);
providing an indication to the target that traversal of the access control point is delayed (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], When the token is determined to be valid, a signal light is activated, which represents that the user has passed the valid token test and is subsequently required to validate biometrics. Therefore, the signal light is indicative to the user that entry beyond the gate is delayed pending additional validation.), the indication indicating during entry of a distress pattern (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The signal light is activated when a disressed pattern is entered and matched.);
directing additional analytics resources to the access control point (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The biometrics sensor is also activated and a biometrics template data file corresponding to the token number is also retrieved to compare for a match.);
running additional analytics on the target using the additional analytics resources (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The biometric image taken by the biometrics sensor is converted to a template and subsequently compared to the file template.); and
allowing the target to traverse the access control point once the additional analytics have completed (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], Once a match is determined, the green light or automatic entry lane arrow would be activated, allowing the vehicle to proceed.).
Kocher does not specifically teach:
The indication including a false reason for the delay; and
wherein the additional analytics resources are shared amongst multiple access control points.
Jiang teaches:
The indication including a false reason for the delay (Kocher, Paragraph [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher by integrating the teaching of displaying a false message, as taught by Jiang.
The motivation would be to stall until authorities arrive in a distressed situation (see Jiang, Paragraph [0019]).
Kocher in view of Jiang does not specifically teach:
Wherein the additional analytics resources are shared amongst multiple access control points.
Lee-Smith teaches:
Wherein the additional analytics resources are shared amongst multiple access control points (Lee-Smith, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0017], The multiple cameras are used to cover several points of interest, which include entrances, exits, and destination points. The system is utilized for traffic and crowd control purposes (see Lee-Smith, Paragraph [0043]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher in view of Jiang by integrating the teaching of a monitored spacing utilizing a plurality of cameras, as taught by Lee-Smith.
The motivation would be to provide a level of persistence for effective monitoring of a space to overcome obstacles in monitoring a large areas (see Lee-Smith, Paragraph [0003]).
Claim 2, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The method of claim 1 wherein the target is identified based on an appearance (Kocher, Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0072] and [0074], The unusual appearance is the unusual appearance of the user’s hand, which may be indicative that the user is under duress, wherein the distressed pattern is stored. A distressed appearance of the user’s hand is “unusual” relative to a “normal” pattern.).
Claim 3, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The method of claim 1 wherein the target is identified based on behavior (Kocher, Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0072] and [0074], The unusual behavior is the unusual presentation of the user’s hand, which may be indicative that the user is under duress, wherein the distressed pattern is stored. A distressed behavior of the user’s hand is “unusual” relative to a “normal” pattern.).
Claim 5, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The method of claim 1 wherein the additional analytics are facial recognition analytics (Kocher, Paragraphs [0072] and [0075]).
Claim 6, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the access control point is an exit barrier of a parking lot.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the system in Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith to be equally applicable to an exit in addition to its implementation at an entrance roadway (see Kocher, Paragraphs [0004] and [0025]). Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results.
Claim 10, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The method of claim 1 further comprising: initially identifying the target based on an event of interest (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The activating of the activation switch by a vehicle is functionally equivalent to an event of interest.).
Claim 11, Kocher teaches:
A system for executing additional analytics at an access control point (Kocher, Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a processor (Kocher, Fig. 1: 21); and
a memory coupled to the processor containing a set of instructions thereon that when executed by the processor cause the processor to:
identify a target at an access control point attempting to traverse the access control point (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The target is a vehicle which is attempting to access an area protected by a gate (see Kocher, Fig. 1).);
provide an indication to the target that traversal of the access control point is delayed (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], When the token is determined to be valid, a signal light is activated, which represents that the user has passed the valid token test and is subsequently required to validate biometrics. Therefore, the signal light is indicative to the user that entry beyond the gate is delayed pending additional validation.), the indication indicating during entry of a distress pattern (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The signal light is activated when a disressed pattern is entered and matched.);
direct additional analytics resources to the access control point (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The biometrics sensor is also activated and a biometrics template data file corresponding to the token number is also retrieved to compare for a match.);
run additional analytics on the target using the additional analytics resources (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The biometric image taken by the biometrics sensor is converted to a template and subsequently compared to the file template.); and
allow the target to traverse the access control point once the additional analytics have completed (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], Once a match is determined, the green light or automatic entry lane arrow would be activated, allowing the vehicle to proceed.).
