DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on March 30, 2026. Claims 1, 3-27, 29, 30 are still pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 30, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features Li does not teach or suggest outputting an alert message in response to receiving the pre-paging signal.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that the claims are broadly written. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Li discloses outputting an alert message [“…the PEI indicates to the UE to monitor the associated LPWUS transmission occasion…” (par. 147, lines 4-6), the part of the information of the paging message transmitted in the data part of the LPWUS may be information…which includes… (par. 152, lines 4-8) earthquake and tsunami warning system indication…which indicates the earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) primary notification and/or commercial mobile alert service (CMAS) notification…” (par. 152, lines 11-16). It is well known in the field of art that ETWS and CMAS are urgent, geographically targeted, emergency text messages] in response to receiving the pre-paging signal [“…the UE detects the PEI indication…” (par. 147, line 4)]. The ETWS/CMAS is in response to receiving the PEI indication.
The applicant will need to further amend the independent claims to clearly indicate the patentable subject matter.
In view of the above, the rejection using Cheng and Li is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 9-17, 21-27, 29, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2024/0015655) in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2024/0064642).
Consider claim 1; Cheng discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (par. 151, lines 6-9); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (par. 151, lines 6-9) to:
receive a pre-paging signal (e.g. PEI) configuration for reception of a pre-paging signal (e.g. PEI) associated with a first cell (par. 120, lines 1-9);
measure a reference signal to obtain a reference signal received power [RSRP (par. 68, lines 1-8)];
monitor the pre-paging signal (e.g. PEI) from the first cell (par. 120, lines 1-9) in response to one or more conditions being satisfied (par. 120, lines 9-14), where the one or more conditions for monitoring the pre- paging signal (e.g. PEI) (par. 120, lines 9-14) are associated with the pre-paging signal configuration [e.g. PEI (par. 120, lines 1-9)], and wherein the one or more conditions for monitoring the pre-paging signal (e.g. PEI) comprise failure of a criterion (par. 120, lines 9-14) associated with selection of the first cell via a cell selection procedure (par. 68, lines 1-8), wherein the failure of the criterion associated with selection of the first cell comprises the reference signal received power failing to satisfy a first threshold value associated with monitoring for a paging message [e.g. WUS (par. 120, lines 9-14)] from the first cell (par. 120, lines 1-9). Cheng discloses the claimed invention except: receive, based at least in part on the monitoring, the pre-paging signal from the first cell; and output an alert message in response to receiving the pre-paging signal.
In an analogous art Li discloses receive (par. 147, lines 4-8), based at least in part on the monitoring (par. 147, lines 1-4), the pre-paging signal [e.g. PEI (par. 147, lines 4-8)] from the first cell (par. 109, line 1 – par. 110, line 2); and outputting an alert message [“…the PEI indicates to the UE to monitor the associated LPWUS transmission occasion…” (par. 147, lines 4-6), the part of the information of the paging message transmitted in the data part of the LPWUS may be information…which includes… (par. 152, lines 4-8) earthquake and tsunami warning system indication…which indicates the earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) primary notification and/or commercial mobile alert service (CMAS) notification…” (par. 152, lines 11-16). It is well known in the field of art that ETWS and CMAS are urgent, geographically targeted, emergency text messages] in response to receiving the pre-paging signal [“…the UE detects the PEI indication…” (par. 147, line 4)].
It is an object of Cheng’s invention to provide a method for low power wake up signals. It is an object of Li’s invention to also provide a method for low power wake up signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Cheng by including receiving the pre-paging/PEI signal, as taught by Li, for the purpose of efficiently managing communication in a wireless system.
Consider claim 3, as applied in claim 1; Li discloses the reference signal received power satisfying a second threshold value that is lower than the first threshold value (par. 162, lines 3-8).
