DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 8, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-5, 7, and 11 are noted as amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11, line 11, “from one or more sensors” should read “from the one or more sensors” as the limitation has antecedence in line 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Araki et al. (US PGPub 20240034335), hereinafter referred to as Araki.
With regard to claim 1, Araki teaches a method for adaptive driver-training feedback (Abstract; Paragraphs 0023; methods of an automated driver training system), the method comprising:
a feedback circuit (Paragraph 0044 teaches the system includes a driver feedback circuit as part of the driver training system) controlling at least one of a speaker or a display on a vehicle to provide a first type of driver-training feedback to a driver of the vehicle to induce successful performance of a first iteration of the maneuver (Paragraphs 0044, 0061 teach the system can provide audible feedback via speakers and/or visual feedback via a display to correct/induce successful driver performance either in real-time, thereby improving user performance on a current/first iteration, or storing the feedback for a later report to improve subsequent performance);
obtaining, from one or more sensors on the vehicle (Paragraph 0038, “sensors 112”), sensor data corresponding to vehicle states of the vehicle during performance of the maneuver (Paragraphs 0038-0040 teach the system includes a plurality of sensors for gathering signals/data on vehicle conditions or characteristics and external conditions), the maneuver comprising one or more performance criteria indicative of successful performance of the maneuver (Paragraphs 0043, 0045, 0057 teach the system includes benchmarks and parameters (one or more performance criteria) which the user performance is compared to);
comparing the sensor data to the one or more performance criteria (Paragraphs 0057, 0072, 0083 teach the driver training circuit can evaluate driver performance based on the information received from the various vehicle sensors compared to the parameters and benchmarks);
adjusting a feedback type of driver-training feedback based on the comparison (Paragraphs 0044, 0047, 0059, 0065, 0067-0068 teach the system can adjust the curriculum and feedback based on user performance and inferred skill level and confidence including adjusting the type of feedback and providing feedback dynamically and in real-time based on the evaluation which is based on the sensor data, benchmarks, and parameters); and
during performance of a second iteration of the maneuver, controlling the feedback circuit to provide driver-training feedback to the driver according to the adjusted feedback type of the driver-training feedback (Paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0044, 0068, 0070 teach the system can evaluate the driver in real-time and in an ongoing and continuous manner including reminding a driver of previous feedback and providing feedback on a per lap basis such that subsequent laps (second and subsequent iterations) are evaluated and the feedback is continually adjusted), the driver-training feedback comprising applying a counterforce to at least one of a steering wheel, an accelerator pedal, or a brake pedal of the vehicle (Paragraphs 0062, 0067 teach the system can provide haptic feedback to the steering wheel or pedals including resistance or friction (counterforce) to the driver’s action to correct the driver and provide feedback).
With regard to claim 4, Araki further teaches wherein the driver-training feedback further comprises at least one of audio or visual feedback in addition to the counterforce (Paragraphs 0044, 0061-0062 teach the system can provide feedback in real-time and can provide the audible and/or visual feedback as well (in addition to) the haptic feedback including the resistance (counterforce) to driver input).
