DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1–25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No.11,783,984. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a comparison of claims 1-20 of the patent and corresponding claims of the current application side by side to see that every claim limitations of the current application is anticipated by corresponding claim limitations of the patent.
US Patent 11,783,984 B2
Current Application
1.A method for assembling an inductor for use in a Class D amplifier, the method comprising:
obtaining first and second ferrite core pieces, wherein each of the first and second ferrite core pieces are made of substantially similar materials, exhibit substantially similar desired electromagnetic properties, and which are fashioned in a substantially similar manner and shape, and
wherein each of the first and second ferrite core pieces comprises a substantially planar mating surface, a center post, and
a wire core assembly (WCA) channel, wherein the WCA channel surrounds the center post, and comprises a WCA channel inner wall that is also a center post radial outer wall;
a WCA channel outer wall that comprises a substantially circular portion and two substantially linear portions, and wherein
the substantially circular portion is centered between and in contact with the two substantially linear portions to form a substantially smooth wall surface, and
wherein the substantially circular portion
comprises a WCA channel outer wall radius; and
a substantially planar WCA channel surface, and wherein a first substantially planar mating surface of the first ferrite core piece is adapted to planarly mate with a second substantially planar mating surface of the second ferrite core piece;
obtaining a WCA, the WCA adapted to be compressible from a first outer radius to a second outer radius, and the WCA comprising a substantially cylindrical outer radial surface and a substantially cylindrical inner radial surface;
compressing the WCA from the first outer radius to the second outer radius, wherein
the second outer radius is less than the WCA channel outer wall radius, and the first outer radius is greater than the WCA channel outer wall radius;
inserting the compressed WCA into the substantially planar WCA channel about the center post of either the first or second ferrite core piece; and
releasing the compression of the compressed WCA, such that the substantially cylindrical outer radial surface of the WCA is forced against the substantially circular portion of the WCA outer wall,
wherein the WCA substantially cylindrical outer radial surface is located at a maximum, substantially constant distance from the center post radial outer wall due to the steps of inserting and releasing the compression of the compressed WCA.
1.A method for assembling an inductor, the method comprising. 24.the inductor is adapted to be used in a class D amplifier.
(a)obtaining first and second ferrite core pieces,
14. Wherein each of the first and second ferrite core pieces are made of substantially similar materials, exhibit substantially similar desired electromagnetic properties, and which are fashioned in a substantially similar manner and shape.
wherein each of the first and second ferrite core pieces comprises a substantially planar mating surface, a center post, and
a wire core assembly (WCA) channel, wherein the WCA channel surrounds the center post, and comprises a WCA channel inner wall that is also a center post radial outer wall;
a WCA channel outer wall that comprises a substantially circular portion centered between and in contact with two substantially linear portions to form a substantially continuous outer wall, and
wherein the substantially circular portion comprises a WCA channel outer wall
radius; and
a substantially planar WCA channel surface;
25.wherein a first substantially planar mating surface of the first ferrite core piece is adapted to planarly mate with a second substantially planar mating surface of the second ferrite core piece.
(b)obtaining a WCA, the WCA adapted to be compressible from a first outer radius to a second outer radius, and the WCA comprising a substantially cylindrical outer radial surface and a substantially cylindrical inner radial surface;
( c) compressing the WCA from the first outer radius to the second outer radius, wherein the second outer radius is less than the WCA channel outer wall radius, and the first outer radius is greater than the WCA channel outer wall radius; and
( d) inserting the compressed WCA into the substantially planar WCA channel about the
center post of either the first or second ferrite core piece.
2.( e) releasing the compression of the compressed WCA, such that the substantially cylindrical outer radial surface of the WCA is forced against the substantially circular portion of the WCA outer wall.
3.Wherein the WCA substantially cylindrical outer radial surface is located at a maximum,
substantially constant distance from the center post radial outer wall due to the steps of inserting
and releasing the compression of the compressed WCA.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein, following the steps of inserting and releasing, a
substantially uniform cylindrical gap is formed between the center post radial outer wall and the WCA substantially cylindrical inner radial surface.
4.The method according to claim 2, wherein
the WCA substantially cylindrical outer radial surface is located at a maximum, substantially constant distance from the center post radial outer wall due to the steps of inserting
and releasing the compression of the compressed WCA.
4. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: joining the remaining ferrite core piece with the ferrite core piece containing the WCA.
5.The method according to claim 1, further comprising: joining the remaining ferrite core piece with the ferrite core piece containing the WCA.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the wire core assembly is adapted to be substantially
self-locating and self-centering about the center post when located in the WCA channel.
5.The method according to claim 1, wherein
the wire core assembly is adapted to be substantially self-locating and self-centering
about the center post when located in the WCA channel.
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the step of obtaining the WCA comprises: forming the wire core assembly (WCA) from flat magnet wire in a spring-like manner such that the flat magnet wire is bent in a spiral fashion, and exhibits spring-like characteristics.
7.The method according to claim 1, wherein the step of obtaining the WCA comprises:
forming the wire core assembly (WCA) from flat magnet wire in a spring-like manner such
that the flat magnet wire is bent in a spiral fashion, and exhibits spring-like characteristics.
7. The method according to claim 6, wherein the step of forming the WCA comprises: spiraling a
suitable length of flat magnet wire into a plurality of spirals, the flat magnet wire comprising a first pair of substantially parallel surfaces, and a second pair of substantially parallel surfaces, each of which are substantially orthogonal to the first pair of surfaces, and wherein a first length dimension of each of
the first pair of substantially parallel surfaces is substantially smaller than a second length dimension of each of the second pair of substantially parallel surfaces, and wherein the spiraling of the flat magnet wires occurs such that the spiral is formed in a single layer manner, such that the second pair of substantially parallel surfaces of successive spirals of flat magnet wire are located substantially parallel and adjacent to each other, and wherein the WCA substantially cylindrical outer radial surface and the WCA substantially cylindrical inner radial surface are formed by the plurality of the first pairs of
substantially parallel surfaces.
The method according to claim 7, wherein the step of forming the WCA comprises:
spiraling a suitable length of flat magnet wire into a plurality of spirals, the flat magnet wire comprising a first pair of substantially parallel surfaces, and a second pair of substantially parallel surfaces, each of which are substantially orthogonal to the first pair of surfaces, and wherein a first length dimension of each of the first pair of substantially parallel surfaces is substantially smaller than a second length dimension of each of the second pair of substantially parallel surfaces, and wherein the spiraling of the flat magnet wires occurs such that the spiral is formed in a single layer manner, such that the second pair of substantially parallel surfaces of successive spirals of flat magnet wire are located substantially parallel and adjacent to each other, and wherein the WCA substantially cylindrical outer radial surface and the WCA substantially cylindrical inner radial surface are formed by the plurality of the first pairs of substantially parallel surfaces.
8. The method according to claim 7, wherein the step of spiraling comprises: forming a main winding portion of the wire core assembly; and forming first and second leads, respectively, at a first end of the spiral and at a second end of the spiral.
9.The method according to claim 7, wherein the step of spiraling comprises: forming a main winding portion of the wire core assembly; and
forming first and second leads, respectively, at a first end of the spiral and at a second end of
the spiral.
9. The method according to claim 1, wherein the wire core assembly comprises: a substantially
cylindrical arrangement of a length of flat magnet wire, wound in a spiral manner, with a substantially constant inner and outer radius, such that a substantial majority of the wire core assembly is of substantially uniform appearance and exhibits substantially uniform magnetic characteristics; and a first lead portion and a second lead portion, the first and second lead portions located at a first end and second end of the length of flat magnet wire respectively, the lead portions adapted to be connected to external circuitry.
10.The method according to claim 1, wherein the wire core assembly comprises: a substantially cylindrical arrangement of a length of flat magnet wire, wound in a spiral manner, with a substantially constant inner and outer radius, such that a substantial majority of the wire core assembly is of substantially uniform appearance and exhibits substantially uniform magnetic characteristics; and a first lead portion and a second lead portion, the first and second lead portions located at a first end and second end of the length of flat magnet wire respectively, the lead portions adapted to be connected to external circuitry.
10. The method according to claim 9, wherein the step of compressing the wire core assembly
comprises: pushing the first and second lead portion towards each other to a first separation distance wherein the outer radius of the wire core assembly reduces from the first outer radius to the second outer radius such that the wire core assembly can be located within the WCA channel.
11.The method according to claim 10, wherein the step of compressing the wire core assembly comprises: pushing the first and second lead portion towards each other to a first separation distance wherein the outer radius of the wire core assembly reduces from the first outer radius to the second outer radius such that the wire core assembly can be located within the WCA channel.
