DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities:
A status of the claim must be changed to “original”.. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-13 and 19-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghimire [US 2024/0284396] in view of Yao [US 2026/0029548].
As claims 6 and 19, Ghimire [US 2024/0284396] discloses a method of operating a global navigation satellite system (GNSS)-capable user equipment (UE) [Fig 5 or 11, Ref 306 is GNSS and NTN capable] comprising: receiving information associated with at least one NTN transmission by a UE via at least one peer-to-peer (P2P) channel [Fig 5 or 11, Par. 0462 discloses Ref 310, Par. 0464 discloses Ref 310 is another UE, send ID, authentication codeword and system time of GNSS to UE via sidelink; The UE attached the ID and codeword to a message to network, Par. 0015 discloses network includes NTN and GNSS, to verify the location of Ref 310 with network based on the location of UE] and performing one or more GNSS position measurements based on the information [Par. 0087, 0407, 0417, 0443, 0447, 0448, 0482 discloses UE performs a measurement position of GNSS in order to obtain the location of UE in order to verify the location of UE is the location of reference point, Par. 0464]. However, Ghimire [US 2024/0284396] fail to disclose performing one or more GNSS position measurements so as not to overlap with the at least one NTN transmission in a time domain, a frequency domain, or both. In the same field of endeavor, Yao [US 2026/0029548] discloses performing one or more GNSS position measurements so as not to overlap with the at least one NTN transmission in a time domain, a frequency domain, or both [Par. 0089 discloses UE adjusts measurement gap with GNSS system in order to not overlap with uplink of UE, Par. 0034-0035 discloses UE using sidelink for exchange data with each other and communicating with NTN].
Since, a method and system for preventing overlapping between two system in dual mode UE is well known. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for prevent overlapping between uplink and measuring location GNSS as disclosed by Yao [US 2026/0029548] into the teaching of Ghimire. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claims 7 and 20, Yao discloses selecting one or more GNSSs, one or more GNSS frequencies, or both, that do not overlap with the at least one NTN transmission in the frequency domain in response to the information [Par. 0015, 0017, 0034-0035, 0089, 0120, 0132 discloses sidelink between UEs and UE select frequence belong to measurement gap that do not overlap with uplink or downlink of OFDMA system], wherein the one or more GNSS position measurements are associated with the selection [Par. 0087 and 0063, UE selects a time or frequency that associated with measurement gap to perform measurement].
As claims 8 and 21, Yao discloses determining that the at least one NTN transmission at least partially overlaps with at least one scheduled GNSS position measurement in the frequency domain and the time domain in response to the information [Par. 0089 discloses uplink/downlink transmission of UE in OFDMA system is overlap with measurement of GNSS, then measurement gap need to adjust to prevent overlap]; and rescheduling the at least one scheduled GNSS position measurement so as not to overlap with the NTN transmission in the time domain based on the determination, wherein the at least one rescheduled GNSS position measurement corresponds to the one or more GNSS position measurements [Par. 0089 discloses uplink/downlink transmission of UE in OFDMA system is overlap with measurement of GNSS, then measurement gap need to adjust to prevent overlap, the measurement of GNSS is performed at new reschedule of measurement gap].
As claims 9 and 22, Yao discloses scheduling at least one GNSS position measurement that at least partially overlaps with the at least one NTN transmission in the frequency domain so as not to overlap with the NTN transmission in the time domain in response to the information [Par. 0015, 0089, 0120, 0132 discloses a measurement gap for GNSS is scheduled for UE to perform measurement location of GNSS and UE is scheduled for no exchanging data with network which supports OFDMA wherein resource is time and frequency resource and measurement gap is time or frequency], wherein the at least one scheduled GNSS position measurement corresponds to the one or more GNSS position measurements [Par. 0015, 0120, 0132 discloses a measurement gap for GNSS is scheduled for UE to perform measurement location of GNSS and UE is scheduled for no exchanging data with network].
As claims 10 and 23, Ghimire [US 2024/0284396] discloses the at least one P2P channel comprises a broadcast channel [Par. 0462 discloses UE broadcast channel for broadcast on sidelink].
As claims 11 and 24, Ghimire [US 2024/0284396] discloses the at least one P2P channel comprises a sidelink channel, a device-to-device (D2D) channel, a Bluetooth channel, or a combination thereof [Fig 5 or 11 discloses sidelink, D2D].
As claims 12 and 25, Ghimire [US 2024/0284396] discloses the information comprises: a flag that indicates the at least one NTN transmission [Par. 0464 discloses temporary ID],
As claims 13 and 26, Ghimire [US 2024/0284396] discloses the information is transmitted via a protocol that is based upon the GNSS-capable UE [Par. 0462 discloses Ref 310 and 306 exchange via a protocol based on ref 306 is capable GNSS].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to pages 12-14, the applicant states that the prior arts do not disclose the claimed invention. In reply, Ghimire discloses a GNSS-capable UE [Par. 0063] for receiving assistance data such as identifier and codeword from another UE via PC5 and UE performs a GNSS measurement to be used for NTN position [Par. 0087 discloses UE performs a GNSS measurement to determine a position, 0358, 0406-0407, 0417, 0443 discloses GNSS and uplink/downlink measurements are used to verify position, 0447-0448] and Yao discloses performing one or more GNSS position measurements so as not to overlap with the at least one NTN transmission in a time domain, a frequency domain, or both [Par. 0058, 0070-0084, 0089].
Since, the examiner only applies the teaching of measurement gap of YAO into the teaching of Ghimier for performing one or more GNSS position measurements so as not to overlap with the at least one NTN transmission in a time domain, a frequency domain, or both. The motivation would have been to resolve the problem of Ghimier when UE performs the GNSS and uplink/downlink measurements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ghimire [US 2023/0258815] discloses a first apparatus, comprising: a GNSS receiver configured to receive GNSS signals, a mobile communication transceiver configured to operate in a mobile communication network, wherein the first apparatus is configured to determine at least one parameter based on the received GNSS signals or use at least one parameter determined by a second or third apparatus based on GNSS measurements, wherein the first apparatus is configured to receive with the mobile communication transceiver an information message from a second apparatus or a third apparatus of the mobile communication network, the information message comprising an integrity information describing an integrity status of the GNSS signals, wherein the first apparatus is configured to at least one out of determine the at least one parameter in dependence on the integrity information, report the at least one parameter taking into account the integrity information, take a specific action in dependence on the integrity information.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414