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 1; Li discloses store data associated with one or more system information blocks for the first cell (par. 109, line 1 – par. 110, line 2; par. 145; par. 147, lines 1-8; par. 152, lines 1-16), wherein monitoring for the pre-paging signal is further based at least in part on storing the data associated with the one or more system information blocks (par. 145; par. 147, lines 1-8; par. 152, lines 1-16).
Consider claim 5, as applied in claim 4; Cheng discloses the UE being within a system information block tracking area associated with the one or more system information blocks (par. 120, lines 8-9; par. 124, line 2 – par. 126, line 7).
Consider claim 9, as applied in claim 1; Cheng discloses transmit a capability message indicating a capability of the UE to operate in accordance with one or more pre-paging modes (par. 120, lines 8-14; par. 146, lines 8-11), wherein receiving the indication of the pre- paging signal configuration is associated with the indicated capability of the UE (par. 120, lines 8-14; par. 146, lines 8-11).
Consider claim 10, as applied in claim 9; Cheng discloses the pre-paging signal configuration indicates at least one pre-paging mode in accordance with the capability of the UE (par. 120, lines 8-14; par. 146, lines 8-11), wherein the pre-paging mode is associated with a set of one or more physical cell identifiers, a set of one or more frequency bandwidths, a set of one or more geographical areas (par. 120, lines 8-14; par. 127, lines 12-20), or any combination thereof associated with monitoring for the pre-paging signal (par. 120, lines 8-14), and wherein monitoring for the pre-paging signal is based at least in part on the pre-paging mode (par. 120, lines 8-14).
Consider claim 11, as applied in claim 1; Cheng discloses the UE operating without having received a synchronization signal block signal associated with the first cell, the UE operating having received the synchronization signal block signal (par. 50, lines 10-12; par. 120, lines 8-14), or the UE operating having received the synchronization signal block signal and paging downlink control information associated with the first cell.
Consider claim 12, as applied in claim 1; Cheng discloses the UE operating without having obtained one or more valid system information blocks associated with the first cell or the UE operating having obtained one or more valid system information blocks associated with the first cell (par. 65, lines 13-16).
Consider claim 13, as applied in claim 1; Li discloses the pre-paging signal configuration indicates a time offset between a pre-paging occasion for receiving the pre-paging signal and a corresponding paging occasion for receiving a paging message, from the first cell, corresponding to the pre-paging signal (par. 35, lines 1-6).
Consider claim 14, as applied in claim 1; Li discloses initiate a random access procedure for communications with the first cell (par. 100, lines 1-8) based at least in part on receiving the pre-paging signal (par. 147, lines 4-8).
Consider claim 15, as applied in claim 1; Li discloses the pre-paging signal indicates a flag type of a plurality of flag types (par. 124, lines 2-7, 10-16; par. 147, lines 4-8), and wherein the alert message is output based at least in part on the flag type (par. 124, lines 2-7, 10-16).
Consider claim 16, as applied in claim 15; Li discloses the plurality of flag types comprises at least one of a voice call flag type, a spam call flag type, a registration update flag type, delay tolerant uplink data flag type, important uplink data flag type (par. 66, lines 1-8; par. 124, lines 10-16), a connected mode flag type, or a flag type associated with the UE being in a cell selection state for a duration exceeding a threshold duration.
Consider claim 17, as applied in claim 15; Li discloses each flag type of the plurality of flag types corresponds to at least one alert type of a plurality of alert types (par. 124, lines 10-16), the plurality of alert types comprising a silent alert message [e.g. display (par. 71, lines 4-7; par. 76, lines 4-6)], a vibration alert message, a ring alert message, and an omitted alert message, and wherein the alert message corresponds to the indicated flag type.
Consider claim 21, as applied in claim 1; Li discloses the alert message indicates for the UE to be relocated to a different physical location [e.g. based on an earthquake or tsunami (par. 124, lines 10-16)].
