DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 07/13/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 9, 13-14, and 18 are amended.
Claims 21,22 are added.
Claims 1-18,21-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 07/13/2026 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,7-10,13,18,21,22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GRIOT to (US20150281966) in view of WANG to (WO2022094469 A1)
Regarding claims 1,9,13,18 Griot teaches a communication method, applied to a first network element and comprising: ([0101]: SGW/PGW 110 can include a network communicating component 816 for establishing the session for the UE for provisioning credentials to
access the network) receiving first network information of a terminal device, (([0101]: SGW/PGW … establishing the session for the UE ) and sending a first identifier of the first PVS to the terminal device, wherein the first identifier corresponds to the first network information([0102]: "determining specific information regarding a provisioning server"; [0103]: "indicating activation of the one or more data bearers to the UE 106 when the packet data context is established (e.g., based on receiving the create session response to the session request message transmitted to the SGW/PGW 110 that indicates establishment of the packet data context)";… [0104]: "credential requesting component 810 can transmit a request for credentials to credential provisioning server 802 over the one or more bearers"; the credential requesting component 810 being part of the UE 106, see [0090], this requires a preliminary sending of an identifier of the PVS to the terminal device)
GRIOT does not explicitly teach wherein the first network information comprises
network information corresponding to a first provisioning server (PVS), the first PVS corresponds to a first non-public network (NPN), and the first NPN is a non-public network to be accessed by the terminal device, and wherein the network information corresponding to the first PVS includes a data network name (DNN) or network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), first identifier of the first PVS based on the first network information
However, WANG teaches wherein the first network information comprises
network information corresponding to a first provisioning server (PVS), the first PVS corresponds to a first non-public network (NPN), and the first NPN is a non-public network to be accessed by the terminal device, ([0080] discloses LTS hosting networks are usually Non-Public Networks [0173] … the UE 1001 initiates a PDU Session Establishment in the onboarding network 1003 for remote provisioning for the target LTS network) and wherein the network information corresponding to the first PVS includes a data network name (DNN) or network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), [0173] … the UE 1001 initiates a PDU Session Establishment in the onboarding network 1003 for remote provisioning for the target LTS network. In the PDU Session Establishment request message, the UE may use the previously received DNN/S- NSSAI combination. It may also include in the PDU Session Establishment request message an explicit indication that the PDU Session is requested for remote provisioning for LTS networks and/or additional target LTS service or network information, such as the target LTS service identifier or name, the target LTS hosting network identifier or name, etc.))first identifier of the first PVS based on the first network information([0080] discloses LTS hosting networks are usually Non-Public Networks [0173] … Using the target LTS service information provided by the UE, the network 1003 identifies the corresponding remote provisioning configuration (e.g., PVS address) and, in step S1008, returns it to the UE in a PDU Session Establishment Accept message (or, alternately, a UE Configuration Update message). The UE 1001 may now, as shown in step S1010, use the established PDU Session and the received configuration (e.g., PVS address) to access the provisioning server of the target LTS network for retrieving LTS network credentials and other information for selecting and accessing the target LTS network)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Griot include wherein the first network information comprises network information corresponding to a first provisioning server (PVS), the first PVS corresponds to a first non-public network (NPN), and the first NPN is a non-public network to be accessed by the terminal device, and wherein the network information corresponding to the first PVS includes a data network name (DNN) or network slice selection assistance information (NSSAI), first identifier of the first PVS based on the first network information, as suggested by Wang. This modification would benefit the system to establish a reliable network connection.
Regarding claims 2,10, Griot teaches wherein the first network element is a session management network element; ([0101]: SGW/PGW … establishing the session for the UE ) and the receiving first network information of a terminal device comprises: receiving the network information of the first NPN or the network information corresponding to the first PVS from an access management network element([0104]: "credential requesting component 810 can transmit a request for credentials to credential provisioning server 802 over the one or more bearers"; the credential requesting component 810 being part of the UE 106, see [0090], this requires a preliminary sending of an identifier of the PVS to the terminal device).
Regarding claim 7, Griot teaches wherein the first network element has a first correspondence between the first identifier and the first network information([0057] discloses UE 106 can request attachment from MME 112 (e.g., using EAP), via eNB 108, by specifying the credentials received from the service provider network 104. In one example, UE 106 can indicate an authentication type as well. MME 112 can provide the credentials (and/or requested authentication type) to AAA server 122. The AAA server 122 can authenticate the UE 106 to access one or more services on service provider network 104. It is to be appreciated that verifying credentials by the AAA server 122 can additionally include verifying the credentials for a particular usage or service indicated by eNB 108 for UE 106 based on one or more policies for the UE 106 in policy server 126. In any case, once the UE 106 is authenticated, MME 112 can trigger a PDN establishment procedure to the service provider network 104 via SGW/PGW 110 to facilitate providing the requested service to UE 106 over an authenticated connection).
Regarding claims 8, Griot teaches wherein the first correspondence is obtained by the first network element from an application server and/or a default credentials server([0056] eNB 108 can communicate the registration information to the OSU server 130, which can approve the registration information and obtain credentials and/or a certificate, from certificate authority 132, for the UE 106. OSU server 130 can update the AAA server 122 with the credentials for subsequent authentication of the UE 1).
Regarding claim 21, Griot and Wang teaches wherein the network information corresponding to the first PVS includes the DNN(Wang,[0173] … the UE 1001 initiates a PDU Session Establishment in the onboarding network 1003 for remote provisioning for the target LTS network. In the PDU Session Establishment request message, the UE may use the previously received DNN/S- NSSAI combination. It may also include in the PDU Session Establishment request message an explicit indication that the PDU Session is requested for remote provisioning for LTS networks).
