DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-10,12-14,16,17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Topalian (US 12,080,132) in view of Paraskevakos (US 2007/0172106 A1) in view of Rich (US 6,206,263) and further in view of Kondo (JP H10129896 A).
Referring to claims 1,17 and 20. Topalian discloses a lottery ticket vending machine (100; Figure 1) comprising:
a housing (110);
a ticket drawer column (column of 210) in the housing (110), the ticket drawer column (column of 210) comprising a plurality of ticket drawers (210), each of the ticket drawers (column of 210) configured to hold a strip of lottery tickets (lottery tickets in 200);
a ticket burster (600) in the housing (110), the ticket burster (600) defining a ticket inlet (622) and a ticket outlet (624), the ticket burster (622) movable to a plurality of different ticket receipt positions (see Figure 2), each different ticket receipt position associated with and in alignment with a different one of the ticket drawers (member 600 moves in front of each ticket drawer);
a magnetic material sensor (630; barcode reader) supported by the ticket burster (600) and configured to create signals based on a magnetically sensible material (by reading a barcode) of a lottery ticket that moves from one of the ticket drawers (210) into the ticket burster (600); and
a controller configured to receive the signals created by the magnetic material sensor (The code reader 630 is configured to communicate with the burster controller to provide code scan data to the burster controller. The burster controller is configured to communicate that data to the controller of the ticket vending machine 100; Col. 7 line 2).
Topalian does not disclose wherein the barcode sensor is a magnetic material sensor.
Paraskevakos discloses a system for currency validation wherein a magnetic sensor (60; Para. [0065]) is configured to read information form the currency notes to authenticate the notes via detecting metallic lines or metallic inks imbedded on the note (Para. 0010]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Topalian to include the detection sensor as being a magnetic material sensor as taught by Paraskevakos because using and detecting magnetic signatures on the lottery tickets would provide an alternative means to authenticate the lottery tickets.
Topalian in view of Paraskevakos do not disclose determine if the lottery ticket is improperly positioned based on the signals, and cause a corrective action to be taken responsive to determining that the lottery ticket is improperly positioned.
Rich discloses a material advance tracking system (10; Figure 2) wherein the magnetic sensor (Col. 5 line 11-12) is configured to determine if a sheet (12) is improperly (longitudinal position) positioned based on the signals (input signals from 51), and cause a corrective action (feed the sheet to the correct position) to be taken responsive to determining that the sheet is improperly positioned (50; Figure 2),
wherein each of the lottery tickets (12) comprises a substrate and magnetically sensible material on the substrate (encoder pattern, magnetic tracks; 18), wherein the magnetically sensible material (magnetic tracks; 18) comprises:
(a) a first edge (horizontal portion of 18 perpendicular to the side edges) that is parallel to end edges (ends of the sheet) of the lottery ticket (12) and perpendicular to side edges (20 and 22) of the lottery ticket (12), and
(b) a second edge (member 18 extending along edge 20) that is perpendicular to the end edges (ends of the sheet) of the lottery ticket (12) and parallel to the side edges (side edges 20 and 22) of the lottery ticket..
…for each of the lottery tickets (12) received by the ticket burster from one of the ticket drawers (Topalian), create signals based on detection (detection by 54) of the first edge (horizontal portion of 18 perpendicular to the side edges) and the second edge (member 18 extending along edge 20) of the magnetically sensible material of that lottery ticket (read magnetic tracks)…
..determine, for each of the lottery tickets (16) received by the ticket burster (Topalian) from one of the ticket drawer (600; Topalian).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Topalian in view of Paraskevakos to include determining the lottery ticket (sheet) is improperly positioned based on the signals, and cause a corrective action to be taken responsive to determining that the lottery ticket (sheet) is improperly positioned as taught by Rich because the sheet can be properly aligned as they are being dispensed.
Topalian in view of Paraskevakos and Rich do not disclose based upon received comparison data for the lottery ticket received by the controller from a lottery system, and responsive to determining that the lottery ticket has the position issue, cause a corrective action to be taken for a subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer and such that the subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer is properly positioned.
