DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the office action filed 09/04/2025, Applicant amended Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-15 and 17-20. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10 of 13, filed 12/02/2025, with respect to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendment. The rejections of Claims 2-4, 6-12, 14-15, and 17-19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/02/2025 with respect to Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s arguments “The trajectories shown in Ishioka's Figs. 6-9 (KM1, KM2, KM3, etc.) represent conventional lane changing trajectories between lanes, rather than the claimed intermediate transition trajectory that is specifically designed to reduce lane changing times and turning times. Ishioka's trajectories are discrete options - either change lanes or keep the current lane - and do not provide the intermediate state between lane centers as claimed. In contrast, the present invention provides a sub-lane-level trajectory with an intermediate transition state that eliminates unnecessary lane changes and turns, as explained in paragraph [0013]:"In addition, driving along the target trajectory may keep an intermediate transition of lane changing from the first lane to the second lane... On the premise of ensuring driving safety, an intermediate transition state of changing a lane to the target lane is kept, and there is no need to change a lane back to the start lane and then change a lane to the target lane in the lane-level trajectory." For at least these reasons, Ishioka fails to disclose each and every element of amended claim 1, and therefore cannot anticipate claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 102.”; Examiner respectfully disagrees. In addition to the trajectories shown in Fig. 6-9, as previously indicated (see Page 4 of office action filed 09/04/2025) Ishioka (Figs. 5D, 6-9 and ¶0069-0105)” Ishioka further discloses Fig. 5D (¶0067--70), comprising a target vehicle ‘M’ configured to generate and execute an exemplary lane deviation trajectory ‘k’ around an obstacle ‘OB’ to a second side (right side) of the driving route. As clearly depicted in the figure, the vehicle does not only “change lanes or keep the current lane”. Instead, the vehicle trajectory comprises an intermediate transition trajectory wherein vehicle ‘M’ is shown to straddle both lanes for a period of time when encountering an obstacle. Therefore, in contrast to applicant’s argument, it is shown here with respect to amended claim 1 that Ishioka further discloses an intermediate transition (Fig. 5d, in the event of encountering an obstacle) from a first lane (Fig. 5D, left lane) to a second lane (Fig. 5D, right lane) adjacent to the first lane in a lane changing process.
Claims 13 and 20 recite similar subject matter as amended Claim 1 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102a1 as being anticipated by Ishioka as indicated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ishioka et al. (U.S. PgPub 2019/001638A1). Ishioka (Figs 5D, 6-9 and ¶0069-0105)
Regarding Claim 1, Ishioka discloses: A trajectory planning method (Fig. 10, and Fig. 6-9 illustrating the effects of the method), performed by a target vehicle (Fig. 6-9, Vehicle ‘M’), the method comprises:
obtaining target information comprising at least one of a driving status of the target vehicle (Fig. 2, ¶0046, “finder 20, the radar 30, and the camera 40, the navigation device 50, a vehicle sensor 60, an operation device 70, an operation detection sensor 72, a changeover switch 80, a travel drive force output device 90, a steering device 92, a brake device 94” provide information comprising a driving status of vehicle ‘M’ to the controller 100) and first road condition information (¶0056; Fig. 2 “host vehicle position recognition unit 102 recognizes a lane (a traveling lane or a host lane) along which the host vehicle M is traveling and a relative position of the host vehicle M in relation to the traveling lane on the basis of the map information 152 stored in the storage unit 150 and the information input from the finder 20, the radar 30, the camera 40, the navigation device 50, or the vehicle sensor 60. The map information 152 is map information having higher accuracy than the navigation map included in the navigation device 50, for example, and includes information on the center of a lane or information on the boundaries of a lane. More specifically the map information 152 includes road information, traffic regulations information, address information (an address and a zip code), facility information, telephone number information, and the like. The road information includes information indicating the type of a road such as an expressway, a toll road, a national highway, or a public road and information on the number of lanes of a road, a width of each lane, a gradient of a road, the position of a road (3-dimensional coordinates including a latitude, a longitude, and a height), a curvature of a curve of a lane, the positions of merging and junction points of a lane, and signs provided on a road. The traffic regulations information includes information of blocking of a lane due to roadwork, traffic accidents, congestion, and the like”);
and determining a first planned trajectory of the target vehicle based on the target information (Fig. 6-9; ¶0098; “the second trajectory generating unit 124 may generate a plurality of lane changing trajectories rather than one lane changing trajectory. Moreover, even when one or a plurality of lane changing trajectories are generated, the second trajectory generating unit 124 continuously generates a trajectory for allowing the host vehicle M to travel while keeping the host lane”), wherein the first planned trajectory comprises a target trajectory (Fig. 6-9, KM1, KM2, KM3, etc.), parallel to a center line of a lane (Fig.3, CL, ¶0057) , and the target trajectory is located in an area between the center line of the lane and a boundary of the lane, or on the boundary (Fig. 3, 6-9; “information on the boundaries of a lane”; e.g. boundaries shown as solid lines for L1 and L2; with a dashed centerline dividing the two lanes), wherein the target trajectory is configured to provide an intermediate transition(Fig. 5d, in the event of encountering an obstacle) from a first lane (Fig. 5D, left lane) to a second lane (Fig. 5D, right lane) adjacent to the first lane in a lane changing process, wherein the first lane is a lane on which the target vehicle is currently located.
