DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 5, 2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Fig. 4.
Examiner acknowledges that this objection may be more easily overcome by a change to the specification as described below.
Specification
4. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Para. [0041]
Paras. [0064]-[0065] recite “RAM” and “ROM”. It appears that Applicant intends to describe random access memory (RAM) and read-only memory (ROM), as known in the art. However, the specification does not expand the abbreviation(s) RAM and ROM on the first occurrence in the specification. Applicant is required to expand all abbreviations at first occurrence with its respective abbreviation.
Appropriate correction is required.
5. The use of the term "SECURE DIGITAL" (SD), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 8-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 16 recite the limitation "havin" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. As written, it is unclear if the Applicant is claiming a second “first radius” different than the “first radius” claimed in claims 7 or 15, respectively, or if they are describing that a circle marked by a second contacting marker would share the “first radius” claimed in claim 7, respectively, or an entirely different radius. For the purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret “first radius” to mean that the second contacting marker would share the “first radius” claimed in claim 7 and 15, respectively.
As claims 9-13 and 17 depend on rejected claims 8 and 16, respectively, they inherit the deficiencies described above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-7 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xian, (CN107639636A, Xian, L. et al.; cited in IDS filed October 05, 2023 - hereinafter referred to as "Xian") in view of McCown (US5002418A, McCown W. et al.; cited in IDS filed October 05, 2023 - hereinafter referred to as "McCown").
In regard to claim 1, Xian teaches a marking end effector for a robotic system [pen device for a robot, Abstract] configured to mark a target surface [paper, page 3 para. 2] using one or more markers [four marking indica, Fig. 1], the end effector having a longitudinal axis [axis A-A, Fig. 2] and comprising: a housing [support frame 3] having a proximal end [end connected to power source 1, shown in Fig. 1] coupled to an end effector base [support platform 8, shown in Fig. 4] and comprising: a cylindrical cavity [lower installation cavity 18] provided at a distal end of the housing [shown in Fig. 6], the cavity having a cavity wall [shown in Fig. 6] and a cavity base disposed within the housing [upper installation cavity 15]; and a first guide slot [guide groove 10] provided in the cavity wall and comprising a helical portion; a marker holder assembly [platform structure 16] operatively coupled to the housing [described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5] and comprising: a cylindrical marker holder [platform structure 16] configured to be received by the cavity [shown in Fig. 6]; a first guide bearing [bearing support structure 9] disposed on the marker holder [described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5], the first guide bearing supported by a first bearing axle operatively coupled to the marker holder [Fig. 4 shows bearing support structure supported by a screw]; and one or more marker bores [chamber 17] provided within the marker holder and circumferentially distributed about the longitudinal axis [shown in Figs. 5-6], each marker bore configured to receive a respective marker of the one or more markers [shown in Fig. 6]; and a marker holder biasing member [crayon frame 19] provided between the cavity base and the marker holder assembly [shown in Fig. 6] and configured to apply a longitudinal biasing force on the marker holder assembly [shown in Fig. 6, described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5 - "stability and continuity when ensuring stability of the bearing support structure 9"], wherein the first guide bearing is configured to operatively engage with the first guide slot of the housing to support and guide a motion of the marker holder relative to the housing [Figs. 1-6 and page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5 show that as the bearing support structure rotates into the notch part 20, the slot 10 is engaged via the screw 11, guiding the motion in a vertical direction], and wherein, based on placing a first contacting marker [crayon/pen 5] of the one or more markers in contact with the target surface [contacting paper, Abstract] and advancing the end effector toward the target surface [depressed/retracted states, shown in Fig. 4 and described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5], the marker holder is configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis of the end effector in an initial direction [described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5] while translating toward the cavity base of the housing [depressed/retracted states, Fig. 2 shows the depressed state of the crayon moving above/away from the cavity 15, thus a retracted state is towards the cavity (as shown in Fig. 3), and as described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5], and the first contacting marker marking the target surface with at least a portion of first indicia [drawing on and contacting paper, Abstract], the first indicia centered about the longitudinal axis of the end effector [Fig. 2 shows a pen 5 aligned with the longitudinal axis A-A].
