U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are pending in this application. This application claims priority to provisional application 63/378,423, filed on 10/05/2022. This application claims foreign priority to FR 2213420, filed on 12/15/2022 in France.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on 12/31/2025, is acknowledge.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is sufficient overlap between group I and II and thus no overly burdensome. This is not found persuasive because, as stated in the restriction requirement, inventions I and II are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed because there are nail composition sets/kits comprising nail compositions without the claimed nail composition such as the nail composition disclosed in US 4,283,324 (claims 1-5). The subcombination has separate utility such as hair styling as disclosed in WO 2021/123309 A1) (claims 1-18).
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all these inventions are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required and the inventions require different search queries as well are likely to raise different non-prior are issues under 35 USC 112(b).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 16 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-15 will presently be examined to the extent they read on the elected subject matter of record.
Priority
The examiner noted that the instant application claims FR 2213420 as foreign priority; however, the examiner couldn’t find the certified copy of the claimed FR 2213420 of record. The examiner would appreciate the assistance form the applicants in procuring the documents for addition to the file; otherwise, the claim to foreign priority will not be met and the right of priority may be lost. See MPEP 215.03:
The claim for priority and the certified copy of the foreign application specified in 35 U.S.C. 119(b) or PCT Rule 17 must, in any event, be filed before the patent is granted.
In the application data sheet: applicant bears the ultimate responsibility for ensuring that a copy of the foreign priority application is received by the office from the participating foreign intellectual property office or a certified copy of the foreign priority application is filed, within the time period specified in 37 CFR 1.55(g)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC 112(b)
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
The recitation of " the dispersion of acrylic polymer particles is a dispersion of C1-C4 alkyl (meth)acrylate polymer particles" in claim 1 and the recitations of “the acrylic polymer particles is methyl acrylate and/or ethyl acrylate polymer" in claim 4 and the recitation of “the acrylic polymer particles are at least one selected from the group consisting of: methyl acrylate homopolymers; ethyl acrylate homopolymers; methyl acrylate/ethyl acrylate copolymer; methyl acrylate/ethyl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymers; methyl acrylate/ethyl acrylate/maleic anhydride copolymers; methyl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymers; ethyl acrylate/acrylic acid copolymers; methyl acrylate/maleic anhydride copolymers; and ethyl acrylate/maleic anhydride copolymers” in claim 9 render claims 4 and 9 indefinite. The term (meth)acrylate, as an ester of acrylate, is different from acrylate and acrylate is not a species within (meth)acrylate. It is confusing to one of ordinary skill whether the acrylic polymer is “(meth)acrylate” as recited in claim 1 or is “acrylate" as recited in claims 4 and 9.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
The recitation of "the stabilizer is selected from the group consisting of: isobornyl (meth)acrylate homopolymers; and statistical copolymers of isobornyl (meth)acrylate and of C1-C4 alkyl (meth)acrylate" in claim 1 and the recitations of “the stabilizer is at least one selected from the group consisting of: isobornyl acrylate homopolymers; statistical copolymers of isobornyl acrylate/methyl acrylate; statistical copolymers of isobornyl acrylate/methyl acrylate/ethyl acrylate; and statistical copolymers of isobornyl methacrylate/methyl acrylate" in claim 10 render claim 10 indefinite. The term (meth)acrylate, as an ester of acrylate, is different from acrylate and acrylate is not a species within (meth)acrylate. It is confusing to one of ordinary skill whether the stabilizer is “(meth)acrylate” as recited in claim 1 or is “acrylate" as recited in claim 10.
To expedite the prosecution "t(meth)acrylate” and ”acrylate" are given their broadest reasonable interpretations by the examiner in light of the specification in the 102 and 103 rejections as either "t(meth)acrylate” or ”acrylate".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by El-Khouri et al. (US 2016/0175232 A1).
El-Khouri et al. meet all of the limitations of claims 1, 2, and 4-15. El-Khouri et al. disclose an anhydrous (the instant claim 13) (claim 6) color cosmetic composition for nail (the instant claims 14 and 15) (paragraph 17 and 19) comprising at least one dispersion of acrylic polymer particles, at least one volatile oil (the claimed base composition in the instant claims 1) (title and abstract) and
exemplified example 10 D in table 5 a composition comprising
51.02% by weight of oil dispersion example 3 (49% solids and 51% isododecane);
wherein the oily dispersion of example 3 contains methyl acrylate/ethyl acrylate/acrylic acid (24.5/62.8/12.7) copolymer particles (the claimed acrylic polymer particle in the instant claims 1 and 4-9) stabilized with an isobornyl acrylate/methyl acrylate/ethyl acrylate (92/4/4) statistical copolymer stabilizer (the claimed isobornyl methacrylate homopolymer or statistical copolymer in the instant claim 10) and total (stabilizer + particles) 10% acrylic acid, 20% methyl acrylate, 50% ethyl acrylate and 20% isobornyl acrylate.
The weight percentage of stabilizer (isobornyl acrylate/methyl acrylate/ethyl acrylate) relative to stabilizer + particles is calculated to be 21.739% (20% / 92% = 21.739% based on 20% isobornyl acrylate in 100% stabilizer + particles and 92% isobornyl acrylate in isobornyl acrylate/methyl acrylate/ethyl acrylate) (within the claimed 1-40% by weight of stabilizer relative to stabilizer + particles in the instant claim 2).
No UV-curable material is disclosed by El-Khouri et al. (the 3rd wherein clause in the instant claim 1).
Though El-Khouri et al. do not expressly teach the properties in the instant claims 11 and 12, as a result of the composition having the same components as claimed, the composition would necessarily have the claimed properties, whether expressly recognized by El-Khouri et al. or not. See MPEP 2112.01 II:
"A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over El-Khouri et al. (US 2016/0175232 A1).
The teachings of El-Khouri et al. are described in detail above and that discussion is hereby incorporated by reference.
El-Khouri et al. also teach the composition comprises about 7-40% by total weight of acrylic polymer particles, including all ranges and subranges therebetween (paragraph 74), i.e., including 7% by weight with sufficient specificity according to MPEP 2131.03. The weight percentage of acrylic particle relative to the dispersion is calculated to be 38.35% based on the dispersion of example 3 containing 49% solids with 21.74% stabilizer → dispersion containing 49% solids with 78.26% acrylic particle (100% - 21.74% = 78.26%) → dispersion containing 38.35% acrylic particle (49% x 78.26% = 38.35%). Thus, the weight percentage of dispersion relative to the composition is calculated to be 18.25% based on the composition comprising 7% by total weight of acrylic polymer particles (7% / 38.35% = 18.25%) (within the claimed 0.01-20% by weight of dispersion in the instant claim 3).
Or, alternatively, the weight percentage of dispersion relative to the composition is calculated to be 18.25-104.30% based on the composition comprising 7-40% by total weight of acrylic polymer particles (7% / 38.35% = 18.25% and 40% / 38.35% = 104.30%) (the instant claim 3).
A prima facie case of obviousness typically exists when the range of a claimed composition overlaps with the range disclosed in the prior art, such as in the instant rejection. The claimed range of dispersion is 0.01-20% by weight and the range of dispersion taught in the prior art is 18.25-104.30% by weight and therefor, overlaps with the claimed range. Please refer to MPEP 2144.05:
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,649,270 B2, 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,071,146 B2, 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10,219,991 B2, 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,568,815 B2, 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,576,025 B2, and 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 10,973,753 B2.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patents and is covered by the patents since the patents and the application are claiming common subject matter.
Although the patent and instant claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims in both applications are drawn to the same composition.
Correspondence
/HONG YU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614