11. The method according to claim 10, wherein the first outer radius of the uncompressed wire core assembly is larger than the WCA channel outer wall radius, such that when the first and second leads are allowed to return to their uncompressed state, the wire core assembly expands to be retained by the outer wall of the WCA channel, under a state of tension.
12.The method according to claim 11, wherein
the first outer radius of the uncompressed wire core assembly is larger than the WCA channel outer wall radius, such that when the first and second leads are allowed to return to their uncompressed state, the wire core assembly expands to be retained by the outer wall of the WCA channel, under a state of tension.
12. The method according to claim 9, wherein the substantially uniform magnetic characteristics
includes one or more of low shunt capacitance and interwinding capacitance.
13. The method according to claim 10, wherein
the substantially uniform magnetic characteristics includes one or more of low shunt
capacitance and interwinding capacitance.
13. The method according to claim 1, wherein the inductor further comprises a base plate adapted to provide through-holes for the first and second lead portions.
15. The method according to claim 1, wherein
the inductor further comprises a base plate adapted to provide through-holes for the
first and second lead portions.
14. The method according to claim 13, wherein the base plate is made of a substantially similar ferrite material as the first and second core pieces.
16. The method according to claim 15, wherein
the base plate is made of a substantially similar ferrite material as the first and
second core pieces.
15. The inductor according to claim 1, wherein the inductor is adapted to be used in a low pass audio frequency filter.
17. The method according to claim 1, wherein
the inductor is adapted to be used in a low pass audio frequency filter (LPF).
16. The inductor according to claim 15, wherein the low pass audio frequency filter is an inductor capacitor filter.
18. The method according to claim 17, wherein
the low pass audio frequency filter is an inductor-capacitor filter.
17. The inductor according to claim 16, wherein the inductor is adapted to be used in an audio
amplifier.
21. The method according to claim 1, wherein
the inductor is adapted to be used in an audio amplifier.
18. The inductor according to claim 1, wherein the inductor is adapted to be used in a low pass audio frequency filter (LPF), and wherein the LPF is adapted to remove high frequency constant switching frequency components, and wherein the switching frequency is about 400 KHz.
19. The method according to claim 17, wherein
the LPF is adapted to remove high frequency constant switching frequency components, and wherein the switching frequency is about 400 KHz.
19. The inductor according to claim 18, wherein the ferrite core pieces are fabricated from a first ferrite material composition selected for low hysteresis loss when the inductor is operating at the switching frequency of about 400 kHz.
20. The method according to claim 19, wherein
the ferrite core pieces are fabricated from a first ferrite material composition selected for low hysteresis loss when the inductor is operating at the switching frequency of about 400 kHz.
2. The inductor according to claim 1, wherein the inductor is adapted to be used in a low pass audio frequency filter (LPF), and wherein the LPF is adapted to remove high frequency variable switching frequency components, and wherein the variable switching frequency ranges from about 100 kHz to about 800 kHz.
20. The inductor according to claim 2, wherein the ferrite core pieces are fabricated from a second ferrite material composition selected for low hysteresis loss when the inductor is operating at the variable switching frequency that ranges from about 100 kHz to about 800 kHz.
22. The method according to claim 1, wherein
the inductor is adapted to be used in a low pass audio frequency filter (LPF), and wherein
the LPF is adapted to remove high frequency variable switching frequency components, and wherein the variable switching frequency ranges from about 100 kHz to about 800 kHz.
23.The method according to claim 22, wherein
the ferrite core pieces are fabricated from a second ferrite material composition selected for low hysteresis loss when the inductor is operating at the variable switching frequency that ranges from about 100 kHz to about 800 kHz.
The presently claimed invention recites an inductor comprising the same ferrite core structure, WCA channel configuration, and spring-like WCA structure producing the same self-centering and retention characteristics. The continuation claims differ primarily in reciting the assembled structure rather than the assembly method or in presenting minor variations or alternate phrasing of channel geometry and coil characteristics already recited in the patented claims.
Accordingly, Allowance of the present claims would improperly extend the patent term for substantially the same invention. However, this rejection may be overcome by the filing of a terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 C.F.R. § 1.321.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-13, 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aichi et al. (US 2017/0140863) in view of Plager et al. (US 2015/0207473).