With regard to claim 11, Araki teaches a vehicle (Abstract; Paragraphs 0023, 0033; “vehicle”), comprising:
a steering wheel (Paragraph 0062; “steering wheel”);
an accelerator pedal and a brake pedal (Paragraph 0062; “gas/brake/clutch pedals”);
a feedback circuit (Paragraph 0044 teaches the system includes a driver feedback circuit as part of the driver training system);
one or more sensors (Paragraph 0038; “a plurality of sensors”); and
one or more processors communicably coupled to memory (Paragraphs 0037, 0076, 0087-0088 teach the system includes one or more processors which communicate with the memory and storage devices) and configured to execute instructions stored in the memory (Paragraphs 0076, 0088) to:
control the feedback circuit (Paragraph 0044 teaches the system includes a driver feedback circuit as part of the driver training system) to provide a first type of driver-training feedback to a driver of the vehicle to induce successful performance of a first iteration of the maneuver (Paragraphs 0044, 0061 teach the system can provide audible feedback via speakers and/or visual feedback via a display to correct/induce successful driver performance either in real-time, thereby improving user performance on a current/first iteration, or storing the feedback for a later report to improve subsequent performance), the first type of driver-training feedback comprising at least one of audio or visual feedback (Paragraphs 0044, 0061 teach the system can provide visual and audible feedback);
obtain, from the one or more sensors on the vehicle (Paragraph 0038, “sensors 112”), sensor data corresponding to vehicle states of the vehicle during performance of the first iteration of the maneuver (Paragraphs 0038-0040 teach the system includes a plurality of sensors for gathering signals/data on vehicle conditions or characteristics and external conditions), the maneuver comprising one or more performance criteria indicative of successful performance of the maneuver (Paragraphs 0043, 0045, 0057 teach the system includes benchmarks and parameters (one or more performance criteria) which the user performance is compared to);
determining whether the first iteration of the maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle based on the sensor data obtained during performance of the first iteration and the one or more performance criteria (Paragraphs 0045, 0057, 0072, 0083 teach the driver training circuit can evaluate driver performance based on the information received from the various vehicle sensors compared to the parameters and benchmarks in real-time thereby including a first lap/iteration); and
during performance of a second iteration of the maneuver and responsive to a determination that the first iteration of the maneuver was not successfully performed (Paragraphs 0043-0045, 0067-0068 teach the system can infer the driver’s skill level based on driver performance in real-time and adjust the feedback and training such that a driver’s second and subsequent laps would be based on the first/previous performance including a negative or not successful performance which would result in a lower skill level), control the feedback circuit to provide a second type of driver-training feedback to induce successful performance of the second iteration of the maneuver (Paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0044, 0068, 0070 teach the system can evaluate the driver in real-time and in an ongoing and continuous manner including reminding a driver of previous feedback and providing feedback on a per lap basis such that subsequent laps (second and subsequent iterations) are evaluated and the feedback is continually adjusted), the second type of driver-training feedback comprising applying a counterforce to at least one of the steering wheel, the accelerator pedal, or the brake pedal (Paragraphs 0062, 0067 teach the system can provide haptic feedback to the steering wheel or pedals including resistance or friction (counterforce) to the driver’s action to correct the driver and provide feedback).
With regard to claim 13, Araki further teaches wherein the second type of driver-training feedback further comprises at least one of audio or visual feedback (Paragraphs 0044, 0061 teach the system can provide feedback in real-time and can provide audible and/or visual feedback).
With regard to claim 18, Araki teaches a driver training system (Abstract; Paragraph 0020), the driver training system comprising:
a communication interface configured to receive sensor data from sensors on a vehicle (Abstract; Paragraph 0072 teach the system includes sensors and vehicle systems which communicate with the driver training circuit via a communication interface), the sensor data indicative of operating conditions of the vehicle executing a vehicular maneuver (Paragraphs 0038-0040 teach the system includes a plurality of sensors for gathering signals/data on vehicle conditions or characteristics and external conditions); and
a driver training circuit (Paragraph 0046 teaches the system includes a driver training circuit) configured to: adjust a feedback type of driver-training feedback based on a comparison of the operating conditions to a set of performance criteria associated with the vehicular maneuver (Paragraphs 0044, 0047, 0059, 0065, 0067-0068 teach the system can adjust the curriculum and feedback based on user performance and inferred skill level and confidence including adjusting the type of feedback and providing feedback in dynamically and in real-time based on the evaluation which is based on the sensor data, benchmarks, and parameters), wherein the set of performance criteria are representative of a successful execution of the vehicular maneuver (Paragraphs 0043, 0045, 0057 teach the system includes benchmarks and parameters (one or more performance criteria) which the user performance is compared to); and
control a feedback circuity (Paragraph 0044 teaches the system includes a driver feedback circuit) to provide the driver-training feedback to a driver of the vehicle according to the adjusted feedback type of the driver-training feedback (Paragraphs 0044, 0061-0062 teach the system can provide audible feedback via speakers and/or visual feedback via a display and/or haptic feedback to correct/induce successful driver performance either in real-time), the provided driver-training feedback comprising applying a counterforce to at least one of a steering wheel, an accelerator pedal, or a brake pedal of the vehicle (Paragraphs 0062, 0067 teach the system can provide haptic feedback to the steering wheel or pedals including resistance or friction (counterforce) to the driver’s action to correct the driver and provide feedback).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki in view of Trehan (US PGPub 20230395062).
