Detailed Action
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 5th, 2023, October 7th, 2024, October 11th, 2024, and June 9th, 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2021/0014394) in view of Chan (US 2022/0188539).
Regarding claim 1, Han discloses a wearable electronic device ([0111], “augmented reality (AR) glass, virtual reality (VR) headset”) comprising:
a camera (Figs. 1-10, element 1000),
wherein the camera ([0088], “image capturing apparatus 1000”) includes a lens module (1300) including at least one meta-lens (140) comprising nanostructures (NS) arranged in at least two dimensions (as shown in Fig. 2, the nanostructures are arranged in two dimensions) and an image sensor configured to detect light guided by the lens module (1200).
Han does not specifically disclose a frame; a first temple connected to a side of the frame; a second temple connected to an opposite side of the frame; and a camera located in a region of the frame.
However Chan, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a wearable electronic device, teaches a frame (Figs. 1-2, element 105); a first temple connected to a side of the frame (125a); a second temple connected to an opposite side of the frame (125b); and a camera located in a region of the frame ([0033], “right visible light camera 114B connected to the frame 105 or the right temple portion 110B”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han with the frame; a first temple connected to a side of the frame; a second temple connected to an opposite side of the frame; and a camera located in a region of the frame as taught by Chan, for the purpose of simulating binocular vision for three-dimensional images ([0032]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Han further discloses wherein the lens module further includes a protective layer disposed on a light incident plane side of the lens module ([0063], “nano-structure NS is supported by the spacer layer 130, and may also be covered and protected by a protection layer PR”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Han further discloses wherein the lens module further includes a light blocking film (element 120 and 123, [0051], “band pass filter 120 may transmit light of one color from among red, green, and blue and block light of the other colors”) in contact with at least one surface other than a light incident plane of the lens module and a light exit plane of the lens module (as shown in Figs. 1 and 10, elements 120 and 123 are in contact with 140 while also contacting an object side surface of 110).
Regarding claim 4, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Han further discloses wherein the lens module further includes an optical filter (123) disposed on a light exit plane side of the lens module (as shown in Fig. 10, 123 is on a light exit side of 140), and
wherein the optical filter is configured to selectively pass light in a preset wavelength band ([0051], “band pass filter 120 may transmit light of one color from among red, green, and blue and block light of the other colors”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above and Han further discloses wherein the lens module further includes a substrate (110), and the at least one meta-lens is located on the substrate ([0090], “The meta-optical device 1300 includes the substrate 110, a band pass filter 123, the spacer layer 130, and the meta-lens 140”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 6 rejection above and Han further discloses wherein the substrate has a refractive index different from a refractive index of the nanostructures included in the at least one meta-lens ([0064], “The nano-structure NS may have a high refractive index that differs by 0.5 or more from the refractive index of a surrounding material”).
Regarding claim 8, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the camera is configured to obtain an image in a direction corresponding to a user's gaze.
However Chan, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a wearable electronic device, teaches wherein the camera (114B) is configured to obtain an image in a direction corresponding to a user's gaze ([0043], “The right (second) visible light camera 114B is connected to the right see-through image display 180D of right optical assembly 180B to generate a second background scene”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han in view of Chan with the wherein the camera is configured to obtain an image in a direction corresponding to a user's gaze as taught by Chan, for the purpose of simulating binocular vision for three-dimensional images ([0032]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the camera is configured to obtain an image corresponding to at least a portion of a user's eye.
However Chan, in the same field of endeavor because both teach a wearable electronic device, teaches wherein the camera (220) is configured to obtain an image corresponding to at least a portion of a user's eye ([0080], “an eye movement tracker 213 (e.g., shown as infrared emitter 215 and infrared camera 220 in FIG. 2B)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han in view of Chan with the wherein the camera is configured to obtain an image corresponding to at least a portion of a user's eye as taught by Chan, for the purpose of simulating binocular vision for three-dimensional images ([0032]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2021/0014394) in view of Chan (US 2022/0188539), further in view of Takachi (US 2012/0205766).
Regarding claim 5, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 1 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the camera includes a bonding member configured to bond the lens module and the image sensor, and wherein the bonding member is located between at least a light exit plane of the lens module and the image sensor.