Figs. 3 (left) and 10 (right) of Aichi reproduced for ease of reference.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 3, 14, 24 and 25, Aichi et al. (figures 1-3) discloses an inductor and the method for assembling that inductor (§0056-§0060) comprising:
Obtaining a first ferrite core piece (12A) and a second ferrite core piece (12B), each of which are made of substantially similar materials, exhibit desired electromagnetic properties, and which are fashioned in a substantially similar manner and shape (§0057), and wherein per claim 14, each of the first and second ferrite core pieces comprises a substantially planar mating surface (top surfaces of side walls 14 and center post 13), a center post (13), and
a wire (edgewise coil 16 is a coil in which a flat wire is used for the winding wire, §0059) core assembly (WCA) channel (see annotated Fig. 1 below), wherein the WCA channel surrounds the center post (13, see Fig. 10 above), and comprises a WCA channel inner wall that is also a center post radial outer wall;
Fig. 1 of Aichi annotated by the examiner for ease of reference.
a WCA channel outer wall (see annotated Fig. 10 of Aichi on page 3 above in response to the arguments) that comprises a substantially circular portion and two substantially linear portions, and wherein the substantially circular portion is centered between and in contact with the two substantially linear portions to form a substantially smooth wall surface, and wherein the substantially circular portion comprises a WCA channel outer wall radius; and
a first substantially planar mating surface (top surfaces of side walls 14 and center post 13) of the first ferrite core piece is adapted to planarly mate with a second substantially planar mating surface of the second ferrite core piece (Fig. 1);
obtaining a wire core assembly (WCA, 11 of Fig. 1 of Aichi, where 12A and 12B, typical pair of PQ cores (§0124, ferrite cores §0003) from top and bottom when coming together on the planner mating surface of 14 and 13, coil 16 sits in between the cores and forms the WCA), and per claim 4, joining the remaining ferrite core piece (the other piece of the pair) with the ferrite core piece containing the WCA.
the WCA adapted to be compressible (being the metallic flat wire inherently conductive but being each layer touching the next layer inherently has to be suitably insulated and as such magnet wire, also it is inherent that the wire when formed spiral ring, it would have a tendency to spread out radially as well as axially due to elasticity of metal wires and as such when placed in the channel 123 of the dual core, the spiral ring-shaped coil, therefore, would compress against the side walls 14 of the core, please see Fig. 1, §0060) from a first outer radius to a second outer radius (‘OR1’ to ‘OR2’, designated by the examiner in the annotated drawing of Fig. 1 of Aichi) and thus reads on claims 7 and 8 as well, and per claim 6, the wire core assembly when placed symmetrically into the channel of the WCA, because of the circular symmetry of the coil and the channel, it is anticipated that coil would substantially be centered about the center post when located in the WCA channel.
the WCA comprising a substantially cylindrical outer radial surface (the inner wall of the sidewall 14 of the 12A and 12B are considered as the outer surface of the WCA and this surface is substantially cylindrical, see Fig. 1 above, to support the circular coil when the coil pushes against the inner wall of the sidewall 14) and a WCA substantially cylindrical inner radial surface (‘IRS’, designated by the examiner in the annotated drawing of Fig. 1 of Aichi);
compressing the WCA from the first outer radius to the second outer radius (as discussed earlier being the metallic flat wire, inherent elasticity of metal wires would cause the coil compressing against the side walls 14 of the core), wherein the second outer radius is less than a WCA channel outer wall radius, and the first outer radius is greater than the WCA channel outer wall radius (inherently before setting the flat wire wound into a circular coil shape in the channel 123 of the core, in one outer radius direction the coil needs to be set inside the wall, i.e. the outer radius of the coil is less than a WCA channel outer wall radius and the other side outer radius of the coil would be wider than the WCA channel outer wall radius, such that the two ends of the coil needs to be coiled inward, which reads on claim 11, to be able to set against the inside wall (14) of the cylindrical core);
inserting the compressed WCA into the substantially planar WCA (see Fig. 1 above) channel about the center post of either the first or second ferrite core piece (please see the discussion above that the two ends of the coil needs to be coiled inward to be able to set against the inside wall (14) of the cylindrical core); and
releasing the compression, per claim 2, of the compressed WCA, such that the substantially cylindrical outer radial surface of the WCA is forced against the substantially circular portion of the WCA outer wall (clearly if the compressed coil is released inside the channel the outer radial surface of the coil is forced against the inner side of the channel side wall and reads on claim 12 such that the coil be retained by the outer wall of the WCA channel, under a state of tension). Further per claim 3, Wherein the WCA substantially cylindrical outer radial surface is located at a maximum (maximum because of the elasticity of the coil it will push out to as far as it could go), substantially constant distance from the center post radial outer wall (because of the circular symmetry of the cylindrical wall away from the central post) due to the steps of inserting and releasing the compression of the compressed WCA.