Consider claim 22; Cheng discloses a network entity, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (par. 151, lines 9-15); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity (par. 151, lines 9-15) to:
receive a capability message indicating a capability of a user equipment (UE) (par. 146, lines 9-11) to operate in accordance with one or more pre-paging modes [e.g. PEI (par. 120, lines 8-14)];
transmit (par. 120, lines 8-14), to the UE (par. 120, lines 8-14), an indication of a pre-paging signal configuration associated with monitoring by the UE for a pre-paging signal (par. 120, lines 8-14) associated with a first cell (par. 120, lines 1-9), wherein the monitoring for the pre-paging signal is dependent on satisfaction of one or more conditions that are associated with the pre-paging signal configuration {this is a non-functional descriptive limitation since the monitoring is not performed by the network entity. It has no bearing on the supposed patentable limitation of the network entity. See MPEP § 2111.04 and 2111.05} [e.g. PEI (par. 120, lines 1-9)], and wherein the one or more conditions being satisfied comprises failure of a criterion associated with selection of the first cell via a cell selection procedure {this is a non-functional descriptive limitation since the monitoring is not performed by the network entity. It has no bearing on the supposed patentable limitation of the network entity. See MPEP § 2111.04 and 2111.05} (par. 68, lines 1-8; par. 120, lines 9-14); and
transmit (par. 120, lines 8-14), to the UE and via the first cell (par. 120, lines 1-9), the pre-paging signal in accordance with the pre-paging signal configuration [e.g. PEI (par. 120, lines 8-14)]. Cheng discloses the claimed invention except: the pre-paging signal is configured to trigger the UE to output an alert message.
In an analogous art Li discloses the pre-paging signal is configured to trigger the UE [“…the UE detects the PEI indication…” (par. 147, line 4)] to output an alert message [“…the PEI indicates to the UE to monitor the associated LPWUS transmission occasion…” (par. 147, lines 4-6), the part of the information of the paging message transmitted in the data part of the LPWUS may be information…which includes… (par. 152, lines 4-8) earthquake and tsunami warning system indication…which indicates the earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) primary notification and/or commercial mobile alert service (CMAS) notification…” (par. 152, lines 11-16). It is well known in the field of art that ETWS and CMAS are urgent, geographically targeted, emergency text messages].
It is an object of Cheng’s invention to provide a method for low power wake up signals. It is an object of Li’s invention to also provide a method for low power wake up signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Cheng by including receiving the pre-paging/PEI signal, as taught by Li, for the purpose of efficiently managing communication in a wireless system.
Consider claim 23, as applied in claim 22; Cheng discloses obtain, from a network function (e.g. macro base station), an indication of the pre-paging signal configuration. (par. 120, lines 1-9).
Consider claim 24, as applied in claim 22; Cheng discloses a reference signal received power failing to satisfy a first threshold value associated with monitoring for a paging message from the network entity [e.g. WUS (par. 120, lines 9-14)].
Consider claim 25, as applied in claim 24; Li discloses the reference signal received power satisfying a second threshold value that is lower than the first threshold value (par. 162, lines 3-8).
Consider claim 26, as applied in claim 22; Cheng discloses the UE being within a system information block tracking area associated with the first cell (par. 124, line 2 – par. 126, line 7).
Consider claim 27, as applied in claim 22; Cheng discloses the UE being with a geographical area indicated by the pre-paging signal configuration (par. 120, lines 8-14; par. 127, lines 12-20).