Although Xian teaches a plurality of guide slots, and that the spring 14 contacts contacting structure 16 and nylon bearing 12 – Xian does not teach that the guide slots comprise a helical portion that permits rotation.
However, McCown also teaches at least an end effector [hold down device] for use with a robot [col. 1 lines 51-53] to interact with a target surface [pawl 22 on pawl shaft 20, pawl receptacle 32], the end effector having a housing [calm bracket 12/mounting flange 13/camming surface 30] with distal and proximal ends [shown in Figs. 2-3] coupled to an effector base [chassis 14, shown in Fig. 3], with a cylindrical cavity [chamber 128] with a cavity wall [Figs. 2, 3, and 9-10] provided at the distal end, with the cavity having a cavity base [shoulder 130, Fig. 3]; as well as a plurality of guide slots comprising helical portions [plurality shown in Fig. 2, individually shown in at least Figs. 4, 9A, 10A, 16A, and 18A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used McCown’s helical guide slots as Xian’s guide slots in order to better orient a target surface end effector to a desired rotation when in contact with said target surface, as taught by McCown [described at least in Abstract and Figs. 9-18].
In regard to claim 2, Xian further teaches that based on withdrawing the end effector away from the target surface subsequent to advancing the end effector toward the target surface [crayon 5 retreating into depressed part 13 (shown in Figs. 2 and 4-5); described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5], the marker holder resets by rotating opposite to the initial direction while translating away from the cavity base of the housing [multi-directional rotation by a motor is a well-known engineering practice, thus it is feasible that the power drive mechanism 6 could drive the motor in either direction; further, Fig. 2 shows the retracted state of the crayon moving above/away from the cavity 15, thus depressed state is towards the cavity (as shown in Fig. 3), and as described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5].
In regard to claim 3, Xian further teaches wherein the marker holder assembly further comprises a locking mechanism [nylon jacket 4] provided at a distal end of the marker holder [shown in Fig. 2], the locking mechanism comprising one or more marker bores and configured to constrain and secure the one or more markers relative to the marker holder assembly [described in page 3 para. 7, nylon jacket 4 shown in Figs. 1-4 and 6; constrains and secures the markers in the horizontal direction].
In regard to claim 4, Xian further teaches wherein the locking mechanism further comprises one or more lockable members [nylon bearing 12 and screw 11] configured to selectively apply a lateral force [Fig. 6 shows both the screw 11 (Fig. 2 shows screw 11 translating between the proximal and distal ends) and nylon bearing 12 applying lateral force to secure the crayon 5 in the horizontal direction] to constrain and secure the one or more markers relative to the marker holder assembly based on locking the locking mechanism [described in page 3 para. 7 and page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5].
In regard to claim 5, Xian further teaches wherein one or more of the selectively lockable members comprises a threaded shaft [screw 11] cooperatively engaged with a threaded bore [matching a screw to a threaded bore is a well-known engineering practice].
In regard to claim 6, Xian further teaches the housing further comprising one or more second guide slots provided in the cavity wall [guide groove 10 present for each marker, therefore a plurality], the marker holder assembly further comprising one or more second guide bearings circumferentially provided on the marker holder [Fig. 5 shows a plurality of bearing support structures 9], each guide bearing supported by a respective second bearing axle operatively coupled to the marker holder [Fig. 5 shows additional fasteners for each bearing support structure 9, presumably the same screw(s) shown in Fig. 4], wherein each second guide bearing is configured to operatively engage with a respective second guide slot to support and guide a motion of the marker holder relative to the housing [Figs. 1-6 and page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5 show that as the bearing support structure rotates into the notch part 20, the slot 10 is engaged via the screw 11, guiding the motion in a vertical direction].
In regard to claim 7, Xian further teaches wherein each marker bore is disposed parallel to the longitudinal axis [shown best in Figs. 3 and 6], wherein each marker bore is radially offset from the longitudinal axis by a radial offset distance [Fig. 5 shows the bores offset from the same distance], and wherein the first indicia centered about the longitudinal axis comprises a first radius equal to the radial offset distance [Abstract describes rotation while contacting, therefore at least a portion of a circle would be marked, thus a first radius equal to the radial offset.