Kondo discloses disclose a skewing correcting mechanism (Figure 1 and 2) for continuous paper wherein based upon received comparison data for the lottery ticket received by the controller from a lottery system, and responsive to determining that the lottery ticket has the position issue (sensor 17a and17b), cause a corrective action (Para. [0005]) to be taken for a subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer and such that the subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer is properly positioned (see abstract; continuous roll whining the skew is corrected for the following sheets).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Topalian in view of Paraskevakos and Rich to include based upon received comparison data for the lottery ticket received by the controller from a lottery system, and responsive to determining that the lottery ticket has the position issue, cause a corrective action to be taken for a subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer and such that the subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer is properly positioned as taught by Kondo because maintaining the corrected settings would allow the next to feed sheets to be align properly thus reducing adjustment time for sheets to be fed.
Referring to claim 4. Rich discloses a material advance tracking system (10; Figure 2) wherein
the magnetic material sensor (54) is configured to create the signals (Xd; Figure 2) for each lottery ticket received by the burster (600; Topalian) based on a plurality of different magnetically sensible materials (magnetic tracks) of the lottery ticket (sheet).
Referring to claim 5. Rich discloses a material advance tracking system (10; Figure 2) wherein
the magnetic material sensor (54) is configured to create the signals (Xd; Figure 2) for each lottery ticket received by the burster (600; Topalian) based on a plurality of different size magnetically sensible materials (magnetic tracks; would inherently comprise different size tracks) of the lottery ticket (sheet).
Referring to claims 6, 12 and 16. Rich discloses a material advance tracking system (10; Figure 2) wherein
wherein the magnetic material sensor (54) is positioned in the ticket burster (sensor 630 in member 600; Topalian) such that the magnetic material sensor (54) is configured to create the signals for each lottery ticket received by the burster (600; Topalian) based (Xd) on the magnetically sensible material (magnetic tracks) of the lottery ticket before a cutter (640; Topalian) of the ticket burster (600; Topalian) cuts perforations connecting the lottery ticket to a next lottery ticket of the strip of lottery tickets (The ticket cutter 640 is configured to make such cut along the perforations between the two connected instant lottery tickets of such strip. The ticket cutter 640 is controlled by the burster controller and/or the controller of the ticket vending machine 100; Col. 7 line 7).
Referring to claim 7. Rich discloses a material advance tracking system (10; Figure 2) wherein
the controller (50) is configured to determine if the lottery ticket (sheet) has is improperly positioned based on a comparison of the signals and comparison data (reading tracks 18 to determine position; Figure 2).
Referring to claims 8-9. Rich discloses a material advance tracking system (10; Figure 2) wherein
wherein the controller (50) is configured to receive the comparison data (means for comparing said motor encoder signal with a commanded position of said strip material and based on such comparison generating a motor encoder position error signal, said means for comparing also comparing said detecting encoder signal with said commanded position of said strip material and based on such comparison generating a detecting encoder position error signal; see claim 1; Rich).
Referring to claims 10 and 14. Topalian in view of Paraskevakos and Rich do not disclose a display device wherein the corrective action comprises causing a display by the display device of an indication of a ticket position issue.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Topalian in view of Paraskevakos and Rich to include the display device wherein the corrective action comprises causing a display by the display device of an indication of a ticket position issue can be displayed on the display device because the display device displaying the status issues of the dispenser would improve the use experience.