Regarding Claim 13, Ishioka discloses: An apparatus(Fig. 2) configured to determine a planned trajectory (Fig. 6-9; ¶0098; “the second trajectory generating unit 124 may generate a plurality of lane changing trajectories rather than one lane changing trajectory.) for a target vehicle (Fig. 6-9, Vehicle ‘M’), and the apparatus comprises:
at least one processor (Fig. 2, ¶0055; “central processing unit”;
and a memory (¶0055; “a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a hard disk drive (HDD), a flash memory, or the like”) coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions (¶0055; “In this way, an onboard computer of the host vehicle M can realize various processes of the first embodiment by cooperation with the hardware functional units and software including programs and the like described above”) for execution by the at least one processor to perform operations comprising:
obtaining target information comprising at least one of a driving status of the target vehicle (Fig. 2, ¶0046, “finder 20, the radar 30, and the camera 40, the navigation device 50, a vehicle sensor 60, an operation device 70, an operation detection sensor 72, a changeover switch 80, a travel drive force output device 90, a steering device 92, a brake device 94” provide information comprising a driving status of vehicle ‘M’ to the controller 100) and first road condition information (¶0056; Fig. 2 “host vehicle position recognition unit 102 recognizes a lane (a traveling lane or a host lane) along which the host vehicle M is traveling and a relative position of the host vehicle M in relation to the traveling lane on the basis of the map information 152 stored in the storage unit 150 and the information input from the finder 20, the radar 30, the camera 40, the navigation device 50, or the vehicle sensor 60. The map information 152 is map information having higher accuracy than the navigation map included in the navigation device 50, for example, and includes information on the center of a lane or information on the boundaries of a lane. More specifically the map information 152 includes road information, traffic regulations information, address information (an address and a zip code), facility information, telephone number information, and the like. The road information includes information indicating the type of a road such as an expressway, a toll road, a national highway, or a public road and information on the number of lanes of a road, a width of each lane, a gradient of a road, the position of a road (3-dimensional coordinates including a latitude, a longitude, and a height), a curvature of a curve of a lane, the positions of merging and junction points of a lane, and signs provided on a road. The traffic regulations information includes information of blocking of a lane due to roadwork, traffic accidents, congestion, and the like”);;
and determining a first planned trajectory of the target vehicle (Fig. 6-9; ¶0098; “the second trajectory generating unit 124 may generate a plurality of lane changing trajectories rather than one lane changing trajectory. Moreover, even when one or a plurality of lane changing trajectories are generated, the second trajectory generating unit 124 continuously generates a trajectory for allowing the host vehicle M to travel while keeping the host lane”) based on the target information, wherein the first planned trajectory comprises a target trajectory (Fig. 6-9, KM1, KM2, KM3, etc.) parallel to a center line of a lane (Fig.3, CL, ¶0057), and the target trajectory is located in an area between the center line of the lane and a boundary of the lane, or on the boundary (Fig. 3, 6-9; “information on the boundaries of a lane”; e.g. boundaries shown as solid lines for L1 and L2; with a dashed centerline dividing the two lanes) , wherein the target trajectory is configured to provide an intermediate transition (Fig. 5d, in the event of encountering an obstacle) from a first lane (Fig. 5D, left lane) to a second lane (Fig. 5D, right lane) adjacent to the first lane in a lane changing process, wherein the first lane is a lane on which the target vehicle is currently located.