With regard to claim 2, Araki further teaches determining whether the first iteration of the maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle based on the sensor data obtained during performance of the first iteration and the one or more performance criteria (Paragraphs 0045, 0057, 0072, 0083 teach the driver training circuit can evaluate driver performance based on the information received from the various vehicle sensors compared to the parameters and benchmarks in real-time thereby including a first lap/iteration) but may not explicitly teach adjusting an intensity of subsequent driver-training feedback based on a determination of whether the second iteration of the maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle based on sensor data obtained during performance of the second iteration and the one or more performance criteria. However, Trehan teaches a system and method for providing adaptive feedback to users including for an operator of a vehicle wherein the feedback can be haptic feedback provided to the user via haptic devices wherein the intensity of the feedback may be increased (adjusted) for subsequent repetition of the same feedback if a user fails to adhere to the feedback or the feedback can include changing the tone and loudness (intensity) of audio feedback (Paragraphs 0025, 0032, 0045, 0047).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Araki to incorporate the teachings of Trehan by including adapting the intensity of audio feedback or adapting the haptic feedback intensity as taught by Trehan for the feedback of Araki, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to adaptive feedback systems for a user of a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Araki by adapting the audible feedback by modifying the tone and/or loudness (intensity) of the feedback as part of the feedback adjustment based on user performance or adapting the haptic feedback to the user wherein the intensity of the feedback can be changed based on a user’s success or failure to adjust and/or adhere to the feedback. Upon such modification, the method and system of Araki would include adjusting an intensity of subsequent driver-training feedback based on a determination of whether the second iteration of the maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle based on sensor data obtained during performance of the second iteration and the one or more performance criteria. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Trehan with Araki’s system and method in order to provide more comprehensive feedback and ensure a user’s attention is grabbed (Trehan paragraph 0047).
Claim(s) 3, 5-10, 12, 14-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Araki in view of Chauncey et al. (US PGPub 20120221216), hereinafter referred to as Chauncey.
With regard to claims 3 and 12, Araki further teaches a determination of whether the second iteration of the maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle based on sensor data obtained during performance of the second iteration and the one or more performance criteria (Paragraphs 0024, 0026, 0044, 0068, 0070 teach the system can evaluate the driver in real-time and in an ongoing and continuous manner based on the sensor data and providing feedback on a per lap basis such that subsequent laps (second and subsequent iterations) are evaluated based on the parameters and benchmarks such that if a user achieves the parameters the performance is successful) but may not explicitly teach further comprising adjusting a frequency of subsequent driver-training feedback based on the determination. However, Chauncey teaches further comprising adjusting a frequency of subsequent driver-training feedback based on the determination (Paragraphs 0033, 0045-0047 teach the system can generate coaching/feedback events and dynamically adjust the thresholds for the feedback such that more successful behaviors are needed to trigger a subsequent feedback event thereby decreasing/changing the frequency of the feedback).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Araki to incorporate the teachings of Chauncey by including adjusting the thresholds for feedback based on user success as taught by Chauncey for the feedback of Araki, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to adaptive feedback systems for a user of a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Araki by coding the system to adjust the thresholds for feedback based on driver performance thereby changing the frequency of subsequent feedback such as decreasing frequency upon consecutive successful performances. Upon such modification, the method and system of Araki would include further comprising adjusting a frequency of subsequent driver-training feedback based on the determination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Chauncey with Araki’s system and method in order to provide more adaptive feedback and improve user driving behavior.
With regard to claims 5 and 14, Araki may not explicitly teach further comprising: responsive to a determination that the second iteration of the maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle based on sensor data obtained during performance of the second iteration and the one or more performance criteria, decreasing a level of an attribute of subsequent driver-training feedback. However, Chauncey teaches further comprising: responsive to a determination that the second iteration of the maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle based on sensor data obtained during performance of the second iteration and the one or more performance criteria, decreasing a level of an attribute of subsequent driver-training feedback (Paragraph 0047 teaches that the system can increase the quantity of successful performances to trigger subsequent feedback thereby decreasing the frequency of feedback based on successful performance).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Araki to incorporate the teachings of Chauncey by including adjusting the thresholds for feedback based on user success as taught by Chauncey for the feedback of Araki, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to adaptive feedback systems for a user of a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Araki by coding the system to adjust the thresholds for feedback based on driver performance thereby changing the frequency of subsequent feedback such as decreasing frequency upon consecutive successful performances based on the sensor data, benchmarks, and parameters of Araki thereby decreasing a frequency (attribute) of feedback on subsequent laps/evaluations. Upon such modification, the method and system of Araki would include further comprising: responsive to a determination that the second iteration of the maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle based on sensor data obtained during performance of the second iteration and the one or more performance criteria, decreasing a level of an attribute of subsequent driver-training feedback. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Chauncey with Araki’s system and method in order to provide more adaptive feedback and improve user driving behavior.