Referring to claim 13. Topalian discloses a lottery ticket vending machine (100; Figure 1) comprising:
a housing (110);
a ticket drawer column (column of 210) in the housing (110), the ticket drawer column (column of 210) comprising a plurality of ticket drawers (210), each of the ticket drawers (column of 210) configured to hold a strip of lottery tickets (lottery tickets in 200);
a ticket burster (600) in the housing (110), the ticket burster (600) defining a ticket inlet (622) and a ticket outlet (624),
movable to a plurality of different ticket receipt positions (member 600 movable in front of member 210), each different ticket receipt position associated with and in alignment with a different one of the ticket drawers (at different 210), comprising a ticket cutter (640),
and comprising a magnetic material sensor (630; barcode reader) configured to create signals based on a lottery ticket (sensor 630 detection inputs) that moves from one of the ticket drawers (210) into the ticket burster (600) based on a magnetically sensible material of the lottery ticket (barcode readable code), and configured to transmit the signals (detection signal for barcode reader 630), wherein the magnetic material sensor (630) is positioned such that the magnetic material sensor (630) can create the signals before the ticket cutter cuts perforations connecting the lottery ticket to a next lottery ticket of the strip of lottery tickets (causing the code reader 630 (such as a compact image sensor or a barcode reader) to read the code (such as a barcode) of that instant lottery ticket, and sending code data to the burster controller and/or the controller of the ticket vending machine 100; (5) at the appropriate time when the perforations connecting that instant lottery ticket to the next instant lottery ticket of that strip are aligned with the ticket cutter 640 causing ticket cutter 640 to cut the perforations; Col. 9 lines 3-11) and
a controller configured to receive the signals created by the magnetic material sensor (The code reader 630 is configured to communicate with the burster controller to provide code scan data to the burster controller. The burster controller is configured to communicate that data to the controller of the ticket vending machine 100; Col. 7 line 2).
Topalian does not disclose wherein the barcode sensor is a magnetic material sensor.
Paraskevakos discloses a system for currency validation wherein a magnetic sensor (60; Para. [0065]) is configured to read information form the currency notes to authenticate the notes via detecting metallic lines or metallic inks imbedded on the note (Para. 0010]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Topalian to include the detection sensor as being a magnetic material sensor as taught by Paraskevakos because using and detecting magnetic signatures on the lottery tickets would provide an alternative means to authenticate the lottery tickets.
Topalian in view of Paraskevakos do not disclose determine if the lottery ticket is improperly positioned based on the signals, and cause a corrective action to be taken responsive to determining that the lottery ticket is improperly positioned.
Rich discloses a material advance tracking system (10; Figure 2) wherein the magnetic sensor (Col. 5 line 11-12) is configured to determine if a sheet (12) is improperly (longitudinal position) positioned based on the signals (input signals from 51), and cause a corrective action (feed the sheet to the correct position) to be taken responsive to determining that the sheet is improperly positioned (50; Figure 2),
wherein each of the lottery tickets (12) comprises a substrate and magnetically sensible material on the substrate (encoder pattern, magnetic tracks; 18), wherein the magnetically sensible material (magnetic tracks; 18) comprises:
(a) a first edge (horizontal portion of 18 perpendicular to the side edges) that is parallel to end edges (ends of the sheet) of the lottery ticket (12) and perpendicular to side edges (20 and 22) of the lottery ticket (12), and
(b) a second edge (member 18 extending along edge 20) that is perpendicular to the end edges (ends of the sheet) of the lottery ticket (12) and parallel to the side edges (side edges 20 and 22) of the lottery ticket..
…for each of the lottery tickets (12) received by the ticket burster from one of the ticket drawers (Topalian), create signals based on detection (detection by 54) of the first edge (horizontal portion of 18 perpendicular to the side edges) and the second edge (member 18 extending along edge 20) of the magnetically sensible material of that lottery ticket (read magnetic tracks)…
..determine, for each of the lottery tickets (16) received by the ticket burster (Topalian) from one of the ticket drawer (600; Topalian).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Topalian in view of Paraskevakos to include determining the lottery ticket (sheet) is improperly positioned based on the signals, and cause a corrective action to be taken responsive to determining that the lottery ticket (sheet) is improperly positioned as taught by Rich because the sheet can be properly aligned as they are being dispensed.
Topalian in view of Paraskevakos and Rich do not disclose based upon received comparison data for the lottery ticket received by the controller from a lottery system, and responsive to determining that the lottery ticket has the position issue, cause a corrective action to be taken for a subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer and such that the subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer is properly positioned.