Please note that the WCA is then housed in the coil case 20 and firmly placed with screws and potting material (which is not relevant to the current invention) and per claims 8-10, Aichi also teaches forming a main winding portion of the wire core assembly; and forming first and second leads (17A and 17B), respectively, at a first end of the spiral and at a second end of the spiral (see Fig. 1).
Aichi, however, is not explicit about the application of the inductor assembly which leaves it open for any suitable application as a choke coil mountable on a circuit board (§0095).
Plager discloses a Class D amplifier arrangement which has an audio frequency (§0034) low-pass filter (§0041) device comprising inductors as shown in Fig. 2, wherein the inductors are similar to the inductor of Aichi coils wound on PQ cores (§0046) and capacitor C (§0041).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant claimed invention to design the inductor of Aichi such that can be applied in a low pass audio frequency filtering action as taught by Plager. This would essentially find an obvious application of such an inductor in a practical circuit, thereby, suggesting the obviousness of such adoption.
As a consequence of design modification of the Aichi inductor for class D amplifier filtering application, the inductor would read on claims 17-21, 23 and 24 of the current application, since audio frequency ranges from 20 HZ to 20 kHz, so an audio frequency filter (which would allow passing of audio frequency signals) such as modified Aichi inductor obviously would be designed to filter out (block) high frequency switching noise of above 100 kHz (which essentially would include 400 kHz and 800 kHz). Regarding claims 20 and 21, it would also be an inherent characteristics wherein the ferrite core pieces are fabricated from a first ferrite material composition selected for low hysteresis loss when the inductor is operating at the switching frequency of about 400kHz since the prior art of Aichi et al. is built structurally similarly to the claimed limitations and because low hysteresis loss is an important figure of merit for an inductor in such applications (as an extraneous reference please see “Modeling losses in magnetic components” by Lee Teschler and RANJITH BRAMANPALLI, published in Power Electronic Tips on 02/27/2017).
Since both the outer surface of the center post and the inner surface of the edgewise coil 16 are circular, when placed symmetrically there would substantially be an uniform cylindrical gap formed between the center post radial outer wall and the coils substantially cylindrical inner radial surface and the resultant inductor assembly of Aichi modified in view of Plager for Class D audio amplifier filtering action would also read on claim 4.
Regarding claim 8, Aichi et al. (Fig. 1 and §0059) discloses a substantially cylindrical arrangement of a length of flat magnet wire, wound in a single layer, spiral manner, with a substantially constant inner and outer radius, such that a substantial majority of the wire core assembly is of substantially uniform appearance and exhibits substantially uniform magnetic characteristics; and a first lead portion (17A) and a second lead portion (17B), the first and second lead portions located at a first end and second end of the length of flat magnet wire respectively, the lead portions adapted to be connected to external circuitry.
Regarding claim 13, it would be an inherent characteristics wherein the substantially uniform magnetic characteristics includes one or more of low shunt capacitance and interwinding capacitance since the prior art of Aichi et al. is built structurally similarly to the claimed limitations because low shunt capacitance and interwinding capacitance are an important figure of merit for an inductor in such applications (as an extraneous reference please see “Modeling losses in magnetic components” by Lee Teschler and RANJITH BRAMANPALLI, published in Power Electronic Tips on 02/27/2017).
Regarding claim 15, Aichi also teaches that the inductor further comprises a base plate adapted to provide through-holes for the first and second lead portions (see Figs 18-20).
Further per claim 16, although not explicitly mentioned, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the base plate is made of a substantially similar ferrite material as the first and second core pieces for making sure that that the magnetic properties of the housing material is similar to the core for uniformity of the magnetic flux in and around the housing of the coil.
Conclusion
/HAFIZUR RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843