DETAILED ACTION
FOREIGN APPLICATIONS
EP 22199783.6 10/05/2022
EP 23181544.0 06/26/2023
CANADA 3215446 10/04/2023
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Objections
In claim 9, there should be a comma and a space between the first two products listed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coffey (WO 2022/024078 A1, February 3, 2022, cited on IDS).
Coffey teaches a Formulation K comprising 1.0% of sorbitan oleate decylglucoside crosspolymer, 1.0% decyl glucoside (an additional surfactant), 0.20% of a mixture of 1,2-hexanediol and caprylyl glycol (aka 1,2-octanediol), sodium hyaluronate as a polymer/viscosity-increasing agent, propanediol and butylene glycol (an additional solvent), and menthol (a fragrance). Formulation K is free of a quaternary ammonium compound. See Table 1B. The formulations are liquid. See paragraph [0059] and paragraph [0063]. The composition is used to pre-moisten a pad (claim 1), so the composition is applied to an inanimate surface (the pad).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seu-Salerno (EP3078365 B1, April 3, 2020, cited on IDS).
Seu-Salerno teaches a composition comprising 5% of sodium hydroxypropylphosphate laurylglucoside crosspolymer, 5% of pentylene glycol, and 60% of caprylyl/capryl glucoside (an additional surfactant). See Table 1a, composition A12. Composition A12 was then combined with a fragrance and water (an additional solvent) (page 21, last example). The composition was a liquid because it is water-based, and the composition did not contain a quaternary ammonium compound.
Pentylene glycol is a 1,2-alkanediol having 5 carbons, not 6-12 carbons. Seu-Salerno also teaches that 1,2-hexanediol and 1,2-octanediol are alternatives to pentylene glycol and are used at 0-8% or preferably 5% [0121].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to substitute 1,2-hexanediol and/or 1,2-octanediol for pentylene glycol in Seu-Salerno’s composition because Seu-Salerno teaches that any of the three may be used interchangeably. Simple substitution of one or more diol(s) for another would have resulted in the claimed invention, and the results would have been predictable because Seu-Salerno teaches that any of the three are suitable. Seu-Salerno is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor in this application because both Seu-Salerno and the current application are drawn to cleansing compositions.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coffey or Seu-Salerno in view of Roeding (US 20070265352A1).
Coffey and Seu-Salerno teach as set forth above, cleansing compositions which contain 1,2-hexanediol and 1,2-octanediol.
Coffey and Seu-Salerno do not teach the ratio of the two components, and Coffey also does not teach the concentration in claim 5.
Roeding teaches antimicrobial compositions containing 1,2-hexanediol and 1,2-octanediol as a synergistic mixture. See title and abstract. The weight ratio is preferably 3:1 to 1:3 [0034]. The amount of alkanediol in the composition is 0.1 to 10%, preferably 0.4 to 5% [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include 1,2-hexanediol and 1,2-octanediol in a 3:1 to 1:3 ratio in either the Coffey or Seu-Salerno compositions because the 3:1 to 1:3 ratio provides good antimicrobial effect as taught by Roeding.
It would have been further obvious to include the combination of 1,2-hexanediol and 1,2-octanediol at a concentration of 0.4 to 5% because Roeding teaches that 0.4-5% is an appropriate concentration for an antimicrobial based on 1,2-hexanediol and 1,2-octanediol. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05. In this instance, the claimed range 1.5-5% lies inside the range disclosed by the prior art.
Seu-Salerno is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor in this application because both Seu-Salerno and the current application are drawn to cleansing compositions. Likewise, Coffey is also drawn to cleansing compositions.
Conclusion
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Coffey and Seu-Salerno do not teach compositions containing the claimed polymers. Cusack (US20140140936A1) teaches compositions containing the claimed polymers and an organic acid, which is designed to kill microorganisms on surfaces for a period of time after contact. Coffey and Seu-Salerno do not teach a composition designed to kill microorganisms on surfaces for a period of time after contact because they are drawn to cosmetic compositions.
/LAYLA D BERRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693