Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10-14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Walpurgis (WO 2019/166496). With respect to claims 1 and 19, Walpurgis discloses the claimed watersports device 24 with a buoyant deck (including top surface of 24; inherently buoyant or else the device would sink) and a cape 2 that extends rearwardly from the deck and is capable of forming a barrier with legs of a user and the water (Figures 9, 19). With respect to claims 2, 5, 10-12, 14, note Walpurgis, Figure 19 and cape holder articulation 26. With respect to claim 4, note Walpurgis, note the title. With respect to claims 6-7, note Walpurgis, handles 56. With respect to claim 8, note Walpurgis, tow eye 18. With respect to claim 13, note Walpurgis, Figure 14. With respect to claim 14, note Walpurgis, page 12, lines 10-20.
Claim(s) 3, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walpurgis (WO 2019/166496) in view of Tinkler et al (US 4649847). With respect to claims 3, 15-18 and 20, Walpurgis does not disclose a flexible cape. Tinkler et al teach a flexible cape 38 or 34. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Walpurgis with the cape being flexible as taught by Tinkler et al with a high likelihood of success for improved safety and comfort. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience in the marine arts and would be aware of various tail appendages for watersports devices.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walpurgis (WO 2019/166496) in view of Villarreal et al (US 2019/0002062). With respect to claim 9, Walpurgis does not disclose a pad. Villarreal et al teach a pad 30. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of Walpurgis with a pad as taught by Villarreal et al with a high likelihood of success for improved comfort. The combination combines known features to achieve predictable results. Note that a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have years of experience in the marine arts and would be aware of various accessories for watersports devices.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Elias (5354222) teaches a water sled. Kenmuir (US 3380090) teaches a water sled.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615