Regarding Claim 20, Ishioka discloses: A computer program product comprising computer-executable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (“a read only memory (ROM), a random access memory (RAM), a hard disk drive (HDD), a flash memory, or the like”) that, when executed by a processor (Fig. 2, ¶0055; central processing unit and , cause an apparatus (Fig. 2) to: obtaining target information comprising at least one of a driving status of a target vehicle (Fig. 2, ¶0046, “finder 20, the radar 30, and the camera 40, the navigation device 50, a vehicle sensor 60, an operation device 70, an operation detection sensor 72, a changeover switch 80, a travel drive force output device 90, a steering device 92, a brake device 94” provide information comprising a driving status of vehicle ‘M’ to the controller 100) and first road condition information (¶0056; Fig. 2 “host vehicle position recognition unit 102 recognizes a lane (a traveling lane or a host lane) along which the host vehicle M is traveling and a relative position of the host vehicle M in relation to the traveling lane on the basis of the map information 152 stored in the storage unit 150 and the information input from the finder 20, the radar 30, the camera 40, the navigation device 50, or the vehicle sensor 60. The map information 152 is map information having higher accuracy than the navigation map included in the navigation device 50, for example, and includes information on the center of a lane or information on the boundaries of a lane. More specifically the map information 152 includes road information, traffic regulations information, address information (an address and a zip code), facility information, telephone number information, and the like. The road information includes information indicating the type of a road such as an expressway, a toll road, a national highway, or a public road and information on the number of lanes of a road, a width of each lane, a gradient of a road, the position of a road (3-dimensional coordinates including a latitude, a longitude, and a height), a curvature of a curve of a lane, the positions of merging and junction points of a lane, and signs provided on a road. The traffic regulations information includes information of blocking of a lane due to roadwork, traffic accidents, congestion, and the like”); and determining a first planned trajectory (Fig. 6-9; ¶0098; “the second trajectory generating unit 124 may generate a plurality of lane changing trajectories rather than one lane changing trajectory. Moreover, even when one or a plurality of lane changing trajectories are generated, the second trajectory generating unit 124 continuously generates a trajectory for allowing the host vehicle M to travel while keeping the host lane”) of the target vehicle based on the target information, wherein the first planned trajectory comprises a target trajectory (Fig. 6-9, KM1, KM2, KM3, etc.) parallel to a center line of a lane (Fig.3, CL, ¶0057), and the target trajectory is located in an area between the center line of the lane and a boundary of the lane, or on the boundary. (Fig. 3, 6-9; “information on the boundaries of a lane”; e.g. boundaries shown as solid lines for L1 and L2; with a dashed centerline dividing the two lanes) , wherein the target trajectory is configured to provide an intermediate transition (Fig. 5d, in the event of encountering an obstacle) from a first lane (Fig. 5D, left lane) to a second lane (Fig. 5D, right lane) adjacent to the first lane in a lane changing process, wherein the first lane is a lane on which the target vehicle is currently located.
Regarding Claims 2 and 14, Ishioka further discloses: wherein the driving status comprises a driving route of the target vehicle ((Fig. 5d, and Fig. 6-9, KM1, KM2, KM3, etc.), and the first road condition information comprises one or more of motion information of at least one obstacle or the target lane (Fig. 6-9, obstacles mA, mB, mC; target lane L2); and wherein determining the first planned trajectory of the target vehicle based on the target information comprises: determining the first planned trajectory based on the motion information of the at least one obstacle, wherein the first planned trajectory indicates the target vehicle to drive to the target trajectory, and the target trajectory is on a lane on which the at least one obstacle is located or the target lane, or the target trajectory is on a lane adjacent to a lane on which the at least one obstacle is located or the target lane (Fig. 7-9 indicate a plurality of planned trajectories are determined, for example KM1, KM2, KM3 based on the plurality of obstacles (other vehicles or even pedestrian as shown in Fig. 5D) and the target trajectories include a ‘lane keeping’ trajectory KM3 in the current lane L1 and lane changing trajectories KM1 and KM2 to adjacent Lane L2; that result in the host vehicle ‘M’ changing lanes or maintaining the current lane based on motion information of all the surrounding obstacles/vehicles.)