Consider claim 29; Cheng discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receive a pre-paging signal (e.g. PEI) configuration for reception of a pre-paging signal (e.g. PEI) associated with a first cell (par. 120, lines 1-9);
measure a reference signal to obtain a reference signal received power [RSRP (par. 68, lines 1-8)];
monitor the pre-paging signal (e.g. PEI) from the first cell (par. 120, lines 1-9) in response to one or more conditions being satisfied (par. 120, lines 9-14), where the one or more conditions for monitoring the pre- paging signal (e.g. PEI) (par. 120, lines 9-14) are associated with the pre-paging signal configuration [e.g. PEI (par. 120, lines 1-9)], and wherein the one or more conditions for monitoring the pre-paging signal (e.g. PEI) comprise failure of a criterion (par. 120, lines 9-14) associated with selection of the first cell via a cell selection procedure (par. 68, lines 1-8), wherein the failure of the criterion associated with selection of the first cell comprises the reference signal received power failing to satisfy a first threshold value associated with monitoring for a paging message [e.g. WUS (par. 120, lines 9-14)] from the first cell (par. 120, lines 1-9). Cheng discloses the claimed invention except: receive, based at least in part on the monitoring, the pre-paging signal from the first cell; and output an alert message in response to receiving the pre-paging signal.
In an analogous art Li discloses receive (par. 147, lines 4-8), based at least in part on the monitoring (par. 147, lines 1-4), the pre-paging signal [e.g. PEI (par. 147, lines 4-8)] from the first cell (par. 109, line 1 – par. 110, line 2); and outputting an alert message [“…the PEI indicates to the UE to monitor the associated LPWUS transmission occasion…” (par. 147, lines 4-6), the part of the information of the paging message transmitted in the data part of the LPWUS may be information…which includes… (par. 152, lines 4-8) earthquake and tsunami warning system indication…which indicates the earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) primary notification and/or commercial mobile alert service (CMAS) notification…” (par. 152, lines 11-16). It is well known in the field of art that ETWS and CMAS are urgent, geographically targeted, emergency text messages] in response to receiving the pre-paging signal [“…the UE detects the PEI indication…” (par. 147, line 4)].
It is an object of Cheng’s invention to provide a method for low power wake up signals. It is an object of Li’s invention to also provide a method for low power wake up signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Cheng by including receiving the pre-paging/PEI signal, as taught by Li, for the purpose of efficiently managing communication in a wireless system.
Consider claim 30; Cheng discloses a method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising:
receive a capability message indicating a capability of a user equipment (UE) (par. 146, lines 9-11) to operate in accordance with one or more pre-paging modes [e.g. PEI (par. 120, lines 8-14)];
transmit (par. 120, lines 8-14), to the UE (par. 120, lines 8-14), an indication of a pre-paging signal configuration associated with monitoring by the UE for a pre-paging signal (par. 120, lines 8-14) associated with a first cell (par. 120, lines 1-9), wherein the monitoring for the pre-paging signal is dependent on satisfaction of one or more conditions that are associated with the pre-paging signal configuration {this is a non-functional descriptive limitation since the monitoring is not performed by the network entity. It has no bearing on the supposed patentable limitation of the network entity. See MPEP § 2111.04 and 2111.05} [e.g. PEI (par. 120, lines 1-9)], and wherein the one or more conditions being satisfied comprises failure of a criterion associated with selection of the first cell via a cell selection procedure {this is a non-functional descriptive limitation since the monitoring is not performed by the network entity. It has no bearing on the supposed patentable limitation of the network entity. See MPEP § 2111.04 and 2111.05} (par. 68, lines 1-8; par. 120, lines 9-14); and
transmit (par. 120, lines 8-14), to the UE and via the first cell (par. 120, lines 1-9), the pre-paging signal in accordance with the pre-paging signal configuration [e.g. PEI (par. 120, lines 8-14)]. Cheng discloses the claimed invention except: the pre-paging signal is configured to trigger the UE to output an alert message.
In an analogous art Li discloses the pre-paging signal is configured to trigger the UE [“…the UE detects the PEI indication…” (par. 147, line 4)] to output an alert message [“…the PEI indicates to the UE to monitor the associated LPWUS transmission occasion…” (par. 147, lines 4-6), the part of the information of the paging message transmitted in the data part of the LPWUS may be information…which includes… (par. 152, lines 4-8) earthquake and tsunami warning system indication…which indicates the earthquake and tsunami warning system (ETWS) primary notification and/or commercial mobile alert service (CMAS) notification…” (par. 152, lines 11-16). It is well known in the field of art that ETWS and CMAS are urgent, geographically targeted, emergency text messages].