With regard to claims 6 and 15, Araki may not explicitly teach further comprising: iteratively decreasing the level of the attribute of the subsequent driver-training feedback for each iteration of successful performance of the maneuver until the maneuver is not performed successfully. However, Chauncey teaches further comprising: iteratively decreasing the level of the attribute of the subsequent driver-training feedback for each iteration of successful performance of the maneuver until the maneuver is not performed successfully (Paragraphs 0045-0046 teach the feedback thresholds and parameters can be incrementally modified based on a predetermined training regimen or dynamically based on the assessment of operator behaviors and actions such that iterative successful performance would continuously/iteratively decrease the frequency of feedback by incrementally increasing the feedback threshold and unsuccessful performance would stop or reverse the threshold changes).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Araki to incorporate the teachings of Chauncey by including adjusting the thresholds for feedback based on user success as taught by Chauncey for the feedback of Araki, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to adaptive feedback systems for a user of a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Araki by coding the system to adjust the thresholds for feedback based on driver performance thereby changing the frequency of subsequent feedback such as decreasing frequency upon consecutive successful performances based on the sensor data, benchmarks, and parameters of Araki thereby decreasing a frequency (attribute) of feedback on subsequent laps/evaluations. Upon such modification, the method and system of Araki would include further comprising: iteratively decreasing the level of the attribute of the subsequent driver-training feedback for each iteration of successful performance of the maneuver until the maneuver is not performed successfully. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Chauncey with Araki’s system and method in order to provide more adaptive feedback and improve user driving behavior.
With regard to claims 7 and 16, Araki may not explicitly teach further comprising: responsive to a determination that the second iteration of the maneuver was not successfully performed by the vehicle based on sensor data obtained during performance of the second iteration and the one or more performance criteria, increasing a level of an attribute of subsequent driver-training feedback. However, Chauncey teaches further comprising: responsive to a determination that the second iteration of the maneuver was not successfully performed by the vehicle based on sensor data obtained during performance of the second iteration and the one or more performance criteria, increasing a level of an attribute of subsequent driver-training feedback (Paragraphs 0033, 0046, 0058, 0061-0062 teach the system can dynamically adjust feedback thresholds including thresholds for negative events and results wherein a user fails to correct or improve and more negative (increase frequency) feedback is given to the user including potentially sending an alert to a supervisor if the operator fails to abide by the feedback and successfully perform the behavior).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Araki to incorporate the teachings of Chauncey by including adjusting the thresholds for feedback based on driver behavior as taught by Chauncey for the feedback of Araki, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to adaptive feedback systems for a user of a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Araki by coding the system to adjust the thresholds for feedback based on driver performance thereby changing the frequency of subsequent feedback such as increasing frequency upon consecutive unsuccessful/negative performances based on the sensor data, benchmarks, and parameters of Araki thereby increasing a frequency (attribute) of feedback on subsequent laps/evaluations. Upon such modification, the method and system of Araki would include further comprising: responsive to a determination that the second iteration of the maneuver was not successfully performed by the vehicle based on sensor data obtained during performance of the second iteration and the one or more performance criteria, increasing a level of an attribute of subsequent driver-training feedback. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Chauncey with Araki’s system and method in order to provide more adaptive feedback and improve user driving behavior.