Kocher does not explicitly teach:
The indication including a false reason for the delay;
a memory coupled to the processor containing a set of instructions thereon that when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform the steps,
wherein the additional analytics resources are shared amongst multiple access control points.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the Personnel And Vehicle Identification System Using Three Factors of Authentication (PAVIS-3) to further include memory and instructions stored thereon to operate the system, via the central computer unit (21). Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results without undue experimentation.
Jiang teaches:
The indication including a false reason for the delay (Kocher, Paragraph [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher by integrating the teaching of displaying a false message, as taught by Jiang.
The motivation would be to stall until authorities arrive in a distressed situation (see Jiang, Paragraph [0019]).
Kocher in view of Jiang does not specifically teach:
Wherein the additional analytics resources are shared amongst multiple access control points.
Lee-Smith teaches:
Wherein the additional analytics resources are shared amongst multiple access control points (Lee-Smith, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0017], The multiple cameras are used to cover several points of interest, which include entrances, exits, and destination points. The system is utilized for traffic and crowd control purposes (see Lee-Smith, Paragraph [0043]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher in view of Jiang by integrating the teaching of a monitored spacing utilizing a plurality of cameras, as taught by Lee-Smith.
The motivation would be to provide a level of persistence for effective monitoring of a space to overcome obstacles in monitoring a large areas (see Lee-Smith, Paragraph [0003]).
Claim 12, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The system of claim 11 wherein the target is identified based on an appearance (Kocher, Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0072] and [0074], The unusual appearance is the unusual appearance of the user’s hand, which may be indicative that the user is under duress, wherein the distressed pattern is stored. A distressed appearance of the user’s hand is “unusual” relative to a “normal” pattern.).
Claim 13, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The system of claim 11 wherein the target is identified based on behavior (Kocher, Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0072] and [0074], The unusual behavior is the unusual presentation of the user’s hand, which may be indicative that the user is under duress, wherein the distressed pattern is stored. A distressed behavior of the user’s hand is “unusual” relative to a “normal” pattern.).
Claim 15, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The system of claim 11 further comprising instructions that cause the processor to: initially identify the target based on an event of interest (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The activating of the activation switch by a vehicle is functionally equivalent to an event of interest.).
Claim 16, Kocher teaches:
A processor and the steps of:
identify a target at an access control point attempting to traverse the access control point (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The target is a vehicle which is attempting to access an area protected by a gate (see Kocher, Fig. 1).);
provide an indication to the target that traversal of the access control point is delayed (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], When the token is determined to be valid, a signal light is activated, which represents that the user has passed the valid token test and is subsequently required to validate biometrics. Therefore, the signal light is indicative to the user that entry beyond the gate is delayed pending additional validation.), the indication indicating during entry of a distress pattern (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The signal light is activated when a disressed pattern is entered and matched.);
direct additional analytics resources to the access control point (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The biometrics sensor is also activated and a biometrics template data file corresponding to the token number is also retrieved to compare for a match.);
run additional analytics on the target using the additional analytics resources (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The biometric image taken by the biometrics sensor is converted to a template and subsequently compared to the file template.); and
allow the target to traverse the access control point once the additional analytics have completed (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], Once a match is determined, the green light or automatic entry lane arrow would be activated, allowing the vehicle to proceed.).
Kocher does not explicitly teach:
A non-transitory processor readable medium containing instructions for executing additional analytics at an access control point thereon, that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform the steps,
the indication including a false reason for the delay;
wherein the additional analytics resources are shared amongst multiple access control points.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, for the Personnel And Vehicle Identification System Using Three Factors of Authentication (PAVIS-3) to further include memory and instructions stored thereon to operate the system, via the central computer unit (21). Such a modification would not change the principal operation of the system, as a whole, and would yield predictable results without undue experimentation. The Examiner notes that the Applicant defines a computer-readable medium to be any medium that can contain, store, communicate, propagate, or transport the program (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph [0078]), however, Applicant’s claimed “non-transitory processor readable medium” is interpreted to exclude the computer-readable medium that enable communicating, propagating, or transporting, i.e. signals.
Jiang teaches:
The indication including a false reason for the delay (Kocher, Paragraph [0019]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher by integrating the teaching of displaying a false message, as taught by Jiang.
The motivation would be to stall until authorities arrive in a distressed situation (see Jiang, Paragraph [0019]).
Kocher in view of Jiang does not specifically teach:
Wherein the additional analytics resources are shared amongst multiple access control points.
Lee-Smith teaches:
Wherein the additional analytics resources are shared amongst multiple access control points (Lee-Smith, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0017], The multiple cameras are used to cover several points of interest, which include entrances, exits, and destination points. The system is utilized for traffic and crowd control purposes (see Lee-Smith, Paragraph [0043]).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher in view of Jiang by integrating the teaching of a monitored spacing utilizing a plurality of cameras, as taught by Lee-Smith.