It is an object of Cheng’s invention to provide a method for low power wake up signals. It is an object of Li’s invention to also provide a method for low power wake up signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Cheng by including receiving the pre-paging/PEI signal, as taught by Li, for the purpose of efficiently managing communication in a wireless system.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2024/0015655) in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2024/0064642) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2019/0150071).
Consider claim 6, as applied in claim 1; Cheng discloses at least one condition of the one or more conditions being satisfied (par. 120, lines 9-14). Cheng and Li disclose the claimed invention except: monitor for one or more system information blocks associated with the first cell; and perform a cell barring procedure to bar the first cell based at least in part on failing to detect the one or more system information blocks.
In an analogous art Lee discloses monitor for one or more system information blocks associated with the first cell (par. 134, lines 1-4); and perform a cell barring procedure to bar the first cell (par. 134, lines 4-7) based at least in part on failing to detect the one or more system information blocks (par. 134, lines 1-4).
It is an object of Cheng’s invention to provide a method for low power wake up signals. It is an object of Li’s invention to also provide a method for low power wake up signals. It is an object of Lee’s invention to provide SIBs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cheng and Li by including cell barring, as taught by Lee, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 7, as applied in claim 6; Cheng discloses pre-paging signal [e.g. PEI (par. 120, lines 8-14)]. Cheng and Li disclose the claimed invention except: perform, after performing the cell barring procedure to bar the first cell, a cell detection procedure for a second cell, wherein monitoring from the first cell is based at least in part on failing to detect the second cell via the cell detection procedure.
In an analogous art Lee discloses perform, after performing the cell barring procedure to bar the first cell (par. 134), a cell detection procedure for a second cell (par. 151, lines 1-5), wherein monitoring from the first cell (par. 151, lines 1-5) is based at least in part on failing to detect the second cell via the cell detection procedure (par. 134).
It is an object of Cheng’s invention to provide a method for low power wake up signals. It is an object of Li’s invention to also provide a method for low power wake up signals. It is an object of Lee’s invention to provide SIBs. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cheng and Li by including cell barring, as taught by Lee, for the purpose of effectively providing services in a telecommunications network.
Consider claim 8, as applied in claim 7; Cheng discloses the UE being with a geographical area indicated by the pre-paging signal configuration (par. 120, lines 8-14; par. 127, lines 12-20).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2024/0015655) in view of Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2024/0064642) in view of Dotan (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2011/0092161).
Consider claim 18, as applied in claim 1; Li discloses establishing a RRC connection (par. 98, lines 1-7). Cheng and Li disclose the claimed invention except: initiate a reestablishment procedure based at least in part on triggering a radio link failure procedure while operating in a connected mode, wherein outputting the alert message is based at least in part on initiating the reestablishment procedure.
In an analogous art Dotan discloses initiate a reestablishment procedure based at least in part on triggering a radio link failure procedure (e.g. based on distance) while operating in a connected mode (par. 42, lines 20-33), wherein outputting the alert message is based at least in part on initiating the reestablishment procedure (par. 42, lines 20-33).
It is an object of Cheng’s invention to provide a method for low power wake up signals. It is an object of Li’s invention to also provide a method for low power wake up signals. It is an object of Dotan’s invention to monitor connections. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cheng and Li by including reestablishing connections, as taught by Dotan, for the purpose of enhancing communication in a network system.
Consider claim 19, as applied in claim 18; Dotan discloses output the alert message based at least in part on a quantity of reestablishment procedure attempts exceeding a threshold quantity of attempts (par. 42, line 26-30).
Consider claim 20, as applied in claim 18; Dotan discloses output the alert message based at least in part on the radio resource control reestablishment procedure being unsuccessful (par. 42, line 26-30).
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646