Regarding Claims 3 and 15, Ishioka further discloses: wherein the first road condition information comprises a first lane on which the target vehicle is currently located (Fig. 6-9, ‘L1’), the second lane (Fig. 6-9, ‘L2’), and motion information of a first obstacle (Fig. 7, ‘mB’) on the second lane, the driving status comprises that the target vehicle drives along a lane changing trajectory (Fig. 7-9, lane changing trajectory indicated by dots), and the lane changing trajectory points from the first lane to the second lane; and wherein determining the first planned trajectory of the target vehicle based on the target information comprises: determining the first planned trajectory as a lane changing keeping trajectory based on the motion information of the first obstacle, wherein the lane changing keeping trajectory comprises the target trajectory, the lane changing keeping trajectory indicates the target vehicle to drive to the target trajectory, and the target trajectory is between a center line of the first lane and a center line of the second lane (Fig. 5D and Fig. 7-9 indicate a plurality of planned trajectories are determined, for example KM1, KM2, KM3 based on the plurality of obstacles (other vehicles or even pedestrian as shown in Fig. 5D) and the target trajectories include a ‘lane keeping’ trajectory KM3 in the current lane L1 and lane changing trajectories KM1 and KM2 to adjacent Lane L2; that result in the host vehicle ‘M’ changing lanes or maintaining the current lane based on motion information of all the surrounding obstacles/vehicles.)
Regarding Claims 4 and 16, Ishioka further discloses: wherein after the determining the first planned trajectory as the lane changing keeping trajectory, the method further comprises: controlling, based on the lane changing keeping trajectory, the target vehicle to drive to the target trajectory; obtaining second road condition information of the target vehicle; and determining a second planned trajectory of the target vehicle based on the second road condition information, wherein the second planned trajectory indicates the target vehicle to change a lane from the target trajectory to the second lane (Fig. 7-9 indicate a plurality of planned trajectories are determined, for example KM1, KM2, KM3 based on the plurality of obstacles (other vehicles or even pedestrian as shown in Fig. 5D) and the target trajectories include a ‘lane keeping’ trajectory KM3 in the current lane L1 and lane changing trajectories KM1 and KM2 to adjacent Lane L2; that result in the host vehicle ‘M’ changing lanes or maintaining the current lane based on motion information of all the surrounding obstacles/vehicles.) and controlling, based on the lane changing keeping trajectory, the target vehicle to drive to the target trajectory; obtaining second road condition information of the target vehicle; and determining a second planned trajectory of the target vehicle based on the second road condition information, wherein the second planned trajectory indicates the target vehicle to change a lane from the target trajectory to the second lane (Fig. 7-9 indicate a plurality of planned trajectories are determined, for example KM1, KM2, KM3 based on the plurality of obstacles (other vehicles or even pedestrian as shown in Fig. 5D) and the target trajectories include a ‘lane keeping’ trajectory KM3 in the current lane L1 and lane changing trajectories KM1 and KM2 to adjacent Lane L2; that result in the host vehicle ‘M’ changing lanes or maintaining the current lane based on motion information of all the surrounding obstacles/vehicles.)
Regarding Claims 5 and 17, Ishiaoka further discloses: wherein the first road condition information comprises the driving route of the target vehicle and motion information of a second obstacle, the second obstacle is located on a first side of the driving route (Fig. 7-9, second obstacle ‘mA’ located on first side (left side) of the driving route) , and the driving route is parallel to the center line (Fig. 3, ‘CL’ and/or dashed centerline marking),of the lane (L1) ; and wherein determining the first planned trajectory of the target vehicle based on the target information comprises: determining the first planned trajectory as a lane deviation trajectory based on the motion information of the second obstacle, wherein the lane deviation trajectory comprises a deviation trajectory and the target trajectory, the deviation trajectory indicates the target vehicle to turn to a second side until the target vehicle drives to the target trajectory, the second side and the first side are on different sides of the driving route (Fig. 7-9 indicate a plurality of planned trajectories are determined, for example KM1, KM2, KM3 based on the plurality of obstacles (other vehicles or even pedestrian as shown in Fig. 5D) and the target trajectories include a ‘lane keeping’ trajectory KM3 in the current lane L1 and lane changing trajectories KM1 and KM2 to adjacent Lane L2; that result in the host vehicle ‘M’ changing lanes or maintaining the current lane based on motion information of all the surrounding obstacles/vehicles.)