The motivation would be to provide a level of persistence for effective monitoring of a space to overcome obstacles in monitoring a large areas (see Lee-Smith, Paragraph [0003]).
Claim 17, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The non-transitory processor readable medium of claim 16 wherein the target is identified based on an unusual appearance (Kocher, Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0072] and [0074], The unusual appearance is the unusual appearance of the user’s hand, which may be indicative that the user is under duress, wherein the distressed pattern is stored. A distressed appearance of the user’s hand is “unusual” relative to a “normal” pattern.).
Claim 18, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The non-transitory processor readable medium of claim 16 wherein the target is identified based on unusual behavior (Kocher, Fig. 4, Paragraphs [0072] and [0074], The unusual behavior is the unusual presentation of the user’s hand, which may be indicative that the user is under duress, wherein the distressed pattern is stored. A distressed behavior of the user’s hand is “unusual” relative to a “normal” pattern.).
Claim 20, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The non-transitory processor readable medium of claim 16 further comprising instructions that cause the processor to: initially identify the target based on an event of interest (Kocher, Paragraph [0072], The activating of the activation switch by a vehicle is functionally equivalent to an event of interest.).
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kocher (U.S. 2004/0002894 A1) in view of Jiang (U.S. 2003/0172282 A1) in view of Lee-Smith (U.S. 2024/0388676 A1) in view of Merkley et al. (U.S. 10,861,265 B1).
Claim 4, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith does not specifically teach:
Wherein the additional analytics are automatic license plate recognition analytics.
Merkley teaches:
Wherein the additional analytics are automatic license plate recognition analytics (Merkley, Col. 22, Lines 8-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith by integrating the teaching of a control panel as taught by Merkley.
The motivation would be to provide another mode of identifying a person associated with a structure that has accessibility to the structure (see Merkley, Col. 22, Lines 8-21).
Claim 9, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith does not specifically teach:
Wherein the additional analytics are at least one of heat detection, chemical detection, and radiation detection.
Merkley teaches:
Wherein the additional analytics are at least one of heat detection, chemical detection, and radiation detection (Merkley, Col. 33, Lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith by integrating the teaching of a control panel as taught by Merkley.
The motivation would be to provide another mode of identifying a person associated with a structure that has accessibility to the structure (see Merkley, Col. 22, Lines 8-21).
Claim 7-8, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kocher (U.S. 2004/0002894 A1) in view of Jiang (U.S. 2003/0172282 A1) in view of Lee-Smith (U.S. 2024/0388676 A1) in view of Carey (U.S. 2014/0313330 A1).
Claim 7, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith does not specifically teach:
Wherein the access control point controls access of targets on foot.
Carey teaches:
Wherein the access control point controls access of targets on foot (Carey, Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith by integrating the teaching of the analytical technology, as taught by Carey.
The motivation would be to provide real time analysis for security and investigative purposes (see Carey, Paragraphs [0008-0009]).
Claim 8, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The method of claim 1.
Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith does not specifically teach:
Further comprising: causing a camera to pan-tilt-zoom to capture the target.
Carey teaches:
Causing a camera to pan-tilt-zoom to capture the target (Carey, Paragraph [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith by integrating the teaching of the analytical technology, as taught by Carey.
The motivation would be to provide real time analysis for security and investigative purposes (see Carey, Paragraphs [0008-0009]).
Claim 14, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The system of claim 11.
Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith does not specifically teach:
Further comprising instructions that cause the processor to: cause a camera to pan-tilt-zoom to capture the target.
Carey teaches:
Causing a camera to pan-tilt-zoom to capture the target (Carey, Paragraph [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith by integrating the teaching of the analytical technology, as taught by Carey.
The motivation would be to provide real time analysis for security and investigative purposes (see Carey, Paragraphs [0008-0009]).
Claim 19, Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith further teaches:
The non-transitory processor readable medium of claim 16.
Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith does not specifically teach:
Further comprising instructions that cause the processor to: cause a camera to pan-tilt-zoom to capture the target.
Carey teaches:
Causing a camera to pan-tilt-zoom to capture the target (Carey, Paragraph [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the system in Kocher in view of Jiang in view of Lee-Smith by integrating the teaching of the analytical technology, as taught by Carey.
The motivation would be to provide real time analysis for security and investigative purposes (see Carey, Paragraphs [0008-0009]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, necessitated by the Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
/JAMES J YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686