In regard to claim 18, Xian teaches a method of operating a robotic system having a marking end effector [pen device for a robot, Abstract], the method comprising: providing initial contact of a plurality of markers with the target surface [Figs. 1-6 show a plurality of crayons/pens 5, Abstract describes the markers being in contact with a drawing surface/paper, page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5 describe rotating each pen/crayon into contact], each marker of the plurality of markers secured within a cylindrical marker holder [platform structure 16, shown in Figs. 3 and 6] and circumferentially distributed about the longitudinal axis [shown in Figs. 5-6], the marker holder received by a cavity of a housing [support frame 3] of the end effector [shown in Figs. 1-6], wherein a plurality of guide bearings [bearing support structures 9] coupled to the marker holder [shown in Figs. 3 and 6] are respectively supported and guided by guide slots [slots 10] provided in the cavity, each guide slot configured to permit a translation of the marker holder relative to the housing [Figs. 1-6 and page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5 show that as the bearing support structure rotates into the notch part 20, the slot 10 is engaged via the screw 11, permitting translation in a vertical direction]; advancing the end effector toward the target surface along the longitudinal axis [depressed/retracted states, shown in Fig. 4 and described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5], the marker holder is configured to mechanically rotate about the longitudinal axis of the end effector in an initial direction [described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5] while translating toward the cavity base of the housing [depressed/retracted states, Fig. 2 shows the depressed state of the crayon moving above/away from the cavity 15, thus a retracted state is towards the cavity (as shown in Fig. 3), and as described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5], the first contacting marker marking the target surface with at least a portion of first indicia [drawing on and contacting paper, Abstract], the first indicia centered about the longitudinal axis of the end effector [Fig. 2 shows a pen 5 aligned with the longitudinal axis A-A]; withdrawing the end effector away from the target surface along the longitudinal axis [crayon 5 retreating into depressed part 13 (shown in Figs. 2 and 4-5); described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5], mechanically realigning the marker holder to reset by rotating opposite to the initial direction while translating away from the cavity base of the housing with the mechanical realignment based on withdrawing the marking end effector [multi-directional rotation by a motor is a well-known engineering practice, thus it is feasible that the power drive mechanism 6 could drive the motor in either direction; further, Fig. 2 shows the retracted state of the crayon moving above/away from the cavity 15, thus depressed state is towards the cavity (as shown in Fig. 3), and as described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5].
Although Xian teaches a plurality of guide slots, Xian does not teach that the guide slots comprise a helical portion that permits rotation.
However, McCown also teaches at least an end effector [hold down device] for use with a robot [col. 1 lines 51-53] to interact with a target surface [pawl 22 on pawl shaft 20, pawl receptacle 32], the end effector having a housing [clam bracket 12/mounting flange 13/camming surface 30] with distal and proximal ends [shown in Figs. 2-3] coupled to an effector base [chassis 14, shown in Fig. 3], with a cylindrical cavity [chamber 128] with a cavity wall [Figs. 2, 3, and 9-10] provided at the distal end, with the cavity having a cavity base [shoulder 130, Fig. 3], a spring [spring 24] configured to permit the contacting effector [pawl 20] to facilitate an axial extension or compression relative to the distal face [distal face of the housing shown in Fig. 2, spring extension described at least in Abstract] – as well as a plurality of guide slots comprising helical portions [plurality shown in Fig. 2, individually shown in at least Figs. 4, 9A, 10A, 16A, and 18A], and that the longitudinal axis of the marking end effector [dotted line shown in Figs. 1-2] is aligned with a target on a target surface [described at least in Abstract and Figs. 9-18].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used McCown’s helical guide slots as Xian’s guide slots in order to better orient a target surface end effector to a desired rotation when in contact with said target surface, as taught by McCown [described at least in Abstract and Figs. 9-18], and to have used McCown’s explicit alignment of a longitudinal axis with a target on a target surface as Xian’s method of aligning a longitudinal axis of a marking end effector with a desired location on a drawing in order to better draw at a desired location, as taught by Xian [Abstract], or to better effect the desired target, as taught by McCown [described at least in Abstract and Figs. 9-18].