With regard to claims 8 and 17, Araki may not explicitly teach further comprising: iteratively increasing the level of the attribute of the subsequent driver-training feedback for each iteration in which the maneuver was not performed successfully until the maneuver is performed successfully. However, Chauncey further teaches further comprising: iteratively increasing the level of the attribute of the subsequent driver-training feedback for each iteration in which the maneuver was not performed successfully until the maneuver is performed successfully (Paragraphs 0045-0046 teach the feedback thresholds and parameters can be incrementally modified based on a predetermined training regimen or dynamically based on the assessment of operator behaviors and actions such that iterative unsuccessful performance would continuously/iteratively increase the frequency of feedback by incrementally decreasing the feedback threshold).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Araki to incorporate the teachings of Chauncey by including adjusting the thresholds for feedback based on driver behavior as taught by Chauncey for the feedback of Araki, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to adaptive feedback systems for a user of a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Araki by coding the system to adjust the thresholds for feedback based on driver performance thereby changing the frequency of subsequent feedback such as increasing frequency upon consecutive unsuccessful/negative performances based on the sensor data, benchmarks, and parameters of Araki thereby increasing a frequency (attribute) of feedback on subsequent laps/evaluations until a user successfully performs the parameter or benchmark and then maintaining or decreasing the frequency. Upon such modification, the method and system of Araki would include further comprising: iteratively increasing the level of the attribute of the subsequent driver-training feedback for each iteration in which the maneuver was not performed successfully until the maneuver is performed successfully. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Chauncey with Araki’s system and method in order to provide more adaptive feedback and improve user driving behavior.
With regard to claim 9, Araki may not explicitly teach further comprising: maintaining a level of an attribute of subsequent driver-training feedback for a plurality of sequential iterations of successful performance of the maneuver. However, Chauncey further teaches further comprising: maintaining a level of an attribute of subsequent driver-training feedback for a plurality of sequential iterations of successful performance of the maneuver (Paragraphs 0046-0047 teaches that the parameter and feedback threshold can be maintained for a plurality of sequential iterations of a successful performance such as proper braking behavior).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Araki to incorporate the teachings of Chauncey by including maintaining the thresholds for feedback for a series of sequential iterations as taught by Chauncey for the feedback of Araki, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to adaptive feedback systems for a user of a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Araki by coding the system to maintain the thresholds for feedback based on driver performance for a plurality of sequential iterations of a successful performance such as proper braking or other benchmarks and parameters of Araki. Upon such modification, the method and system of Araki would include further comprising: maintaining a level of an attribute of subsequent driver-training feedback for a plurality of sequential iterations of successful performance of the maneuver. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Chauncey with Araki’s system and method in order to provide more adaptive feedback and improve user driving behavior.
With regard to claim 10, Araki may not explicitly teach further comprising: decreasing the level of the attribute of the subsequent driver-training feedback for a next iteration of successful performance of the maneuver that follows the plurality of sequential iterations. Chauncey further teaches further comprising: decreasing the level of the attribute of the subsequent driver-training feedback for a next iteration of successful performance of the maneuver that follows the plurality of sequential iterations (Paragraphs 0046-0047 teaches that the parameter and feedback threshold can be maintained for a plurality of sequential iterations of a successful performance such as proper braking behavior until a number of occurrences occurs wherein after the occurrences (i.e., five braking behaviors sequentially) the threshold and/or parameters for feedback are modified including decreasing the frequency of feedback by increasing the threshold).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Araki to incorporate the teachings of Chauncey by including increasing a feedback threshold to reduce feedback frequency after maintaining the threshold for feedback for a series of sequential successful iterations as taught by Chauncey for the feedback of Araki, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to adaptive feedback systems for a user of a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Araki by coding the system to monitor user performance over a series of sequential laps or performances and increasing the threshold for feedback, thereby decreasing the frequency of feedback, after a number of success, sequential performances of a benchmark or parameter. Upon such modification, the method and system of Araki would include further comprising: decreasing the level of the attribute of the subsequent driver-training feedback for a next iteration of successful performance of the maneuver that follows the plurality of sequential iterations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Chauncey with Araki’s system and method in order to provide more adaptive feedback and improve user driving behavior.