However Takachi in the same field of endeavor because both teach a wearable electronic device, teaches wherein the camera includes a bonding member (Fig. 3, element 501) configured to bond the lens module and the image sensor ([0112], “bonding layer 501 … sticks the sensor component 100 and the infrared cut filter 300 together”), and wherein the bonding member is located between at least a light exit plane of the lens module and the image sensor ([0112], “bonding layer 501 is provided around the cavity section 600 between the sensor component 100 and the infrared cut filter 300 and sticks the sensor component 100 and the infrared cut filter 300 together”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han in view of Chan with the wherein the camera includes a bonding member configured to bond the lens module and the image sensor, and wherein the bonding member is located between at least a light exit plane of the lens module and the image sensor as taught by Takachi, for the purpose of improving efficiency, cost, and reliability ([0018]).
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2021/0014394) in view of Takachi (US 2012/0205766).
Regarding claim 10, Han discloses a camera (Figs. 1-10, [0088], “image capturing apparatus 1000”) comprising:
a lens module (1300) including at least one meta-lens (140) comprising nanostructures (NS) arranged in first and second dimensions (as shown in Fig. 2, the nanostructures are arranged in two dimensions);
an image sensor configured to detect light guided by the lens module (1200); and
wherein the image sensor (1200) includes a light receiving region configured to convert received light into an electrical signal ([0091], “image sensor 1200 converts an optical image of an object OBJ formed by the lens assembly 1500 and the meta-lens 140 into an electrical signal”).
Han does not specifically disclose a bonding member, comprising bonding material, configured to bond at least a light exit plane of the lens module and the image sensor, a peripheral region located at least partially around the light receiving region, and wherein a surface of the bonding member is in contact with a region of the lens module, and another surface of the bonding member is in contact with the peripheral region of the image sensor.
However Takachi in the same field of endeavor because both teach a wearable electronic device, teaches a bonding member (Fig. 3, element 501), comprising bonding material, configured to bond at least a light exit plane of the lens module and the image sensor ([0112], “bonding layer 501 … sticks the sensor component 100 and the infrared cut filter 300 together”), a peripheral region located at least partially around the light receiving region (as shown in Fig. 3, 100 has a peripheral region under 501), and wherein a surface of the bonding member is in contact with a region of the lens module (as shown in Fig. 3, 501 contacts the lens module 300), and another surface of the bonding member is in contact with the peripheral region of the image sensor ([0112], “bonding layer 501 is provided around the cavity section 600 between the sensor component 100 and the infrared cut filter 300 and sticks the sensor component 100 and the infrared cut filter 300 together”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han with the bonding member, comprising bonding material, configured to bond at least a light exit plane of the lens module and the image sensor, a peripheral region located at least partially around the light receiving region, and wherein a surface of the bonding member is in contact with a region of the lens module, and another surface of the bonding member is in contact with the peripheral region of the image sensor as taught by Takachi, for the purpose of improving efficiency, cost, and reliability ([0018]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 10 rejection above and Han further discloses wherein the lens module further includes a protective layer disposed on a light incident plane side of the lens module ([0063], “nano-structure NS is supported by the spacer layer 130, and may also be covered and protected by a protection layer PR”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 10 rejection above and Han further discloses wherein the lens module further includes a light blocking film (element 120 and 123, [0051], “band pass filter 120 may transmit light of one color from among red, green, and blue and block light of the other colors”) in contact with at least one surface other than a light incident plane and the light exit plane of the lens module (as shown in Figs. 1 and 10, elements 120 and 123 are in contact with 140 while also contacting an object side surface of 110).
Regarding claim 13, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 10 rejection above and Han further discloses wherein the lens module further includes an optical filter (123) disposed on a light exit plane side of the lens module (as shown in Fig. 10, 123 is on a light exit side of 140), and the optical filter is configured to selectively pass light in a preset wavelength band ([0051], “band pass filter 120 may transmit light of one color from among red, green, and blue and block light of the other colors”).
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2021/0014394) in view of Takachi (US 2012/0205766), further in view of Riley (US 2019/0064532).
Regarding claim 14, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 10 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the lens module includes: a first meta-lens disposed on a light incident plane side of the lens module; a first substrate in contact with the bottom of the first meta-lens; a second meta-lens in contact with the bottom of the first substrate; a second substrate in contact with the bottom of the second meta-lens; a third meta-lens in contact with the bottom of the second substrate; and a third substrate in contact with the bottom of the third meta-lens.