Kondo discloses disclose a skewing correcting mechanism (Figure 1 and 2) for continuous paper wherein based upon received comparison data for the lottery ticket received by the controller from a lottery system, and responsive to determining that the lottery ticket has the position issue (sensor 17a and17b), cause a corrective action (Para. [0005]) to be taken for a subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer and such that the subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer is properly positioned (see abstract; continuous roll whining the skew is corrected for the following sheets).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Topalian in view of Paraskevakos and Rich to include based upon received comparison data for the lottery ticket received by the controller from a lottery system, and responsive to determining that the lottery ticket has the position issue, cause a corrective action to be taken for a subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer and such that the subsequent lottery ticket from the ticket drawer is properly positioned as taught by Kondo because maintaining the corrected settings would allow the next to feed sheets to be align properly thus reducing adjustment time for sheets to be fed.
Claims 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Topalian (US 12,080,132) in view of Paraskevakos (US 2007/0172106 A1) in view of Rich (US 6,206,263) in view of Kondo (JP H10129896 A) and further in view of Goerg (US 2006/0173576 A1).
Referring to claims 11 and 15. Topalian in view of Paraskevakos, Rich and Kondo do not disclose wherein a corrective action comprises sending a message to a remote monitoring device separate from the vending machine regarding an indication of a ticket position issue.
Goerg discloses an apparatus for identifying product in washrooms (10; Figure 1 and 12) wherein a corrective action comprises sending a message to a remote monitoring device separate from the vending machine regarding an indication of a ticket position issue (DSU 1014 integrated into dispenser 1042 and 1044; Figure 16, wherein member 1040 receives communication regarding the status of the dispenser and displays or information for refill status; Para. [0190]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Topalian in view of Paraskevakos, Rich and Kondo to including a corrective action comprises sending a message to a remote monitoring device separate from the vending machine regarding an indication of a ticket position issue as taught by Goerg because maintenance issues may be resolved more quickly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See modified rejections above in view of new reference of Kondo (JP H10129896 A).
Applicant’s amended limitations are disclosed by the reference of Rich
wherein each of the lottery tickets (12) comprises a substrate and magnetically sensible material on the substrate (encoder pattern, magnetic tracks; 18), wherein the magnetically sensible material (magnetic tracks; 18) comprises:
(a) a first edge (horizontal portion of 18 perpendicular to the side edges) that is parallel to end edges (ends of the sheet) of the lottery ticket (12) and perpendicular to side edges (20 and 22) of the lottery ticket (12), and
(b) a second edge (member 18 extending along edge 20) that is perpendicular to the end edges (ends of the sheet) of the lottery ticket (12) and parallel to the side edges (side edges 20 and 22) of the lottery ticket..
…for each of the lottery tickets (12) received by the ticket burster from one of the ticket drawers (Topalian), create signals based on detection (detection by 54) of the first edge (horizontal portion of 18 perpendicular to the side edges) and the second edge (member 18 extending along edge 20) of the magnetically sensible material of that lottery ticket (read magnetic tracks)…
..determine, for each of the lottery tickets (16) received by the ticket burster (Topalian) from one of the ticket drawer (600; Topalian).
wherein each of the lottery tickets (12) comprises a substrate and magnetically sensible material on the substrate (encoder pattern, magnetic tracks; 18), wherein the magnetically sensible material (magnetic tracks; 18) comprises:
(a) a first edge (horizontal portion of 18 perpendicular to the side edges) that is parallel to end edges (ends of the sheet) of the lottery ticket (12) and perpendicular to side edges (20 and 22) of the lottery ticket (12), and
(b) a second edge (member 18 extending along edge 20) that is perpendicular to the end edges (ends of the sheet) of the lottery ticket (12) and parallel to the side edges (side edges 20 and 22) of the lottery ticket..
…for each of the lottery tickets (12) received by the ticket burster from one of the ticket drawers (Topalian), create signals based on detection (detection by 54) of the first edge (horizontal portion of 18 perpendicular to the side edges) and the second edge (member 18 extending along edge 20) of the magnetically sensible material of that lottery ticket (read magnetic tracks)…
..determine, for each of the lottery tickets (16) received by the ticket burster (Topalian) from one of the ticket drawer (600; Topalian).
It is a suggested the Applicant add additional structure to overcome the teachings of Topalian in view of Paraskevakos in view of Rich.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RAKESH KUMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651