With regard to claim 19, Araki may not explicitly teach wherein the driver training circuit is further configured to: adjust a level of an attribute of the driver-training feedback based on the comparison of the operating conditions to the set of performance criteria. However, Chauncey teaches wherein the driver training circuit is further configured to: adjust a level of an attribute of the driver-training feedback based on the comparison of the operating conditions to the set of performance criteria (Paragraphs 0032, 0045-0047 teach the system dynamically adjust and modify thresholds and parameters for feedback based on the operator’s actions and behaviors including modifying the quantity parameter for successful performance to further adjust the threshold (see paragraph 0047)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Araki to incorporate the teachings of Chauncey by including adjusting the thresholds for feedback based on user behavior as taught by Chauncey for the feedback of Araki, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to adaptive feedback systems for a user of a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Araki by coding the system to adjust the thresholds for feedback based on driver performance based on the sensor data compared to the benchmarks and parameters thereby changing the frequency (attribute) of subsequent feedback such as decreasing frequency upon consecutive successful performances. Upon such modification, the method and system of Araki would include wherein the driver training circuit is further configured to: adjust a level of an attribute of the driver-training feedback based on the comparison of the operating conditions to the set of performance criteria. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Chauncey with Araki’s system and method in order to provide more adaptive feedback and improve user driving behavior.
With regard to claim 20, Araki further teaches determine whether the vehicular maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle based on the sensor data and the performance criteria (Paragraphs 0045, 0057, 0072, 0083 teach the driver training circuit can evaluate driver performance based on the information received from the various vehicle sensors compared to the parameters and benchmarks in real-time and determine if a driver properly performed maneuvers such as proper braking) but may not explicitly teach wherein the driver training circuit is further configured to: based on a determination that the vehicular maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle, decreasing the level of the attribute of the driver-training feedback; and based on a determination that the vehicular maneuver was not successfully performed by the vehicle, increasing the level of the attribute of the driver-training feedback. However, Chauncey further teaches wherein the driver training circuit is further configured to: based on a determination that the vehicular maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle, decreasing the level of the attribute of the driver-training feedback (Paragraph 0047 teaches that the system can increase the quantity of successful performances to trigger subsequent feedback thereby decreasing the frequency of feedback based on successful performance); and based on a determination that the vehicular maneuver was not successfully performed by the vehicle, increasing the level of the attribute of the driver-training feedback (Paragraphs 0033, 0046, 0058, 0061-0062 teach the system can dynamically adjust feedback thresholds including thresholds for negative events and results wherein a user fails to correct or improve and more negative (increase frequency) feedback is given to the user including potentially sending an alert to a supervisor if the operator fails to abide by the feedback and successfully perform the behavior).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Araki to incorporate the teachings of Chauncey by including adjusting the thresholds for feedback based on user behavior as taught by Chauncey for the feedback of Araki, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to adaptive feedback systems for a user of a vehicle. One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Araki by coding the system to adjust the thresholds for feedback based on driver performance based on the sensor data compared to the benchmarks and parameters thereby changing the frequency (attribute) of subsequent feedback such as decreasing frequency by increasing thresholds upon successful performances or increasing frequency by decreasing thresholds upon unsuccessful/negative performances. Upon such modification, the method and system of Araki would include wherein the driver training circuit is further configured to: based on a determination that the vehicular maneuver was successfully performed by the vehicle, decreasing the level of the attribute of the driver-training feedback; and based on a determination that the vehicular maneuver was not successfully performed by the vehicle, increasing the level of the attribute of the driver-training feedback. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate these teachings from Chauncey with Araki’s system and method in order to provide more adaptive feedback and improve user driving behavior.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed September 8, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed September 8, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive by virtue of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Specifically, Examiner agrees with Applicant that Chauncey does not teach a physical counterforce or haptic feedback and the application of the teachings of Araki to modify Chauncey would require “reengineering” Chauncey in such a way as to render Chauncey’s design unsatisfactory. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 in view of Araki as the primary reference. Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s assertion that Araki’s haptics are merely “continuous assistance” as Araki specifically states providing haptic feedback in the form of a correction or resistance (counterforce) to driver behavior such as resisting a driver’s use of the pedal or steering too soon. While Examiner agrees that Araki may not teach a specific training loop based on “iterative” performance, Araki does teach ongoing/continuous evaluation and assessment of a driver’s skill and adapting the feedback and curriculum based on the ongoing assessment, and applying the teachings of Chauncey to modify Araki teaches the missing limitations as discussed above without “breaking” the Araki reference as applying the iterative and adaptive feedback of Chauncey does not require adding hardware or modifying Araki in such a way as to render Araki unsatisfactory. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 as discussed above.
Conclusion
Accordingly, claims 1-20 are rejected.
/CORRELL T FRENCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3715