Regarding claim 22, Griot and Wang teaches wherein the network information corresponding to the first PVS includes the NSSAL(Wang,[0173] … the UE 1001 initiates a PDU Session Establishment in the onboarding network 1003 for remote provisioning for the target LTS network. In the PDU Session Establishment request message, the UE may use the previously received DNN/S- NSSAI combination. It may also include in the PDU Session Establishment request message an explicit indication that the PDU Session is requested for remote provisioning for LTS networks)
Claim(s) 3-6 ,11-12,14-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GRIOT to (US20150281966) in view of WANG to (WO2022094469 A1) further in view of Kolekar to (US 20220330022 A1)
Regarding claims 3,11,12,14, Griot does not explicitly teach wherein when the network information corresponding to the first PVS is received from the access management network element, the network information corresponding to the first PVS is obtained by the access management network element based on the network information of the first NPN from the terminal device, wherein a second correspondence between the network information of the first NPN and the network information corresponding to the first PVS is configured for the access management network element
However, Kolekar teaches wherein when the network information corresponding to the first PVS is received from the access management network element, ([0044] discloses The AMF 132 can be used to manage access control and mobility and can also include network slice selection functionality. The AMF 132 may provide UE-based authentication, authorization, mobility management, etc., and may be independent of the access technologies. The SMF 136 can be configured to set up and manage various sessions according to network policy) the network information corresponding to the first PVS is obtained by the access management network element based on the network information of the first NPN from the terminal device,( [0080] … UE obtains limited connectivity to the Provisioning Server using a Configuration PDU Session Establishment Request. In the Configuration PDU Session Establishment Request, the UE includes the DCS identity and may also include the provisioning server (PS) identity and/or SO-SNPN identity. When the UE provides the SO-SNPN identity, the SMF in the O-SNPN may decide to override the PS identity provided by the UE and send a new PS identity to the UE in a packet data unit (PDU) Session Establishment Accept as a Protocol Configuration Option (PCO) parameter) wherein a second correspondence between the network information of the first NPN and the network information corresponding to the first PVS is configured for the access management network element([0103] Once remote provisioning of SO-SNPN credentials is completed, the UE may initiate deregistration from the ON-SNPN. Based on ON-SNPN policies, the AMF may start an implementation specific timer once the UE has registered to the ON-SNPN for the purpose of onboarding. Expiry of this timer triggers the AMF to deregister the onboarding registered UE from the ON-SNPN. The AMF may also deregister the UE when the AMF determines that the restricted PDU Session has been released by the SMF)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Griot include when the network information corresponding to the first PVS is received from the access management network element, the network information corresponding to the first PVS is obtained by the access management network element based on the network information of the first NPN from the terminal device, wherein a second correspondence between the network information of the first NPN and the network information corresponding to the first PVS is configured for the access management network element, as suggested by Kolekar. This modification would benefit the system to establish a reliable network connection.
Regarding claims 4,15 Griot does not explicitly teach wherein after the receiving first network information of a terminal device, and before the sending a first identifier of the first PVS to the terminal device, the method further comprises: sending a first authentication request message, wherein the first authentication request message requests to perform authentication on the terminal device; and receiving a first authentication response message, wherein the first authentication response message indicates that the authentication on the terminal device fails
However, Kolekar teaches wherein after the receiving first network information of a terminal device, and before the sending a first identifier of the first PVS to the terminal device, the method further comprises: sending a first authentication request message, wherein the first authentication request message requests to perform authentication on the terminal device;( [0254] 17. The SEAF forwards EAP-Request/EAP-TLS message from step 16 to the UE with Authentication Request message. This message also includes the ngKSI and the ABBA parameter. The SEAF shall set the ABBA parameter as defined in Annex A.7.1) and receiving a first authentication response message, wherein the first authentication response message indicates that the authentication on the terminal device fails([0255] 18. The UE sends an empty EAP-TLS message to the SEAF in Authentication Response message)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Griot include wherein after the receiving first network information of a terminal device, and before the sending a first identifier of the first PVS to the terminal device, the method further comprises: sending a first authentication request message, wherein the first authentication request message requests to perform authentication on the terminal device; and receiving a first authentication response message, wherein the first authentication response message indicates that the authentication on the terminal device fails, as suggested by Kolekar. This modification would benefit the system to establish a reliable network connection.
Regarding claims 5, 16 Griot teaches The communication method according to claim 4, wherein the sending a first identifier of the first PVS to the terminal device comprises: determining, based on the first authentication response message, that the authentication on the terminal device fails, and sending the first identifier of the first PVS to the terminal device([0110] discloses when MME 112 releases the connection, MME 112 may request the UE 106 to detach and reattach so that the UE 106 uses the provisioned credentials. Alternatively, the timer expiration may be interpreted as UE 106 failure to obtain credentials with the OSU server 130. If the provisioning was done through the use of an OSU service provider specific APN, the MME 112 may reject connection requests to such APN after a number of attempts. In any case, UE 106 can identify itself in the attach message, even if it is not using an identifier that is valid for registration in this network).
Regarding claims 6,17 Griot teaches The communication method according to claim 4, wherein the first authentication response message carries the first identifier( [0101]: "network communicating component 816 may receive the request from one or more network components, such as network entity 304, and the request may include a session request sent by gateway communicating component 812 (e.g., at Block 1008). In one example, the request may indicate a provisioning server, a related subscription provider, other indication that the session is for provisioning credentials to a UE, additional specific information regarding the network service provider, and/or the like").
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461