DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/05/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and dependent claims 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the border" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 20120063236A, hereafter Park).
With regard to claim 1, Park teaches a battery cell comprising an electrode assembly (electrode assembly 300) and a housing (pouch exterior member 200) [0025],
wherein the housing comprises a body and a cover (lower sheet 20b and upper sheet 20a) [0007, fig. 1]; a cavity (internal space) is defined in the body for accommodating the electrode assembly, a part of the body extending beyond the cavity forms a flange (as seen in fig. 1); the cover is disposed over the body to cover the cavity [0007, 0029, fig. 1, fig. 3];
wherein the periphery of the cover is connected to the flange to form a side wing to seal the cavity [0007-0008, fig. 1]; wherein
the battery cell further comprises tabs (tabs 400 and 500 integrally formed with leads 600 and 700), the tabs extend out of the housing through the side wing in a first (height) direction [0025-0026, fig 3]; and
the side wing has a first sealing structure (sealing portion 210) and a second sealing structure (differential sealing portion 250), and a distance between the first sealing structure and a border (outer edge of electrode assembly 300) is greater than a distance between the second sealing structure and the border [0029-0030, fig. 3].
Park does not explicitly teach the claimed range for the difference in distances from the border. However, this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would scale with the extra width of the differential sealing portion (250) of Park and Park teaches adjusting the extra width allows for reinforced sealing near electrode leads (tabs) which would render the claimed range obvious [0030-0031].
With regard to claim 2, Park teaches the tabs (tabs 400 and 500 integrally formed with leads 600 and 700) extend out of the housing through the first sealing structure (sealing portion 210 that includes differential sealing portions 250) [0025-0030, fig 3].
With regard to claim 3, Park teaches the tabs (tabs 400 and 500 integrally formed with leads 600 and 700) extend out of the housing through the second sealing structure [0025-0030, fig 3].
With regard to claim 4, Park teaches the first tab (tab 400 and lead 600) extends out of the housing through the first sealing structure (sealing portion 210 that includes differential sealing portion 250) and the second tab (tab 500 and lead 700) extends out of the housing though the second sealing structure (differential sealing portion 250) [0025-0030, fig 3].
With regard to claim 5, Park teaches a first tab and second tab (tabs 400 and 500 integrally formed with leads 600 and 700) arranged side by side in a direction (width) perpendicular to the first direction [0025-0030, fig. 3].
With regard to claim 6, Park teaches a first sealing structure (center sealing portion 210) is disposed between two second sealing structures (differential sealing portion 250) in the second direction [0025-0030, fig. 3].
With regard to claim 7, Park teaches the second sealing structure (differential sealing portion 250) is disposed between two first sealing structures (center and upper corner sealing portions 210) [0025-0030, fig. 3].
With regard to claim 8, Park teaches the second tab (tab 500 integrally formed with lead 700) is disposed between the first tab (tab 400 integrally formed with lead 600) and the second sealing structure (leftmost portions of sealing portion 210) in the second direction [0025-0030, fig. 3].
With regard to claim 9, Park teaches the first tab (tab 400 integrally formed with lead 600) and the second sealing structure (sealing portion 210) are arranged on the same side (left) of the second tab (tab 500 integrally formed with lead 700) in the second direction [0025-0030, fig. 3].
With regard to claim 10, Park teaches the second sealing structure (central portions of sealing portions 210) is disposed between the first tab and the second tab (tabs 400 and 500 integrally formed with leads 600 and 700) [0025-0030, fig. 3].
With regard to claims 17-19, Park does not explicitly teach the claimed ranges. However, this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since Park teaches adjusting the extra width (analogous to the claimed W2-W1) allows for reinforced sealing near electrode leads (tabs) and adjusting the extra width to provide the benefit of reinforced sealing would render the claimed ranges obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art [0030-0031].
With regard to claim 20, Park teaches a load (external device) and teaches the battery is used to supply power to the load (electrically connected) [0037]
Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claims 1-10, and 17-20 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US 2011/0274955 A1, hereafter Shin).
With regard to claims 11-15, Park does not explicitly teach a concave structure. However, in the same field of endeavor, Shin teaches a concave structure (trimming portion) that goes away from the border (edge) towards the cavity (interior holding electrode assembly 21) [0102-0105, fig. 9]. Shin further teaches the concave structure is arranged on two ends in the second direction [fig. 9, claim 12], between the first and second tabs [fig. 9, claim 13]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the concave structure (trimming portions) of Shin with the battery of Park for the benefit of minimizing a dead space around the electrode leads (tabs) [Shin 0103]. When combined with the battery of Park the trimming portions of Shin would be located adjacent to the tabs and corresponding second sealing structure (differential sealing portion 250) and would therefore result in two second sealing structures on two sides of the central trimming portion (claim 14) and the concave structures being disposed on the second sealing structure in the first direction (being concave inward from, claim 15).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claims 1-10, and 17-20 above, and further in view of Fathollahi et al. (US 2015/0194648 A1, hereafter Fathollahi).
With regard to claim 16, Park does not explicitly teach the claimed thickness. However, in the same field of endeavor, Fathollahi teaches the use of thicknesses between 2mm to 12mm (which overlaps and renders the claimed range obvious) [0060]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the thickness of Fathollahi with the battery of Park since it is known to be a desirable range for use in apertures in mobile devices [Fathollahi 00059-0060].
Conclusion
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724