Regarding Claims 6 and 18, Ishioka further discloses: wherein the first road condition information comprises motion information of a third obstacle (for example Fig. 7-9, ‘mC’), and the third obstacle is located on the second side of the driving route (Fig. 7-9, second obstacle ‘mC’ located on second side (right side) of the driving route); and wherein the determining the first planned trajectory as a lane deviation trajectory based on the motion information of the second obstacle comprises: determining the first planned trajectory as the lane deviation trajectory based on the motion information of the second obstacle and the third obstacle, wherein the lane deviation trajectory indicates the target vehicle to turn to the second side along the deviation trajectory until the target vehicle drives to the target trajectory, wherein the target trajectory is on the second side of the second obstacle and the first side of the third obstacle, wherein the second side and the first side are on different sides of the driving route (Fig. 7-9 indicate a plurality of planned trajectories are determined, for example KM1, KM2, KM3 based on the plurality of obstacles (other vehicles or even pedestrian as shown in Fig. 5D) and the target trajectories include a ‘lane keeping’ trajectory KM3 in the current lane L1 and lane changing trajectories KM1 and KM2 to adjacent Lane L2; that result in the host vehicle ‘M’ changing lanes or maintaining the current lane based on motion information of all the surrounding obstacles/vehicles.)
Regarding Claims 7 and 19, Ishioka further discloses: wherein the first road condition information comprises motion information of a fourth obstacle (Fig. 5d, ‘OB’) , and the fourth obstacle is located in front of the target vehicle on the driving route; and the determining the first planned trajectory as a lane deviation trajectory based on the motion information of the second obstacle comprises: determining the first planned trajectory as the lane deviation trajectory based on the motion information of the second obstacle and the fourth obstacle, wherein the lane deviation trajectory indicates[[:]] the target vehicle to turn to the second side along the deviation trajectory until the target vehicle drives to the target trajectory, wherein the target trajectory is on the second side of the second obstacle and the second side of the fourth obstacle, wherein the second side and the first side are on different sides of the driving route (Fig. 5D; target vehicle ‘M’ configured to generate and execute a lane deviation trajectory ‘k’ around obstacle ‘OB’ to the second side (right side) of the route. Note, the illustrated trajectories and number of obstacles (vehicles, pedestrians, etc.) is not limiting. ¶0098 “the second trajectory generating unit 124 may generate a plurality of lane changing trajectories rather than one lane changing trajectory. Moreover, even when one or a plurality of lane changing trajectories are generated, the second trajectory generating unit 124 continuously generates a trajectory for allowing the host vehicle M to travel while keeping the host lane. The interference determining unit 125 performs interference determination with respect to a plurality of lane changing trajectories. The lane change control unit 120 selects a traveling route and changes the lane when the trajectories of the host vehicle M and the neighboring vehicle do not interfere and there is an optimal short traveling route and selects a lane keeping trajectory to allow the host vehicle M to travel along the host lane continuously when there is not a route along which it is possible to change the lane, for example”. Therefore it is understood the prior art device and method generates a plurality of trajectories based on the plurality of obstacles detected.)
