DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
handling member in claim 1 and disclosed as element 32 and equivalents thereof;
connecting member in claim 2 and disclosed as a plate 23 and equivalents thereof;
gripping member in claim 6 and disclosed as element 25 and equivalents thereof;
angular positioning element adapted to cooperate with the middle in claim 8 and disclosed as element 26 and equivalents thereof;
a member for locking against rotation with respect to the base in claim 10 and disclosed as screws 270 and equivalents thereof.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “hen solicited” seems to be in error for “when solicited”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation of “it” in claims 1 and 10, render the claims indefinite as to what is referring to.
The recitation of “when solicited by a resilient member” in claims 1-2 is unclear. The definition of solicit is ask for or try to obtain from someone. It is unclear how a resilient member would ask for or try to obtain something from someone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH0669888U (JP888) in view of Hauser US 2021/0165371 A1.
Re claim 1, JP888 teaches a press for driving a crystal or a bezel [fig. 1] into a middle 11 of a watch, comprising:
a support 2 to hold the middle 11 in position,
a bracket 14 supporting a tool-holder 7 to which a tool 6 is attached, said tool-holder 7 being movable in translation and cooperating with a handling member 1 so as to slide relative to said bracket 14 along an axis A-A upon actuation of said handling member 1,
wherein the support includes at least two jaws [rollers 12] designed to cooperate with the middle 11 so as to hold it in position.
JP888 does not teach each jaw being movable in a plane P orthogonal to the axis A-A, the jaws being, moreover, designed to bear against an internal surface of the middle and tending to move away from one another when solicited by a resilient member with which the support is equipped, so as to apply clamping forces to said middle.
Hauser teaches jaws 31[fig. 2] being movable in a plane P orthogonal to the axis A-A, the jaws being, moreover, designed to bear against an internal surface of the middle 9 and tending to move away from one another when solicited by a resilient member 39 with which the support is equipped, so as to apply clamping forces to said middle.
Thus, JP888 and Hauser each disclose jaws that cooperate with the middle to hold it in position. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the jaws of Hauser could have been substituted for the jaws of JP888 because both serve the purpose of providing internal clamping force to the middle. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the substitution. Finally, the substitution achieves the predictable result of clamping the middle for installation of crystal or bezels in a watch.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the jaws of Hauser for the jaws of JP888 according to known methods to yield the predictable result of clamping the middle for installation of crystal or bezels in a watch.
Re claim 7, JP888 further teaches wherein the jaws 12 are evenly distributed around the axis A-A.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH0669888U (JP888) in view of Hauser US 2021/0165371 A1 and in further view of Cretenet US 2021/0302915,
Re claims 8-9, JP88 and Hauser teach the invention as discussed above for claim 1 but fail to teach wherein the support comprises an angular positioning element connected to the base and adapted to cooperate with the middle to eliminate any degree of rotational freedom about the axis A-A thereof.
However, Cretenet teaches an angular positioning element 103 adapted to cooperate with the middle to eliminate any degree of rotational freedom about the axis A-A thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the angular positioning element of Cretenet with the system of JP888 in order to yield the predictable result of aligning the middle.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH0669888U (JP888) in view of Hauser US 2021/0165371 A1 and Cretenet US 2021/0302915 and in further view of Koide JP S63259489 A,
Re claims 8-9, JP88, Hauser, and Cretenet teach the invention as discussed above for claim 8 but fail to teach wherein at least one of the jaws comprises a graphic representation for guiding the orientation, relative to the middle, of the bezel or crystal to be driven in.
However, Koide teaches a graphic representation for guiding the orientation, relative to the middle, of the bezel or crystal to be driven in Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the graphic representation of Koide in the system of JP888 in order to yield the predictable result of aligning the middle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not show or fairly render obvious the combination set forth in the claims. In particular, the prior art does not show for claim 2, wherein a support comprises a connecting member (interpreted under 35 USC 112 (f) above) kinematically connected to the jaws so that the connecting member displaces the jaws towards the axis A-A, against the forces exerted by the resilient member. The prior art does not show for claim 10, wherein the support includes comprises an adapter sole adapted to adjust the tension of the resilient member, receiving the second end of the resilient member by way of attachment and being rotatably attached to the base, said sole comprising a member for locking it against rotation with respect to the base.
Correspondence
C. A. R.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/C. A. RIVERA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723