DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (2011-018551) hereafter Suzuki in view of Kamisato et al. (JP 2014044802) hereafter Kamisato.
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki, discloses a seal 20 for an electrical plug device, the seal comprising: a through-opening 21 for passing through an electrical conductor of the electrical plug device, wherein the through-opening 21 extends along a hole axis; and a sealing protrusion 23 arranged in the through-opening, the sealing protrusion 23 extends in a closed manner and at least sectionally obliquely to a normal plane of the hole axis around the hole axis, wherein the sealing protrusion includes a lead-in chamfer.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
However, Suzuki, does not disclose that the through-opening is adapted as an oval oblong hole, and a longitudinal direction of which extends perpendicular to the hole axis, and wherein the sealing protrusion forms, at least sectionally, a straight segment extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the oblong hole.
Kamisato, fig. 12 discloses, the through hole 32’ is adapted as an oval oblong hole, and a longitudinal direction of which extends perpendicular to the hole axis, and wherein the sealing protrusion forms, at least sectionally, a straight segment extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the oblong hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the through hole is adapted as an oval oblong hole, and a longitudinal direction of which extends perpendicular to the hole axis, and wherein the sealing protrusion forms, at least sectionally, a straight segment extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the oblong hole as taught by Kamisato, on order to accommodate oblong shaped cable.
Moreover, Examiner also took official notice that, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the through hole of oval shaped, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the Oval shape of through hole is significant or is anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of making electrical connection with fuse or any conductive body of the assembly. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki, discloses the sealing protrusion 23 extends seamlessly around the hole axis (being integral).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki, discloses a section of the sealing protrusion is offset (see annotated fig.) in the direction of the hole axis from another section of the sealing protrusion.
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki, discloses the sealing protrusion 23 extends along an extension plane which is inclined with respect to the hole axis.
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki, discloses the through-opening 21 is adapted as a round circular hole and the sealing protrusion 23 forms, at least sectionally, a circular segment, annular segment or toroidal segment (see annotated fig.).
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki as modified by Kamisato, discloses the straight segment extends parallel to the normal plane of the hole axis.
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki, discloses n the sealing protrusion 23 has two sections opposite each other with respect to the hole axis.
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki, discloses a second sealing protrusion (another of) 23 is arranged in the through-opening, 21 the sealing protrusion 23 and the second sealing protrusion 23 extend parallel to one another (they are being in one line).
Regarding claim 11, Suzuki, discloses the seal is capable to be adapted as a mat seal.
Regarding claim 12 Suzuki, discloses a housing assembly for an electrical plug device comprising: a housing part 10; and a seal 20 in the housing part 10, the seal 20 including a through-opening 21 and a sealing protrusion 23 arranged in the through-opening, the through opening 21 for passing through an electrical conductor 35 of the electrical plug device, the through-opening 21 extending along a hole axis, the sealing protrusion 23 extending in a closed manner and at least sectionally obliquely to a normal plane of the hole axis around the hole axis, wherein the sealing protrusion includes a lead-in chamfer.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
However, Suzuki, does not disclose that the through-opening is adapted as an oval oblong hole, and a longitudinal direction of which extends perpendicular to the hole axis, and wherein the sealing protrusion forms, at least sectionally, a straight segment extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the oblong hole.
Kamisato, fig. 12 discloses, the through hole 32’ is adapted as an oval oblong hole, and a longitudinal direction of which extends perpendicular to the hole axis, and wherein the sealing protrusion forms, at least sectionally, a straight segment extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the oblong hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the through hole is adapted as an oval oblong hole, and a longitudinal direction of which extends perpendicular to the hole axis, and wherein the sealing protrusion forms, at least sectionally, a straight segment extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the oblong hole as taught by Kamisato, on order to accommodate oblong shaped cable.
Moreover, Examiner also took official notice that, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the through hole of oval shaped, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the Oval shape of through hole is significant or is anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of making electrical connection with fuse or any conductive body of the assembly. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki discloses, the seal 20 includes an outer surface sealing coupled to the housing part (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki discloses, the seal 20 and the housing part 10 are two separate components or form a two-component part.
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki discloses, a section of the sealing protrusion 23 is offset in the direction of the hole axis from another section of the sealing protrusion (see annotated fig. above).
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki discloses, the sealing protrusion 23 extends along an extension plane which is inclined with respect to the hole axis.
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki discloses, an electrical plug device (see fig. 1) comprising: a housing assembly (fig. 1) including a housing part 10 and a seal 20 in the housing part 10, the seal 20 including a through-opening 21 and a sealing protrusion 23 arranged in the through-opening 21, the through-opening 21 extending along a hole axis, the sealing protrusion 23 extending in a closed manner and at least sectionally obliquely to a normal plane of the hole axis around the hole axis; and an electrical conductor 35 extending through the through-opening 21 of the seal, wherein the sealing protrusion 23 abuts the electrical conductor 35 in a sealing manner, wherein the sealing protrusion includes a lead-in chamfer.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
However, Suzuki, does not disclose that the through-opening is adapted as an oval oblong hole, and a longitudinal direction of which extends perpendicular to the hole axis, and wherein the sealing protrusion forms, at least sectionally, a straight segment extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the oblong hole.
Kamisato, fig. 12 discloses, the through hole 32’ is adapted as an oval oblong hole, and a longitudinal direction of which extends perpendicular to the hole axis, and wherein the sealing protrusion forms, at least sectionally, a straight segment extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the oblong hole.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the through hole is adapted as an oval oblong hole, and a longitudinal direction of which extends perpendicular to the hole axis, and wherein the sealing protrusion forms, at least sectionally, a straight segment extending parallel to the longitudinal direction of the oblong hole as taught by Kamisato, on order to accommodate oblong shaped cable.
Moreover, Examiner also took official notice that, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the through hole of oval shaped, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the Oval shape of through hole is significant or is anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of making electrical connection with fuse or any conductive body of the assembly. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 18, Suzuki discloses, a section of the sealing protrusion 23 is offset in the direction of the hole axis from another section of the sealing protrusion (see annotated fig. above).
Regarding claim 19, Suzuki discloses, the sealing protrusion 23 extends along an extension plane which is inclined with respect to the hole axis.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki and Kamisato as applied to claim 1, above, further in view of Hirota Katsunori et al. (JP 2014044802) hereafter Hirota.
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki discloses all the claimed invention except for the seal has a second through-opening with a second sealing protrusion and wherein the sealing protrusion and the second sealing protrusion extend parallel to one another.
Hirota, discloses the seal has two through-opening F1F 51R with a second sealing protrusion 42F, 42R and wherein the sealing protrusion and the second sealing protrusion extend parallel to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the seal has two through-opening with a second sealing protrusion and wherein the sealing protrusion and the second sealing protrusion extend parallel to one another as taught by Kamisato, on order to accommodate oblong shaped cable.
Moreover, Examiner also took official notice that, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a second through-opening with a second sealing protrusion and wherein the sealing protrusion and the second sealing protrusion extend parallel to one another, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8., in order to use mor number of conductor pass through.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has revised the rejection to address the amended claims as discussed above.
Conclusion
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831