Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 & 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. US2023/0187637.
With respect to claim 1, Kwon et al. discloses an electrode assembly comprising:
a metal foil 200 [0054; Figure 5C; 0086-0087] having thereon a conductive coating 250 including a polymeric binder [0055-0058]; and
a self-supporting electrode film of active material 100 [0086; Figure 5C] and fibrillated composite binder, which includes carbon particles and a same polymeric binder [0049-0050], laminated with the metal foil 200 such that the conductive coating 250 is between the metal foil 200 and self-supporting electrode film 100. [Figure 5C]
With respect to claim 2, Kwon et al. discloses wherein the carbon particles include carbon black and nanostructures. [0051]
With respect to claim 3, Kwon et al. discloses wherein the nanostructures are multi-walled, single-walled, graphene, or combinations thereof. [0073]
With respect to claim 4, Kwon et al. discloses, wherein the self-supporting electrode film is 1 to 30 percent by weight of the fibrillated composite binder. [0050; 0075 claim 15]
With respect to claim 5, Kwon et al. discloses wherein the self-supporting electrode film is 70 to 99 percent by weight of the active material. [0070; 0083]
With respect to claim 6, Kwon et al. discloses wherein the conductive coating further includes carbon particles. 0155; 0055-0059]
With respect to claim 7, Kwon et al. discloses wherein the carbon particles of the conductive coating include carbon black, nanostructures, or combinations thereof. [0058]
With respect to claim 9, Kwon et al. discloses wherein the conductive coating is 1 to 50 percent by weight of the polymeric binder. [0055-0058]
With respect to claim 10, Kwon et al. discloses wherein a thickness of the conductive coating is 10 µm or less. [0055; 0060]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. US2023/0187637 as applied to claim 6 above in further view of Cho et al. WO2022/055335 see English (US 2023/0268517)
With respect to claim 8, Kwon et al. discloses wherein the conductive coating contains carbon particles. [0058]
Kwon et al. des not disclose wherein the conductive coating is 50 to 99 percent by weight of the carbon particles of the conductive coating.
Cho et al. discloses an electrode assembly comprising: a metal foil having thereon a conductive coating and a self-supporting electrode film of active material such that the conductive coating is between the metal foil and self-supporting electrode film wherein the conductive coating is 50 to 99 percent by weight of the carbon particles of the conductive coating. [0007; 0032-0038; 0064]
Therefore, it would have bene obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the conductive coating of Choi et al. to include 50 to 99 percent by weight of the carbon particles as disclosed in Kwon et al., in order to allow for improved electrochemical properties
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Herle et al. US 2022/0336813
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751