Regarding Claim 8, Ishioka further discloses: wherein the first road condition information comprises motion information of a fourth obstacle, and the fourth obstacle is located in front of the target vehicle on the driving route; and the determining the first planned trajectory as a lane deviation trajectory based on the motion information of the second obstacle comprises: determining the first planned trajectory as the lane deviation trajectory based on the motion information of the second obstacle, the third obstacle, and the fourth obstacle, wherein the lane deviation trajectory indicates: the target vehicle to drive along the deviation trajectory to the target trajectory, wherein the target trajectory is on the second side of the second obstacle, the second side of the fourth obstacle, and the first side of the third obstacle, or the target vehicle to drive to a first target trajectory in the target trajectory, and then drive to a second target trajectory in the target trajectory, wherein the first target trajectory is on the second side of the second obstacle, the second side of the fourth obstacle, and the first side of the third obstacle, and the second target trajectory is on the second side of the second obstacle, the second side of the fourth obstacle, and the first side of the third obstacle (Fig. 7-9 indicate a plurality of planned trajectories are determined, for example KM1, KM2, KM3 based on the plurality of obstacles (other vehicles or even pedestrian as shown in Fig. 5D) and the target trajectories include a ‘lane keeping’ trajectory KM3 in the current lane L1 and lane changing trajectories KM1 and KM2 to adjacent Lane L2; that result in the host vehicle ‘M’ changing lanes or maintaining the current lane based on motion information of all the surrounding obstacles/vehicles. See also Fig. 5D; target vehicle ‘M’ configured to generate and execute a lane deviation trajectory ‘k’ around obstacle ‘OB’ to the second side (right side) of the route. Note, the illustrated trajectories and number of obstacles (vehicles, pedestrians, etc.) is not limiting. ¶0098 “the second trajectory generating unit 124 may generate a plurality of lane changing trajectories rather than one lane changing trajectory. Moreover, even when one or a plurality of lane changing trajectories are generated, the second trajectory generating unit 124 continuously generates a trajectory for allowing the host vehicle M to travel while keeping the host lane. The interference determining unit 125 performs interference determination with respect to a plurality of lane changing trajectories. The lane change control unit 120 selects a traveling route and changes the lane when the trajectories of the host vehicle M and the neighboring vehicle do not interfere and there is an optimal short traveling route and selects a lane keeping trajectory to allow the host vehicle M to travel along the host lane continuously when there is not a route along which it is possible to change the lane, for example”. Therefore it is understood the prior art device and method generates a plurality of trajectories based on the plurality of obstacles detected, their respective motion information, and the desire to avoid contact with all of the respective obstacles while the target vehicle is driving on the driving route.)
Regarding Claim 9, Ishioka further discloses: wherein the first road condition information comprises the motion information of the second obstacle and motion information of a fourth obstacle, the second obstacle is located on the first side of the driving route, the fourth obstacle is located in front of the target vehicle on the driving route; and the determining the first planned trajectory as a lane deviation trajectory comprises: determining the first planned trajectory as the lane deviation trajectory based on the first road condition information, wherein the lane deviation trajectory comprises a first deviation trajectory, the target trajectory, and a second deviation trajectory, and the lane deviation trajectory indicates the target vehicle to drive along the first deviation trajectory to the target trajectory, and then drive along the second deviation trajectory to the front of the fourth obstacle on the driving route, and wherein the target trajectory is on the second side of the second obstacle and the first side of the fourth obstacle (Fig. 7-9 indicate a plurality of planned trajectories are determined, for example KM1, KM2, KM3 based on the plurality of obstacles (other vehicles mA, mB, mC, etc. or even pedestrian ‘OB’) as shown in Fig. 5D) and the target trajectories include a ‘lane keeping’ trajectory KM3 in the current lane L1 and lane changing trajectories KM1 and KM2 to adjacent Lane L2; that result in the host vehicle ‘M’ changing lanes or maintaining the current lane based on motion information of all the surrounding obstacles/vehicles. See also Fig. 5D; target vehicle ‘M’ configured to generate and execute a lane deviation trajectory ‘k’ around obstacle ‘OB’ to the second side (right side) of the route. Note, the illustrated trajectories and number of obstacles (vehicles, pedestrians,etc.) is not limiting. ¶0098 “ the second trajectory generating unit 124 may generate a plurality of lane changing trajectories rather than one lane changing trajectory. Moreover, even when one or a plurality of lane changing trajectories are generated, the second trajectory generating unit 124 continuously generates a trajectory for allowing the host vehicle M to travel while keeping the host lane. The interference determining unit 125 performs interference determination with respect to a plurality of lane changing trajectories. The lane change control unit 120 selects a traveling route and changes the lane when the trajectories of the host vehicle M and the neighboring vehicle do not interfere and there is an optimal short traveling route and selects a lane keeping trajectory to allow the host vehicle M to travel along the host lane continuously when there is not a route along which it is possible to change the lane, for example”. Therefore it is understood the prior art device and method generates a plurality of trajectories based on the plurality of obstacles detected, their respective motion information, and the desire to avoid contact with all of the respective detected obstacles while the target vehicle is driving on the driving route.)