In regard to claim 19, Xian further teaches that prior to or during advancing the marking end effector [pens/crayons 5 are depressed/retracted as the platform structure 16 rotates; described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5 – Fig. 2 shows a pen 5 aligned with the longitudinal axis A-A], the method further comprises separately aligning each marker of the plurality of markers [pens/crayons are aligned separately aligned via the notch 20 of depressed part 13]; wherein the marker holder bottom plate comprises a marker alignment assembly [elements 7-11, described above, as well as spring 14] configured to permit the first contacting marker and the second contacting marker to independently adjust [page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5 describe how each crayon 5 enters the depressed state] for operatively engaging with an uneven target surface or an angled target surface [Fig. 6 shows how each pen/crayon 5 can be adjusted to a depth using screw 11 in slot 10].
In regard to claim 20, Xian further teaches that the marker holder bottom plate comprises a marker spring [marker spring 14] and the first contacting marker and the second contacting marker to facilitate an independent axial extension or compression of each of the first contacting marker and the second contacting marker relative to a reference distal face of the end effector [Fig. 6 shows individual compression of the springs 14 for each of the pen/crayon 5 to a distal face of the nylon jacket 4].
Although Xian teaches a plurality of guide slots, and that the spring 14 contacts contacting structure 16 and nylon bearing 12 – Xian does not teach the use of a marking spring plate.
However, McCown also teaches a spring [spring 24] configured to permit the contacting effector [pawl 20] to facilitate an axial extension or compression relative to the distal face [distal face of the housing shown in Fig. 2, spring extension described at least in Abstract]; as well as an effector spring plate [retaining ring 124, shown in Figs. 2-3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used McCown’s retaining ring with Xian’s spring in order to better hold a spring in a desired location during assembly and use – a well-known engineering practice.
8. Claims 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xian in view of McCown as applied to claims 1-7 above, and in further view of Ruden (US20070185595A1, Ruden S.; hereinafter referred to as "Ruden").
In regard to claim 8, Xian further teaches a second contacting marker of the one or more markers [Figs. 1-6 show a plurality of pens/crayons 5], the first contacting marker and the second contacting marker configured to apply a pattern on the target surface comprising at least a portion of a circle [Abstract describes rotation while contacting, therefore at least a portion of a circle would be marked], the pattern centered about the longitudinal axis of the end effector and having a first radius equal to the radial offset distance [since crayons 5 are offset by the distance shown in Fig. 5, the marked circle would have a radius equal to the radial offset].
Although Xian teaches the marker holder is configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis of the end effector in an initial direction while translating toward the cavity base of the housing, that the marking end effector for a robotic system could be easily modified [page 6 para. 6; i.e. add a second depressed portion 13 with a notch 20 to the embodiment shown in Figs. 1-3 so that a first and a second pen would be in contact with a surface while a third and a fourth marker are not] – Xian in view of McCown is not explicit that the first radius is based on placing the first contacting marker and the second contacting marker in contact with the target surface and advancing the end effector toward the target surface.
However, Ruden also teaches a marking [gauge 222] end effector [end effector 140] for a robotic system [robotic assembly 130] such that the marker is configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis of the end effector in an initial direction and while translating {at least paras. [0032], [0061]-[0062] describe independent motion in the x, y, and z axes as well as rotation along two axes} in order to align a plurality of markers [tapered probes 226 and 228] at a desired location and rotation, as well as that both of a plurality of markers can contact a target surface [surface 164] simultaneously [shown in Figs. 11-12] and that the first radius is equal to the radial offset of the two markers based on advancing the end effector towards a target surface {Figs. 11-12 show the translation of the tapered probes 226 and 228 to contact and make a witness mark, as described in para. [0071], and thus make a radius as shown in Fig. 13}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Ruden’s method of simultaneously marking a target surface with a plurality of probes with Xian in view of McCown’s marking end effectors in order to better determine and correct both rotation angle and linear direction error, as taught by Ruden {para. [0054]}.
In regard to claim 9, Xian further teaches a plurality of second contacting markers [Fig. 1 shows four contacting crayons/pens 5].
In regard to claim 10, Xian further teaches that the marker holder assembly further comprises a marker holder bottom plate provided at a proximal end of the marker holder [support platform 8 has a plate portion, shown in Figs. 4-5], and wherein the marker holder biasing member engages the marker holder bottom plate to apply the longitudinal biasing force [shown in Fig. 6, crayon/pen frame 19 is engaged with crayon/pen 5, which holds the pen at the desired contact location].