However Riley in the same field of endeavor because both teach a electronic device, teaches wherein the lens module (Fig. 8) includes: a first meta-lens disposed on a light incident plane side of the lens module (82); a first substrate in contact with the bottom of the first meta-lens (86); a second meta-lens in contact with the bottom of the first substrate (84); a second substrate in contact with the bottom of the second meta-lens (88); a third meta-lens in contact with the bottom of the second substrate (Metasurface n); and a third substrate in contact with the bottom of the third meta-lens (spacer n).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han in view of Takachi with the wherein the lens module includes: a first meta-lens disposed on a light incident plane side of the lens module; a first substrate in contact with the bottom of the first meta-lens; a second meta-lens in contact with the bottom of the first substrate; a second substrate in contact with the bottom of the second meta-lens; a third meta-lens in contact with the bottom of the second substrate; and a third substrate in contact with the bottom of the third meta-lens as taught by Riley, for the purpose of minimizing distortion over the field of view ([0126]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 14 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first substrate has substantially the same width as the second substrate, and the second substrate has substantially the same width as the third substrate.
However Riley in the same field of endeavor because both teach a electronic device, teaches wherein the first substrate (Fig. 8, element 86) has substantially the same width as the second substrate (88), and the second substrate has substantially the same width as the third substrate (spacer n, as shown in Fig. 8, 86, 88, and spacer n all have the same width).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han in view of Takachi further in view of Riley with the wherein the first substrate has substantially the same width as the second substrate, and the second substrate has substantially the same width as the third substrate as taught by Riley, for the purpose of minimizing distortion over the field of view ([0126]).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2021/0014394) in view of Takachi (US 2012/0205766), further in view of Riley (US 2019/0064532) and Han (US 2020/0264343).
Regarding claim 15, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 14 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein a first distance between the first meta-lens and the second meta-lens is smaller than a second distance between the second meta-lens and the third meta-lens.
However Han in the same field of endeavor because both teach a electronic device, teaches wherein a first distance between the first meta-lens (Fig. 15, element 1210) and the second meta-lens (1220) is smaller than a second distance between the second meta-lens and the third meta-lens (1230, as shown in Fig. 15, 1210 is closer to 1220 than 1220 is to 1230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han in view of Takachi further in view of Riley with the wherein a first distance between the first meta-lens and the second meta-lens is smaller than a second distance between the second meta-lens and the third meta-lens as taught by Han, for the purpose of improving aberrations ([0108]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 14 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the first meta-lens has a smaller width than the third meta-lens.
However Han in the same field of endeavor because both teach a electronic device, teaches wherein the first meta-lens has a smaller width than the third meta-lens (as shown in Fig. 15, 1210 has a smaller width than 1230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han in view of Takachi further in view of Riley with the wherein the first meta-lens has a smaller width than the third meta-lens as taught by Han, for the purpose of improving aberrations ([0108]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 14 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the second meta-lens has a smaller width than the third meta-lens.
However Han in the same field of endeavor because both teach a electronic device, teaches wherein the second meta-lens has a smaller width than the third meta-lens (as shown in Fig. 15, 1220 has a smaller width than 1230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han in view of Takachi further in view of Riley with the wherein the second meta-lens has a smaller width than the third meta-lens as taught by Han, for the purpose of improving aberrations ([0108]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 14 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein the third meta-lens has a smaller width than the light exit plane, and the light exit plane has substantially the same width as the third substrate.
However Han in the same field of endeavor because both teach a electronic device, teaches wherein the third meta-lens (Fig. 15, 1230) has a smaller width than the light exit plane (as shown in Fig. 15, NS5 and NS6 have a smaller width coverage than the light exit plane), and the light exit plane has substantially the same width as the third substrate (as shown in Fig. 15, the substrate has the same width as the light exit plane for 1230).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han in view of Takachi further in view of Riley with the wherein the third meta-lens has a smaller width than the light exit plane, and the light exit plane has substantially the same width as the third substrate as taught by Han, for the purpose of improving aberrations ([0108]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Han teaches as is set forth in claim 14 rejection above but does not specifically disclose wherein a width of the first substrate and a width of the second substrate are smaller than a width of the third substrate.
However Han in the same field of endeavor because both teach a electronic device, teaches wherein a width of the first substrate (Fig. 15, substrate of 1210) and a width of the second substrate (Fig. 15, substrate of 1220) are smaller than a width of the third substrate (Fig. 15, substrate of 1230 is smaller than that of 1210 and 1220).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have the wearable electronic device of Han in view of Takachi further in view of Riley with the wherein a width of the first substrate and a width of the second substrate are smaller than a width of the third substrate as taught by Han, for the purpose of improving aberrations ([0108]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Han2 (US 2016/0316180) teaches a camera comprising: a lens module including at least one meta-lens comprising nanostructures arranged in first and second dimensions; an image sensor configured to detect light guided by the lens module.
/MATTHEW Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 19 December 2025