Regarding Claim 10, Oshioka further discloses: wherein the driving route is located on a start lane different from the target lane, the lane deviation trajectory further comprises the lane changing trajectory, the lane changing trajectory indicates the target vehicle to turn from the target trajectory to the target lane (Fig. 7-9, for example, the prior art discloses the target vehicle ‘M’ trajectories including a driving route on ‘start lane’ L1 as well as lane changing trajectories to a different target lane L2)
Regarding Claim 11, Ishioaka further discloses: wherein determining the first planned trajectory of the target vehicle based on the target information comprises: determining a plurality of candidate trajectories (Fig. 5b, 7-9, plurality of trajectories) of the target vehicle based on the target information; and determining the first planned trajectory from the plurality of candidate trajectories based on at least one of deviation degrees of points on the plurality of candidate trajectories from the center line of the lane (Fig. 8), , curvature of the plurality of candidate trajectories (Fig. 5c; curved trajectory is determined based on road condition), switching degrees of the plurality of candidate trajectories relative to a current trajectory, and a degree of deviation (¶0097; “the lane changeability determining unit 123 may determine whether it is possible to change lane on condition in which an acceleration/deceleration, a turning angle, an expected yaw rate, and the like of each point of the trajectory point KM fall within a predetermined range”) between a lane (l1 or L2) on which the target trajectory is located and a lane on which the driving route (L1 or L2) of the target vehicle is located. (¶0098-0101; “The lane change control unit 120 selects a traveling route and changes the lane when the trajectories of the host vehicle M and the neighboring vehicle do not interfere and there is an optimal short traveling route and selects a lane keeping trajectory to allow the host vehicle M to travel along the host lane continuously when there is not a route along which it is possible to change the lane, for example” and “when an obstacle OB or the like is present on the side in front of the host lane L1 on which the host vehicle M is traveling, the lane change control unit 120 tries to select any one of the plurality of lane changing trajectories generated by the second trajectory generating unit 124 and changes the lane. When it is possible to change the lane, the host vehicle M changes the lane according to any one of the trajectories based on the trajectory points KM1 and KM2 illustrated in FIG. 9, for example. However, when it becomes not possible to change lane due to an abrupt acceleration of the rear reference vehicle mC illustrated in FIG. 9, for example, the host vehicle M travels according to a lane keeping trajectory (the trajectory points KM3 illustrated in the example of FIG. 9) generated together with the lane changing trajectory”)
Regarding Claim 12, Ishioka further discloses: wherein determining the first planned trajectory of the target vehicle based on the target information comprises: determining an action sequence (‘action plan’) based on the target information, wherein the action sequence comprises at least one action and an action time sequence (Fig. 8 shows time sequence for corresponding control of the “ travel drive force output device 90, the steering device 92, and the brake device 94 to execute an example target vehicle trajectory) the at least one action; and determining the first planned trajectory(Fig. 5d and 9, plurality of trajectories) for implementing the action sequence (¶0050; “the automatic driving mode is a driving mode in which some or all of the travel drive force output device 90, the steering device 92, and the brake device 94 are controlled on the basis of an action plan.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Akiyama et al. (U.S. 2019/0196487A1) discloses “The present invention provides a vehicle movement control device which is capable of achieving stable vehicle behavior during the movement of a vehicle in lane changing mode. When calculating a travel path for turning a vehicle to the left side or the right side and then turning the vehicle to the other side, this vehicle movement control device calculates the travel path so that the peak value of the curvature of the travel path decreases in a section where the vehicle speed is higher.” (Abstract) and “FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating a lateral movement amount in a case where driving into an oncoming lane or across a road shoulder occurs for overtaking or obstacle avoidance on a road with one lane in each direction. In this case, a lateral movement amount having a minimum allowance is set to the distance between the object and the vehicle 1.” (¶0049; Fig. 6 shows an intermediate transition movement to avoid an obstacle in a first lane of travel)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN R KIRBY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747