In regard to claim 11, Xian further teaches that the marker holder bottom plate comprises a marker alignment assembly [elements 7-11, described above, as well as spring 14] configured to permit the first contacting marker and the second contacting marker to independently adjust [page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5 describe how each crayon 5 enters the depressed state] for operatively engaging with an uneven target surface or an angled target surface [Fig. 6 shows how each pen/crayon 5 can be adjusted to a depth using screw 11 in slot 10].
In regard to claim 12, Xian further teaches that the marker holder bottom plate comprises a marker spring [marker spring 14] and the first contacting marker and the second contacting marker to facilitate an independent axial extension or compression of each of the first contacting marker and the second contacting marker relative to a reference distal face of the end effector [Fig. 6 shows individual compression of the springs 14 for each of the pen/crayon 5 to a distal face of the nylon jacket 4].
Xian is not explicit in the use of a marking spring plate.
However, McCown also teaches a spring [spring 24] configured to permit the contacting effector [pawl 20] to facilitate an axial extension or compression relative to the distal face [distal face of the housing shown in Fig. 2, spring extension described at least in Abstract]; as well as an effector spring plate [retaining ring 124, shown in Figs. 2-3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used McCown’s retaining ring with Xian’s spring in order to better hold a spring in a desired location during assembly and use – a well-known engineering practice.
In regard to claim 13, Xian further teaches that , based on withdrawing the end effector away from the target surface subsequent to advancing the end effector toward the target surface, the first contacting marker and the second contacting marker are realigned with an equal axial extension relative to the reference distal face of the end effector [Figs. 2-3 show a plurality of retracted pens/crayons 5 with equal axial extension relative to the reference distal face of the nylon jacket 4].
In regard to claim 14, Xian teaches a marking end effector for a robotic system [pen device for a robot, Abstract] configured to mark a target surface [paper, page 3 para. 2] using one or more markers [four marking indica, Fig. 1], the end effector having a longitudinal axis [axis A-A, Fig. 2] and comprising: a housing [support frame 3] having a proximal end [end connected to power source 1, shown in Fig. 1] coupled to an end effector base [support platform 8, shown in Fig. 4] and comprising: a cylindrical cavity [lower installation cavity 18] provided at a distal end of the housing [shown in Fig. 6], the cavity having a cavity wall [shown in Fig. 6] and a cavity base disposed within the housing [upper installation cavity 15]; and a first guide slot [guide groove 10] provided in the cavity wall and comprising a helical portion; a marker holder assembly [platform structure 16] operatively coupled to the housing [described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5] and comprising: a cylindrical marker holder [platform structure 16] configured to be received by the cavity [shown in Fig. 6]; a first guide bearing [bearing support structure 9] disposed on the marker holder [described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5], the first guide bearing supported by a first bearing axle operatively coupled to the marker holder [Fig. 4 shows bearing support structure supported by a screw]; and one or more marker bores [chamber 17] provided within the marker holder and circumferentially distributed about the longitudinal axis [shown in Figs. 5-6], each marker bore configured to receive a respective marker of the one or more markers [shown in Fig. 6]; and a marker holder biasing member [crayon frame 19] provided between the cavity base and the marker holder assembly [shown in Fig. 6] and configured to apply a longitudinal biasing force on the marker holder assembly [shown in Fig. 6, described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5 - "stability and continuity when ensuring stability of the bearing support structure 9"], wherein the first guide bearing is configured to operatively engage with the first guide slot of the housing to support and guide a motion of the marker holder relative to the housing [Figs. 1-6 and page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5 show that as the bearing support structure rotates into the notch part 20, the slot 10 is engaged via the screw 11, guiding the motion in a vertical direction], and wherein, based on placing a first contacting marker [crayon/pen 5] of the one or more markers in contact with the target surface [contacting paper, Abstract] and advancing the end effector toward the target surface [depressed/retracted states, shown in Fig. 4 and described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5], the marker holder is configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis of the end effector in an initial direction [described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5] while translating toward the cavity base of the housing [depressed/retracted states, Fig. 2 shows the depressed state of the crayon moving above/away from the cavity 15, thus a retracted state is towards the cavity (as shown in Fig. 3), and as described in page 5 para. 11 - page 6 para. 5], and the first contacting marker marking the target surface with at least a portion of first indicia [drawing on and contacting paper, Abstract], the first indicia centered about the longitudinal axis of the end effector [Fig. 2 shows a pen 5 aligned with the longitudinal axis A-A].
Although Xian teaches a plurality of guide slots, they do not teach that the guide slots comprise a helical portion that permits rotation.
However, McCown also teaches at least an end effector [hold down device] for use with a robot [col. 1 lines 51-53] to interact with a target surface [pawl 22 on pawl shaft 20, pawl receptacle 32], the end effector having a housing [calm bracket 12/mounting flange 13/camming surface 30] with distal and proximal ends [shown in Figs. 2-3] coupled to an effector base [chassis 14, shown in Fig. 3], with a cylindrical cavity [chamber 128] with a cavity wall [Figs. 2, 3, and 9-10] provided at the distal end, with the cavity having a cavity base [shoulder 130, Fig. 3], as well as a plurality of guide slots comprising helical portions [plurality shown in Fig. 2, individually shown in at least Figs. 4, 9A, 10A, 16A, and 18A].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used McCown’s helical guide slots as Xian’s guide slots in order to better orient a target surface end effector to a desired rotation when in contact with said target surface, as taught by McCown [described at least in Abstract and Figs. 9-18].
Although Xian teaches the marker holder is configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis of the end effector in an initial direction while translating toward the cavity base of the housing, that the marking end effector for a robotic system could be easily modified [page 6 para. 6; i.e. add a second depressed portion 13 with a notch 20 to the embodiment shown in Figs. 1-3 so that a first and a second pen would be in contact with a surface while a third and a fourth marker are not] – Xian in view of McCown is not explicit that the robotic system comprises a memory, a processor in communication with the memory, and the robot is in communication with the processor and configured to manipulate one or more end effectors based on communication with the processor.
However, Ruden also teaches a marking [gauge 222] end effector [end effector 140] for a robotic system [robotic assembly 130] such that the marker is configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis of the end effector in an initial direction and while translating {at least paras. [0032], [0061]-[0062] describe independent motion in the x, y, and z axes as well as rotation along two axes} in order to align a plurality of markers [tapered probes 226 and 228] at a desired location and rotation, as well as that the robotic system comprises a memory [memory 172], a processor {central processing unit (CPU) 170, described in paras. [0044]-[0047] and [0069]}, and that the robotic is in communication with the processor and configured to manipulate one or more end effectors based on communication with the processor {para. [0047] describes the assembly 130 being commanded to carry out routines 200 to make witness marks, said programming routines 200 stored in the memory 172 that are utilized by the processor/CPU 170}.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Ruden’s CPU and memory configured to command a robot to mark a target surface with Xian in view of McCown’s robotic system configured to manipulate one or more end effectors in order to better calibrate a system and compensate for various errors, as taught by Ruden {para. [0004]}.
In regard to claim 15, Xian further teaches that each marker bore is disposed parallel to the longitudinal axis [shown best in Figs. 3 and 6], wherein each marker bore is radially offset from the longitudinal axis by a radial offset distance [Fig. 5 shows the bores offset from the same distance], and wherein the first indicia centered about the longitudinal axis comprises a first radius equal to the radial offset distance [Abstract describes rotation while contacting, therefore at least a portion of a circle would be marked, thus a first radius equal to the radial offset.
In regard to claim 16, Xian further teaches a system comprising a second contacting marker of the one or more markers [Figs. 1-6 show a plurality of pens/crayons 5], the first contacting marker and the second contacting marker configured to apply a pattern on the target surface comprising at least a portion of a circle [Abstract describes rotation while contacting, therefore at least a portion of a circle would be marked], the pattern centered about the longitudinal axis of the end effector and having a first radius equal to the radial offset distance [since crayons 5 are offset by the distance shown in Fig. 5, the marked circle would have a radius equal to the radial offset].
In regard to claim 17, Xian further teaches a system comprising a plurality of second contacting markers [Fig. 1 shows four contacting crayons/pens 5].
Conclusion
/DANIEL M QUINN/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855